Illinois River
River in Illinois, past Aux Sable, Bainbridge, Banner, Bath, Beardstown, Bloomfield, Bluff Springs, Bluffdale, Brookfield, Browning, Carlin, Chambersburg, Chillicothe, Cincinnati, Cooperstown, Crater, Deer Park, Detroit, Erienna, Fall River, Flint, Fondulac, Frederick, Glasgow, Goose Lake, Granville, Hagener, Hall, Hardin, Havana, Hennepin, Henry, Hickory, Hollis, Hopewell, Isabel, Kerton, LaSalle, Lacon, Leepertown, Liverpool, Lynchburg, Magnolia, Manlius, Medina, Montezuma, Morris, Naples-Bluffs, Norman, Ottawa, Partridge, Patterson, Pearl, Pekin, Peoria City, Peru, Point, Quarry, Quiver, Richwood, Rosedale, Rutland, Senachwine, South Ottawa, Spring Bay, Spring Lake, Steuben, Timber, Utica, Versailles, Walkerville, Waterford, Wauponsee, West Peoria and Woodville
Current status
Radar shows that recent rain at a combined sewer system's outlets has reached the amount set for that system, and its operator has not reported a discharge. It reads "discharge likely" where the amount is the one at which that system has discharged before, or a rain trigger its state publishes, and "discharge possible" where only this site's default of 0.1 inch applies. This is an estimate, not a report. This status since . Why this status, and its source
This badge describes the water outline. Check the downstream stretches on the map and below for discharge statuses.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
Solid dots mark combined sewer outfalls. Ringed dots mark treatment plant outfalls. Grey dots are closed outfalls. A yellow ring with a dashed edge means discharge likely or possible: heavy rain, no report received. Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch. Dashed river stretches are estimates. Larger round markers with a label mark beach and other official advisories nearby.
Check Beardstown Sanitary District's notices · Bookmark this water page and check it before each trip · Report a missing notice or error
About this status
Discharge possible: heavy rain, no report received: heavy rain at a sewer operator's outlets reached this site's default amount, and no report received; shown for 48 hours after the rain (site rule). 11.7 in of rain fell in the 24 hours to Nov 6, 2026, 2:00 AM CST at City of Morris's outfalls (NOAA radar estimate).
Source: NOAA National Weather Service, MRMS radar-only rainfall estimate, valid Nov 6, 2026, 2:00 AM CST, retrieved 2026-11-06 08:57 UTC; threshold: site default; rule: How it works, discharge likely or possible. · Updated
Estimated downstream stretches on Illinois River
none from a report; 20 routes below outlets with a status
No stretch below a reported discharge has a current status here as of Nov 6, 2026, 3:03 AM CST. The routes below wastewater outlets carry the status shown on each.
Estimated routes below wastewater outlets
20 routes below outlets
- Caution Permit IL0021113, outlet 002 · 40 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at the 40-kilometre limit
- Caution Permit IL0021113, outlet 003 · 38.856 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops here
- Caution Permit IL0021113, outlet 005 · 40 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at the 40-kilometre limit
- Caution Permit IL0021113, outlet 008 · 40 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at the 40-kilometre limit
- Caution Permit IL0021288, outlet A01 · 40 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at the 40-kilometre limit
- Caution Permit IL0022331, outlet 002 · 30.077 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at a lake or bay
- Caution Permit IL0022331, outlet 004 · 30.077 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at a lake or bay
- Caution Permit IL0022331, outlet 005 · 30.077 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at a lake or bay
- Caution Permit IL0022519, outlet 004 · 40 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at the 40-kilometre limit
- Caution Permit IL0022519, outlet 007 · 40 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at the 40-kilometre limit
- Caution Permit IL0022519, outlet 009 · 40 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at the 40-kilometre limit
- Caution Permit IL0022519, outlet 010 · 40 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at the 40-kilometre limit
- Caution Permit IL0022519, outlet 011 · 40 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at the 40-kilometre limit
- Caution Permit IL0022519, outlet 012 · 40 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at the 40-kilometre limit
- Caution Permit IL0022519, outlet 017 · 40 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at the 40-kilometre limit
- Caution Permit IL0023388, outlet 002 · 40 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at the 40-kilometre limit
- Caution Permit IL0023388, outlet 003 · 40 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at the 40-kilometre limit
- Caution Permit IL0024996, outlet C01 · 40 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at the 40-kilometre limit
- Caution Permit IL0025135, outlet A01 · 40 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at the 40-kilometre limit
- Caution Permit IL0025135, outlet B01 · 40 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at the 40-kilometre limit
Source: DirtyWaterWatch estimates using U.S. Geological Survey river maps and flow measurements. The estimate stops at tidal water, the first lake or the distance limit.
