DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Connecticut / Waters /

North Branch Park River

River in Connecticut, past Bloomfield, Hartford and West Hartford

Current status

No current status shown

No current status is assigned to this water outline. Check the water page for reports and any estimated downstream stretches. Why this status, and its source

This badge describes the water outline. Check the downstream stretches on the map and below for discharge statuses.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Conditions

At the North Branch Park River at Hartford, CT gauge, on this water: flow 10.8 cubic feet per second (Nov 2, 2026, 4:00 PM EST), water temperature 8.8 C, turbidity 1.1 FNU.

  • Cold water (under 15 C) keeps bacteria alive longer.

Water level 1.6 feet. The National Weather Service flood stage at this gauge is 8 feet (National Weather Service gauge page).

USGS measures turbidity in formazin nephelometric units (FNU), which read close to NTU.

Conditions are measured at the gauge, not at this spot, and do not change the status.

Source: U.S. Geological Survey via Water Data for the Nation, gauge 01191000, reading Nov 2, 2026, 4:00 PM EST, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:22 UTC; flood stage: NOAA National Weather Service, gauge NBPC3. Gauge chosen by DirtyWaterWatch. · Readings and history at USGS

Check The Metropolitan District (MDC) - Hartford Water Pollution Control Facility and combined sewer system's notices · Bookmark this water page and check it before each trip · Report a missing notice or error

About this status

Why this status: No current status: no report we track sets a status on this water outline now.

How long each status lasts, and why

Sources checked: CT DEEP reporting archive 2016-2021 (last successful check 2026-11-02 21:18 UTC). Status by DirtyWaterWatch, updated 2026-11-02 21:26 UTC.

No status does not mean the water is safe. Follow posted signs and local health advice.

Updated .

Estimated downstream stretches on North Branch Park River

No downstream stretch has a current status here as of Nov 2, 2026, 4:26 PM EST. Check the reports below.

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.

No discharge, advisory or caution periods are shown for this water in this time span. Check downstream stretches and source coverage.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-02 21:26 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges affecting the North Branch Park River in Connecticut, last 12 months00 affecting this stretch: 0 reported in Connecticut, none arriving from upstreamDecember 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once. Arriving discharges are estimated from modeled downstream reaches.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status on the North Branch Park River in Connecticut, last 12 months0Reported on the North Branch Park River in Connecticut: 0 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2021 season with a discharge or advisory status on the North Branch Park River in Connecticut1.1%May to October 2021Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.
  • Records behind the last-90-days strip for the North Branch Park River in Connecticut0Reported on the North Branch Park River in Connecticut: 0 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0last 90 daysEvery distinct record the strip lists for its red, yellow and unresolved hours, notices and unresolved reports included; counted as the strip counts them.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater. Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

Reported discharges per month

0 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • No tracked source for this period
No tracked source

No tracked source covers January 2022 to November 2026.

Source: Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection reporting archive, 2016 to 2021. Records cover January 1, 2022 to December 2, 2021.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when this water had a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • No tracked source for this period
No tracked source

No tracked source covers January 2022 to November 2026. 5 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Connecticut's reporting archive runs from July 4, 2016 to December 2, 2021.

Source: Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection reporting archive, 2016 to 2021. Records cover July 4, 2016 to December 2, 2021.

Show table

Reported discharges per year, 2016 to 2026

12 reported discharges, 2016 to 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source

No tracked source covers 2022 to 2026. Connecticut's reporting archive runs from July 4, 2016 to December 2, 2021.

Source: Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection reporting archive, 2016 to 2021. Records cover July 4, 2016 to December 2, 2021.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source

No tracked source covers 2022 to 2026. 5 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here.

Source: Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection reporting archive, 2016 to 2021. Records cover July 4, 2016 to December 2, 2021.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Season with incomplete source coverage

Seasons with incomplete source coverage: 2016. The share is of the hours a source covered. 5 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here.

Source: Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection reporting archive, 2016 to 2021. Records cover July 4, 2016 to December 2, 2021.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Source: Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection reporting archive, 2016 to 2021. Records cover July 4, 2016 to December 2, 2021.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 3 of 3, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

Connecticut's reporting archive runs from July 4, 2016 to December 2, 2021.

