DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

New Jersey / Waters /

Spruce Run Reservoir

Reservoir in New Jersey, near Clinton and Union

Current status

Discharge or advisory reported

A discharge is reported as ongoing, a post-discharge period applies, or an official advisory is listed. Open the report for its source, dates and advice. This status since . Why this status, and its source

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.

Bookmark this water page and check it before each trip · Report a missing notice or error

About this status

Why this status: Discharge or advisory reported: official advisory.

Why we use this rule: An official advisory is listed. We show it while the authority keeps it in place; an old or missing update does not mean the advisory was lifted.

Source: https://www.arcgis.com/home/item.html?id=49190166531d4e5a811c9a91e4a41677. How long each status lasts, and why

Source: NJDEP Harmful Algal Bloom Program (Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control), record 5e238868-e0c9-48f5-baa8-2d0a6e5e8f50, updated by the source Oct 30, 2026, 8:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:19 UTC · Read the original notice

Updated .

Reports behind this status

Advice in the reports

NJDEP Harmful Algal Bloom Program (Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control) · Oct 27, 2026 · Current status: sets this water's status now

“NJDEP HAB alert tier at this site: Watch.”

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.
  • Discharge or advisory reported: to the latest update
    1 report: NJDEP Harmful Algal Bloom Program (Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control) 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-02 21:26 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status on the Spruce Run Reservoir in New Jersey, last 12 months152Reported on the Spruce Run Reservoir in New Jersey: 0 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status on the Spruce Run Reservoir in New Jersey2.5%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.
  • Records behind the last-90-days strip for the Spruce Run Reservoir in New Jersey1Reported on the Spruce Run Reservoir in New Jersey: 1 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0last 90 daysEvery distinct record the strip lists for its red, yellow and unresolved hours, notices and unresolved reports included; counted as the strip counts them.

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when this water had a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source

No tracked source covers January 2022 to March 2025. 1 discharge reported to last more than 31 days is counted as 31 days.

Source: nj-hab. Records cover April 2, 2025 to November 2, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

1 discharge reported to last more than 31 days is counted as 31 days.

Source: nj-hab. Records cover April 2, 2025 to November 2, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported

1 discharge reported to last more than 31 days is counted as 31 days.

Source: nj-hab. Records cover April 2, 2025 to November 2, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • nj-hab: records from April 2, 2025 to the latest update

Reports linked to Spruce Run Reservoir

Reports linked to Spruce Run Reservoir, newest first
StartEnd Sewer operator OutletTypeVolumeSourceLinks
Oct 27, 2026, 10:33 AM EDT still listed as in effect not stated Not provided Cyanobacteria advisory (harmful blue-green algae) volume not reported NJDEP Harmful Algal Bloom Program (Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control), record 5e238868-e0c9-48f5-baa8-2d0a6e5e8f50, updated by the source Oct 30, 2026, 8:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:19 UTC · Read the original notice
Jun 19, 2025, 12:48 PM EDT end not reported not stated Not provided Cyanobacteria advisory (harmful blue-green algae) volume not reported NJDEP Harmful Algal Bloom Program (Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control), record 9eb992c6-3a9d-484f-aa87-6a28fff01aab, updated by the source Jun 20, 2025, 12:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:19 UTC · Read the original notice
Read the full record

See it in the archive for its year

Jun 19, 2025, 12:27 PM EDT end not reported not stated Not provided Cyanobacteria advisory (harmful blue-green algae) volume not reported NJDEP Harmful Algal Bloom Program (Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control), record e33313e6-8797-4968-94fa-32ae071cbe0a, updated by the source Jun 20, 2025, 12:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:19 UTC · Read the original notice
Read the full record

See it in the archive for its year

Jun 19, 2025, 11:59 AM EDT end not reported not stated Not provided Cyanobacteria advisory (harmful blue-green algae) volume not reported NJDEP Harmful Algal Bloom Program (Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control), record 717ead64-23b6-41c0-a920-5c16e05bd041, updated by the source Jun 20, 2025, 12:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:19 UTC · Read the original notice
Read the full record

See it in the archive for its year

Jun 19, 2025, 9:32 AM EDT end not reported not stated Not provided Cyanobacteria advisory (harmful blue-green algae) volume not reported NJDEP Harmful Algal Bloom Program (Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control), record 0f2c627b-c249-4932-8a15-e54c9eb305a6, updated by the source Jun 25, 2025, 12:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:19 UTC · Read the original notice
Read the full record

See it in the archive for its year

Jun 19, 2025, 9:04 AM EDT end not reported not stated Not provided Cyanobacteria advisory (harmful blue-green algae) volume not reported NJDEP Harmful Algal Bloom Program (Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control), record 3da9fcac-2fed-4091-9038-1cbab9f566e3, updated by the source Aug 8, 2025, 12:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:19 UTC · Read the original notice
Read the full record

See it in the archive for its year

Jun 19, 2025, 8:25 AM EDT Aug 8, 2025, 12:00 PM EDT not stated Not provided Cyanobacteria advisory (harmful blue-green algae) volume not reported NJDEP Harmful Algal Bloom Program (Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control), record a31c76b1-bd39-4547-932c-dc33e32e94a1, updated by the source Jun 25, 2025, 12:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:19 UTC · Read the original notice
Read the full record

See it in the archive for its year

Jun 6, 2025, 11:02 AM EDT end not reported not stated Not provided Cyanobacteria advisory (harmful blue-green algae) volume not reported NJDEP Harmful Algal Bloom Program (Division of Water Monitoring, Standards and Pesticide Control), record b1786e82-de19-46ab-99ba-aa3cb274534f, updated by the source Jun 14, 2025, 12:00 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:19 UTC · Read the original notice
Read the full record

See it in the archive for its year

All reports in New Jersey by year: 2026 (1 here) · 2025 (7 here)

Wastewater outlets on this water

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

No wastewater outlet in our records is linked to this water.

Boat launches

Source: OpenBoatLaunch launch records (public agency data and OpenStreetMap, Open Database License). · Spruce Run Reservoir on OpenBoatLaunch

Nearby waters

Sources covering this water

8 records linked to this water. Updated .