The last 90 days
- Discharge likely or possible: heavy rain, no report received: to the latest update Radar estimate, no report received: heavy rain at the outlets of Beardstown Sanitary District, City of Havana, City of Joliet Eastside (Joliet Eastside STP), City of Lasalle, City of Morris, City of Oglesby, and 7 more sewer operators
- Caution: to 3 reports: City of Pekin 3
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 3 reports: City of Pekin 3
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 1 report: Greater Peoria Sanitary And Sewage District 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 1 report: Greater Peoria Sanitary And Sewage District 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 10 reports: City of Pekin 8, Beardstown Sanitary District 2
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall A01, started Aug 16, 2026, 9:30 AM CDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall A01, started Aug 15, 2026, 9:16 AM CDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 006, started Aug 15, 2026, 6:00 AM CDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 005, started Aug 15, 2026, 6:00 AM CDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 004, started Aug 15, 2026, 6:00 AM CDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 003, started Aug 15, 2026, 6:00 AM CDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 006, started Aug 14, 2026, 5:30 AM CDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 005, started Aug 14, 2026, 5:30 AM CDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 004, started Aug 14, 2026, 5:30 AM CDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 003, started Aug 14, 2026, 5:30 AM CDT
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 1 report: Beardstown Sanitary District 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 9 reports: City of Pekin 8, Beardstown Sanitary District 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall A01, started Aug 15, 2026, 9:16 AM CDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 006, started Aug 15, 2026, 6:00 AM CDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 005, started Aug 15, 2026, 6:00 AM CDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 004, started Aug 15, 2026, 6:00 AM CDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 003, started Aug 15, 2026, 6:00 AM CDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 006, started Aug 14, 2026, 5:30 AM CDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 005, started Aug 14, 2026, 5:30 AM CDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 004, started Aug 14, 2026, 5:30 AM CDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 003, started Aug 14, 2026, 5:30 AM CDT
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 5 reports: City of Pekin 4, Beardstown Sanitary District 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall A01, started Aug 15, 2026, 9:16 AM CDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 006, started Aug 15, 2026, 6:00 AM CDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 005, started Aug 15, 2026, 6:00 AM CDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 004, started Aug 15, 2026, 6:00 AM CDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 003, started Aug 15, 2026, 6:00 AM CDT
- Caution: to 4 reports: City of Pekin 4
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 006, started Aug 14, 2026, 5:30 AM CDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 005, started Aug 14, 2026, 5:30 AM CDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 004, started Aug 14, 2026, 5:30 AM CDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 003, started Aug 14, 2026, 5:30 AM CDT
1 earlier periods appear as you scroll.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 4 reports: City of Pekin 4
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 006, started Aug 14, 2026, 5:30 AM CDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 005, started Aug 14, 2026, 5:30 AM CDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 004, started Aug 14, 2026, 5:30 AM CDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 003, started Aug 14, 2026, 5:30 AM CDT
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-06 09:03 UTC.
Reported discharges over time
- Discharges affecting the Illinois River in Illinois, last 12 months9595 affecting this stretch: 95 reported on the Illinois River; none arriving from upstreamDecember 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once. Arriving discharges are estimated from modeled downstream reaches.
- Days with a discharge affecting the Illinois River in Illinois, last 12 months39Reported on the Illinois River in Illinois: 39 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0 (counted apart; together they need not equal the total)December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
- Hours with a discharge or advisory status on the Illinois River in Illinois, last 12 months129Reported on the Illinois River in Illinois: 129 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
- 2023 season with a discharge or advisory status on the Illinois River in Illinois0.0%May to October 2023; incomplete source coverageShare of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.
- Records behind the last-90-days strip for the Illinois River in Illinois27Reported on the Illinois River in Illinois: 14 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0 · Other records (rain-likely and similar): 13last 90 daysEvery distinct record the strip lists for its red, yellow and unresolved hours, notices and unresolved reports included; counted as the strip counts them.
Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater. Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
Reported discharges per month
136 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.
