North Carolina / Waters /
Trent River
River in North Carolina, past New Bern, Pollocksville, River Bend, Trent Woods and Trenton
Current status
No current status is assigned to this water outline. Check the water page for reports and any estimated downstream stretches. Why this status, and its source
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch. Larger round markers with a label mark beach and other official advisories nearby.
Check Town of River Bend's notices · Bookmark this water page and check it before each trip · Report a missing notice or error
About this status
No current status shown: no report we track sets a status on this water now; how statuses work. No status does not mean the water is safe. Follow posted signs and local health advice.
Sources checked: a public source (last successful check 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC); a public source (last successful check 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC); NC DEQ DWR Fish Kill and Algal Bloom Incidents (North_Carolina_Fish_Kills_and_Algal_Blooms_Public_Reports) (last successful check 2026-11-05 01:08 UTC); NC DWR Sanitary Sewer Overflows September 2022 through December 2025 (ArcGIS) (last successful check 2026-11-04 06:57 UTC); NC DEQ DWR "SSOs and Bypasses" ArcGIS layer (last successful check 2026-11-05 01:08 UTC); NC DEQ Fish Kills and Algal Blooms public reports (Fish_Kill_Algal_Bloom_Public_View) (last successful check 2026-11-04 06:57 UTC). Status by DirtyWaterWatch, updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC. · Updated
The last 90 days
- Caution: to 1 report: Town of River Bend 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 1 report: Town of River Bend 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.
Reported discharges over time
- Discharges affecting the Trent River in North Carolina, last 12 months22 affecting this stretch: 2 reported on the Trent River; none arriving from upstreamDecember 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once. Arriving discharges are estimated from modeled downstream reaches.
- Days with a discharge affecting the Trent River in North Carolina, last 12 months2Reported on the Trent River in North Carolina: 2 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0 (counted apart; together they need not equal the total)December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
- Hours with a discharge or advisory status on the Trent River in North Carolina, last 12 months1Reported on the Trent River in North Carolina: 1 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
- 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status on the Trent River in North Carolina0.0%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.
- Records behind the last-90-days strip for the Trent River in North Carolina1Reported on the Trent River in North Carolina: 1 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0last 90 daysEvery distinct record the strip lists for its red, yellow and unresolved hours, notices and unresolved reports included; counted as the strip counts them.
Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater. Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
Reported discharges per month
4 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.
- Combined sewer overflow
- Sanitary sewer overflow
- Treatment bypass, blended or other
- No tracked source for this period
- Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source covers January 2022 to April 2022.
Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Combined sewer overflow | Sanitary sewer overflow | Treatment bypass, blended or other | Total | Counted from | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| February 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| March 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| April 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| May 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| June 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| July 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| August 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| September 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| October 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| December 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2023 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| February 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| December 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2024 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| July 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| December 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| December 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2026 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| February 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2026 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| November 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month
Hours when this water had a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.
- Discharge or advisory reported
- No tracked source for this period
- Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source covers January 2022 to April 2022. 2 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here.
Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Hours with a discharge or advisory status | Hours from post-discharge periods | Hours in the month | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | No tracked source for this period |
| February 2022 | 0 | 0 | 672 | No tracked source for this period |
| March 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | No tracked source for this period |
| April 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | No tracked source for this period |
| May 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| June 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| July 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| December 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2023 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| December 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2024 | 0 | 0 | 696 | |
| March 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| December 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2025 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| December 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2026 | 1 | 1 | 744 | |
| February 2026 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2026 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2026 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2026 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2026 | 0 | 0 | 94 |
Days with a reported discharge per month
A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.
- No tracked source for this period
- Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source covers January 2022 to April 2022.
Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Days with a reported discharge | Coverage |
|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| February 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| March 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| April 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| May 2022 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| June 2022 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| July 2022 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| August 2022 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| September 2022 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| October 2022 | 0 | |
| November 2022 | 0 | |
| December 2022 | 0 | |
| January 2023 | 1 | |
| February 2023 | 0 | |
| March 2023 | 0 | |
| April 2023 | 0 | |
| May 2023 | 0 | |
| June 2023 | 0 | |
| July 2023 | 0 | |
| August 2023 | 0 | |
| September 2023 | 0 | |
| October 2023 | 0 | |
| November 2023 | 0 | |
| December 2023 | 0 | |
| January 2024 | 0 | |
| February 2024 | 0 | |
| March 2024 | 0 | |
| April 2024 | 0 | |
| May 2024 | 0 | |
| June 2024 | 1 | |
| July 2024 | 0 | |
| August 2024 | 0 | |
| September 2024 | 0 | |
| October 2024 | 0 | |
| November 2024 | 0 | |
| December 2024 | 0 | |
| January 2025 | 0 | |
| February 2025 | 0 | |
| March 2025 | 0 | |
| April 2025 | 0 | |
| May 2025 | 0 | |
| June 2025 | 0 | |
| July 2025 | 0 | |
| August 2025 | 0 | |
| September 2025 | 0 | |
| October 2025 | 0 | |
| November 2025 | 0 | |
| December 2025 | 0 | |
| January 2026 | 1 | |
| February 2026 | 0 | |
| March 2026 | 0 | |
| April 2026 | 0 | |
| May 2026 | 0 | |
| June 2026 | 0 | |
| July 2026 | 0 | |
| August 2026 | 0 | |
| September 2026 | 0 | |
| October 2026 | 1 | |
| November 2026 | 0 |
Reported volume per year
Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 4 reports that gave a volume as a number.
