DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Florida / Waters /

Indian River Lagoon

Bay in Florida, near Fort Pierce

Current status

Caution

Caution applies after a recent discharge, when a report leaves its status unclear, or during a rainfall advisory. The report explains which rule applies. This status since . Why this status, and its source

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.

Get alerts from Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · Bookmark this water page and check it before each trip · Report a missing notice or error

About this status

Caution: a discharge was reported; caution for 72 hours after the reported end (site rule)

Source: Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Public Notice of Pollution) via Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service), record 202611134-20…, reported Nov 3, 2026, 12:59 PM EST, retrieved 2026-11-05 06:08 UTC · Original notice · Updated

Reports behind this status

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.

Reports behind the status of Indian River Lagoon, newest first
WhenReportStatus
to Nov 2FPUA · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapto Nov 6, 12:00 AM
to Nov 2FPUA · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapto Nov 6, 12:00 AM
to Nov 2FPUA · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapto Nov 6, 12:00 AM

Sources: Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service), retrieved 2026-11-05 06:08 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Plum: algal bloom advisory. Red or amber with a light line inside: beach advisory or caution. Dotted: monthly report (days with discharge, dates not given). Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.
  • Caution: to the latest update
    3 reports: FPUA 3
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    3 reports: FPUA 3
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: FPUA 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: FPUA 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: FPUA 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: FPUA 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 06:27 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges affecting the Indian River Lagoon in Florida, last 12 months55 affecting this water: 5 reported on the Indian River Lagoon; none arriving from upstreamDecember 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once. Arriving discharges are estimated from modeled downstream reaches.
  • Days with a discharge affecting the Indian River Lagoon in Florida, last 12 months3Reported on the Indian River Lagoon in Florida: 3 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0 (counted apart; together they need not equal the total)December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status on the Indian River Lagoon in Florida, last 12 months72Reported on the Indian River Lagoon in Florida: 72 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status on the Indian River Lagoon in Florida1.1%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.
  • Records behind the last-90-days strip for the Indian River Lagoon in Florida5Reported on the Indian River Lagoon in Florida: 5 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0last 90 daysEvery distinct record the strip lists for its red, yellow and unresolved hours, notices and unresolved reports included; counted as the strip counts them.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater. Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

Reported discharges per month

6 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when this water had a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges per year, 2017 to 2026

6 reported discharges, 2017 to 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • Incomplete source coverage

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 2 reports that gave a volume as a number (4 did not).

  • Incomplete source coverage

4 of 6 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Incomplete source coverage

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Season with incomplete source coverage

Seasons with incomplete source coverage: 2017. The share is of the hours a source covered.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 2 of 2, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • fl-dep-pnp: records from May 17, 2017 to the latest update

Reports linked to Indian River Lagoon

Reports linked to Indian River Lagoon, newest first
WhenReportStatus
to Nov 2FPUA · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapto Nov 6, 12:00 AM
to Nov 2FPUA · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapto Nov 6, 12:00 AM
to Nov 2FPUA · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapto Nov 6, 12:00 AM
to Oct 25FPUA · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · 6,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 18FPUA · [name removed] · SSO · 13,500 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Dec 11 ’24FPUA · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended

Download these reports as CSV

All reports in Florida by year: 2026 (5 here) · 2024 (1 here)

Wastewater outlets on this water

No wastewater outlet in our records is linked to this water.

Sewer operators listed for this water: Fort Pierce Utilities Authority.

Boat launches

Source: OpenBoatLaunch launch records (public agency data and OpenStreetMap, Open Database License). · Indian River Lagoon on OpenBoatLaunch

Nearby waters

Sources covering this water

6 records linked to this water. Updated .