- Combined sewer overflow
- Sanitary sewer overflow
- Treatment bypass, blended or other
- Incomplete source coverage
The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's sewer overflow records are limited: they hold only what operators file with the agency.
Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 6, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Combined sewer overflow | Sanitary sewer overflow | Treatment bypass, blended or other | Total | Counted from | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| December 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| August 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| September 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| October 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| November 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| December 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| January 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| February 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| March 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| April 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| May 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| June 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| July 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| August 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| September 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| October 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| November 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| December 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| January 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| February 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| March 2025 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 5 | Source records | Incomplete source coverage |
| April 2025 | 5 | 4 | 0 | 9 | Source records | Incomplete source coverage |
| May 2025 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 4 | Source records | Incomplete source coverage |
| June 2025 | 10 | 0 | 0 | 10 | Source records | Incomplete source coverage |
| July 2025 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 4 | Source records | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| September 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| October 2025 | 9 | 0 | 0 | 9 | Source records | Incomplete source coverage |
| November 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| December 2025 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 6 | Source records | Incomplete source coverage |
| January 2026 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 4 | Source records | Incomplete source coverage |
| February 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| March 2026 | 19 | 0 | 0 | 19 | Source records | Incomplete source coverage |
| April 2026 | 19 | 0 | 0 | 19 | Source records | Incomplete source coverage |
| May 2026 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 3 | Source records | Incomplete source coverage |
| June 2026 | 27 | 0 | 0 | 27 | Source records | Incomplete source coverage |
| July 2026 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2026 | 12 | 1 | 0 | 13 | Source records | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2026 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 3 | Source records | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| November 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month
Hours when this water had a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.
- Discharge or advisory reported
- Incomplete source coverage
The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's sewer overflow records are limited: they hold only what operators file with the agency.
Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 6, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Hours with a discharge or advisory status | Hours from post-discharge periods | Hours in the month | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2022 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| December 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2023 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| November 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| December 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| January 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| February 2024 | 0 | 0 | 696 | Incomplete source coverage |
| March 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| April 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| May 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| June 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| July 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| November 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| December 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| January 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| February 2025 | 0 | 0 | 672 | Incomplete source coverage |
| March 2025 | 17 | 17 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| April 2025 | 57 | 57 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| May 2025 | 25 | 25 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| June 2025 | 11 | 11 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| July 2025 | 2 | 2 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2025 | 11 | 11 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| November 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| December 2025 | 28 | 28 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| January 2026 | 2 | 2 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| February 2026 | 0 | 0 | 672 | Incomplete source coverage |
| March 2026 | 13 | 13 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| April 2026 | 31 | 31 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| May 2026 | 1 | 1 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| June 2026 | 22 | 22 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| July 2026 | 14 | 14 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2026 | 17 | 17 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2026 | 1 | 1 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| November 2026 | 0 | 0 | 125 | Incomplete source coverage |
Days with a reported discharge per month
A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.
- Incomplete source coverage
Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 6, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Days with a reported discharge | Coverage |
|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | |
| February 2022 | 0 | |
| March 2022 | 0 | |
| April 2022 | 0 | |
| May 2022 | 0 | |
| June 2022 | 0 | |
| July 2022 | 0 | |
| August 2022 | 0 | |
| September 2022 | 0 | |
| October 2022 | 0 | |
| November 2022 | 0 | |
| December 2022 | 0 | |
| January 2023 | 0 | |
| February 2023 | 0 | |
| March 2023 | 0 | |
| April 2023 | 0 | |
| May 2023 | 0 | |
| June 2023 | 0 | |
| July 2023 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2023 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2023 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2023 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| November 2023 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| December 2023 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| January 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| February 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| March 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| April 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| May 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| June 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| July 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| November 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| December 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| January 2025 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| February 2025 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| March 2025 | 2 | Incomplete source coverage |
| April 2025 | 7 | Incomplete source coverage |
| May 2025 | 3 | Incomplete source coverage |
| June 2025 | 3 | Incomplete source coverage |
| July 2025 | 1 | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2025 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2025 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2025 | 3 | Incomplete source coverage |
| November 2025 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| December 2025 | 3 | Incomplete source coverage |
| January 2026 | 2 | Incomplete source coverage |
| February 2026 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| March 2026 | 10 | Incomplete source coverage |
| April 2026 | 7 | Incomplete source coverage |
| May 2026 | 1 | Incomplete source coverage |
| June 2026 | 8 | Incomplete source coverage |
| July 2026 | 2 | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2026 | 5 | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2026 | 1 | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2026 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| November 2026 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
Reported discharges per year, 2000 to 2026
136 reported discharges, 2000 to 2026.
