Macatawa River
River in Michigan, past Holland and Zeeland
Current status
No current status is assigned to this water outline. Check the water page for reports and any estimated downstream stretches. Why this status, and its source
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
Check City of Holland's notices · Bookmark this water page and check it before each trip · Report a missing notice or error
About this status
No current status shown: no report we track sets a status on this water now; how statuses work. No status does not mean the water is safe. Follow posted signs and local health advice.
Sources checked: EGLE MiEnviro CSO/SSO List (last successful check 2026-11-05 01:08 UTC). Status by DirtyWaterWatch, updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC. · Updated
The last 90 days
No discharge, advisory or caution periods are shown for this water in this time span. Check downstream stretches and source coverage.
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.
Reported discharges over time
- Discharges affecting the Macatawa River in Michigan, last 12 months11 affecting this stretch: 1 reported on the Macatawa River; none arriving from upstreamDecember 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once. Arriving discharges are estimated from modeled downstream reaches.
- Days with a discharge affecting the Macatawa River in Michigan, last 12 months1Reported on the Macatawa River in Michigan: 1 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0 (counted apart; together they need not equal the total)December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
- Hours with a discharge or advisory status on the Macatawa River in Michigan, last 12 months0December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
- 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status on the Macatawa River in Michigan0.0%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.
- Records behind the last-90-days strip for the Macatawa River in Michigan0last 90 daysEvery distinct record the strip lists for its red, yellow and unresolved hours, notices and unresolved reports included; counted as the strip counts them.
Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater. Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
Reported discharges per month
1 reported discharge, January 2022 to November 2026.
- Combined sewer overflow
- Sanitary sewer overflow
- Treatment bypass, blended or other
Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Combined sewer overflow | Sanitary sewer overflow | Treatment bypass, blended or other | Total | Counted from | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| December 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| December 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| December 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| December 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2026 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | Source records | |
| July 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month
Hours when this water had a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.
- Discharge or advisory reported
2 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here.
Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2001 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Hours with a discharge or advisory status | Hours from post-discharge periods | Hours in the month | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2022 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| December 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2023 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| December 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2024 | 0 | 0 | 696 | |
| March 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| December 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2025 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| December 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2026 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2026 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2026 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2026 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2026 | 0 | 0 | 94 |
Days with a reported discharge per month
A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.
Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Days with a reported discharge | Coverage |
|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | |
| February 2022 | 0 | |
| March 2022 | 0 | |
| April 2022 | 0 | |
| May 2022 | 0 | |
| June 2022 | 0 | |
| July 2022 | 0 | |
| August 2022 | 0 | |
| September 2022 | 0 | |
| October 2022 | 0 | |
| November 2022 | 0 | |
| December 2022 | 0 | |
| January 2023 | 0 | |
| February 2023 | 0 | |
| March 2023 | 0 | |
| April 2023 | 0 | |
| May 2023 | 0 | |
| June 2023 | 0 | |
| July 2023 | 0 | |
| August 2023 | 0 | |
| September 2023 | 0 | |
| October 2023 | 0 | |
| November 2023 | 0 | |
| December 2023 | 0 | |
| January 2024 | 0 | |
| February 2024 | 0 | |
| March 2024 | 0 | |
| April 2024 | 0 | |
| May 2024 | 0 | |
| June 2024 | 0 | |
| July 2024 | 0 | |
| August 2024 | 0 | |
| September 2024 | 0 | |
| October 2024 | 0 | |
| November 2024 | 0 | |
| December 2024 | 0 | |
| January 2025 | 0 | |
| February 2025 | 0 | |
| March 2025 | 0 | |
| April 2025 | 0 | |
| May 2025 | 0 | |
| June 2025 | 0 | |
| July 2025 | 0 | |
| August 2025 | 0 | |
| September 2025 | 0 | |
| October 2025 | 0 | |
| November 2025 | 0 | |
| December 2025 | 0 | |
| January 2026 | 0 | |
| February 2026 | 0 | |
| March 2026 | 0 | |
| April 2026 | 0 | |
| May 2026 | 0 | |
| June 2026 | 1 | |
| July 2026 | 0 | |
| August 2026 | 0 | |
| September 2026 | 0 | |
| October 2026 | 0 | |
| November 2026 | 0 |
Reported discharges per year, 2001 to 2026
18 reported discharges, 2001 to 2026.
- Combined sewer overflow
- Sanitary sewer overflow
- Treatment bypass, blended or other
Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2001 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Combined sewer overflow | Sanitary sewer overflow | Treatment bypass, blended or other | Total | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 | |
| 2002 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2003 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | |
| 2004 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2005 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2006 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | |
| 2007 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | |
| 2008 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 | |
| 2009 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 3 | |
| 2010 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2011 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 | |
| 2012 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | |
| 2013 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2014 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | |
| 2015 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 2 | |
| 2016 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2017 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2018 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2021 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
Reported volume per year
Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 16 reports that gave a volume as a number (2 did not).
2 of 18 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.
Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2001 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Reported volume, gallons | Reports with a volume | Reports without a volume | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | 150 | 1 | 1 | |
| 2002 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2003 | 2,000 | 1 | 0 | |
| 2004 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2005 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2006 | 0 | 0 | 1 | |
| 2007 | 150 | 1 | 0 | |
| 2008 | 67,400 | 2 | 0 | |
| 2009 | 1,970,000 | 3 | 0 | |
| 2010 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2011 | 55,000 | 2 | 0 | |
| 2012 | 75 | 1 | 0 | |
| 2013 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2014 | 100 | 1 | 0 | |
| 2015 | 6,000 | 2 | 0 | |
| 2016 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2017 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2018 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2021 | 400 | 1 | 0 | |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2026 | 50 | 1 | 0 |
Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year
Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.
