Rock River
River in Illinois, past Blackhawk, Byron, Canoe Creek, Coal Valley, Coloma, Colona, Dixon, Erie, Fenton, Grand Detour, Hampton, Hanna, Harlem, Hopkins, Hume, Lyndon, Marion, Nelson, Oregon-Nashua, Owen, Palmyra, Phenix, Portland, Prophetstown, Rockford, Rockton, Rockvale, Roscoe, South Moline, South Rock Island, Sterling, Taylor and Zuma
Current status
Radar shows that recent rain at a combined sewer system's outlets has reached the amount set for that system, and its operator has not reported a discharge. It reads "discharge likely" where the amount is the one at which that system has discharged before, or a rain trigger its state publishes, and "discharge possible" where only this site's default of 0.1 inch applies. This is an estimate, not a report. This status since . Why this status, and its source
This badge describes the water outline. Check the downstream stretches on the map and below for discharge statuses.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
Solid dots mark combined sewer outfalls. Ringed dots mark treatment plant outfalls. A yellow ring with a dashed edge means discharge likely or possible: heavy rain, no report received. Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch. Dashed river stretches are estimates.
Check City of Byron's notices · Bookmark this water page and check it before each trip · Report a missing notice or error
About this status
Discharge possible: heavy rain, no report received: heavy rain at a sewer operator's outlets reached this site's default amount, and no report received; shown for 48 hours after the rain (site rule). 20.6 in of rain fell in the 24 hours to Nov 6, 2026, 2:00 AM CST at City of Oregon's outfalls (NOAA radar estimate).
Source: NOAA National Weather Service, MRMS radar-only rainfall estimate, valid Nov 6, 2026, 2:00 AM CST, retrieved 2026-11-06 08:57 UTC; threshold: site default; rule: How it works, discharge likely or possible. · Updated
Estimated downstream stretches on Rock River
none from a report; 1 route below outlets with a status
No stretch below a reported discharge has a current status here as of Nov 6, 2026, 3:03 AM CST. The routes below wastewater outlets carry the status shown on each.
Estimated routes below wastewater outlets
1 route below outlets
- Caution Permit IL0020184, outlet 010 · 40 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at the 40-kilometre limit
Source: DirtyWaterWatch estimates using U.S. Geological Survey river maps and flow measurements. The estimate stops at tidal water, the first lake or the distance limit.
The last 90 days
- Discharge likely or possible: heavy rain, no report received: to the latest update Radar estimate, no report received: heavy rain at the outlets of City of Oregon, City of Prophetstown
- Caution: to 4 reports: City of Moline 3, City of Rock Island 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 4 reports: City of Moline 3, City of Rock Island 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 2 reports: City of Moline 1, City of Rock Island 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 2 reports: City of Moline 1, City of Rock Island 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-06 09:03 UTC.
Reported discharges over time
- Discharges affecting the Rock River in Illinois, last 12 months88 affecting this stretch: 8 reported on the Rock River; none arriving from upstreamDecember 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once. Arriving discharges are estimated from modeled downstream reaches.
- Days with a discharge affecting the Rock River in Illinois, last 12 months7Reported on the Rock River in Illinois: 7 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0 (counted apart; together they need not equal the total)December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
- Hours with a discharge or advisory status on the Rock River in Illinois, last 12 months66Reported on the Rock River in Illinois: 66 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
- 2023 season with a discharge or advisory status on the Rock River in Illinois0.0%May to October 2023; incomplete source coverageShare of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.
- Records behind the last-90-days strip for the Rock River in Illinois8Reported on the Rock River in Illinois: 6 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0 · Other records (rain-likely and similar): 2last 90 daysEvery distinct record the strip lists for its red, yellow and unresolved hours, notices and unresolved reports included; counted as the strip counts them.
This record covers the Rock River within Illinois; the same river upstream is a separate record.
Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater.
Reported discharges per month
11 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.
- Combined sewer overflow
- Sanitary sewer overflow
- Treatment bypass, blended or other
- Incomplete source coverage
The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's sewer overflow records are limited: they hold only what operators file with the agency.
Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 6, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Combined sewer overflow | Sanitary sewer overflow | Treatment bypass, blended or other | Total | Counted from | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| December 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| August 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| September 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| October 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| November 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| December 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| January 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| February 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| March 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| April 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| May 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| June 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| July 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| August 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| September 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| October 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| November 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| December 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| January 2025 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | Incomplete source coverage |
| February 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| March 2025 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | Incomplete source coverage |
| April 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| May 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| June 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| July 2025 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| September 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| October 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| November 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| December 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| January 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| February 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| March 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| April 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| May 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| June 2026 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 | Source records | Incomplete source coverage |
| July 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| August 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| September 2026 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 | Source records | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2026 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 4 | Source records | Incomplete source coverage |
| November 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month
Hours when this water had a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.
- Discharge or advisory reported
- Incomplete source coverage
The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's sewer overflow records are limited: they hold only what operators file with the agency.
Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 6, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Hours with a discharge or advisory status | Hours from post-discharge periods | Hours in the month | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2022 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| December 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2023 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| November 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| December 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| January 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| February 2024 | 0 | 0 | 696 | Incomplete source coverage |
| March 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| April 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| May 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| June 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| July 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| November 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| December 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| January 2025 | 2 | 2 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| February 2025 | 0 | 0 | 672 | Incomplete source coverage |
| March 2025 | 3 | 3 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| April 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| May 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| June 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| July 2025 | 48 | 48 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| November 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| December 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| January 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| February 2026 | 0 | 0 | 672 | Incomplete source coverage |
| March 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| April 2026 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| May 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| June 2026 | 32 | 32 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| July 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2026 | 10 | 10 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2026 | 25 | 25 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| November 2026 | 0 | 0 | 125 | Incomplete source coverage |
Days with a reported discharge per month
A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.
- Incomplete source coverage
Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 6, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Days with a reported discharge | Coverage |
|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | |
| February 2022 | 0 | |
| March 2022 | 0 | |
| April 2022 | 0 | |
| May 2022 | 0 | |
| June 2022 | 0 | |
| July 2022 | 0 | |
| August 2022 | 0 | |
| September 2022 | 0 | |
| October 2022 | 0 | |
| November 2022 | 0 | |
| December 2022 | 0 | |
| January 2023 | 0 | |
| February 2023 | 0 | |
| March 2023 | 0 | |
| April 2023 | 0 | |
| May 2023 | 0 | |
| June 2023 | 0 | |
| July 2023 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2023 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2023 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2023 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| November 2023 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| December 2023 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| January 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| February 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| March 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| April 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| May 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| June 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| July 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| November 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| December 2024 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| January 2025 | 1 | Incomplete source coverage |
| February 2025 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| March 2025 | 1 | Incomplete source coverage |
| April 2025 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| May 2025 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| June 2025 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| July 2025 | 1 | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2025 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2025 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2025 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| November 2025 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| December 2025 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| January 2026 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| February 2026 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| March 2026 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| April 2026 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| May 2026 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| June 2026 | 3 | Incomplete source coverage |
| July 2026 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2026 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2026 | 2 | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2026 | 2 | Incomplete source coverage |
| November 2026 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
Reported discharges per year, 2000 to 2026
11 reported discharges, 2000 to 2026.
- Combined sewer overflow
- Sanitary sewer overflow
- Treatment bypass, blended or other
- Incomplete source coverage
The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's sewer overflow records are limited: they hold only what operators file with the agency.
Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 6, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Combined sewer overflow | Sanitary sewer overflow | Treatment bypass, blended or other | Total | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2001 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2002 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2003 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2004 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2005 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2006 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2007 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2008 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2009 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2010 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2011 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2012 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2013 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2014 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2015 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2016 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2017 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2018 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2025 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 3 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2026 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 8 | Incomplete source coverage |
Reported volume per year
Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 9 reports that gave a volume as a number (2 did not).
- Incomplete source coverage
2 of 11 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.
Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 6, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Reported volume, gallons | Reports with a volume | Reports without a volume | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2001 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2002 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2003 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2004 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2005 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2006 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2007 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2008 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2009 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2010 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2011 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2012 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2013 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2014 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2015 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2016 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2017 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2018 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2025 | 5,001 | 2 | 1 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2026 | 118,350 | 7 | 1 | Incomplete source coverage |
Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year
Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.
- Discharge or advisory reported
- Incomplete source coverage
Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 6, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Hours with a discharge or advisory status | Share of the year | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2001 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2002 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2003 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2004 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2005 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2006 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2007 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2008 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2009 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2010 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2011 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2012 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2013 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2014 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2015 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2016 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2017 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2018 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2019 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2020 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2021 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2022 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2023 | 0 | 0.0% | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2024 | 0 | 0.0% | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2025 | 53 | 0.6% | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2026 | 66 | 0.9% | Incomplete source coverage |
Reported discharges by calendar month, all years
Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.
Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.
Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records. Records cover May 3, 2022 to November 6, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Reported discharges | Years of records |
|---|---|---|
| January | 1 | 38 |
| February | 0 | 38 |
| March | 1 | 39 |
| April | 0 | 39 |
| May | 0 | 39 |
| June | 2 | 39 |
| July | 1 | 39 |
| August | 0 | 38 |
| September | 2 | 38 |
| October | 4 | 38 |
| November | 0 | 38 |
| December | 0 | 38 |
How these charts are counted
We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.
- U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records: records from May 3, 2022 to the latest update (limited records)
- il-mwrd-lake-michigan-reversals: records from March 4, 1985 to July 3, 2023
Reports linked to Rock River
| When | Report | Status |
|---|---|---|
| to 9:00 PM CDT | City of Rock Island · SSO · 5,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Oct 2, 5:00 PM CDT | City of Moline · SSO · 7,350 gallons in all map | ended |
| to Oct 2, 5:00 PM CDT | City of Moline · SSO · 2,450 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Oct 2, 5:00 PM CDT | City of Moline · SSO · 2,450 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Oct 2, 5:00 PM CDT | City of Moline · SSO · 2,450 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 8:00 PM CDT | City of Rock Island · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 11:00 PM CDT | City of Moline · SSO · 60,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jun 22, 1:30 AM CDT | City of Moline · SSO · 45,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jun 17 | City of Moline · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jul 29 ’25 | City of Moline · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to 6:00 PM CDT | City of Rock Island · SSO · 5,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 4:30 PM CST | City of Moline · SSO · 1 gallon report · notice · map | ended |
Sources: EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators), retrieved 2026-11-06 08:38 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.
