California / Waters /
Lake Isabella
Lake in California, near Lake Isabella, Mountain Mesa and Wofford Heights
Current status
No current status is assigned to this water outline. Check the water page for reports and any estimated downstream stretches. Why this status, and its source
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch. Larger round markers with a label mark beach and other official advisories nearby.
Bookmark this water page and check it before each trip · Report a missing notice or error
About this status
No current status shown: no report we track sets a status on this water now; how statuses work. No status does not mean the water is safe. Follow posted signs and local health advice.
Sources checked: Surface Water - Freshwater Harmful Algal Blooms (last successful check 2026-11-06 08:37 UTC). Status by DirtyWaterWatch, updated 2026-11-06 09:03 UTC. · Updated
The last 90 days
No discharge, advisory or caution periods are shown for this water in this time span. Check downstream stretches and source coverage.
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-06 09:03 UTC.
Reported discharges over time
- Hours with a discharge or advisory status on Lake Isabella in California, last 12 months5,808Reported on Lake Isabella in California: 0 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0 · Official advisories (beach, algal bloom): 5,808December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
- 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status on Lake Isabella in California49%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.
- Records behind the last-90-days strip for Lake Isabella in California0last 90 daysEvery distinct record the strip lists for its red, yellow and unresolved hours, notices and unresolved reports included; counted as the strip counts them.
Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month
Hours when this water had a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.
- Discharge or advisory reported
33 discharges reported to last more than 31 days are counted as 31 days.
Source: ca-swrcb-fhab. Records cover March 4, 2016 to November 6, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Hours with a discharge or advisory status | Hours from post-discharge periods | Hours from official advisories only | Hours in the month | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| December 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2023 | 624 | 0 | 624 | 720 | |
| July 2023 | 744 | 0 | 744 | 744 | |
| August 2023 | 744 | 0 | 744 | 744 | |
| September 2023 | 720 | 0 | 720 | 720 | |
| October 2023 | 744 | 0 | 744 | 744 | |
| November 2023 | 720 | 0 | 720 | 720 | |
| December 2023 | 744 | 0 | 744 | 744 | |
| January 2024 | 744 | 0 | 744 | 744 | |
| February 2024 | 696 | 0 | 696 | 696 | |
| March 2024 | 744 | 0 | 744 | 744 | |
| April 2024 | 720 | 0 | 720 | 720 | |
| May 2024 | 744 | 0 | 744 | 744 | |
| June 2024 | 720 | 0 | 720 | 720 | |
| July 2024 | 744 | 0 | 744 | 744 | |
| August 2024 | 744 | 0 | 744 | 744 | |
| September 2024 | 720 | 0 | 720 | 720 | |
| October 2024 | 744 | 0 | 744 | 744 | |
| November 2024 | 720 | 0 | 720 | 720 | |
| December 2024 | 744 | 0 | 744 | 744 | |
| January 2025 | 744 | 0 | 744 | 744 | |
| February 2025 | 672 | 0 | 672 | 672 | |
| March 2025 | 744 | 0 | 744 | 744 | |
| April 2025 | 720 | 0 | 720 | 720 | |
| May 2025 | 744 | 0 | 744 | 744 | |
| June 2025 | 720 | 0 | 720 | 720 | |
| July 2025 | 744 | 0 | 744 | 744 | |
| August 2025 | 744 | 0 | 744 | 744 | |
| September 2025 | 720 | 0 | 720 | 720 | |
| October 2025 | 744 | 0 | 744 | 744 | |
| November 2025 | 720 | 0 | 720 | 720 | |
| December 2025 | 744 | 0 | 744 | 744 | |
| January 2026 | 744 | 0 | 744 | 744 | |
| February 2026 | 672 | 0 | 672 | 672 | |
| March 2026 | 744 | 0 | 744 | 744 | |
| April 2026 | 720 | 0 | 720 | 720 | |
| May 2026 | 744 | 0 | 744 | 744 | |
| June 2026 | 720 | 0 | 720 | 720 | |
| July 2026 | 720 | 0 | 720 | 744 | |
| August 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 125 |
Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year
Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.
- Discharge or advisory reported
- Incomplete source coverage
33 discharges reported to last more than 31 days are counted as 31 days.
Source: ca-swrcb-fhab. Records cover March 4, 2016 to November 6, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Hours with a discharge or advisory status | Share of the year | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | 768 | 8.7% | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2017 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2018 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2019 | 1,536 | 17.5% | |
| 2020 | 2,231 | 25.4% | |
| 2021 | 1,056 | 12.1% | |
| 2022 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2023 | 5,041 | 57.5% | |
| 2024 | 8,784 | 100.0% | |
| 2025 | 8,760 | 100.0% | |
| 2026 | 5,063 | 68.2% |
How these charts are counted
We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.
