Patapsco River
River in Maryland, past Baltimore, Brooklyn, Dundalk, Edgemere, Ellicott City, North Point Village, Pasadena, Rockwood Beach and Turner Station
Current status
No current status is assigned to this water outline. Check the water page for reports and any estimated downstream stretches. Why this status, and its source
This badge describes the water outline. Check the downstream stretches on the map and below for discharge statuses.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.
Bookmark this water page and check it before each trip · Report a missing notice or error
About this status
No current status shown: no report we track sets a status on this water now; how statuses work
Sources checked: Anne Arundel County Department of Health Recreational Water Closings and Advisories (last successful check 2026-11-03 02:32 UTC); MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u) (last successful check 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC). Status by DirtyWaterWatch, updated 2026-11-03 02:43 UTC. · Updated
Estimated downstream stretches on Patapsco River
No downstream stretch has a current status here as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check the reports below.
The last 90 days
- Caution: to 1 report: Howard County DPW 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 1 report: Howard County DPW 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-03 02:43 UTC.
Reported discharges over time
Historical charts are not available here. See the reports and sources on this page.
Reports linked to Patapsco River
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
| When | Report | Status |
|---|---|---|
| to Oct 22, 12:03 AM | Baltimore City DPW · 1510 Mosher Street · SSO (earlier version) · 125 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 3:20 PM | Howard County DPW · 3470 North Chatham Rd · SSO · 450 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 10:15 PM | Baltimore City DPW · 3501 Asiatic Ave · Bypass · 5 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 5:50 AM | Baltimore City DPW · 3501 Asiatic Ave · Bypass · 2.77 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jul 6, 8:30 AM | Baltimore City DPW · 3501 Asiatic Ave · Bypass · 73.1 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 10:30 PM | Baltimore City DPW · 1550 East Patapsco Ave · SSO · 6,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 10:00 PM | Baltimore County DPW · 1550 East Patapsco Ave · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jun 10, 2:15 PM | Baltimore City DPW · 3501 Asiatic Ave · Bypass · 24 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to May 24, 4:00 AM | Baltimore City DPW · 3501 Asiatic Avenue · Bypass · 18.23 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 10:43 PM | Anne Arundel County DPW · 60322 Cherry Ave. · SSO · 0 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 2:45 PM | Baltimore City DPW · 3501 Asiatic Ave · Bypass · 4 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 10:20 PM | Baltimore City DPW · 3501 Asiatic Ave · Bypass · 6.8 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 11:00 PM | Baltimore City DPW · 350 Asiatic Avenue · SSO · 4.37 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 9:00 PM | Carroll County Bureau of Utilities · 7600 Main Street · SSO · 100,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Feb 17 | Anne Arundel County Department of Health · Beach closure · volume not reported report · notice · map | lifted |
| to Feb 16 | Anne Arundel County Department of Health · Beach closure (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · map | listed |
| to 8:00 PM | Anne Arundel County DPW · 6 Nursery Road · SSO · 37,325 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jan 5 | Anne Arundel County Department of Health · Beach closure · volume not reported report · notice · map | lifted |
| to Jan 4 | Anne Arundel County Department of Health · Beach closure (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · map | listed |
| to 6:00 PM | Baltimore City DPW · SSO · 5,450 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 11:16 AM | Baltimore County DPW · Stansbury Road & Dunlin Drive · SSO · 2,320 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 2:15 PM | Baltimore City DPW · 3501 Asiatic Ave · Bypass · 200,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 11:20 AM | Baltimore City DPW · 428 E Preston Street · SSO · 10,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 4:22 AM | Baltimore County DPW · 3501 Asiatic Avenue · Bypass · 1.88 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 10:45 AM | Baltimore City DPW · 3501 Asiatic Ave · SSO · 5,850 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
Sources: MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC; Anne Arundel County Department of Health Recreational Water Closings and Advisories, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:27 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.
Showing the latest 25 records of 61 records.See them all with filters.
All reports in Maryland by year: 2026 (17 here) · 2025 (20 here) · 2024 (15 here) · 2023 (9 here)
Wastewater outlets on this water
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
No wastewater outlet in our records is linked to this water.
Boat launches
- Daniels Area soft access, Ellicott City · Carry-in launch (canoe and kayak)
- Fort Armistead, Baltimore · Boat ramp
- Fort Howard Park, Baltimore · Boat ramp
- Fort Smallwood Park boat ramps, Pasadena · Boat ramp
- Fort Smallwood Park soft access, Pasadena · Carry-in launch (canoe and kayak)
- Inverness Park, Dundalk · Boat ramp
- Masonville Cove soft access, Baltimore · Carry-in launch (canoe and kayak)
- Patapsco River Boat Launch near Dundalk · Boat ramp
- Southwest Area Park, Brooklyn · Boat ramp
- Turner Station Park · Boat ramp
Source: OpenBoatLaunch launch records (public agency data and OpenStreetMap, Open Database License). · Patapsco River on OpenBoatLaunch
Nearby waters
- Middle Branch Patapsco River, MD No current status shown about 3 km away
- Northwest Harbor, MD End not confirmed about 3 km away
- Curtis Creek, MD No current status shown about 6 km away
- Bear Creek, MD No current status shown about 9 km away
- Bullneck Creek, MD No current status shown about 9 km away
Sources covering this water
- Anne Arundel County Department of Health Recreational Water Closings and Advisories · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-03 02:32 UTC
- MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u) · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC
61 records linked to this water. Updated .