DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Illinois / Sewer operators /

Urbana & Champaign Sanitary District

Sewer operator · Illinois · Urbana

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Ringed dots mark treatment plant outfalls. Small hollow diamonds mark places named in its overflow reports (provisional).

Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
IL0031500
Wastewater outlets
3 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies; 2 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations) · List
Waters listed as receiving wastewater
SALINE BRANCH DRAINAGE DITCH
Tracked waters
none
Discharge records counted
4 records · latest
Total reported volume in these records
15,100 gallons across the 2 records that give a volume (2 without one)

These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.

Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-06 09:03 UTC.

Public notices and alerts

We do not list an alert service for this operator yet. Check its website.

Source: Urbana & Champaign Sanitary District's public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records.

Report a missing notice or error

Wastewater outlets

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

3 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies; 2 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations).

Treatment plant outfalls

3 outfalls
  • Outfall 001 · receiving water in the permit: SALINE BRANCH DRAINAGE DITCH · no water record yet · status not published
  • Outfall 002 · receiving water in the permit: SALINE BRANCH DRAINAGE DITCH · no water record yet · status not published
  • Outfall INFL · receiving water in the permit: SALINE BRANCH DRAINAGE DITCH · no water record yet · status not published

Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) permit records (ICIS-NPDES permitted features): where a treatment plant’s permitted discharge leaves. No national source says whether a plant outfall is open or closed.

Places named in overflow reports (provisional)

2 places

Provisional location from overflow reports. Where the operator's own reports put an overflow: a manhole, pump station or plant. Not an outfall listed in a permit.

  • Reported place · 3 overflow reports, latest Aug 23, 2026 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Apr 28, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet

Source: the operator's own overflow reports to the state. DirtyWaterWatch groups reports within 50 metres into one place and finds the water below it with U.S. Geological Survey river maps (NLDI, NHDPlus). Not a permitted outfall; provisional until an official outfall record exists.

Reports and advisories

Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.

Reports linked to Urbana & Champaign Sanitary District, newest first
WhenReportStatus
to 4:45 PM CDT“Salt Fork of the Saline Branch” · Bypass · 15,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Aug 20“Storm sewer disch. to Saline Branch of Salt Fork” · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Aug 15“Saline Branch” · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to 2:27 AM CDT“Saline Branch” · SSO · 100 gallons report · notice · mapended

Sources: EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators), retrieved 2026-11-06 08:38 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Download these reports as CSV

All reports in Illinois by year: 2026 (4 from Urbana & Champaign Sanitary District)

Reported discharges over time

Historical charts are not available here. See the reports and sources on this page.