District of Columbia / Reports /
District of Columbia sewage discharges in 2026
14 records of sewage discharges and water advisories in District of Columbia dated in 2026, newest first, 2 earlier versions or duplicates included and marked. Each record keeps the source's own times and wording; a record from the last six months, or one still in effect, also has a page of its own.
By type: Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO)13 · Combined sewer overflow (CSO)1
By source: EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators)12 · DC Water (news release / public notice)2
2026 in other states: Connecticut, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia.
Source: the agencies, sewer operators and EPA records named on each row and on the Sources page. Updated 2026-11-03 02:43 UTC.
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system.
| When | Report | Status |
|---|---|---|
| to 6:00 PM | District of Columbia Water and Sewer… · Rock Creek · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jul 2, 10:45 PM | District of Columbia Water and Sewer… · Broad Branch · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jun 30, 1:13 AM | District of Columbia Water and Sewer… · Broad Branch · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jun 15, 10:18 PM | District of Columbia Water and Sewer… · Broad Branch · SSO · 100 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jun 5, 8:00 PM | District of Columbia Water and Sewer… · Broad Branch · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to May 21, 2:00 AM | District of Columbia Water and Sewer… · Pope Branch · SSO · 10,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Apr 17, 3:45 AM | District of Columbia Water and Sewer… · Potomac River · CSO · 14,767 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 2:25 AM | District of Columbia Water and Sewer… · Potomac River · SSO · 534,772 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| District of Columbia Water and Sewer… · Potomac River · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported · notice · map | reported | |
| to 3:45 AM | District of Columbia Water and Sewer… · Potomac River · SSO · 291,667 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 1:00 AM | District of Columbia Water and Sewer… · Potomac River · SSO · 291,667 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 9:29 PM | District of Columbia Water and Sewer… · Potomac River · SSO · 19,400 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Jan 27, 10:10 AM | District of Columbia Water and Sewer… · Potomac River · SSO · 242 million gallons · notice · map | ended |
| District of Columbia Water and Sewer… · Chesapeake and Ohio Canal, Potomac River · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported · notice · map | reported |
Sources: ECHO NPDES Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event Dataset, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:28 UTC; news release / public notice, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:40 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.