Baltimore City Department of Public Works (separate sanitary system; Back River and Patapsco WWTPs)
Sewer utility · Maryland · Baltimore
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
No outlet locations are in our records for this operator. Dashed river stretches are estimates of where a discharge travels. Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.
- Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
- MD0021555, MD0021601
- Wastewater outlets
- None with locations in our records (the state's records list 4)
- Waters listed as receiving wastewater
- Jones Falls; Gwynns Falls; Herring Run; Back River; Bear Creek; Patapsco River; Stony Run; Western Run; Middle Branch; Northwest Harbor; Colgate Creek
- Tracked waters
- Northwest Harbor, MD, middle-branch-patapsco-river-md, Patapsco River, MD, Back River, MD, Bear Creek, MD, lake-roland-md, Dead Run, MD, Stony Run, MD, Gwynns Falls, MD, Herring Run, MD, Jones Falls, MD, Chinquapin Run, MD, Moores Run, MD, Western Run, MD, Maidens Choice Run, MD, Tiffany Run, MD, Biddison Run, MD, Whitemarsh Run, MD, Gwynns Run, MD, Colgate Creek, MD, Curtis Creek, MD
- Discharge records counted
- 1,087 records · latest
- Total reported volume in these records
- 1,295,546,752 gallons across the 1,075 records that give a volume (12 without one)
These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.
Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-03 08:50 UTC.
Public notices and alerts
Pages where Baltimore City Department of Public Works (separate sanitary system; Back River and Patapsco WWTPs) or the state publishes its notices (check them for an alert sign-up):
- experience.arcgis.com/experience/f064b1b0addd4017ac179f1652e182e0
- public.govdelivery.com/topics/MDBALT_1350/feed.rss
- www.baltimorecity.gov/publicworks/sanitary-sewer-consent-decree-program
Source: Baltimore City Department of Public Works (separate sanitary system; Back River and Patapsco WWTPs)'s public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records.
Report a missing notice or error
Wastewater outlets
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
Reports and advisories
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
| When | Report | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Water not mapped · 920 braddish ave · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | reported | |
| to 7:00 PM | Water not mapped · 2 N Wheeler Ave · SSO · 180 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| Dead Run · 619 Nottingham Rd · SSO · 5 gallons report · notice · map | to Nov 15, 3:50 PM | |
| to 11:00 PM | Water not mapped · SSO · 2 gallons report · notice | ended |
| to 9:00 PM | “None” · 3915 Stokes Drive · SSO (earlier version) · 2 gallons report · notice | ended |
| to 10:36 PM | Water not mapped · 3915 Stokes Dr · SSO · 448 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| Water not mapped · 2025 N Bentalou St · SSO · 2 gallons report · notice · map | reported | |
| to Oct 28, 7:26 PM | Stony Run · 500 W University Pkwy · SSO · 28,520 gallons in all map | ended |
| to Oct 28, 7:26 PM | Stony Run · 500 W University Pkwy · SSO · 17,520 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Oct 28, 1:00 PM | Water not mapped · 500 W. University Parkway · SSO (earlier version) · 11,000 gallons report · notice | ended |
| Water not mapped · 1205 Ashland Ave · SSO · 1 gallons report · notice · map | reported | |
| to 1:30 PM | Gwynns Falls · 2801 Frederick Ave · SSO · 6,000 gallons in all map | ended |
| to 1:30 PM | Gwynns Falls · 2801 Frederick Ave · SSO · 3,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 11:30 AM | Gwynns Falls · 2801 Frederick Ave · SSO (earlier version) · 3,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Oct 23, 10:30 AM | “Maidens Choice Creek” · 1104 Joh Ave · SSO · 4,110 gallons in all map | ended |
| to Oct 23, 10:30 AM | “Maidens Choice Creek” · 1104 Joh Ave · SSO · 2,700 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Oct 23, 10:00 AM | “None” · 1104 Joh Ave · SSO (earlier version) · 1,410 gallons report · notice | ended |
| to 11:06 PM | Gwynns Falls · 1510 Mosher St · SSO · 401 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Oct 22, 12:03 AM | Patapsco River · 1510 Mosher Street · SSO (earlier version) · 125 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 6:00 PM | Water not mapped · 6205 Pimlico Rd · SSO · 440 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| Northwest Harbor · 700 S Caroline St · SSO · 2 gallons report · notice · map | to Nov 18, 8:12 AM | |
| Water not mapped · 703 N Carey St · SSO · 3 gallons report · notice · map | reported | |
| to Oct 16, 6:47 PM | Herring Run · 2708 Grindon Ave · SSO · 3,298 gallons in all map | ended |
| to Oct 16, 6:47 PM | Herring Run · 2708 Grindon Ave · SSO · 1,649 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Oct 16, 6:47 PM | “storm drain” · 2708 Grindon Ave · SSO (earlier version) · 1,649 gallons report · notice | ended |
