DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Florida / Sewer operators /

City of DeFuniak Springs WWTP

Sewer utility · Florida · DeFuniak Springs

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Small hollow diamonds mark places named in its overflow reports (provisional).

Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
not recorded
Wastewater outlets
None in EPA or state outlet records; 25 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations) · List
Waters listed as receiving wastewater
not recorded
Tracked waters
none
Discharge records counted
42 records · latest
Total reported volume in these records
1,161,100 gallons across the 35 records that give a volume (7 without one)

These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.

Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-05 06:27 UTC.

Public notices and alerts

Get alerts from City of DeFuniak Springs WWTP

Source: City of DeFuniak Springs WWTP's public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records.

Report a missing notice or error

Wastewater outlets

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

None in EPA or state outlet records; 25 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations).

Places named in overflow reports (provisional)

25 places · 16 not on the map (reports say the sewage reached no water)

Provisional location from overflow reports. Where the operator's own reports put an overflow: a manhole, pump station or plant. Not an outfall listed in a permit.

  • Reported place · 9 overflow reports, latest Feb 9, 2026 · confidence high · no water record yet · not on the map: its reports say the sewage did not reach a water
  • Reported place · 4 overflow reports, latest Feb 9, 2026 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Oct 10, 2026 · confidence high · no water record yet · not on the map: its reports say the sewage did not reach a water
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Oct 10, 2026 · confidence high · no water record yet · not on the map: its reports say the sewage did not reach a water
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Jul 18, 2026 · confidence high · no water record yet · not on the map: its reports say the sewage did not reach a water
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Sep 12, 2025 · confidence high · no water record yet · not on the map: its reports say the sewage did not reach a water
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Jul 6, 2025 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Sep 16, 2020 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Oct 10, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet · not on the map: its reports say the sewage did not reach a water
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Oct 10, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet · not on the map: its reports say the sewage did not reach a water
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Oct 10, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet · not on the map: its reports say the sewage did not reach a water
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Oct 10, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet · not on the map: its reports say the sewage did not reach a water

Showing 12 of 25.

Source: the operator's own overflow reports to the state. DirtyWaterWatch groups reports within 50 metres into one place and finds the water below it with U.S. Geological Survey river maps (NLDI, NHDPlus). Not a permitted outfall; provisional until an official outfall record exists.

Reports and advisories

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.

Reports linked to City of DeFuniak Springs WWTP, newest first
WhenReportStatus
to Oct 10Water not mapped · influent station · SSO · 100,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Oct 11Water not mapped · ls 13 · SSO · 10,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Oct 10Water not mapped · ls 29 · SSO · 500 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Oct 10Water not mapped · lift station 28 · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Oct 10Water not mapped · Ls 27 · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Oct 10Water not mapped · Ls 26 · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Oct 10Water not mapped · Ls 11 · SSO · 800 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Oct 10Water not mapped · Ls 41 · SSO · 500 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Oct 10Water not mapped · Ls 30 · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 3Water not mapped · WWTP Bypass · SSO · 400 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Jul 18Water not mapped · lift station 9 7-18-26 · SSO · 400 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Jun 21Water not mapped · Ls 9 6-20-26 · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Apr 9Water not mapped · 4-9-2026 lift station 9 · SSO · 10,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Feb 9Water not mapped · Jacobs Lift Station 9 2-9-26 SW 2026-1362 · SSO · 5,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Feb 9Water not mapped · 2-9-26 Ls 3 · SSO · 700 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 12 ’25Water not mapped · lift station 19 · SSO · 800 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 1 ’25Water not mapped · Jacobs DFS Lift Station 3 · SSO · 2,500 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Aug 28 ’25Water not mapped · spill at station 3 · SSO · 3,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Aug 25 ’25Water not mapped · lift station 3 spill 5-25-25 · SSO · 18,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Aug 14 ’25Water not mapped · Jacobs DFS Lift Station 3 · SSO · 15,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Jul 7 ’25Water not mapped · ls 43 · SSO · 800 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Jul 6 ’25Water not mapped · lift station 36 · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to May 16 ’25Water not mapped · Jacobs DFS Lift Station 17 Best Western Spill · SSO · 2,500 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Apr 29 ’25Water not mapped · Ls 36 · SSO · 15,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Apr 20 ’25Water not mapped · 4-20-25 station 3 · SSO · 8,000 gallons report · notice · mapended

Sources: Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service), retrieved 2026-11-05 06:08 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Download these reports as CSV

Showing the latest 25 records of 42 records.See them all with filters.

All reports in Florida by year: 2026 (15 from City of DeFuniak Springs WWTP) · 2025 (12 from City of DeFuniak Springs WWTP) · 2024 (8 from City of DeFuniak Springs WWTP) · 2023 (1 from City of DeFuniak Springs WWTP) · 2020 (2 from City of DeFuniak Springs WWTP) · 2019 (3 from City of DeFuniak Springs WWTP) · 2017 (1 from City of DeFuniak Springs WWTP)

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges reported by City of DeFuniak Springs WWTP, last 12 months15December 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
  • Days with a discharge reported by City of DeFuniak Springs WWTP, last 12 months6December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status from City of DeFuniak Springs WWTP's reports, last 12 months192December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status (City of DeFuniak Springs WWTP)3.3%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater.

Reported discharges per month

36 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when a water had a discharge or advisory status from this sewer operator's reports, under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported

Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges per year, 2017 to 2026

42 reported discharges, 2017 to 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • Incomplete source coverage

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 35 reports that gave a volume as a number (7 did not).

  • Incomplete source coverage

7 of 42 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Incomplete source coverage

Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Season with incomplete source coverage

Seasons with incomplete source coverage: 2017. The share is of the hours a source covered. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 41, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • fl-dep-pnp: records from May 17, 2017 to the latest update