Treatment plant bypass reported — City of Traverse City, Sep 17, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Michigan EGLE (MiEnviro CSO/SSO List)
Source: Michigan EGLE (MiEnviro CSO/SSO List) via EGLE MiEnviro CSO/SSO List, record 3666912098724976272-3, reported Sep 18, 2026, 7:52 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:07 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 4, 2026, 8:25 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: City of Traverse City (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, MI0027481). Outlet: “Temporary UV Module - TCWWTP - 001a and the soil surrounding the UV module”. Location: not given in the report or in the outlet records.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Boardman River”. Not linked to a mapped water. Ambiguous name.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “Partially Treated”
- Volume
- 3,000 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- “3000 Gallons”
Advice from Michigan EGLE (MiEnviro CSO/SSO List)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- EGLE MiEnviro CSO/SSO List
- Source record number
- 3666912098724976272-3
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list:3666912098724976272-3 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list |
| Source record number | 3666912098724976272-3 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Treatment plant bypass |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | mi-city-of-traverse-city |
| Sewer operator | City of Traverse City |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | MI0027481 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Temporary UV Module - TCWWTP - 001a and the soil surrounding the UV module |
| Water named in the report | Boardman River |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | Not provided |
| Longitude | Not provided |
| Location source | Not provided |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Sep 17, 2026, 9:12 AM EDT (2026-09-17T09:12:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Sep 17, 2026, 9:40 AM EDT (2026-09-17T09:40:00-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Sep 18, 2026, 7:52 AM EDT (2026-09-18T07:52:31-04:00) |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 4, 2026, 8:07 PM EST (2026-11-05T01:07:31Z) |
| Material | Partially Treated |
| Volume, in gallons | 3,000 |
| Volume as reported | 3000 Gallons |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | Michigan EGLE (MiEnviro CSO/SSO List) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://mienviro.michigan.gov/ncore/ss/ssolist?queryParams=%7B%22filter%22%3A%5B%7B%22submissionId%22%3A%223666912098724976272%22%7D%5D%2C%22top%22%3A50%7D |
Original source data
{
"submissionId": "3666912098724976272",
"submissionReferenceNumber": "HQR-NF6Q-785MX",
"sectionNumber": 3,
"submissionReceivedDate": "2026-09-18T07:52:31.9170000-04:00",
"responsiblePartyName": "City of Traverse City",
"siteName": "Traverse City WWTP",
"permitNumber": "MI0027481",
"countyDescription": "Grand Traverse",
"countyId": "28",
"reportStatusId": "COMPLETE",
"reportStatusDescription": "Completed",
"dischargeType": "Other Discharge,Partially Treated (Not disinfected) Effluent ,Other Discharge",
"dischargeQuality": "Partially Treated,Partially Treated",
"dischargeVolume": "3000.00000 Gallons",
"dischargeVolumeNumeric": 3000,
"eventStartDate": "2026-09-17T09:12:00.0000000-04:00",
"eventEndDate": "2026-09-17T09:40:00.0000000-04:00",
"featureNumber": "Temporary UV Module - TCWWTP",
"featureDescription": "001a and the soil surrounding the UV module",
"receivingWater": "Boardman River",
"landImpacted": "Soil surrounding UV Module",
"precipitationAmount": null,
"precipitationType": "None,None",
"reached_water": true
} Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.