- Combined sewer overflow
- Sanitary sewer overflow
- Treatment bypass, blended or other
- Incomplete source coverage
The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's sewer overflow records are limited: they hold only what operators file with the agency.
Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 6, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Combined sewer overflow | Sanitary sewer overflow | Treatment bypass, blended or other | Total | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2001 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2002 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2003 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2004 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2005 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2006 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2007 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2008 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2009 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2010 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2011 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2012 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2013 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2014 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2015 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2016 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2017 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2018 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2025 | 43 | 4 | 0 | 47 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2026 | 87 | 2 | 0 | 89 | Incomplete source coverage |
Reported volume per year
Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 136 reports that gave a volume as a number.
- Incomplete source coverage
Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 6, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Reported volume, gallons | Reports with a volume | Reports without a volume | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2001 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2002 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2003 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2004 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2005 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2006 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2007 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2008 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2009 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2010 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2011 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2012 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2013 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2014 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2015 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2016 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2017 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2018 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2025 | 46,417,330 | 47 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2026 | 141,837,100 | 89 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year
Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.
- Discharge or advisory reported
- Incomplete source coverage
Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 6, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Hours with a discharge or advisory status | Share of the year | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2001 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2002 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2003 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2004 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2005 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2006 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2007 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2008 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2009 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2010 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2011 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2012 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2013 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2014 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2015 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2016 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2017 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2018 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2019 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2020 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2021 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2022 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2023 | 0 | 0.0% | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2024 | 0 | 0.0% | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2025 | 151 | 1.7% | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2026 | 101 | 1.4% | Incomplete source coverage |
Reported discharges by calendar month, all years
Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.
Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.
Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 6, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Reported discharges | Years of records |
|---|---|---|
| January | 4 | 38 |
| February | 0 | 38 |
| March | 24 | 39 |
| April | 28 | 39 |
| May | 7 | 39 |
| June | 37 | 39 |
| July | 5 | 39 |
| August | 13 | 38 |
| September | 3 | 38 |
| October | 9 | 38 |
| November | 0 | 38 |
| December | 6 | 38 |
Reported discharges by wastewater outlet
Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 6 of 6, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.
The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's sewer overflow records are limited: they hold only what operators file with the agency.
Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 6, 2026.
Show table
| Wastewater outlet | Sewer operator | Reported discharges |
|---|---|---|
| 005 | PEKIN STP #1 | 31 |
| 006 | PEKIN STP #1 | 30 |
| 004 | PEKIN STP #1 | 28 |
| 003 | PEKIN STP #1 | 26 |
| A01 | BEARDSTOWN SANITARY DISTRICT STP | 12 |
| 018 | PEORIA CSOS, CITY OF | 3 |
| Outlet not stated | 6 |
How these charts are counted
We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.
