Treatment bypass reported, Aug 23, 2026
Ended (as reported) · EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators)
Source: EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators), record IL0031500:5:1, reported Aug 24, 2026, 12:00 AM CDT, retrieved 2026-11-06 08:38 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 6, 2026, 3:03 AM CST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Urbana & Champaign Sanitary District (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, IL0031500). Outlet: not stated. Location: 40.11833, -88.19500; location source: given in the source record.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Salt Fork of the Saline Branch”. Not linked to a mapped water. Name match too far (14.6 km; limit 12.0 km: the river record's extent (33.8 km, counted to 10 km) plus 2 km).
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- Source last updated
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “wastewater diverted around part of the treatment process”
- Volume
- 15,000 gallons (estimated)
- Volume as reported
- “15,000 gallons (Best Professional Judgement)”
Advice from EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- Public source
- Source record number
- IL0031500:5:1
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | echo-sewer-overflow:IL0031500:5:1 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | echo-sewer-overflow |
| Source record number | IL0031500:5:1 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Treatment bypass |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | Not provided |
| Sewer operator | Not provided |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | IL0031500 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Not provided |
| Water named in the report | Salt Fork of the Saline Branch |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | 40.118 |
| Longitude | -88.195 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Aug 23, 2026, 4:30 PM CDT (2026-08-23T16:30:00-05:00) |
| Ended | Aug 23, 2026, 4:45 PM CDT (2026-08-23T16:45:00-05:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Aug 24, 2026, 12:00 AM CDT (2026-08-24) |
| Published | Nov 4, 2026, 12:00 AM CST (2026-11-04) |
| Source last updated | Nov 4, 2026, 6:21 AM CST (2026-11-04T12:21:15Z) |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 6, 2026, 2:38 AM CST (2026-11-06T08:38:59Z) |
| Material | wastewater diverted around part of the treatment process |
| Volume, in gallons | 15,000 |
| Volume as reported | 15,000 gallons (Best Professional Judgement) |
| How volume was determined | estimated |
| Authority | EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://echo.epa.gov/detailed-facility-report?fid=IL0031500&sys=ICP |
Original source data
{
"permit_identifier": "IL0031500",
"program_report_form_set_id": "5",
"program_report_form_id": "1",
"sewer_overflow_bypass_event_key": "27215",
"sewer_overflow_bypass_event_id_ext": "1",
"sewer_overflow_bypass_description_text": "Loss of all electric power to treatment plant for about 90 minutes",
"sewer_overflow_bypass_reporting_requirement_code": "1",
"sewer_overflow_reporting_requirement_desc": "5-day reporting for noncompliance that may endanger health or the environment",
"wet_weather_occurance_indicator": "N",
"latitude_measure": "40.118333",
"longitude_measure": "-88.195000",
"sewer_overflow_bypass_duration_hours": "0.25",
"sewer_overflow_bypass_start_datetime": "2026-08-23 16:30:00",
"sewer_overflow_bypass_end_datetime": "2026-08-23 16:45:00",
"discharge_quantification_method_code": "BPJ",
"discharge_quantification_method_desc": "Best Professional Judgement",
"sewer_overflow_bypass_discharge_volume_gallons": "15000.00",
"payload_id": "317501533",
"event_transaction_type": "N",
"program_report_received_date": "2026-08-24",
"program_report_start_date": "2026-08-23",
"program_report_end_date": "2026-08-23",
"electronic_submission_type_code": "ES1",
"electr_submission_type_desc": "EPA electronic reporting system",
"program_report_npdes_data_group_number_code": "G9A",
"transaction_type": "N",
"types": [
"Bypass Event"
],
"receiving_waters": [
"Salt Fork of the Saline Branch"
],
"impacts": [
{
"code": "NOI",
"desc": "No observable impacts",
"other": null
}
],
"causes": [
{
"code": "OTE",
"desc": "Other Cause at Treatment Plant - Electrical Failure",
"other": "Second source of power was lost due to short from squirrel getting electrocuted."
}
],
"corrective_actions": [
{
"code": "FEP",
"desc": "Fix Electrical Problem",
"other": null
}
],
"treatment": [
{
"code": null,
"desc": null,
"bypassed_equipment": "Secondary treatment equipment"
}
],
"collection_system_name": null,
"percent_collection_system_css": null,
"reached_water_rule": "receiving water named",
"timezone_note": "ECHO gives event times without a timezone; read as America/Chicago, the permit's state's zone (a fall-back hour that happens twice is read as the first)",
"report_version": "1"
} Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.