| Northwest Harbor · 700 S Caroline St · SSO · 5 gallons report · notice · map | to Nov 14, 10:22 AM | |
| Northwest Harbor · 700 S Caroline St · SSO · 2 gallons report · notice · map | to Nov 12, 8:25 AM | |
| Water not mapped · 2004 South Rd · SSO · 2 gallons report · notice · map | reported | |
| to Oct 14, 9:54 AM | Gwynns Falls · N Hilton St & Edmondson Ave · SSO · 15,176 gallons in all map | ended |
| to Oct 14, 9:54 AM | Gwynns Falls · N Hilton St & Edmondson Ave · SSO · 7,588 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Oct 15, 9:54 AM | Gwynns Falls · North Hilton and Edmonson Ave · SSO · 7,588 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
Sources: Baltimore City DPW Sewer Overflow Map (SSO_Points2 map service), retrieved 2026-11-03 08:17 UTC; MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), retrieved 2026-11-03 08:17 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.
Showing the latest 26 records of 1,191 records.See them all with filters.
All reports in Maryland by year: 2026 (370 from Baltimore City Department of Public Works (separate sanitary system; Back River and Patapsco WWTPs)) · 2025 (414 from Baltimore City Department of Public Works (separate sanitary system; Back River and Patapsco WWTPs)) · 2024 (268 from Baltimore City Department of Public Works (separate sanitary system; Back River and Patapsco WWTPs)) · 2023 (139 from Baltimore City Department of Public Works (separate sanitary system; Back River and Patapsco WWTPs))
Other sewer operators on these waters
- Northwest Harbor, MD: Baltimore County Department of Public Works and Transportation (sewer collection; flows to City plants), WSSC Water (Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission)
- Patapsco River, MD: Anne Arundel County Department of Public Works (Bureau of Utility Operations), Baltimore County Department of Public Works and Transportation (sewer collection; flows to City plants), Gatewater Landing Apartments (private system, Glen Burnie), Howard County Department of Public Works (Little Patuxent WRP and collection system), Carroll County Bureau of Utilities
- Back River, MD: Baltimore County Department of Public Works and Transportation (sewer collection; flows to City plants)
- Bear Creek, MD: Baltimore County Department of Public Works and Transportation (sewer collection; flows to City plants)
- Dead Run, MD: Baltimore County Department of Public Works and Transportation (sewer collection; flows to City plants)
- Gwynns Falls, MD: Baltimore County Department of Public Works and Transportation (sewer collection; flows to City plants)
- Herring Run, MD: Baltimore County Department of Public Works and Transportation (sewer collection; flows to City plants)
- Jones Falls, MD: Baltimore County Department of Public Works and Transportation (sewer collection; flows to City plants)
- Moores Run, MD: Baltimore County Department of Public Works and Transportation (sewer collection; flows to City plants)
- Western Run, MD: Baltimore County Department of Public Works and Transportation (sewer collection; flows to City plants)
- Whitemarsh Run, MD: Baltimore County Department of Public Works and Transportation (sewer collection; flows to City plants)
- Curtis Creek, MD: Anne Arundel County Department of Public Works (Bureau of Utility Operations)
The last 90 days
- Caution: to the latest update 5 reports: Northwest Harbor 2, Dead Run 1, Gwynns Falls 1, Stony Run 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Nov 1, 2026, 3:50 PM EST
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Oct 27, 2026, 2:14 PM EDT
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Oct 26, 2026, 11:30 AM EDT
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Oct 19, 2026, 9:12 AM EDT
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Oct 15, 2026, 11:22 AM EDT
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 1 report: Stony Run 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 4 reports: Northwest Harbor 3, Gwynns Falls 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 1 report: Gwynns Falls 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 4 reports: Northwest Harbor 3, Gwynns Falls 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 1 report: Gwynns Falls 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 6 reports: Northwest Harbor 3, Gwynns Falls 2, Herring Run 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Oct 19, 2026, 9:12 AM EDT
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Oct 15, 2026, 3:18 PM EDT
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Oct 15, 2026, 11:22 AM EDT
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Oct 13, 2026, 9:25 AM EDT
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Oct 11, 2026, 6:40 PM EDT
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Oct 11, 2026, 6:40 PM EDT
