DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Florida / Sewer operators /

Fort Pierce Utilities Authority

Sewer utility · Florida · Fort Pierce

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Ringed dots mark treatment plant outfalls. Small hollow diamonds mark places named in its overflow reports (provisional). Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.

Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
FL0027278
Wastewater outlets
1 treatment plant outfall listed by EPA or state agencies; 19 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations) · List
Waters listed as receiving wastewater
Indian River Lagoon
Tracked waters
Indian River, FL, Indian River Lagoon, FL, Indian River Lagoon, FL, Moore Creek, FL
Discharge records counted
25 records · latest
Total reported volume in these records
426,000 gallons across the 10 records that give a volume (15 without one)

These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.

Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Public notices and alerts

Get alerts from Fort Pierce Utilities Authority

Source: Fort Pierce Utilities Authority's public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records.

Report a missing notice or error

Wastewater outlets

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

1 treatment plant outfall listed by EPA or state agencies; 19 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations).

Treatment plant outfalls

1 outfall
  • Outfall 001 · receiving water in the permit: Indian R and Atlantic O Class III Marine 5003AD · Indian River, FL · status not published

Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) permit records (ICIS-NPDES permitted features): where a treatment plant’s permitted discharge leaves. No national source says whether a plant outfall is open or closed.

Places named in overflow reports (provisional)

19 places

Provisional location from overflow reports. Where the operator's own reports put an overflow: a manhole, pump station or plant. Not an outfall listed in a permit.

  • Reported place · 3 overflow reports, latest Nov 3, 2026 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 3 overflow reports, latest Nov 2, 2026 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Nov 3, 2026 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Oct 25, 2026 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Nov 3, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Nov 2, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Nov 2, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Nov 2, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Jul 21, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Jun 14, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Jan 17, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Dec 9, 2024 · confidence medium · no water record yet

Showing 12 of 19.

Source: the operator's own overflow reports to the state. DirtyWaterWatch groups reports within 50 metres into one place and finds the water below it with U.S. Geological Survey river maps (NLDI, NHDPlus). Not a permitted outfall; provisional until an official outfall record exists.

Reports and advisories

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.

Reports linked to Fort Pierce Utilities Authority, newest first
WhenReportStatus
Indian River Lagoon · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapto Nov 10, 12:00 AM
Indian River Lagoon · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapto Nov 10, 12:00 AM
Indian River Lagoon · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapto Nov 10, 12:00 AM
to Nov 2Indian River Lagoon · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapto Nov 6, 12:00 AM
to Nov 2Indian River Lagoon · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapto Nov 6, 12:00 AM
to Nov 2Indian River Lagoon · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapto Nov 6, 12:00 AM
to Nov 2Moore Creek · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapto Nov 6, 12:00 AM
to Oct 25Indian River Lagoon · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · 6,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 18Indian River Lagoon · [name removed] · SSO · 13,500 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Jul 21Water not mapped · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Jun 15Indian River Lagoon · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Jan 17Indian River Lagoon · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Dec 28 ’25Indian River Lagoon · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · 3,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Dec 11 ’24Indian River Lagoon · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Nov 27 ’24“Moore's Creek” · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Nov 26 ’24Indian River Lagoon · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Oct 10 ’24Indian River Lagoon · 12th Street & Ave O · SSO · 60,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Oct 10 ’24Indian River Lagoon · Carlton Court · SSO · 1,800 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Oct 10 ’24Indian River Lagoon · 21st Street and Ave M · SSO · 2,700 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Dec 17 ’23Indian River Lagoon · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Nov 17 ’23Indian River Lagoon · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Oct 17 ’23Water not mapped · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · 1,500 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Oct 3 ’23Moore Creek · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · 500 gallons report · notice · mapended
to May 15 ’18Indian River Lagoon · US HWY 1 and Sunny Lane · SSO · 2,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 10 ’17Moore Creek · FPUA Lift Station A Spill - Hurricane Irma · SSO · 335,000 gallons report · notice · mapended

Sources: Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service), retrieved 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Download these reports as CSV

All reports in Florida by year: 2026 (12 from Fort Pierce Utilities Authority) · 2025 (1 from Fort Pierce Utilities Authority) · 2024 (6 from Fort Pierce Utilities Authority) · 2023 (4 from Fort Pierce Utilities Authority) · 2018 (1 from Fort Pierce Utilities Authority) · 2017 (1 from Fort Pierce Utilities Authority)

Other sewer operators on these waters

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Plum: algal bloom advisory. Red or amber with a light line inside: beach advisory or caution. Dotted: monthly report (days with discharge, dates not given). Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.
  • Discharge or advisory reported: to the latest update
    7 reports: Indian River Lagoon 3, Indian River Lagoon 3, Moore Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: Indian River Lagoon 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Indian River Lagoon 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: Indian River Lagoon 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Indian River Lagoon 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges reported by Fort Pierce Utilities Authority, last 12 months13December 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
  • Days with a discharge reported by Fort Pierce Utilities Authority, last 12 months8December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status from Fort Pierce Utilities Authority's reports, last 12 months236December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status (Fort Pierce Utilities Authority)2.7%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater.

Reported discharges per month

23 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when a water had a discharge or advisory status from this sewer operator's reports, under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported

Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges per year, 2017 to 2026

25 reported discharges, 2017 to 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • Incomplete source coverage

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 10 reports that gave a volume as a number (15 did not).

  • Incomplete source coverage

15 of 25 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Incomplete source coverage

Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Season with incomplete source coverage

Seasons with incomplete source coverage: 2017. The share is of the hours a source covered. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 7 of 7, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • fl-dep-pnp: records from May 17, 2017 to the latest update