Source: Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection reporting archive, 2016 to 2021. Records cover July 4, 2016 to December 2, 2021.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection reporting archive, 2016 to 2021: records from July 4, 2016 to December 2, 2021

Reports linked to North Branch Park River

Reports linked to North Branch Park River, newest first
StartEnd Sewer operator OutletTypeVolumeSourceLinks
Nov 18, 2021, 9:58 PM EST Nov 19, 2021, 2:39 AM EST The Metropolitan District Conduits: P-1, P-2, P-3, P-4, P-5, P-9, P-10, P-11A, P-12, P-13, P-15, P-15A, P-18, P-19, P-23, P-24; N-12, N-14, N-22, N-23, N-24, N-25 N-28A, N-28B, N-29 ; P-16, P-16A; G-20, G-2, G-8 – G12, G13W, G-13E, G-15, G-17A, G-17B, G-19, G-21, G-23 Combined sewer overflow (CSO) “100,001 - 500,000 gallons” The Metropolitan District (CT DEEP reporting archive 2016-2021), record cso-48470151, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:18 UTC · Read the original notice
Read the full record

See it in the archive for its year

Nov 18, 2021, 9:58 PM EST end not reported The Metropolitan District Conduits: P-1, P-2, P-3, P-4, P-5, P-9, P-10, P-11A, P-12, P-13, P-15, P-15A, P-18, P-19, P-23, P-24; N-12, N-14, N-22, N-23, N-24, N-25 N-28A, N-28B, N-29 ; P-16, P-16A; G-20, G-2, G-8 – G12, G13W, G-13E, G-15, G-17A, G-17B, G-19, G-21, G-23 Combined sewer overflow (CSO) volume not reported The Metropolitan District (CT DEEP reporting archive 2016-2021), record cso-48467105, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:18 UTC · Read the original notice
Read the full record

See it in the archive for its year

Aug 22, 2021, 8:02 AM EDT Aug 22, 2021, 9:23 AM EDT The Metropolitan District Free-Flowing North Branch: N-2, N-4, N-9, N-10 Combined sewer overflow (CSO) “Undetermined” The Metropolitan District (CT DEEP reporting archive 2016-2021), record cso-48469083, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:18 UTC · Read the original notice
Read the full record

See it in the archive for its year

Mar 18, 2021, 1:23 PM EDT Mar 18, 2021, 10:51 PM EDT The Metropolitan District Conduits: P-1, P-2, P-3, P-4, P-5, P-9, P-10, P-11A, P-12, P-13, P-15, P-15A, P-18, P-19, P-23, P-24; N-12, N-14, N-22, N-23, N-24, N-25 N-28A, N-28B, N-29 ; P-16, P-16A; G-20, G-2, G-8 – G12, G13W, G-13E, G-15, G-17A, G-17B, G-19, G-21, G-23 Combined sewer overflow (CSO) “Over 1,000,000 gallons” The Metropolitan District (CT DEEP reporting archive 2016-2021), record cso-48470437, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:18 UTC · Read the original notice
Read the full record

See it in the archive for its year

Mar 18, 2021, 1:23 PM EDT end not reported The Metropolitan District Conduits: P-1, P-2, P-3, P-4, P-5, P-9, P-10, P-11A, P-12, P-13, P-15, P-15A, P-18, P-19, P-23, P-24; N-12, N-14, N-22, N-23, N-24, N-25 N-28A, N-28B, N-29 ; P-16, P-16A; G-20, G-2, G-8 – G12, G13W, G-13E, G-15, G-17A, G-17B, G-19, G-21, G-23 Combined sewer overflow (CSO) “51 - 500 gallons” The Metropolitan District (CT DEEP reporting archive 2016-2021), record cso-48467138, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:18 UTC · Read the original notice
Read the full record