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 1 report: Herring Run 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 4 reports: Gwynns Falls 2, Northwest Harbor 2
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 3 reports: Gwynns Falls 2, Jones Falls 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 4 reports: Jones Falls 2, Chinquapin Run 1, Northwest Harbor 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 3 reports: Jones Falls 2, Chinquapin Run 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 5 reports: Northwest Harbor 3, Moores Run 1, Stony Run 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Sep 30, 2026, 10:10 AM EDT
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Sep 27, 2026, 10:29 PM EDT
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Sep 26, 2026, 9:10 PM EDT
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Sep 20, 2026, 11:11 AM EDT
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Sep 18, 2026, 1:00 PM EDT
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 1 report: Stony Run 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 5 reports: Northwest Harbor 3, Jones Falls 1, Moores Run 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Sep 27, 2026, 10:29 PM EDT
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Sep 26, 2026, 9:10 PM EDT
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Sep 25, 2026, 10:30 AM EDT
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Sep 20, 2026, 11:11 AM EDT
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Sep 18, 2026, 1:00 PM EDT
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 1 report: Northwest Harbor 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 4 reports: Northwest Harbor 2, Jones Falls 1, Moores Run 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 1 report: Jones Falls 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 6 reports: Gwynns Falls 2, Northwest Harbor 2, Jones Falls 1, Moores Run 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Sep 20, 2026, 11:11 AM EDT
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Sep 18, 2026, 1:00 PM EDT
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Sep 18, 2026, 12:26 PM EDT
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Sep 17, 2026, 12:20 PM EDT
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Sep 15, 2026, 2:02 PM EDT
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Sep 6, 2026, 10:54 AM EDT
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 1 report: Northwest Harbor 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 3 reports: Gwynns Falls 2, Jones Falls 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 1 report: Jones Falls 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 2 reports: Gwynns Falls 2
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 1 report: Gwynns Falls 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 5 reports: Jones Falls 3, Gwynns Falls 2
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Sep 6, 2026, 10:54 AM EDT
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Sep 2, 2026, 11:22 AM EDT
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Aug 30, 2026, 7:05 PM EDT
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Aug 24, 2026, 10:08 PM EDT
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Aug 24, 2026, 4:49 PM EDT
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 1 report: Jones Falls 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 3 reports: Jones Falls 2, Gwynns Falls 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 1 report: Gwynns Falls 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 5 reports: Herring Run 2, Jones Falls 2, Northwest Harbor 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Aug 24, 2026, 10:08 PM EDT
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Aug 24, 2026, 4:49 PM EDT
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Aug 17, 2026, 2:35 PM EDT
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Aug 16, 2026, 5:04 PM EDT
- Treatment bypass, started Jun 11, 2026, 12:00 PM EDT
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 8 reports: Herring Run 3, Jones Falls 2, Dead Run 1, Gwynns Falls 1, Northwest Harbor 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Aug 22, 2026, 4:30 PM EDT
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Aug 20, 2026, 5:15 PM EDT
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Aug 15, 2026, 8:00 AM EDT
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Aug 7, 2026, 9:01 AM EDT
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Aug 5, 2026, 10:54 AM EDT
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Jul 31, 2026, 8:30 AM EDT
- Treatment bypass, started Jun 11, 2026, 12:00 PM EDT
- Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO), started Apr 15, 2026, 11:49 AM EDT
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-03 08:50 UTC.
