Briar Creek
Stream in Illinois, past Brushy Mound and Carlinville
Current status
Radar shows that recent rain at a combined sewer system's outlets has reached the amount set for that system, and its operator has not reported a discharge. It reads "discharge likely" where the amount is the one at which that system has discharged before, or a rain trigger its state publishes, and "discharge possible" where only this site's default of 0.1 inch applies. This is an estimate, not a report. This status since . Why this status, and its source
This badge describes the water outline. Check the downstream stretches on the map and below for discharge statuses.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
Solid dots mark combined sewer outfalls. Ringed dots mark treatment plant outfalls. A yellow ring with a dashed edge means discharge likely or possible: heavy rain, no report received. Dashed river stretches are estimates.
Check City of Carlinville's notices · Bookmark this water page and check it before each trip · Report a missing notice or error
About this status
Discharge possible: heavy rain, no report received: heavy rain at a sewer operator's outlets reached this site's default amount, and no report received; shown for 48 hours after the rain (site rule). 22.2 in of rain fell in the 24 hours to Nov 6, 2026, 2:00 AM CST at City of Carlinville's outfalls (NOAA radar estimate).
Source: NOAA National Weather Service, MRMS radar-only rainfall estimate, valid Nov 6, 2026, 2:00 AM CST, retrieved 2026-11-06 08:57 UTC; threshold: site default; rule: How it works, discharge likely or possible. · Updated
Estimated downstream stretches on Briar Creek
none from a report; 2 routes below outlets with a status
No stretch below a reported discharge has a current status here as of Nov 6, 2026, 3:03 AM CST. The routes below wastewater outlets carry the status shown on each.
Estimated routes below wastewater outlets
2 routes below outlets
- Caution Permit IL0022675, outlet 002 · 40 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at the 40-kilometre limit
- Caution Permit IL0022675, outlet A01 · 40 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at the 40-kilometre limit
Source: DirtyWaterWatch estimates using U.S. Geological Survey river maps and flow measurements. The estimate stops at tidal water, the first lake or the distance limit.
The last 90 days
- Discharge likely or possible: heavy rain, no report received: to the latest update Radar estimate, no report received: heavy rain at the outlets of City of Carlinville
- Caution: to 1 report: City of Carlinville 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 1 report: City of Carlinville 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-06 09:03 UTC.
Reported discharges over time
- Discharges affecting the Briar Creek in Illinois, last 12 months2525 affecting this stretch: 25 reported on the Briar Creek; none arriving from upstreamDecember 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once. Arriving discharges are estimated from modeled downstream reaches.
- Days with a discharge affecting the Briar Creek in Illinois, last 12 months28Reported on the Briar Creek in Illinois: 28 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0 (counted apart; together they need not equal the total)December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
- Hours with a discharge or advisory status on the Briar Creek in Illinois, last 12 months160Reported on the Briar Creek in Illinois: 160 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
- 2023 season with a discharge or advisory status on the Briar Creek in Illinois0.0%May to October 2023; incomplete source coverageShare of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.
- Records behind the last-90-days strip for the Briar Creek in Illinois2Reported on the Briar Creek in Illinois: 1 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0 · Other records (rain-likely and similar): 1last 90 daysEvery distinct record the strip lists for its red, yellow and unresolved hours, notices and unresolved reports included; counted as the strip counts them.
This record covers the Briar Creek within Illinois; the same river upstream is a separate record.
Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater. Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
Reported discharges per month
38 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.
- Combined sewer overflow
- Sanitary sewer overflow
- Treatment bypass, blended or other
- Incomplete source coverage
The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's sewer overflow records are limited: they hold only what operators file with the agency.
Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 6, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Combined sewer overflow | Sanitary sewer overflow | Treatment bypass, blended or other | Total | Counted from | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| December 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| August 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| September 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| October 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| November 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| December 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| January 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| February 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| March 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| April 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| May 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| June 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| July 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| August 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| September 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| October 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| November 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| December 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| January 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| February 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| March 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| April 2025 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 3 | Source records | Incomplete source coverage |
| May 2025 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 2 | Source records | Incomplete source coverage |
| June 2025 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 | Source records | Incomplete source coverage |
| July 2025 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 4 | Source records | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2025 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 | Source records | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| October 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| November 2025 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 2 | Source records | Incomplete source coverage |
| December 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| January 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| February 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| March 2026 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 6 | Source records | Incomplete source coverage |
| April 2026 | 9 | 0 | 0 | 9 | Source records | Incomplete source coverage |
| May 2026 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 5 | Source records | Incomplete source coverage |
| June 2026 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 3 | Source records | Incomplete source coverage |
| July 2026 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 | Source records | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| September 2026 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | Source records | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| November 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month
Hours when this water had a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.
- Discharge or advisory reported
- Incomplete source coverage
The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's sewer overflow records are limited: they hold only what operators file with the agency.
Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 6, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Hours with a discharge or advisory status | Hours from post-discharge periods | Hours in the month | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2022 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| December 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2023 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| November 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| December 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| January 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| February 2024 | 0 | 0 | 696 | Incomplete source coverage |
| March 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| April 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| May 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| June 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| July 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| November 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| December 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| January 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| February 2025 | 0 | 0 | 672 | Incomplete source coverage |
| March 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| April 2025 | 65 | 65 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| May 2025 | 54 | 54 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| June 2025 | 12 | 12 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| July 2025 | 17 | 17 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2025 | 6 | 6 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| November 2025 | 15 | 15 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| December 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| January 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| February 2026 | 0 | 0 | 672 | Incomplete source coverage |
| March 2026 | 28 | 28 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| April 2026 | 80 | 80 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| May 2026 | 38 | 38 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| June 2026 | 10 | 10 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| July 2026 | 2 | 2 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2026 | 2 | 2 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| November 2026 | 0 | 0 | 125 | Incomplete source coverage |
Days with a reported discharge per month
A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.
- Incomplete source coverage
Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 6, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Days with a reported discharge | Coverage |
|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | |
| February 2022 | 0 | |
| March 2022 | 0 | |
| April 2022 | 0 | |
| May 2022 | 0 | |
| June 2022 | 0 | |
| July 2022 | 0 | |
| August 2022 | 0 | |
| September 2022 | 0 | |
| October 2022 | 0 | |
| November 2022 | 0 | |
| December 2022 | 0 | |
| January 2023 | 0 | |
| February 2023 | 0 | |
| March 2023 | 0 | |
| April 2023 | 0 | |
| May 2023 | 0 | |
| June 2023 | 0 | |
| July 2023 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2023 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2023 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2023 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| November 2023 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| December 2023 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| January 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| February 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| March 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| April 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| May 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| June 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| July 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| November 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| December 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| January 2025 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| February 2025 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| March 2025 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| April 2025 | 5 | Incomplete source coverage |
| May 2025 | 4 | Incomplete source coverage |
| June 2025 | 2 | Incomplete source coverage |
| July 2025 | 5 | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2025 | 2 | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2025 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2025 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| November 2025 | 2 | Incomplete source coverage |
| December 2025 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| January 2026 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| February 2026 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| March 2026 | 7 | Incomplete source coverage |
| April 2026 | 9 | Incomplete source coverage |
| May 2026 | 7 | Incomplete source coverage |
| June 2026 | 3 | Incomplete source coverage |
| July 2026 | 1 | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2026 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2026 | 1 | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2026 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| November 2026 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
Reported discharges per year, 2000 to 2026
38 reported discharges, 2000 to 2026.
- Combined sewer overflow
- Sanitary sewer overflow
- Treatment bypass, blended or other
- Incomplete source coverage
The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's sewer overflow records are limited: they hold only what operators file with the agency.
Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 6, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Combined sewer overflow | Sanitary sewer overflow | Treatment bypass, blended or other | Total | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2001 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2002 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2003 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2004 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2005 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2006 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2007 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2008 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2009 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2010 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2011 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2012 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2013 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2014 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2015 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2016 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2017 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2018 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2025 | 12 | 0 | 1 | 13 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2026 | 24 | 0 | 1 | 25 | Incomplete source coverage |
Reported volume per year
Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 38 reports that gave a volume as a number.
- Incomplete source coverage
Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 6, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Reported volume, gallons | Reports with a volume | Reports without a volume | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2001 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2002 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2003 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2004 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2005 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2006 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2007 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2008 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2009 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2010 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2011 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2012 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2013 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2014 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2015 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2016 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2017 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2018 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2025 | 46,406,790 | 13 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2026 | 46 | 25 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year
Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.
- Discharge or advisory reported
- Incomplete source coverage
Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 6, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Hours with a discharge or advisory status | Share of the year | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2001 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2002 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2003 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2004 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2005 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2006 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2007 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2008 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2009 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2010 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2011 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2012 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2013 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2014 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2015 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2016 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2017 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2018 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2019 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2020 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2021 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2022 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2023 | 0 | 0.0% | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2024 | 0 | 0.0% | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2025 | 169 | 1.9% | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2026 | 159 | 2.1% | Incomplete source coverage |
Reported discharges by calendar month, all years
Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.
Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.
Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 6, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Reported discharges | Years of records |
|---|---|---|
| January | 0 | 38 |
| February | 0 | 38 |
| March | 6 | 39 |
| April | 12 | 39 |
| May | 7 | 39 |
| June | 4 | 39 |
| July | 5 | 39 |
| August | 1 | 38 |
| September | 1 | 38 |
| October | 0 | 38 |
| November | 2 | 38 |
| December | 0 | 38 |
Reported discharges by wastewater outlet
Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 1 of 1, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.