- Incomplete source coverage
Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Reported volume, gallons | Reports with a volume | Reports without a volume | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2023 | 150 | 1 | 0 | |
| 2024 | 5,100 | 1 | 0 | |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2026 | 350 | 2 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year
Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.
- Discharge or advisory reported
- Incomplete source coverage
2 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here.
Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Hours with a discharge or advisory status | Share of the year | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | 0 | 0.0% | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2023 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2024 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2025 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2026 | 1 | 0.0% | Incomplete source coverage |
Reported discharges by calendar month, all years
Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.
Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.
Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Reported discharges | Years of records |
|---|---|---|
| January | 2 | 4 |
| February | 0 | 4 |
| March | 0 | 4 |
| April | 0 | 4 |
| May | 0 | 4 |
| June | 1 | 4 |
| July | 0 | 4 |
| August | 0 | 4 |
| September | 0 | 5 |
| October | 1 | 5 |
| November | 0 | 5 |
| December | 0 | 4 |
Reported discharges by wastewater outlet
Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 4 of 4, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.
Sources: nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025; nc-dwr-sso-2026. Records cover September 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Wastewater outlet | Sewer operator | Reported discharges |
|---|---|---|
| 50 ydsfrom 2900 Dr MLK Jr Blvd | New Bern Collection System | 1 |
| cleanout for the apartment complex | River Bend Collection System | 1 |
| 709 Plantation Drive, New Bern | River Bend Collection System | 1 |
| 906 PLANTATION DRIVE, NEW BERN | River Bend Collection System | 1 |
How these charts are counted
We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.
- U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records: records from May 3, 2022 to the latest update (limited records)
- nc-dwr-sso-2022-2025: records from September 1, 2022 to February 15, 2026
- nc-dwr-sso-2026: records from January 2, 2026 to the latest update
Reports linked to Trent River
4 sewage reports · 5 algal bloom advisories
Cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) can make water unfit for contact; the issuing authority decides when its advisory ends.
| When | Report | Status |
|---|---|---|
| to 9:35 AM | River Bend Collection System · 709 Plantation Drive, New Bern · SSO · 300 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| NC DEQ Division of Water Resources (fish kill and algal bloom reports) · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | reported | |
| NC DEQ Division of Water Resources (fish kill and algal bloom reports) · Algae advisory · volume in each report map | reported | |
| NC DEQ Division of Water Resources (fish kill and algal bloom reports) · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | reported | |
| NC DEQ Division of Water Resources (fish kill and algal bloom reports) · Algae advisory (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · map | reported | |
| River Bend Collection System · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended | |
| to 1:45 PM | River Bend Collection System · 906 Plantation Drive, New Bern · SSO · 50 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| New Bern Collection System · 50 ydsfrom 2900 Dr MLK Jr Blvd · SSO · 5,100 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| NC DEQ Division of Water Resources (fish kill and algal bloom reports) · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | reported | |
| River Bend Collection System · cleanout for the apartment complex · SSO · 150 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| NC DEQ Division of Water Resources (fish kill and algal bloom reports) · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | reported | |
| NC DEQ Division of Water Resources (fish kill and algal bloom reports) · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | reported |
Sources: NC DEQ DWR "SSOs and Bypasses" ArcGIS layer, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:08 UTC; NC DEQ DWR Fish Kill and Algal Bloom Incidents (North_Carolina_Fish_Kills_and_Algal_Blooms_Public_Reports), retrieved 2026-11-05 01:08 UTC; NC DEQ Fish Kills and Algal Blooms public reports (Fish_Kill_Algal_Bloom_Public_View), retrieved 2026-11-04 06:57 UTC; NC DWR Sanitary Sewer Overflows September 2022 through December 2025 (ArcGIS), retrieved 2026-11-04 06:57 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.
All reports in North Carolina by year: 2026 (6 here) · 2024 (1 here) · 2023 (2 here) · 2022 (1 here) · 2021 (1 here)
Wastewater outlets on this water
No wastewater outlet in our records is linked to this water.
Sewer operators listed for this water: Town of River Bend, Town of Trenton, City of New Bern.
Boat launches
- Lawson Creek Park Boat Ramp #2, New Bern · Boat ramp
- Neuse River Gateway, New Bern · Carry-in launch (canoe and kayak)
- Pollocksville · Boat ramp
- River Bend Kayak/Canoe Launch · Carry-in launch (canoe and kayak)
- Trenton · Boat ramp
Source: OpenBoatLaunch launch records (public agency data and OpenStreetMap, Open Database License). · Trent River on OpenBoatLaunch
Nearby waters
- White Oak River, NC No current status shown about 25 km away
- Yadkin Branch, NC No current status shown about 30 km away
- Jack Smith Creek, NC No current status shown about 30 km away
- Little Northeast Creek, NC No current status shown about 32 km away
- Sandy Run Branch, NC No current status shown about 33 km away
Sources covering this water
- a public source · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC
- a public source · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC
- NC DEQ DWR Fish Kill and Algal Bloom Incidents (North_Carolina_Fish_Kills_and_Algal_Blooms_Public_Reports) · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-05 01:08 UTC
- NC DWR Sanitary Sewer Overflows September 2022 through December 2025 (ArcGIS) · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-04 06:57 UTC
- NC DEQ DWR "SSOs and Bypasses" ArcGIS layer · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-05 01:08 UTC
- NC DEQ Fish Kills and Algal Blooms public reports (Fish_Kill_Algal_Bloom_Public_View) · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-04 06:57 UTC
9 records linked to this water: 4 sewage reports, 5 algal bloom advisories, besides 2 earlier versions or duplicates. Updated .