DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Michigan / Sewer operators /

City of Traverse City

Sewer utility · Michigan · Traverse City

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Ringed dots mark treatment plant outfalls. Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.

Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
3112a-0890, MI0027481
Wastewater outlets
2 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies; no combined sewer outfall is listed · List
Waters listed as receiving wastewater
Boardman River; Kids Creek,Boardman River,West Grand Traverse Bay
Tracked waters
Boardman River, MI, Boardman River, MI, Boardman Lake, MI, Kids Creek, MI
Discharge records counted
37 records · latest
Total reported volume in these records
60,324,511 gallons across the 34 records that give a volume (3 without one)

These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.

Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Public notices and alerts

Pages where City of Traverse City or the state publishes its notices (check them for an alert sign-up):

Its public-notice channels

Source: City of Traverse City's public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records; DirtyWaterWatch register of public-notice channels and its page monitor.

Report a missing notice or error

Wastewater outlets

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies; no combined sewer outfall is listed.

Treatment plant outfalls

2 outfalls

Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) permit records (ICIS-NPDES permitted features): where a treatment plant’s permitted discharge leaves. No national source says whether a plant outfall is open or closed.

Reports and advisories

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.

Reports linked to City of Traverse City, newest first
WhenReportStatus
Water not mapped · SSO · volume not reported report · noticeongoing
Water not mapped · SSO · volume not reported report · noticeongoing
to 3:00 PMWater not mapped · Manhole SSM-599 - Curb in front of [house number removed] Munson · SSO · 50 gallons report · noticeended
to 9:40 AM“Boardman River” · Temporary UV Module - TCWWTP - 001a and the soil surrounding the UV module · Bypass · 3,000 gallons report · noticeended
to 11:35 AMWater not mapped · Hull Park Lift Station - Vegetated Area near Hull Park Lift Station · SSO · 25 gallons report · noticeended
to 1:29 PMBoardman Lake · WWTP outfall · Bypass · 900 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 9:35 AMWater not mapped · Temporary UV Treatment Trailer, near WWTP outfall · Bypass · 15 gallons report · noticeended
to 5:30 PMWater not mapped · Northeast area of WWTP, damaged forcemain cleanout · Bypass · 50 gallons report · noticeended
to 7:52 PMWater not mapped · Trench within WWTP · Bypass · 10,200 gallons report · noticeended
to Jul 13, 2:00 PMWater not mapped · East Bay Plaza - storage area near [house number removed] Munson - Ace Hardware · SSO · 250 gallons report · noticeended
to Jul 6, 8:45 PM“Boardman River” · Open excavation - Trench near Fine Screen Building and into surrounding ground · Bypass · 540,000 gallons report · noticeended
to 1:16 PMWater not mapped · unknown manhole located at WWTP · Bypass · 2 gallons report · noticeended
to 4:04 PMWater not mapped · Traverse City WWTP - WWTP SOUTH CLARIFIER · Bypass · 10 gallons report · noticeended
to 1:05 PMWater not mapped · Manhole located at WWTP - Manhole near stairs to digesters. · Bypass · 15 gallons report · noticeended
to 6:40 PMWater not mapped · Traverse City Regional Wastewater Treatment Plant Near Influent Building - Pit 10' Below grade east of Influent Building · Bypass · 575 gallons report · noticeended
to 8:25 AMWater not mapped · Traverse City Regional Wastewater Treatment Plant Near Influent Building - Construction area near influent building and area behind influent building · Bypass · 500 gallons report · noticeended
to Apr 16, 1:06 AM“Boardman River” · Boardman River - Approved final discharge point of the Traverse City Wastewater Treatment Plant, in the Boardman River near the midpoint of the pedestrian bridge · Bypass · 2.3 million gallons report · noticeended
to 9:00 PMKids Creek · OUT-75 Storm sewer outfall for the intersection of 6th and S Cedar · SSO · 500 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 2:15 PMWater not mapped · Manhole SSM-560 - Manhole in 200 block of Washington st · SSO · 30 gallons report · noticeended
to 9:30 AMWater not mapped · Manhole SSM-1031 - Intersection of Cherrylane Dr and Quail Ridge Dr · SSO · 20 gallons report · noticeended
to 9:00 AMWater not mapped · Manhole SSM-E1618 - IFO [house number removed] East Traverse Highway (M-72) · SSO · 20 gallons report · noticeended
to 1:00 PMWater not mapped · Manhole SSM-865 - Intersection of State st and Rose St · SSO · 10 gallons report · noticeended
to 1:55 PM“Boardman River” · CB-2020 Catch Basin 2020 in the 100 block of the alley north of E Front st. · SSO · 5 gallons report · noticeended
to 1:05 PMWater not mapped · Manhole SSM-1364 - Manhole located in the alley south of washington @ railroad · SSO · 10 gallons report · noticeended
to 9:30 AMWater not mapped · manhole ssm-421 - 200 block e 12th · SSO · 10 gallons report · noticeended

Sources: EGLE MiEnviro CSO/SSO List, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:07 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Download these reports as CSV

Showing the latest 25 records of 37 records.See them all with filters.

All reports in Michigan by year: 2026 (17 from City of Traverse City) · 2025 (2 from City of Traverse City) · 2024 (2 from City of Traverse City) · 2023 (4 from City of Traverse City) · 2022 (1 from City of Traverse City) · 2021 (5 from City of Traverse City) · 2020 (5 from City of Traverse City) · 2018 (1 from City of Traverse City)

Other sewer operators on these waters

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Plum: algal bloom advisory. Red or amber with a light line inside: beach advisory or caution. Dotted: monthly report (days with discharge, dates not given). Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.
  • Caution: to
    1 report: Boardman Lake 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Boardman Lake 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges reported by City of Traverse City, last 12 months17December 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
  • Days with a discharge reported by City of Traverse City, last 12 months19December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status from City of Traverse City's reports, last 12 months363December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status (City of Traverse City)5.2%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater.

Reported discharges per month

26 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other

Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when a water had a discharge or advisory status from this sewer operator's reports, under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported

2 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2001 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges per year, 2001 to 2026

37 reported discharges, 2001 to 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other

Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2001 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 34 reports that gave a volume as a number (3 did not).

3 of 37 discharge reports gave no volume as a number (1 gave a range); only numbers are summed.

Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2001 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported

2 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2001 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported

2 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2001 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2001 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 33, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2001 to November 4, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list: records from January 1, 2001 to the latest update