DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Virginia / Waters /

Bull Run

Stream in Virginia, past Buckhall, Bull Run, Sudley and Yorkshire

Current status

End not confirmed

A discharge was reported, and we have not found an end time in the sources we track. This status since . Why this status, and its source

This status counts every report affecting this water, including discharges arriving from upstream.

This badge describes the water outline. Check the downstream stretches on the map and below for discharge statuses.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Dashed river stretches are estimates.

Bookmark this water page and check it before each trip · Report a missing notice or error

About this status

End not confirmed: no end time reported; shown as unconfirmed from day 7 to day 30 (site rule)

Source: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office via Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, record 325809, reported Oct 15, 2026, 9:57 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-03 13:25 UTC · Original notice · Updated

Reports behind this status

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.

Reports behind the status of Bull Run, newest first
WhenReportStatus
Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapto Nov 14, 8:57 AM

Sources: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, retrieved 2026-11-03 13:25 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Estimated downstream stretches on Bull Run

14 estimated stretches from 1 outlet

Estimated downstream stretch — not checked by water sampling. Estimated by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey river maps and flow measurements; not an official advisory area.

  • End not confirmed 0 to 0.4 kilometres below the outlet

    0 to 0.4 kilometres below the outlet · from this report

    Estimated travel time: about 1 hour, or as little as 1 hour. Estimate based on the river's average yearly flow; no current gauge reading was available. This estimates water movement, not bacteria levels.

  • End not confirmed 0.4 to 2.4 kilometres below the outlet

    0.4 to 2.4 kilometres below the outlet · from this report

    Estimated travel time: about 3 hours, or as little as 2 hours. Estimate based on the river's average yearly flow; no current gauge reading was available. This estimates water movement, not bacteria levels.

  • End not confirmed 2.4 to 5.3 kilometres below the outlet

    2.4 to 5.3 kilometres below the outlet · from this report

    Estimated travel time: about 6 hours, or as little as 3 hours. Estimate based on the river's average yearly flow; no current gauge reading was available. This estimates water movement, not bacteria levels.

  • End not confirmed 5.3 to 7.9 kilometres below the outlet

    5.3 to 7.9 kilometres below the outlet · from this report

    Estimated travel time: about 8 hours, or as little as 4 hours. Estimate based on the river's average yearly flow; no current gauge reading was available. This estimates water movement, not bacteria levels.

  • End not confirmed 7.9 to 8.2 kilometres below the outlet

    7.9 to 8.2 kilometres below the outlet · from this report

    Estimated travel time: about 8 hours, or as little as 4 hours. Estimate based on the river's average yearly flow; no current gauge reading was available. This estimates water movement, not bacteria levels.

  • End not confirmed 8.2 to 9.1 kilometres below the outlet

    8.2 to 9.1 kilometres below the outlet · from this report

    Estimated travel time: about 8 hours, or as little as 5 hours. Estimate based on the river's average yearly flow; no current gauge reading was available. This estimates water movement, not bacteria levels.

  • End not confirmed 9.1 to 12.4 kilometres below the outlet

    9.1 to 12.4 kilometres below the outlet · from this report

    Estimated travel time: about 11 hours, or as little as 6 hours. Estimate based on the river's average yearly flow; no current gauge reading was available. This estimates water movement, not bacteria levels.

  • End not confirmed 12.4 to 12.4 kilometres below the outlet

    12.4 to 12.4 kilometres below the outlet · from this report

    Estimated travel time: about 11 hours, or as little as 6 hours. Estimate based on the river's average yearly flow; no current gauge reading was available. This estimates water movement, not bacteria levels.

  • End not confirmed 12.4 to 13.4 kilometres below the outlet

    12.4 to 13.4 kilometres below the outlet · from this report

    Estimated travel time: about 11 hours, or as little as 6 hours. Estimate based on the river's average yearly flow; no current gauge reading was available. This estimates water movement, not bacteria levels.

  • End not confirmed 13.4 to 14 kilometres below the outlet

    13.4 to 14 kilometres below the outlet · from this report

    Estimated travel time: about 12 hours, or as little as 7 hours. Estimate based on the river's average yearly flow; no current gauge reading was available. This estimates water movement, not bacteria levels.

