Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) reported — Baltimore City Department of Public Works, Nov 2, 2026
Not stated by the source · Baltimore City Department of Public Works (Sewer Overflow Map)
Source: Baltimore City Department of Public Works (Sewer Overflow Map) via Baltimore City DPW Sewer Overflow Map (SSO_Points2 map service), record 25978, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-05 06:11 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
Caution on Gwynns Falls: Discharge record with unclear status. Current rule period ends Nov 16, 2026, 11:53 AM EST. This is not a water-quality test.
Why this status: Caution: discharge record with unclear status.
Why we use this rule: A discharge record with unclear status shows caution for 14 days after its report time. It then follows the rule for unconfirmed records.
Caution on Gwynns Run: Discharge record with unclear status. Current rule period ends Nov 16, 2026, 11:53 AM EST. This is not a water-quality test.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Baltimore City Department of Public Works. Outlet: “920 Braddish Ave”. Location: 39.29894, -76.66008; location source: given in the source record.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names no water. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Gwynns Run, MD. Match basis: the report's location, matched to the nearest tracked water.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
Estimated downstream stretch — not checked by water sampling. Estimated by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey river maps and flow measurements; not an official advisory area. This estimates water movement, not bacteria levels.
- Caution 0 to 0.8 kilometres below the outlet
0 to 0.8 kilometres below the outlet · on Gwynns Run
Estimated travel time: about 1 hour, or as little as 1 hour. Estimate based on the river's average yearly flow; no current gauge reading was available.
Estimate stops where the river becomes tidal. Below this point water moves with the tide and wind, so we do not estimate where the discharge goes. Read the original notice and local beach or shellfish advisories.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- not reported
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- not given
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
- Status in the record
- Not stated by the source
- Material
- not stated
- Volume
- 2 gallons (estimated)
- Volume as reported
- “2 gallons (EST_VOLUME)”
Advice from Baltimore City Department of Public Works (Sewer Overflow Map)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Status history from this report
- Caution Gwynns Falls: Discharge record with unclear status, Nov 2, 2026, 11:53 AM EST to Nov 16, 2026, 11:53 AM EST (the end is scheduled: a new report can change it)
- End not confirmed Gwynns Falls, Nov 16, 2026, 11:53 AM EST to Dec 2, 2026, 11:53 AM EST (scheduled: a new report can change it)
- No current status shown Gwynns Falls: end not confirmed, no map colour, Dec 2, 2026, 11:53 AM EST to Jan 31, 2027, 11:53 AM EST (scheduled: a new report can change it)
- Caution Gwynns Run: Discharge record with unclear status, Nov 2, 2026, 11:53 AM EST to Nov 16, 2026, 11:53 AM EST (the end is scheduled: a new report can change it)
- End not confirmed Gwynns Run, Nov 16, 2026, 11:53 AM EST to Dec 2, 2026, 11:53 AM EST (scheduled: a new report can change it)
- No current status shown Gwynns Run: end not confirmed, no map colour, Dec 2, 2026, 11:53 AM EST to Jan 31, 2027, 11:53 AM EST (scheduled: a new report can change it)
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 06:27 UTC.
Source and versions
- Source
- Baltimore City DPW Sewer Overflow Map (SSO_Points2 map service)
- Source record number
- 25978
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | md-baltimore-sso:25978 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | md-baltimore-sso |
| Source record number | 25978 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) |
| Status in the report | Not stated by the source |
| Sewer operator identifier | md-baltimore-city-dpw |
| Sewer operator | Baltimore City Department of Public Works |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | Not provided |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | 920 Braddish Ave |
| Water named in the report | Not provided |
| Linked waters | gwynns-run-md |
| How this report was linked to the water | the report's location, matched to the nearest tracked water |
| Latitude | 39.299 |
| Longitude | -76.66 |
| Location source | given in the source record |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Nov 2, 2026, 11:53 AM EST (2026-11-02T11:53:10-05:00) |
| Ended | Not provided |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Not provided |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 5, 2026, 1:11 AM EST (2026-11-05T06:11:31Z) |
| Material | Not provided |
| Volume, in gallons | 2 |
| Volume as reported | 2 gallons (EST_VOLUME) |
| How volume was determined | estimated |
| Authority | Baltimore City Department of Public Works (Sewer Overflow Map) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://dpwdata.baltimorecity.gov/pubgis/rest/services/Public/SSO_Points2/MapServer/0/query?where=OBJECTID%3D25978&outFields=*&f=json |
Original source data
{
"OBJECTID": 25978,
"SSO_DATE": 1793620390000,
"LOCATION": "920 Braddish Ave",
"EST_VOLUME": 2,
"EST_FLOW": null,
"STATUS": "5DAY",
"REC_WATERS": null,
"WATERSHED": 2130905,
"START_DATETIME": null,
"END_DATETIME": null,
"RESPONSIBILITY": "DPW",
"Latitude": 39.29894031,
"Longitude": -76.66007918,
"SITE_TYPE": "Standard",
"SENSITIVE_AREA": 1,
"WAIVER_REQUESTED": null,
"WAIVER_GRANTED": null,
"WAIVER_REASON": null,
"PENALTY": null,
"WAIVER_CLOSED": null,
"WAIVER_DENIED": null,
"ENTER_STORM": 0,
"CLEANUP_REQ": 1,
"STIPULATED_PENALTY_WAIVED": null,
"STIPULATED_PENALTY_ASSESSED": null,
"COMMENT_RELIEF_REQUEST_TYPE": null,
"ANNUAL_ADJUSTMENT": null
} Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.