Treatment bypass reported, Jul 28, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office
Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 324787, reported Jul 29, 2026, 8:22 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: not named (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, VA0020672). Outlet: not stated. Location: 36.99950, -81.92996; location source: geocoded from an address or place name.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Casey Branch”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Clinch River, VA. Match basis: the report's location, matched to the nearest tracked water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
No downstream estimate is available for this report.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “sewage (reported as treated or partly treated)”
- Volume
- 438 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- “438 gallons”
Advice from Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related
- Source record number
- 324787
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | va-deq-prep:324787 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | va-deq-prep |
| Source record number | 324787 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Treatment bypass |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | Not provided |
| Sewer operator | Not provided |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | VA0020672 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Not provided |
| Water named in the report | Casey Branch |
| Linked waters | clinch-river-va |
| How this report was linked to the water | the report's location, matched to the nearest tracked water |
| Latitude | 36.999 |
| Longitude | -81.93 |
| Location source | geocoded from an address or place name |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Jul 28, 2026, 9:00 AM EDT (2026-07-28T09:00:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Jul 28, 2026, 12:30 PM EDT (2026-07-28T12:30:00-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Jul 29, 2026, 8:22 AM EDT (2026-07-29T08:22:00-04:00) |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Aug 7, 2026, 8:19 AM EDT (2026-08-07T08:19:12-04:00) |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 9:40 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:40:36Z) |
| Material | sewage (reported as treated or partly treated) |
| Volume, in gallons | 438 |
| Volume as reported | 438 gallons |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://portal.deq.virginia.gov/v2/prep/prepReport/324787 |
Original source data
{
"report": {
"id": "324787",
"via": "api",
"incident": "2026-07-28T09:00:00",
"incident_end": null,
"received": "2026-07-29T08:22:00",
"closed": "2026-08-07T08:19:12",
"modified": "2026-08-07T08:19:12",
"date_unknown": false,
"site_name": "Bypass - Virginia Department of Corrections - Appalachian CCAP - Outfall 001",
"address": "924 Clifton Farm Road",
"city": "Honaker",
"zip": "24260",
"county_city": "Russell County",
"region": "Southwest",
"status_text": "Closed",
"categories": [
"Unauthorized Discharge of Pollutant(s)"
],
"waterbody": "Casey Branch",
"other_waterbody": null,
"original_waterbody": "Casey Branch",
"water_threatened": "Y",
"low": 1,
"high": 438,
"unit": "Gallons",
"ssors": null,
"nrc": [],
"vdem": null,
"epa": null,
"facility_name": null,
"facility_permitted": "Y",
"responsible_company": "VA Department Of Corrections",
"still_occurring": "N"
},
"text": {
"incident_comment": "On July 29, 2026, Erin Shepers, with the Virginia Department of Corrections, provided email notification and a written report noting that there was an issue with the chlorine feed at the Appalachian Community Corrections Alternative Programs in Honaker. on July 28, 2026, while conducting electrical work on one of the building, the power was inadvertently shut off to the chlorine pump at the WWTP. This resulted in approximately 438 gallons of wastewater leaving the plant without chlorination. Once the issue was identified, a generator was immediately connected to the chlorine pump. The bypass occurred for 3.5 hours between 9:00am and 12:00pm on July 28, 2026. The incident was closed on August 7, 2026.",
"location_comment": "VDOC - Appalachian Community Corrections Alternative Programs",
"closure_comment": "The overflow stopped on July 28, 2026, and the 5-day written report was provided via email on July 29, 2026, should further action be needed it will be taken by DEQ SWRO Water Compliance section staff"
},
"sewage": [
{
"duration_h": 3.5,
"component": "Other",
"component_id": 7,
"volume_gal": 438,
"volume_unknown": "N",
"wet_weather": "N",
"treated": "Y",
"precipitation_in": null,
"causes": [
"Other"
],
"impacts": [
"Discharge to State Waters"
],
"corrective_action": "The cause of the bypass was an inadvertent loss of power to the chlorine feed pump during routine electrical repairs. Once noticed a generator was immediately put into place to power the chlorine pump. Going forward the wastewater plant will be checked during power outages or contractor work to make sure everything is working.",
"steps_taken": null,
"component_comment": "Outfall 001",
"other_cause": null
}
],
"status_log": [
{
"at": "2026-07-29T00:00:00",
"type": "5-Day Letter"
},
{
"at": "2026-08-07T08:00:00",
"type": "Call Received"
},
{
"at": "2026-08-07T08:01:10",
"type": "Under Investigation"
},
{
"at": "2026-08-07T08:01:10",
"type": "Assigned"
},
{
"at": "2026-08-07T08:19:13",
"type": "Closed Call/IR"
}
],
"created_in_prep": "2026-08-07T08:00:00",
"event_type_basis": "bypass structure or site name (structure: Other)",
"permit": {
"typed_permit": "VA0020672",
"deq_vpdes_links": [
"VA0020672"
],
"ms4": null,
"ms4_links": null,
"basis": "DEQ's VPDES link on the report"
},
"discharger_match": {
"by_permit": null,
"by_name": null
},
"volume_basis": "sewage report discharge volume (gallons)",
"_ended_at_basis": "incident time + duration 3.5 h (sewage report)",
"_time_basis": "PReP API times are local wall-clock times with no zone, read as America/New_York. The export table stores local time + 5 h all year (decoded by subtracting 5 h); the EDMA point layer stores local time labelled as UTC (decoded by reading the UTC clock as local).",
"water_placement": {
"text": "Casey Branch",
"towns": [
"Honaker",
"Russell County"
],
"notes": null,
"echo_outfall": null
},
"point": {
"lat": 36.999498,
"lon": -81.92996,
"layer": "DEQ EDMA layer 175 (PReP Reports, Daily)",
"reference_point": "PG",
"note": "DEQ's geocode of the report's site address (REFERENCE_POINT 'PG'), not an outfall point",
"edma_incident": "2026-07-28T09:00:00-04:00",
"edma_received": "2026-07-29T08:22:00-04:00"
},
"attribution": "DEQ is the data source. DEQ does not certify that this data represents a complete record. This data is provided to the citizens of the Commonwealth free of charge and for informational purposes only.",
"api_url": "https://portal.deq.virginia.gov/prep/api/prepReports/324787?expand=prepStatusCode,prepUnitTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepComponentTypeCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageCauses.prepCauseCode,prepReportSewages.prepSewageImpacts.prepImpactTypeCode,prepReportReleaseSubtypes.prepReleaseSubtypeCode,prepReportPermitViews,prepOriginalReport,prepReportEvents.prepEventTypeCode,prepFipsCode.fipsRegion"
} Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Southwest Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 324787, reported Jul 29, 2026, 8:22 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.