  • End not confirmed 14 to 15 kilometres below the outlet

    14 to 15 kilometres below the outlet · from this report

    Estimated travel time: about 13 hours, or as little as 7 hours. Estimate based on the river's average yearly flow; no current gauge reading was available. This estimates water movement, not bacteria levels.

  • End not confirmed 15 to 15.9 kilometres below the outlet

    15 to 15.9 kilometres below the outlet · from this report

    Estimated travel time: about 13 hours, or as little as 7 hours. Estimate based on the river's average yearly flow; no current gauge reading was available. This estimates water movement, not bacteria levels.

Showing 12 of 14 estimated stretches, nearest the outlets first.

Estimated routes below wastewater outlets

2 routes below outlets
  • No current status shown Outlet · 31.3 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at a lake or bay
  • End not confirmed Permit VA0024988 · 21.953 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at a lake or bay

Source: DirtyWaterWatch estimates using U.S. Geological Survey river maps and flow measurements. The estimate stops at tidal water, the first lake or the distance limit.

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Plum: algal bloom advisory. Red or amber with a light line inside: beach advisory or caution. Dotted: monthly report (days with discharge, dates not given). Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.
  • End not confirmed: to the latest update
    1 report: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-03 13:30 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges affecting the Bull Run in Virginia, last 12 months33 affecting this stretch: 2 reported in Virginia, 1 arriving from upstream outfalls in VirginiaDecember 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once. Arriving discharges are estimated from modeled downstream reaches.
  • Days with a discharge affecting the Bull Run in Virginia, last 12 months3Reported on the Bull Run in Virginia: 2 · Arriving from outfalls upstream in Virginia, estimated: 1December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it. Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status on the Bull Run in Virginia, last 12 months4Reported on the Bull Run in Virginia: 3 · Arriving from outfalls upstream in Virginia, estimated: 1December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status on the Bull Run in Virginia0.0%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.
  • Records behind the last-90-days strip for the Bull Run in Virginia2Reported on the Bull Run in Virginia: 1 · Arriving from outfalls upstream in Virginia, estimated: 1last 90 daysEvery distinct record the strip lists for its red, yellow and unresolved hours, notices and unresolved reports included; counted as the strip counts them.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater.

Reported discharges per month

7 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source

No tracked source covers January 2022 to December 2024.

Source: va-deq-prep. Records cover January 1, 2025 to November 3, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when this water had a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source

No tracked source covers January 2022 to December 2024. 3 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here.

Source: va-deq-prep. Records cover January 1, 2025 to November 3, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source

No tracked source covers January 2022 to December 2024.

Source: va-deq-prep. Records cover January 1, 2025 to November 3, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 5 reports that gave a volume as a number (2 did not).

  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

2 of 7 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.

Source: va-deq-prep. Records cover January 1, 2025 to November 3, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

3 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here.

Source: va-deq-prep. Records cover January 1, 2025 to November 3, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported

3 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here.

Source: va-deq-prep. Records cover January 1, 2025 to November 3, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Source: va-deq-prep. Records cover January 1, 2025 to November 3, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • va-deq-prep: records from January 1, 2025 to the latest update

Reports linked to Bull Run

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.

Reports linked to Bull Run, newest first
WhenReportStatus
Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapto Nov 14, 8:57 AM
to 3:30 PMVirginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office · SSO · 2,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office · Report · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office · Report · 500 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 1:00 PMVirginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office · SSO · 3,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 2:30 PMVirginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP), Northern Regional Office · SSO · 900 gallons report · notice · mapended

Sources: Virginia DEQ Pollution Response Program (PReP) pollution reports, sewage-related, retrieved 2026-11-03 13:25 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Download these reports as CSV

All reports in Virginia by year: 2026 (2 here) · 2025 (4 here)

Wastewater outlets on this water

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

No wastewater outlet in our records is linked to this water.

Boat launches

No public boat launch is listed in our records for this water.

Nearby waters

Sources covering this water

6 records linked to this water. Updated .