- ca-swrcb-fhab: records from March 4, 2016 to the latest update
Reports linked to Lake Isabella
Cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) can make water unfit for contact; the issuing authority decides when its advisory ends.
| When | Report | Status |
|---|---|---|
| California State Water Resources Control Board (FHAB program) · Stine Cove · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | listed | |
| California State Water Resources Control Board (FHAB program) · French Gulch Marina · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | listed | |
| California State Water Resources Control Board (FHAB program) · Kissack Bay/Cove · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | listed | |
| California State Water Resources Control Board (FHAB program) · Patterson Lane (12) · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | listed | |
| California State Water Resources Control Board (FHAB program) · Hanning Flat (10) · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | listed | |
| to Dec 31 ’21 | California State Water Resources Control Board (FHAB program) · Camp Nine South · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | lifted |
| to Dec 31 ’21 | California State Water Resources Control Board (FHAB program) · Paradise Cove · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | lifted |
| to Dec 31 ’21 | California State Water Resources Control Board (FHAB program) · South Fork Marina · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | lifted |
| to Dec 31 ’21 | California State Water Resources Control Board (FHAB program) · Auxiliary Dam Boat Launch · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | lifted |
| to Dec 31 ’21 | California State Water Resources Control Board (FHAB program) · Old Isabella Road · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | lifted |
| to Dec 31 ’21 | California State Water Resources Control Board (FHAB program) · French Gulch Campground E · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | lifted |
| to Dec 31 ’21 | California State Water Resources Control Board (FHAB program) · French Gulch Campground W · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | lifted |
| to Dec 31 ’20 | California State Water Resources Control Board (FHAB program) · Lake Isabella, KissackBay · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | lifted |
| to Dec 31 ’20 | California State Water Resources Control Board (FHAB program) · Lake Isabella, Patterson Lane · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | lifted |
| to Dec 31 ’20 | California State Water Resources Control Board (FHAB program) · Lake Isabella, Camp Nine South · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | lifted |
| to Dec 31 ’20 | California State Water Resources Control Board (FHAB program) · Lake Isabella, Tillie Creek Campground · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | lifted |
| to Dec 31 ’20 | California State Water Resources Control Board (FHAB program) · Lake Isabella, Stine Cove · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | lifted |
| to Dec 31 ’20 | California State Water Resources Control Board (FHAB program) · Lake Isabella, Hanning Flat · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | lifted |
| to Dec 31 ’20 | California State Water Resources Control Board (FHAB program) · Lake Isabella, Kissack Cove · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | lifted |
| to Dec 31 ’20 | California State Water Resources Control Board (FHAB program) · Lake Isabella, Paradise Cove · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | lifted |
| to Dec 31 ’20 | California State Water Resources Control Board (FHAB program) · Lake Isabella, South Fork Marina · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | lifted |
| to Dec 31 ’20 | California State Water Resources Control Board (FHAB program) · Lake Isabella, Old Isabella Road · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | lifted |
| to Dec 31 ’20 | California State Water Resources Control Board (FHAB program) · Lake Isabella, Auxiliary Dam Boat Launch · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | lifted |
| to Dec 31 ’20 | California State Water Resources Control Board (FHAB program) · Lake Isabella, Boulder Gulch Campground · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | lifted |
| to Dec 31 ’20 | California State Water Resources Control Board (FHAB program) · Lake Isabella, Tillie Creek Boat Launch · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | lifted |
Sources: Surface Water - Freshwater Harmful Algal Blooms, retrieved 2026-11-06 03:07 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.
Showing the latest 25 records of 38 records.See them all with filters.
All reports in California by year: 2026 (1 here) · 2025 (2 here) · 2023 (2 here) · 2021 (7 here) · 2020 (13 here) · 2019 (12 here) · 2016 (1 here)
Wastewater outlets on this water
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
No wastewater outlet in our records is linked to this water.
Boat launches
- Lake Isabella (Engineers Point Boat Launch Facility) · Boat ramp
- Lake Isabella Boat Launch · Boat ramp
- Lake Isabella Boat Launch near Lake Isabella · Boat ramp
- Lake Isabella Camp 9 · Boat ramp
- Old Isabella, Lake Isabella · Boat ramp
- Tillie Creek Launch Ramp Boating Site, Wofford Heights · Boat ramp
Source: OpenBoatLaunch launch records (public agency data and OpenStreetMap, Open Database License). · Lake Isabella on OpenBoatLaunch
Nearby waters
- Salmon Creek, CA No current status shown about 24 km away
- Kern River, CA No current status shown about 49 km away
- Chanac Creek, CA No current status shown about 71 km away
Sources covering this water
- Surface Water - Freshwater Harmful Algal Blooms · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-06 08:37 UTC
38 records linked to this water. Updated .