See it in the archive for its year

Jun 11, 2020, 12:13 PM EDT Jun 11, 2020, 6:32 PM EDT The Metropolitan District Conduits: P-1, P-2, P-3, P-4, P-5, P-9, P-10, P-11A, P-12, P-13, P-15, P-15A, P-18, P-19, P-23, P-24; N-12, N-14, N-22, N-23, N-24, N-25 N-28A, N-28B, N-29 ; P-16, P-16A; G-20, G-2, G-8 – G12, G13W, G-13E, G-15, G-17A, G-17B, G-19, G-21, G-23 Combined sewer overflow (CSO) “Over 1,000,000 gallons” The Metropolitan District (CT DEEP reporting archive 2016-2021), record cso-48470302, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:18 UTC · Read the original notice
Read the full record

See it in the archive for its year

Jun 11, 2020, 12:13 PM EDT end not reported The Metropolitan District Conduits: P-1, P-2, P-3, P-4, P-5, P-9, P-10, P-11A, P-12, P-13, P-15, P-15A, P-18, P-19, P-23, P-24; N-12, N-14, N-22, N-23, N-24, N-25 N-28A, N-28B, N-29 ; P-16, P-16A; G-20, G-2, G-8 – G12, G13W, G-13E, G-15, G-17A, G-17B, G-19, G-21, G-23 Combined sewer overflow (CSO) volume not reported The Metropolitan District (CT DEEP reporting archive 2016-2021), record cso-48467084, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:18 UTC · Read the original notice
Read the full record

See it in the archive for its year

Jul 8, 2019, 10:52 AM EDT Jul 8, 2019, 11:17 AM EDT The Metropolitan District Sewer Main, CONE ST Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) “LESS THAN 100gal” The Metropolitan District (CT DEEP reporting archive 2016-2021), record bypass-35964885, reported Jul 8, 2019, 12:12 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:18 UTC · Read the original notice
Read the full record

See it in the archive for its year

Oct 2, 2018, 12:32 AM EDT end not reported The Metropolitan District Free-Flowing North Branch: N-2, N-4, N-9, N-10 Combined sewer overflow (CSO) “50,000 - 99,999 gallons” The Metropolitan District (CT DEEP reporting archive 2016-2021), record cso-48467124, reported Jul 2, 2019, 9:17 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:18 UTC · Read the original notice
Read the full record

See it in the archive for its year

Oct 2, 2018, 12:32 AM EDT end not reported The Metropolitan District Free-Flowing North Branch: N-2, N-4, N-9, N-10 Combined sewer overflow (CSO) “50,000 - 99,999 gallons” The Metropolitan District (CT DEEP reporting archive 2016-2021), record cso-48467119, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:18 UTC · Read the original notice
Read the full record

See it in the archive for its year

Jul 6, 2018, 11:01 AM EDT Jul 6, 2018, 11:03 AM EDT The Metropolitan District Free-Flowing North Branch: N-2, N-4, N-9, N-10 Combined sewer overflow (CSO) “1,000 - 9,999 gallons” The Metropolitan District (CT DEEP reporting archive 2016-2021), record cso-48467637, reported Jul 6, 2018, 12:39 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:18 UTC · Read the original notice
Read the full record

See it in the archive for its year

Jul 3, 2018, 5:44 PM EDT Jul 3, 2018, 6:35 PM EDT The Metropolitan District Free-Flowing North Branch: N-2, N-4, N-9, N-10 Combined sewer overflow (CSO) “500,000 - 999,999 gallons” The Metropolitan District (CT DEEP reporting archive 2016-2021), record cso-48468478, reported Jul 3, 2018, 5:49 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:18 UTC · Read the original notice
Read the full record

See it in the archive for its year

All reports in Connecticut by year: 2021 (5 here) · 2020 (2 here) · 2019 (1 here) · 2018 (4 here)

Wastewater outlets on this water

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

No wastewater outlet in our records is linked to this water.

Sewer operators listed for this water: The Metropolitan District (MDC) - Hartford Water Pollution Control Facility and combined sewer system.

Boat launches

No public boat launch is listed in our records for this water.

Nearby waters

Sources covering this water

12 records linked to this water. Updated .