Reported discharges over time
- Discharges reported by Baltimore City Department of Public Works (separate sanitary system; Back River and Patapsco WWTPs), last 12 months351December 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
- Days with a discharge reported by Baltimore City Department of Public Works (separate sanitary system; Back River and Patapsco WWTPs), last 12 months246December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it. Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
- Hours with a discharge or advisory status from Baltimore City Department of Public Works (separate sanitary system; Back River and Patapsco WWTPs)'s reports, last 12 months4,199December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
- 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status (Baltimore City Department of Public Works (separate sanitary system; Back River and Patapsco WWTPs))51%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.
Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater. Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
Reported discharges per month
1,087 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.
- Combined sewer overflow
- Sanitary sewer overflow
- Treatment bypass, blended or other
- No tracked source for this period
- Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source covers January 2022 to December 2022.
Sources: md-baltimore-sso; md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Combined sewer overflow | Sanitary sewer overflow | Treatment bypass, blended or other | Total | Counted from | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| February 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| March 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| April 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| May 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| June 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| July 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| August 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| September 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| October 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| November 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| December 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| January 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| February 2023 | 0 | 12 | 0 | 12 | Source records | |
| March 2023 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 7 | Source records | |
| April 2023 | 0 | 14 | 0 | 14 | Source records | |
| May 2023 | 0 | 15 | 0 | 15 | Source records | |
| June 2023 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 4 | Source records | |
| July 2023 | 0 | 11 | 0 | 11 | Source records | |
| August 2023 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 8 | Source records | |
| September 2023 | 0 | 16 | 0 | 16 | Source records | |
| October 2023 | 0 | 12 | 0 | 12 | Source records | |
| November 2023 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 6 | Source records | |
| December 2023 | 0 | 25 | 1 | 26 | Source records | |
| January 2024 | 0 | 35 | 2 | 37 | Source records | |
| February 2024 | 0 | 14 | 0 | 14 | Source records | |
| March 2024 | 0 | 28 | 3 | 31 | Source records | |
| April 2024 | 0 | 26 | 1 | 27 | Source records | |
| May 2024 | 0 | 9 | 0 | 9 | Source records | |
| June 2024 | 0 | 12 | 0 | 12 | Source records | |
| July 2024 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 5 | Source records | |
| August 2024 | 0 | 22 | 0 | 22 | Source records | |
| September 2024 | 0 | 20 | 0 | 20 | Source records | |
| October 2024 | 0 | 20 | 0 | 20 | Source records | |
| November 2024 | 0 | 20 | 0 | 20 | Source records | |
| December 2024 | 0 | 23 | 0 | 23 | Source records | |
| January 2025 | 0 | 28 | 0 | 28 | Source records | |
| February 2025 | 0 | 42 | 0 | 42 | Source records | |
| March 2025 | 0 | 39 | 1 | 40 | Source records | |
| April 2025 | 0 | 37 | 0 | 37 | Source records | |
| May 2025 | 0 | 45 | 6 | 51 | Source records | |
| June 2025 | 0 | 22 | 1 | 23 | Source records | |
| July 2025 | 0 | 32 | 5 | 37 | Source records | |
| August 2025 | 0 | 18 | 1 | 19 | Source records | |
| September 2025 | 0 | 24 | 0 | 24 | Source records | |
| October 2025 | 0 | 21 | 1 | 22 | Source records | |
| November 2025 | 0 | 42 | 0 | 42 | Source records | |
| December 2025 | 0 | 38 | 2 | 40 | Source records | |
| January 2026 | 0 | 31 | 0 | 31 | Source records | |
| February 2026 | 0 | 28 | 7 | 35 | Source records | |
| March 2026 | 0 | 42 | 6 | 48 | Source records | |
| April 2026 | 0 | 30 | 7 | 37 | Source records | |
| May 2026 | 0 | 28 | 4 | 32 | Source records | |
| June 2026 | 0 | 16 | 4 | 20 | Source records | |
| July 2026 | 0 | 24 | 4 | 28 | Source records | |
| August 2026 | 0 | 30 | 0 | 30 | Source records | |
| September 2026 | 0 | 25 | 0 | 25 | Source records | |
| October 2026 | 0 | 21 | 0 | 21 | Source records | |
| November 2026 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 4 | Source records |
Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month
Hours when a water had a discharge or advisory status from this sewer operator's reports, under DirtyWaterWatch rules.