- Discharge or advisory reported
2 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here.
Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2001 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Hours with a discharge or advisory status | Share of the year | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | 1 | 0.0% | |
| 2002 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2003 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2004 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2005 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2006 | 9 | 0.1% | |
| 2007 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2008 | 7 | 0.1% | |
| 2009 | 53 | 0.6% | |
| 2010 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2011 | 1 | 0.0% | |
| 2012 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2013 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2014 | 1 | 0.0% | |
| 2015 | 63 | 0.7% | |
| 2016 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2017 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2018 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2019 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2020 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2021 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2022 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2023 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2024 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2025 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2026 | 0 | 0.0% |
Reported discharges by calendar month, all years
Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.
Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.
Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2001 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Reported discharges | Years of records |
|---|---|---|
| January | 0 | 26 |
| February | 0 | 26 |
| March | 1 | 26 |
| April | 1 | 26 |
| May | 0 | 26 |
| June | 7 | 26 |
| July | 2 | 26 |
| August | 2 | 26 |
| September | 0 | 26 |
| October | 0 | 26 |
| November | 0 | 26 |
| December | 5 | 25 |
Reported discharges by wastewater outlet
Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 11, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.
Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2001 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Wastewater outlet | Sewer operator | Reported discharges |
|---|---|---|
| Wastewater Treatment Plant | Holland | 8 |
| Roof drain of Anaerobic Digester Complex Building - A roof drain for the Anaerobic Digester Complex building that discharges to drain ditch that discharges to the Macatawa River | City of Holland | 1 |
| Lincoln Ave & Hedcor St - Force main break surfacing at the SE corner of Lincoln Ave & Hedcor St | Holland BPW | 1 |
| 120th (Waverly) between Lakewood Blvd and north of Business-196 (LS #2) - 400' north of the Macatawa River | Holland Charter Township | 1 |
| Lakewood Blvd & Elm Street | Holland Charter Township | 1 |
| [house number removed] E 8th St | Holland | 1 |
| WWTP-Primary Effluent | Holland | 1 |
| Private Residence Address | Holland | 1 |
| [house number removed] 142nd Avenue - Lift station overflow | Country Acres MHP | 1 |
| Private Residence Address | Zeeland | 1 |
| Other outlets (1) | 1 |
How these charts are counted
We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.
- mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list: records from January 1, 2001 to the latest update
Reports linked to Macatawa River
| When | Report | Status |
|---|---|---|
| to 9:15 AM | City of Holland · Roof drain of Anaerobic Digester Complex Building - A roof drain for the Anaerobic Digester Complex building that discharges to drain ditch that discharges to the Macatawa River · Bypass · 50 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 1:20 PM | City of Holland · Lincoln Ave & Hedcor St - Force main break surfacing at the SE corner of Lincoln Ave & Hedcor St · SSO · 400 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 4:30 PM | City of Holland · Wastewater Treatment Plant · Bypass · 1,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Aug 10 ’15, 6:30 AM | City of Holland · Wastewater Treatment Plant · Bypass · 5,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 9:30 AM | City of Holland · Wastewater Treatment Plant · Bypass · 100 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| City of Holland · Wastewater Treatment Plant · SSO · 75 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| to 11:15 AM | City of Holland · Wastewater Treatment Plant · SSO · 5,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jun 21 ’11, 12:40 AM | Holland Charter Township · 120th (Waverly) between Lakewood Blvd and north of Business-196 (LS #2) - 400' north of the Macatawa River · SSO · 50,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jun 22 ’09, 1:30 AM | Holland Charter Township · Lakewood Blvd & Elm Street · SSO · 250,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jun 20 ’09, 4:00 AM | City of Holland · [house number removed] E 8th St · SSO · 720,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jun 20 ’09, 4:00 PM | City of Holland · Wastewater Treatment Plant · SSO · 1 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 1:15 PM | City of Holland · Wastewater Treatment Plant · SSO · 400 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jun 8 ’08, 6:00 AM | City of Holland · WWTP-Primary Effluent · SSO · 67,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 10:54 AM | City of Holland · Private Residence Address · SSO · 150 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 5:00 PM | Country Acres MHP · [house number removed] 142nd Avenue - Lift station overflow · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to 11:15 AM | Zeeland · Private Residence Address · SSO · 2,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 2:15 PM | City of Holland · Wastewater Treatment Plant · SSO · 150 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| Holland Charter Township · Private Residence Address - Magnum Business Condos, Lakewood Blvd · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
Sources: EGLE MiEnviro CSO/SSO List, retrieved 2026-11-04 15:09 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.
All reports in Michigan by year: 2026 (1 here) · 2021 (1 here) · 2015 (2 here) · 2014 (1 here) · 2012 (1 here) · 2011 (2 here) · 2009 (3 here) · 2008 (2 here) · 2007 (1 here) · 2006 (1 here) · 2003 (1 here) · 2001 (2 here)
Wastewater outlets on this water
No wastewater outlet in our records is linked to this water.
Sewer operators listed for this water: City of Holland.
Boat launches
No public boat launch is listed in our records for this water.
Nearby waters
- Unnamed tributary to Macatawa River, MI No current status shown about 1 km away
- Pine Creek, MI No current status shown about 10 km away
- Lake Macatawa, MI No current status shown about 13 km away
- Unnamed tributary to Rabbit River, MI No current status shown about 13 km away
- Ottawa Creek, MI No current status shown about 20 km away
Sources covering this water
- EGLE MiEnviro CSO/SSO List · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-05 01:08 UTC
18 records linked to this water. Updated .