- U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records: records from May 3, 2022 to the latest update (limited records)
- il-mwrd-lake-michigan-reversals: records from March 4, 1985 to July 3, 2023
Reports linked to Illinois River
| When | Report | Status |
|---|---|---|
| to 8:30 AM CDT | City of Pekin · 006 · CSO · 3 million gallons in all map | ended |
| to 8:30 AM CDT | City of Pekin · 006 · CSO · 1 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 8:30 AM CDT | City of Pekin · 005 · CSO · 1 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 8:30 AM CDT | City of Pekin · 004 · CSO · 1 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 4:59 AM CDT | Greater Peoria Sanitary And Sewage District · SSO · 100 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 10:30 AM CDT | Beardstown Sanitary District · A01 · CSO · 972,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 12:30 PM CDT | Beardstown Sanitary District · A01 · CSO · 4.29 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 11:00 AM CDT | City of Pekin · 006 · CSO · 16 million gallons in all map | ended |
| to 11:00 AM CDT | City of Pekin · 006 · CSO · 4 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 11:00 AM CDT | City of Pekin · 005 · CSO · 4 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 11:00 AM CDT | City of Pekin · 004 · CSO · 4 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 11:00 AM CDT | City of Pekin · 003 · CSO · 4 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 9:30 AM CDT | City of Pekin · 006 · CSO · 12 million gallons in all map | ended |
| to 9:30 AM CDT | City of Pekin · 006 · CSO · 3 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 9:30 AM CDT | City of Pekin · 005 · CSO · 3 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 9:30 AM CDT | City of Pekin · 004 · CSO · 3 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 9:30 AM CDT | City of Pekin · 003 · CSO · 3 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 7:30 AM CDT | City of Pekin · 006 · CSO · 2 million gallons in all map | ended |
| to 7:30 AM CDT | City of Pekin · 006 · CSO · 1 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 7:30 AM CDT | City of Pekin · 005 · CSO · 1 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jul 18, 3:20 AM CDT | Illinois American Water Company · SSO · 164,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 7:00 PM CDT | City of Pekin · 006 · CSO · 2 million gallons in all map | ended |
| to 7:00 PM CDT | City of Pekin · 006 · CSO · 500,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 7:00 PM CDT | City of Pekin · 005 · CSO · 500,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 7:00 PM CDT | City of Pekin · 004 · CSO · 500,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 7:00 PM CDT | City of Pekin · 003 · CSO · 500,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 8:00 PM CDT | Beardstown Sanitary District · A01 · CSO · 2.7 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 4:00 PM CDT | City of Pekin · 006 · CSO · 8 million gallons in all map | ended |
| to 4:00 PM CDT | City of Pekin · 006 · CSO · 2 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 4:00 PM CDT | City of Pekin · 005 · CSO · 2 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 4:00 PM CDT | City of Pekin · 004 · CSO · 2 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 4:00 PM CDT | City of Pekin · 003 · CSO · 2 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
Sources: EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators), retrieved 2026-11-06 08:38 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.
Showing the latest 26 records of 136 records.See them all with filters.
All reports in Illinois by year: 2026 (89 here) · 2025 (47 here)
Wastewater outlets on this water
Combined sewer outfalls
54 outfalls · 5 closed · discharge possible now at 49
Discharge possible: heavy rain, no report received at 49 outfalls now: radar rainfall has reached the operator's threshold and no discharge report has arrived (NOAA radar estimate).
- Outfall 002 · City of Morris · receiving water in the permit: ILLINOIS RIVER · temporarily closed (counted as open) · discharge possible now: heavy rain, no report received
- Outfall 003 · City of Morris · receiving water in the permit: ILLINOIS RIVER · open · discharge possible now: heavy rain, no report received
- Outfall 004 · City of Morris · receiving water in the permit: ILLINOIS RIVER · closed
- Outfall 005 · City of Morris · receiving water in the permit: ILLINOIS RIVER · open · discharge possible now: heavy rain, no report received
- Outfall 007 · City of Morris · receiving water in the permit: ILLINOIS RIVER · closed
- Outfall 008 · City of Morris · receiving water in the permit: ILLINOIS RIVER · open · discharge possible now: heavy rain, no report received
- Outfall A01 · Greater Peoria Sanitary And Sewage District · receiving water in the permit: ILLINOIS RIVER · temporarily closed (counted as open) · discharge possible now: heavy rain, no report received
- Outfall 002 · City of Havana · receiving water in the permit: ILLINOIS RIVER · open · discharge possible now: heavy rain, no report received
- Outfall 003 · City of Havana · receiving water in the permit: ILLINOIS RIVER · open · discharge possible now: heavy rain, no report received
- Outfall A01 · Beardstown Sanitary District · receiving water in the permit: ILLINOIS RIVER · temporarily closed (counted as open) · discharge possible now: heavy rain, no report received
- Outfall B01 · Beardstown Sanitary District · receiving water in the permit: ILLINOIS RIVER · open · discharge possible now: heavy rain, no report received
- Outfall 003 · City of Lasalle · receiving water in the permit: ILLINOIS RIVER · open · discharge possible now: heavy rain, no report received
Showing 12 of 54.
Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) national combined sewer outfall inventory (ECHO) and state outfall layers. Open or closed as EPA's inventory lists it. DirtyWaterWatch links outlets to waters using permit numbers, locations and names.
