DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Virginia / Reports /

Treatment bypass reported, Aug 18, 2026

Ended (as reported) · Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office

Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 324975, reported Aug 19, 2026, 11:36 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: not named (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, VA0070670). Outlet: not stated. Location: 36.82372, -82.46687; location source: geocoded from an address or place name.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Clinch River”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Clinch River, VA. Match basis: the water named in the report.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

No downstream estimate is available for this report.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
not given
Source last updated
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“sewage (reported as treated or partly treated)”
Volume
80,000 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
Volume as reported
“80,000 gallons”

Advice from Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Status history from this report

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-03 02:43 UTC.

Source and versions

Source
Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related
Source record number
324975
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifierva-deq-prep:324975
Source identifierva-deq-prep
Source record number324975
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeTreatment bypass
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifierNot provided
Sewer operatorNot provided
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)VA0070670
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet nameNot provided
Water named in the reportClinch River
Linked watersclinch-river-va
How this report was linked to the waterthe water named in the report
Latitude36.824
Longitude-82.467
Location sourcegeocoded from an address or place name
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedAug 18, 2026, 1:00 PM EDT (2026-08-18T13:00:00-04:00)
EndedAug 19, 2026, 11:00 AM EDT (2026-08-19T11:00:00-04:00)
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceAug 19, 2026, 11:36 AM EDT (2026-08-19T11:36:00-04:00)
PublishedNot provided
Source last updatedAug 19, 2026, 2:45 PM EDT (2026-08-19T14:45:43-04:00)
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 9:40 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:40:36Z)
Materialsewage (reported as treated or partly treated)
Volume, in gallons80,000
Volume as reported80,000 gallons
How volume was determinednot stated whether estimated or measured
AuthorityVirginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://portal.deq.virginia.gov/v2/prep/prepReport/324975

Original source data

{
  "report": {
    "id": "324975",
    "via": "api",
    "incident": "2026-08-18T13:00:00",
    "incident_end": null,
    "received": "2026-08-19T11:36:00",
    "closed": "2026-08-19T14:45:43",
    "modified": "2026-08-19T14:45:43",
    "date_unknown": false,
    "site_name": "Unauthorized Discharge - Town of Dungannon - Dungannon WWTP - Outfall 001",
    "address": "260 Waterford Avenue",
    "city": "Dungannon",
    "zip": "24245",
    "county_city": "Scott County",
    "region": "Southwest",
    "status_text": "Closed",
    "categories": [
      "Unauthorized Discharge of Pollutant(s)"
    ],
    "waterbody": "Clinch River",
    "other_waterbody": null,
    "original_waterbody": "Clinch River",
    "water_threatened": "Y",
    "low": 1,
    "high": 80000,
    "unit": "Gallons",
    "ssors": null,
    "nrc": [],
    "vdem": null,
    "epa": null,
    "facility_name": "Dungannon WWTP",
    "facility_permitted": "Y",
    "responsible_company": "Town of Dungannon",
    "still_occurring": "N"
  },
  "text": {
    "incident_comment": "On August 19, 2026, [name removed], Operator at the Dungannon WWTP, provided email notification reporting an unusual discharge event at the Dungannon WWTP located at 260 Waterford Avenue in Dungannon. The discharge began at 1:00pm on August 18th and continued until 11:00 am on August 19th, with an estimated total volume of approximately 80,000 gallons. The event was caused by heavy localized rainfall over several days. The incident was closed on August 19, 2026.",
    "location_comment": "Dungannon WWTP",
    "closure_comment": "The overflow stopped on August 19, 2026, and the 5-day written report was provided via email on August 19, 2026, should further action be needed it will be taken by DEQ SWRO Water Compliance section staff"
  },
  "sewage": [
    {
      "duration_h": 22,
      "component": "Other",
      "component_id": 7,
      "volume_gal": 80000,
      "volume_unknown": "N",
      "wet_weather": "Y",
      "treated": "Y",
      "precipitation_in": null,
      "causes": [
        "High Levels of Inflow and/or Infiltration"
      ],
      "impacts": [
        "Discharge to State Waters"
      ],
      "corrective_action": null,
      "steps_taken": null,
      "component_comment": "Outfall 001",
      "other_cause": null
    }
  ],
  "status_log": [
    {
      "at": "2026-08-19T00:00:00",
      "type": "5-Day Letter"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-08-19T14:37:41",
      "type": "Call Received"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-08-19T14:38:03",
      "type": "Under Investigation"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-08-19T14:38:03",
      "type": "Assigned"
    },
    {
      "at": "2026-08-19T14:45:43",
      "type": "Closed Call/IR"
    }
  ],
  "created_in_prep": "2026-08-19T14:37:41",
  "event_type_basis": "treatment-plant discharge not filed as a sanitary sewer overflow (category: Unauthorized Discharge of Pollutant(s))",
  "permit": {
    "typed_permit": "VA0070670",
    "deq_vpdes_links": [
      "VA0070670"
    ],
    "ms4": null,
    "ms4_links": null,
    "basis": "DEQ's VPDES link on the report"
  },
  "discharger_match": {
    "by_permit": null,
    "by_name": null
  },
  "volume_basis": "sewage report discharge volume (gallons)",
  "_ended_at_basis": "incident time + duration 22 h (sewage report)",
  "_time_basis": "PReP API times are local wall-clock times with no zone, read as America/New_York. The export table stores local time + 5 h all year (decoded by subtracting 5 h); the EDMA point layer stores local time labelled as UTC (decoded by reading the UTC clock as local).",
  "water_placement": {
    "text": "Clinch River",
    "towns": [
      "Dungannon",
      "Scott County"
    ],
    "notes": null,
    "echo_outfall": null
  },
  "point": {
    "lat": 36.823723,
    "lon": -82.466869,
    "layer": "DEQ EDMA layer 175 (PReP Reports, Daily)",
    "reference_point": "PG",
    "note": "DEQ's geocode of the report's site address (REFERENCE_POINT 'PG'), not an outfall point",
    "edma_incident": "2026-08-18T13:00:00-04:00",
    "edma_received": "2026-08-19T11:36:00-04:00"
  },
  "attribution": "DEQ is the data source. DEQ does not certify that this data represents a complete record. This data is provided to the citizens of the Commonwealth free of charge and for informational purposes only.",
  "api_url": "https://portal.deq.virginia.gov/prep/api/prepReports/324975?expand=prepStatusCode,prepUnitTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepComponentTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageCauses.prepCauseCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageImpacts.prepImpactTypeCode,prepReportReleaseSubtypes.prepReleaseSubtypeCode,prepReportPermitViews,prepOriginalReport,prepReportEvents.prepEventTypeCode,prepFipsCode.fipsRegion"
}

Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 324975, reported Aug 19, 2026, 11:36 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.