The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's sewer overflow records are limited: they hold only what operators file with the agency.
Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 6, 2026.
Show table
| Wastewater outlet | Reported discharges |
|---|---|
| A01 | 36 |
| Outlet not stated | 2 |
How these charts are counted
We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.
- U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records: records from May 3, 2022 to the latest update (limited records)
- il-mwrd-lake-michigan-reversals: records from March 4, 1985 to July 3, 2023
Reports linked to Briar Creek
| When | Report | Status |
|---|---|---|
| to 9:00 AM CDT | City of Carlinville · Bypass · 0 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 2:00 PM CDT | City of Carlinville · A01 · CSO · 1 gallon report · notice · map | ended |
| to 4:30 AM CDT | City of Carlinville · A01 · CSO · 2 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 6:00 AM CDT | City of Carlinville · A01 · CSO · 0 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 3:00 PM CDT | City of Carlinville · A01 · CSO · 1 gallon report · notice · map | ended |
| to 11:00 PM CDT | City of Carlinville · A01 · CSO · 5 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 6:00 PM CDT | City of Carlinville · A01 · CSO · 2 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 1:59 PM CDT | City of Carlinville · A01 · CSO · 2 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to May 6, 2:00 AM CDT | City of Carlinville · A01 · CSO · 5 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 12:00 PM CDT | City of Carlinville · A01 · CSO · 2 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to May 1, 12:59 AM CDT | City of Carlinville · A01 · CSO · 0 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Apr 30, 12:59 AM CDT | City of Carlinville · A01 · CSO · 1 gallon report · notice · map | ended |
| to 4:00 AM CDT | City of Carlinville · A01 · CSO · 3 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 9:00 PM CDT | City of Carlinville · A01 · CSO · 2 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 5:00 PM CDT | City of Carlinville · A01 · CSO · 2 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 7:00 AM CDT | City of Carlinville · A01 · CSO · 3 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 8:00 AM CDT | City of Carlinville · A01 · CSO · 2 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 12:00 PM CDT | City of Carlinville · A01 · CSO · 2 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 3:00 PM CDT | City of Carlinville · A01 · CSO · 3 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 4:00 PM CDT | City of Carlinville · A01 · CSO · 1 gallon report · notice · map | ended |
| to 4:00 AM CDT | City of Carlinville · A01 · CSO · 1 gallon report · notice · map | ended |
| to Mar 16, 2:00 AM CDT | City of Carlinville · A01 · CSO · 2 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 10:00 PM CDT | City of Carlinville · A01 · CSO · 1 gallon report · notice · map | ended |
| to 11:00 AM CST | City of Carlinville · A01 · CSO · 2 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 11:00 AM CST | City of Carlinville · A01 · CSO · 1 gallon report · notice · map | ended |
Sources: EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators), retrieved 2026-11-06 08:38 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.
Showing the latest 25 records of 38 records.See them all with filters.
All reports in Illinois by year: 2026 (25 here) · 2025 (13 here)
Wastewater outlets on this water
Combined sewer outfalls
2 outfalls · discharge possible now at 2
Discharge possible: heavy rain, no report received at 2 outfalls now: radar rainfall has reached the operator's threshold and no discharge report has arrived (NOAA radar estimate).
- Outfall 002 · City of Carlinville · receiving water in the permit: BRIAR CREEK · open · discharge possible now: heavy rain, no report received
- Outfall A01 · City of Carlinville · receiving water in the permit: BRIAR CREEK · temporarily closed (counted as open) · discharge possible now: heavy rain, no report received
Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) national combined sewer outfall inventory (ECHO) and state outfall layers. Open or closed as EPA's inventory lists it. DirtyWaterWatch links outlets to waters using permit numbers, locations and names.
Treatment plant outfalls
2 outfalls
- Outfall 001 · City of Carlinville · receiving water in the permit: BRIAR CREEK · status not published
- Outfall B01 · City of Carlinville · receiving water in the permit: BRIAR CREEK · status not published
Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) permit records (ICIS-NPDES permitted features): where a treatment plant’s permitted discharge leaves. No national source says whether a plant outfall is open or closed.
Sewer operators listed for this water: City of Carlinville.
Boat launches
No public boat launch is listed in our records for this water.
Nearby waters
- Shearles Branch, IL No current status shown about 13 km away
- East Fork Otter Creek, IL No current status shown about 18 km away
- Nassa Creek, IL No current status shown about 19 km away
- Macoupin Creek, IL Discharge possible: heavy rain, no report received about 19 km away
- Solomon Creek, IL No current status shown about 19 km away
Sources covering this water
- a public source · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-06 08:38 UTC
- a public source · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-06 08:39 UTC
- MWRD Lake Michigan reversals table (1985 to present) · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-06 08:41 UTC
- a public source · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-06 08:57 UTC
38 records linked to this water. Updated .