Treatment plant outfalls
39 outfalls
- Outfall 001 · City of Marseilles · receiving water in the permit: ILLINOIS RIVER · status not published
- Outfall 001 · City of Morris · receiving water in the permit: ILLINOIS RIVER & NETTLE CREEK · status not published
- Outfall 001 · Village of Creve Coeur · receiving water in the permit: ILLINOIS RIVER · status not published
- Outfall A01 · Village of Creve Coeur · receiving water in the permit: ILLINOIS RIVER · status not published
- Outfall B01 · Village of Creve Coeur · receiving water in the permit: ILLINOIS RIVER · status not published
- Outfall 001 · Greater Peoria Sanitary And Sewage District · receiving water in the permit: ILLINOIS RIVER · status not published
- Outfall 002 · Greater Peoria Sanitary And Sewage District · receiving water in the permit: ILLINOIS RIVER · status not published
- Outfall 003 · Greater Peoria Sanitary And Sewage District · receiving water in the permit: ILLINOIS RIVER · status not published
- Outfall 004 · Greater Peoria Sanitary And Sewage District · receiving water in the permit: ILLINOIS RIVER · status not published
- Outfall 005 · Greater Peoria Sanitary And Sewage District · receiving water in the permit: ILLINOIS RIVER · status not published
- Outfall 006 · Greater Peoria Sanitary And Sewage District · receiving water in the permit: ILLINOIS RIVER · status not published
- Outfall 001 · Village of Seneca · receiving water in the permit: ILLINOIS RIVER · status not published
Showing 12 of 39.
Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) permit records (ICIS-NPDES permitted features): where a treatment plant’s permitted discharge leaves. No national source says whether a plant outfall is open or closed.
Sewer operators listed for this water: Beardstown Sanitary District, City of East Peoria, City of Havana, City of Henry, City of Lacon, City of Lasalle, City of Marseilles, City of Morris, City of Morris, City of Ottawa, City of Pekin, City of Peoria (Peoria CSOS), City of Peru, City of Peru, City of Spring Valley, Greater Chillicothe Sanitary District, Greater Peoria Sanitary And Sewage District, Hennepin Public Water District, Village of Bath, Village of Creve Coeur, Village of Depue, Village of Hardin, Village of Kampsville, Village of North Utica, Village of Seneca, Illinois American Water Company.
Boat launches
- Bartonville Access Area, Hollis · Boat ramp
- Chillicothe Access Area · Boat ramp
- Glades-Backwater, Rosedale · Boat ramp
- Glades-River, Rosedale · Boat ramp
- Godar Diamond River Access Area, Hardin · Boat ramp
- Grafton · Boat ramp
- Hadley Landing Boat Ramp, Rosedale · Boat ramp
- Illinois River Boat Launch near Bath · Boat ramp
- Illinois River Boat Launch near Havana · Boat ramp
- Illinois River Boat Launch near Henry · Boat ramp
- Illinois River Boat Launch near La Salle · Boat ramp
- Illinois River Boat Launch near Marseilles · Boat ramp
- Illinois River Boat Launch near Morris · Boat ramp
- Illinois River Boat Launch near Morris · Boat ramp
- Illinois River Boat Launch near North Utica · Boat ramp
- Illinois River Boat Launch near North Utica · Boat ramp
- Illinois River Boat Launch near Ottawa · Boat ramp
- Illinois River Boat Launch near Ottawa · Boat ramp
- Illinois River Boat Launch near Ottawa · Boat ramp
- Kingston Mines Access Area · Boat ramp
- Lacon Public Access · Boat ramp
- Liver Pool Access, Liverpool · Boat ramp
- Michael Landing Access Area Boat Ramp · Boat ramp
- Michael Ldg Public Access · Boat ramp
- Sanganois Boat Launch, Browning · Boat ramp
- Scott County Naples Access · Boat ramp
Source: OpenBoatLaunch launch records (public agency data and OpenStreetMap, Open Database License).
Nearby waters
- Sangamon River, IL Discharge possible: heavy rain, no report received about 11 km away
- Crane Creek, IL No current status shown about 21 km away
- Sugar Creek, IL Discharge possible: heavy rain, no report received about 23 km away
- Salt Creek, IL Discharge possible: heavy rain, no report received about 23 km away
- Clear Creek, IL No current status shown about 25 km away
Sources covering this water
- a public source · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-06 08:38 UTC
- a public source · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-06 08:39 UTC
- MWRD Lake Michigan reversals table (1985 to present) · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-06 08:41 UTC
- a public source · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-06 08:57 UTC
136 records linked to this water. Updated .