- Discharge or advisory reported
- No tracked source for this period
- Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source covers January 2022 to December 2022. 59 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. 14 discharges reported to last more than 31 days are counted as 31 days. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.
Sources: md-baltimore-sso; md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Hours with a discharge or advisory status | Hours from post-discharge periods | Hours in the month | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | No tracked source for this period |
| February 2022 | 0 | 0 | 672 | No tracked source for this period |
| March 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | No tracked source for this period |
| April 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | No tracked source for this period |
| May 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | No tracked source for this period |
| June 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | No tracked source for this period |
| July 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | No tracked source for this period |
| August 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | No tracked source for this period |
| September 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | No tracked source for this period |
| October 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | No tracked source for this period |
| November 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | No tracked source for this period |
| December 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | No tracked source for this period |
| January 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| February 2023 | 67 | 67 | 672 | |
| March 2023 | 36 | 36 | 744 | |
| April 2023 | 43 | 43 | 720 | |
| May 2023 | 194 | 194 | 744 | |
| June 2023 | 10 | 10 | 720 | |
| July 2023 | 43 | 43 | 744 | |
| August 2023 | 710 | 710 | 744 | |
| September 2023 | 618 | 618 | 720 | |
| October 2023 | 451 | 451 | 744 | |
| November 2023 | 474 | 474 | 720 | |
| December 2023 | 483 | 483 | 744 | |
| January 2024 | 612 | 612 | 744 | |
| February 2024 | 59 | 59 | 696 | |
| March 2024 | 317 | 317 | 744 | |
| April 2024 | 357 | 357 | 720 | |
| May 2024 | 237 | 237 | 744 | |
| June 2024 | 622 | 622 | 720 | |
| July 2024 | 221 | 221 | 744 | |
| August 2024 | 660 | 660 | 744 | |
| September 2024 | 90 | 90 | 720 | |
| October 2024 | 22 | 22 | 744 | |
| November 2024 | 133 | 133 | 720 | |
| December 2024 | 115 | 115 | 744 | |
| January 2025 | 347 | 347 | 744 | |
| February 2025 | 450 | 450 | 672 | |
| March 2025 | 185 | 185 | 744 | |
| April 2025 | 655 | 655 | 720 | |
| May 2025 | 411 | 411 | 744 | |
| June 2025 | 226 | 226 | 720 | |
| July 2025 | 308 | 308 | 744 | |
| August 2025 | 109 | 109 | 744 | |
| September 2025 | 676 | 676 | 720 | |
| October 2025 | 169 | 169 | 744 | |
| November 2025 | 124 | 124 | 720 | |
| December 2025 | 228 | 228 | 744 | |
| January 2026 | 615 | 615 | 744 | |
| February 2026 | 255 | 255 | 672 | |
| March 2026 | 397 | 397 | 744 | |
| April 2026 | 429 | 429 | 720 | |
| May 2026 | 513 | 513 | 744 | |
| June 2026 | 517 | 517 | 720 | |
| July 2026 | 744 | 744 | 744 | |
| August 2026 | 195 | 195 | 744 | |
| September 2026 | 36 | 36 | 720 | |
| October 2026 | 253 | 253 | 744 | |
| November 2026 | 16 | 16 | 53 |
Days with a reported discharge per month
A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.
- No tracked source for this period
- Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source covers January 2022 to December 2022.