All reports in Illinois by year: 2026 (8 here) · 2025 (3 here)
Wastewater outlets on this water
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
Combined sewer outfalls
3 outfalls · discharge possible now at 3
Discharge possible: heavy rain, no report received at 3 outfalls now: radar rainfall has reached the operator's threshold and no discharge report has arrived (NOAA radar estimate).
- Outfall 010 · City of Oregon · receiving water in the permit: ROCK RIVER · open · discharge possible now: heavy rain, no report received
- Outfall 001 · City of Prophetstown · receiving water in the permit: ROCK RIVER · open · discharge possible now: heavy rain, no report received
- Outfall 002 · City of Prophetstown · receiving water in the permit: ROCK RIVER · open · discharge possible now: heavy rain, no report received
Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) national combined sewer outfall inventory (ECHO) and state outfall layers. Open or closed as EPA's inventory lists it. DirtyWaterWatch links outlets to waters using permit numbers, locations and names.
Treatment plant outfalls
17 outfalls
- Outfall 009 · City of Oregon · receiving water in the permit: ROCK RIVER · status not published
- Outfall 001 · Village of Milan · receiving water in the permit: ROCK RIVER · status not published
- Outfall 002 · Village of Erie · receiving water in the permit: ROCK RIVER · status not published
- Outfall 001 · City of South Beloit · receiving water in the permit: ROCK RIVER · status not published
- Outfall 002 · City of Dixon · receiving water in the permit: ROCK RIVER · status not published
- Outfall 001 · Rock Falls STP · receiving water in the permit: ROCK RIVER · status not published
- Outfall 001 · Four Rivers Sanitation Authority · receiving water in the permit: ROCK RIVER · status not published
- Outfall 002 · Four Rivers Sanitation Authority · receiving water in the permit: ROCK RIVER · status not published
- Outfall 001 · City of Byron · receiving water in the permit: ROCK RIVER · status not published
- Outfall 003 · City of Moline · receiving water in the permit: ROCK RIVER · status not published
- Outfall 004 · City of Moline · receiving water in the permit: ROCK RIVER · status not published
- Outfall 001 · Village of Rockton · receiving water in the permit: ROCK RIVER · status not published
Showing 12 of 17.
Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) permit records (ICIS-NPDES permitted features): where a treatment plant’s permitted discharge leaves. No national source says whether a plant outfall is open or closed.
Sewer operators listed for this water: City of Byron, City of Dixon, City of Moline, City of Oregon, City of Prophetstown, City of South Beloit, City of Sterling, Four Rivers Sanitation Authority, Rock Falls STP, Village of Erie, Village of Milan, Village of Rockton, City of Rock Island.
Boat launches
- Harold's Landing, Moline · Boat ramp
- Lawrence Park, Rock Falls · Boat ramp
- Macktown Forest Preserve Boat Ramp, Rockton · Boat ramp
- Prophetstown State Park · Boat ramp
- Rock River Boat Launch near Byron · Boat ramp
- Rock River Boat Launch near Byron · Boat ramp
- Rock River Boat Launch near Dixon · Boat ramp
- Rock River Boat Launch near Dixon · Boat ramp
- Rock River Boat Launch near Loves Park · Boat ramp
- Rock River Boat Launch near Loves Park · Boat ramp
- Rock River Boat Launch near Lyndon · Boat ramp
- Rock River Boat Launch near Machesney Park · Boat ramp
- Rock River Boat Launch near Oregon · Boat ramp
- Rock River Boat Launch near Oregon · Boat ramp
- Rock River Boat Launch near Rock Falls · Boat ramp
- Rock River Boat Launch near Rock Falls · Boat ramp
- Rock River Boat Launch near Rock Falls · Boat ramp
- Rock River Boat Launch near Rockford · Boat ramp
- Rock River Boat Launch near Rockton · Boat ramp
- Rock River Boat Launch near Roscoe · Boat ramp
Source: OpenBoatLaunch launch records (public agency data and OpenStreetMap, Open Database License).
Nearby waters
- Elkhorn Creek, IL No current status shown about 11 km away
- Rock Creek, IL No current status shown about 14 km away
- Buffalo Creek, IL No current status shown about 15 km away
- Carroll Creek, IL No current status shown about 20 km away
- Leaf River, IL No current status shown about 30 km away
Sources covering this water
- a public source · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-06 08:38 UTC
- a public source · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-06 08:39 UTC
- MWRD Lake Michigan reversals table (1985 to present) · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-06 08:41 UTC
- a public source · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-06 08:57 UTC
11 records linked to this water. Updated .