Beach closure reported, Dec 14, 2023
Advisory active · Anne Arundel County Department of Health
Source: Anne Arundel County Department of Health via Anne Arundel County Department of Health Recreational Water Closings and Advisories, record node-994, published Dec 14, 2023, 12:00 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:27 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
Earlier version. A later record from the same source replaces this one. The newest version sets the map status. read the newer version
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: not named. Outlet: not stated. Location: not given in the report or in the outlet records.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “the headwaters of Cox Creek to the end of Carvel Beach Road”. Not linked to a mapped water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
We estimate routes only on rivers before they become tidal. We do not estimate routes through tidal water or lakes.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the day only
- Reported to the source
- not given
- Published
- Source last updated
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Beach closure
- Status in the record
- Advisory active
- Material
- not stated
- Volume
- volume not reported (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- none
Advice from Anne Arundel County Department of Health
“The affected recreational waters are closed to all direct water contact activities. The emergency closing will remain in effect for 1 (one) week. People coming in contact with the affected water are advised to wash well with soap and warm water immediately. Clothing should also be washed.”
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- Anne Arundel County Department of Health Recreational Water Closings and Advisories
- Source record number
- node-994
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- version 2
Record details
| Record identifier | md-aa-health-closings:node-994 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | md-aa-health-closings |
| Source record number | node-994 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Beach closure |
| Status in the report | Advisory active |
| Sewer operator identifier | Not provided |
| Sewer operator | Not provided |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | Not provided |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | Not provided |
| Water named in the report | the headwaters of Cox Creek to the end of Carvel Beach Road |
| Linked waters | Not provided |
| How this report was linked to the water | not linked to a mapped water |
| Latitude | Not provided |
| Longitude | Not provided |
| Location source | Not provided |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Dec 14, 2023 (2023-12-14T00:00:00-05:00) |
| Ended | Dec 21, 2023 (2023-12-21T00:00:00-05:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the day only |
| Reported to the source | Not provided |
| Published | Dec 14, 2023 (2023-12-14T00:00:00-05:00) |
| Source last updated | Jan 17, 2024 (2024-01-17T00:00:00-05:00) |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 9:27 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:27:18Z) |
| Material | Not provided |
| Volume, in gallons | Not provided |
| Volume as reported | Not provided |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | Anne Arundel County Department of Health |
| Advice | The affected recreational waters are closed to all direct water contact activities. The emergency closing will remain in effect for 1 (one) week. People coming in contact with the affected water are advised to wash well with soap and warm water immediately. Clothing should also be washed. |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://www.aahealth.org/environmental-health/recreational-water-quality/closings-and-advisories/update-1-17-24-cox-creek |
Original source data
{
"page": {
"nid": "994",
"url": "https://www.aahealth.org/environmental-health/recreational-water-quality/closings-and-advisories/update-1-17-24-cox-creek",
"title": "*UPDATE - 1-17-24* Cox Creek Closure",
"list_date": "2024-01-10T12:38:18",
"title_update_date": "2024-01-17",
"sections": [
{
"date": "2023-12-14",
"dateline": "Annapolis, MD (December 14, 2023) –"
},
{
"date": "2024-01-17",
"dateline": "Annapolis, MD (January 17, 2024) -"
}
]
},
"section": {
"date": "2023-12-14",
"dateline": "Annapolis, MD (December 14, 2023) –",
"text": "the Department of Health has issued an emergency closing for the headwaters of Cox Creek to the end of Carvel Beach Road due to a sewage spill. The affected recreational waters are closed to all direct water contact activities. The emergency closing will remain in effect for 1 (one) week.\nThe Department of Health posted closure signs to let the public know about the closing. People coming in contact with the affected water are advised to wash well with soap and warm water immediately. Clothing should also be washed.\nFor more information about the closing, call the Department of Health’s Recreational Water Quality [name removed] at [phone removed] .\nSign up for our Community Health Alerts to receive recreational waterway advisories and closing alerts via email."
},
"_water": {
"stretch": "the headwaters of Cox Creek to the end of Carvel Beach Road"
},
"_spill": null,
"_valid_until": "2023-12-21",
"_valid_until_basis": "the notice: 'in effect for 1 (one) week', counted from the notice date"
} Source: Anne Arundel County Department of Health via Anne Arundel County Department of Health Recreational Water Closings and Advisories, record node-994, published Dec 14, 2023, 12:00 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:27 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.