Sources: md-baltimore-sso; md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Days with a reported discharge | Coverage |
|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| February 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| March 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| April 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| May 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| June 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| July 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| August 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| September 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| October 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| November 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| December 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| January 2023 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| February 2023 | 10 | |
| March 2023 | 8 | |
| April 2023 | 11 | |
| May 2023 | 16 | |
| June 2023 | 3 | |
| July 2023 | 10 | |
| August 2023 | 19 | |
| September 2023 | 27 | |
| October 2023 | 19 | |
| November 2023 | 4 | |
| December 2023 | 25 | |
| January 2024 | 30 | |
| February 2024 | 13 | |
| March 2024 | 25 | |
| April 2024 | 21 | |
| May 2024 | 6 | |
| June 2024 | 13 | |
| July 2024 | 8 | |
| August 2024 | 21 | |
| September 2024 | 13 | |
| October 2024 | 13 | |
| November 2024 | 18 | |
| December 2024 | 16 | |
| January 2025 | 25 | |
| February 2025 | 24 | |
| March 2025 | 21 | |
| April 2025 | 23 | |
| May 2025 | 23 | |
| June 2025 | 19 | |
| July 2025 | 21 | |
| August 2025 | 16 | |
| September 2025 | 18 | |
| October 2025 | 18 | |
| November 2025 | 22 | |
| December 2025 | 25 | |
| January 2026 | 24 | |
| February 2026 | 21 | |
| March 2026 | 27 | |
| April 2026 | 24 | |
| May 2026 | 22 | |
| June 2026 | 12 | |
| July 2026 | 27 | |
| August 2026 | 22 | |
| September 2026 | 18 | |
| October 2026 | 22 | |
| November 2026 | 2 |
Reported volume per year
Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 1,075 reports that gave a volume as a number (12 did not).
- Incomplete source coverage
12 of 1,087 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.
Sources: md-baltimore-sso; md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Reported volume, gallons | Reports with a volume | Reports without a volume | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 24,543,683 | 131 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2024 | 443,238,605 | 238 | 2 | |
| 2025 | 222,483,151 | 400 | 5 | |
| 2026 | 605,281,313 | 306 | 5 |
Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year
Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.
- Discharge or advisory reported
- Incomplete source coverage
59 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. 14 discharges reported to last more than 31 days are counted as 31 days. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.
Sources: md-baltimore-sso; md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Hours with a discharge or advisory status | Share of the year | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 3,129 | 35.7% | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2024 | 3,444 | 39.2% | |
| 2025 | 3,887 | 44.4% | |
| 2026 | 3,971 | 54.0% |
Reported discharges by calendar month, all years
Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.
Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.
Sources: md-baltimore-sso; md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Reported discharges | Years of records |
|---|---|---|
| January | 96 | 4 |
| February | 103 | 4 |
| March | 126 | 4 |
| April | 115 | 4 |
| May | 107 | 4 |
| June | 59 | 4 |
| July | 81 | 4 |
| August | 79 | 4 |
| September | 85 | 4 |
| October | 75 | 4 |
| November | 72 | 4 |
| December | 89 | 3 |
Reported discharges by wastewater outlet
Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 844, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.
Sources: md-baltimore-sso; md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.
Show table
| Wastewater outlet | Sewer operator | Reported discharges |
|---|---|---|
| 8201 Eastern Blvd | Baltimore City DPW | 34 |
| 3501 Asiatic Ave | Baltimore City DPW | 32 |
| 3900 Belair Rd | Baltimore City Department of Public Works | 16 |
| 8201 Eastern Ave | Baltimore City DPW | 15 |
| 3501 Asiatic Avenue | Baltimore City DPW | 10 |
| 3900 Belair Road | Baltimore City DPW | 9 |
| 428 E Preston St | Baltimore City DPW | 9 |
| 2415 W Franklin St | Baltimore City Department of Public Works | 8 |
| 1901 Falls Rd | Baltimore City DPW | 8 |
| 1901 Falls Road | Baltimore City DPW | 7 |
| Other outlets (834) | 933 | |
| Outlet not stated | 6 |
How these charts are counted
We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.
- md-baltimore-sso: records from June 23, 2024 to the latest update
- md-mde-overflows: records from January 4, 2023 to the latest update