DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Florida / Waters /

Indian River Lagoon

Bay in Florida, near Allenhurst, Ariel, Audubon, Bellwood, Cape Canaveral, Cocoa, Cocoa Beach, Dummit Grove, Fellsmere, Fort Pierce, Grant and Melbourne

Current status

Discharge or advisory reported

A discharge is reported as ongoing, a post-discharge period applies, or an official advisory is listed. Open the report for its source, dates and advice. This status since . Why this status, and its source

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch. Larger round markers with a label mark beach and other official advisories nearby.

Get alerts from COCOA WATER RECLAMATION FACILITY · Bookmark this water page and check it before each trip · Report a missing notice or error

About this status

Discharge or advisory reported: discharge reported as ongoing; shown while reported ongoing, up to 7 days without an end (site rule)

Source: Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Public Notice of Pollution) via Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service), record 202611136-20…, reported Nov 3, 2026, 1:25 PM EST, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC · Original notice · Updated

Reports behind this status

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.

Reports behind the status of Indian River Lagoon, newest first
WhenReportStatus
FPUA · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapto Nov 10, 12:00 AM
FPUA · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapto Nov 10, 12:00 AM
FPUA · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapto Nov 10, 12:00 AM

Sources: Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service), retrieved 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Plum: algal bloom advisory. Red or amber with a light line inside: beach advisory or caution. Dotted: monthly report (days with discharge, dates not given). Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.
  • Discharge or advisory reported: to the latest update
    3 reports: FPUA 3
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: Manhole 15-16 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Manhole 15-16 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges affecting the Indian River Lagoon in Florida, last 12 months1010 affecting this water: 10 reported on the Indian River Lagoon; none arriving from upstreamDecember 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once. Arriving discharges are estimated from modeled downstream reaches.
  • Days with a discharge affecting the Indian River Lagoon in Florida, last 12 months8Reported on the Indian River Lagoon in Florida: 8 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0 (counted apart; together they need not equal the total)December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status on the Indian River Lagoon in Florida, last 12 months236Reported on the Indian River Lagoon in Florida: 236 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status on the Indian River Lagoon in Florida2.7%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.
  • Records behind the last-90-days strip for the Indian River Lagoon in Florida4Reported on the Indian River Lagoon in Florida: 4 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0last 90 daysEvery distinct record the strip lists for its red, yellow and unresolved hours, notices and unresolved reports included; counted as the strip counts them.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater. Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

Reported discharges per month

62 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when this water had a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported

1 discharge reported to last more than 31 days is counted as 31 days.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges per year, 2017 to 2026

115 reported discharges, 2017 to 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • Incomplete source coverage

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 74 reports that gave a volume as a number (41 did not).

  • Incomplete source coverage

41 of 115 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Incomplete source coverage

1 discharge reported to last more than 31 days is counted as 31 days.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Season with incomplete source coverage

Seasons with incomplete source coverage: 2017. The share is of the hours a source covered. 1 discharge reported to last more than 31 days is counted as 31 days.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 97, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records: records from May 3, 2022 to the latest update (limited records)
  • fl-dep-pnp: records from May 17, 2017 to the latest update

Reports linked to Indian River Lagoon

115 sewage reports · 6 algal bloom advisories

Cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) can make water unfit for contact; the issuing authority decides when its advisory ends.

Reports linked to Indian River Lagoon, newest first
WhenReportStatus
FPUA · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapto Nov 10, 12:00 AM
FPUA · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapto Nov 10, 12:00 AM
FPUA · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapto Nov 10, 12:00 AM
to Sep 8Manhole 15-16 · 300 N. Palm Ave. · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Algal Bloom Sampling) · C54 canal - W of CR 507 in Fellsmere · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · maplisted
to Jul 21City of Cocoa Beach Lift Station #6 · LS6 FM Break · SSO · 2,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Jun 27City of Cocoa Beach Lift Station #3 · Gravity Sewer overflow · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Jun 15FPUA · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Apr 15Cocoa Beach WRF · Rescue Road WW Release - 15 April 2026 · SSO · 10,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Apr 15US Space Force, Patrick Space Force Base… · SLD 45, PSFB, Wastewater Discharge · SSO (earlier version) · 10,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Jan 17FPUA · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Dec 28 ’25FPUA · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · 3,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Nov 4 ’25Lime Street Lift Station #15 Service Area · 300 N Palm Ave MH 15-16 · SSO · 5,400 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Oct 27 ’25South St. Lift Station · 701 Indian River Ave. · SSO · 12,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 12 ’25S. Beaches Wastewater Facility · South Beaches 9/12/25 · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Sep 6 ’25S. Beaches Wastewater Facility · South Beaches 9/6/24 · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Apr 10 ’25WRF David B Lee · 1094 Sarno Rd. FM · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Nov 27 ’24Riverview MHC influent lift station · Riverview MHC Lift Station spill · SSO · 4,100 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Nov 26 ’24FPUA · Fort Pierce Utilities Authority · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Nov 1 ’24Lift Station #38 · Terra Mar Village Lift Station System Manhole Overflow · SSO · 100 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Oct 11 ’24Titusville High Lift Station #34 Service Area · 1540 Riverside Drive Force Main Break · SSO · 60,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Oct 13 ’24S. Beaches Wastewater Facility · South Beaches 10/10/24 · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Oct 11 ’24Lime Street Lift Station #15 Service Area · Lift Station #15 MH 15-1 Spill · SSO · 2,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Oct 10 ’24FPUA · 12th Street & Ave O · SSO · 60,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Oct 10 ’24FPUA · Carlton Court · SSO · 1,800 gallons report · notice · mapended

Sources: Florida DEP Algal Bloom Sampling, blooms and toxins by site, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC.

Download these reports as CSV

Showing the latest 25 records of 131 records.See them all with filters.

All reports in Florida by year: 2026 (11 here) · 2025 (6 here) · 2024 (13 here) · 2023 (30 here) · 2022 (17 here) · 2021 (6 here) · 2020 (5 here) · 2019 (11 here) · 2018 (8 here) · 2017 (24 here)

Wastewater outlets on this water

No wastewater outlet in our records is linked to this water.

Sewer operators listed for this water: COCOA WATER RECLAMATION FACILITY, Fort Pierce Utilities Authority.

Boat launches

Source: OpenBoatLaunch launch records (public agency data and OpenStreetMap, Open Database License). · Indian River Lagoon on OpenBoatLaunch

Nearby waters

Sources covering this water

121 records linked to this water: 115 sewage reports, 6 algal bloom advisories, besides 10 earlier versions or duplicates. Updated .