DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Maryland / Reports /

Treatment bypass reported — Baltimore City DPW, Jul 18, 2026

Ended (as reported) · Baltimore City DPW

Source: Baltimore City DPW via MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), record md0021601-20260718T1925-3501-asiatic-ave, updated by the source Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: Baltimore City DPW (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, MD0021601). Outlet: “3501 Asiatic Ave”. Location: 39.23220, -76.56670; location source: given in the source record.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Patapsco River”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Patapsco River, MD. Match basis: the water named in the report.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

No downstream estimate is available for this report.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
not given
Published
not given
Source last updated
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
not stated
Volume
5 million gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
Volume as reported
“5000000 gallons”

Advice from Baltimore City DPW

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Source and versions

Source
MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u)
Source record number
md0021601-20260718T1925-3501-asiatic-ave
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifiermd-mde-overflows:md0021601-20260718T1925-3501-asiatic-ave
Source identifiermd-mde-overflows
Source record numbermd0021601-20260718T1925-3501-asiatic-ave
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeTreatment bypass
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifiermd-baltimore-city-dpw
Sewer operatorBaltimore City DPW
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)MD0021601
Outlet numberNot provided
Outlet name3501 Asiatic Ave
Water named in the reportPatapsco River
Linked waterspatapsco-river-md
How this report was linked to the waterthe water named in the report
Latitude39.232
Longitude-76.567
Location sourcegiven in the source record
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedJul 18, 2026, 7:25 PM EDT (2026-07-18T19:25:00-04:00)
EndedJul 18, 2026, 10:15 PM EDT (2026-07-18T22:15:00-04:00)
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceNot provided
PublishedNot provided
Source last updatedNov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST (2026-11-02T10:55:53-05:00)
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 2, 2026, 9:31 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:31:29Z)
MaterialNot provided
Volume, in gallons5,000,000
Volume as reported5000000 gallons
How volume was determinednot stated whether estimated or measured
AuthorityBaltimore City DPW
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://opendata.maryland.gov/dataset/Reported-Sewer-Overflows-New-for-2023-/stgj-u72u

Original source data

{
  "row": {
    "overflow_type": "Bypass",
    "facility_collection_system": "PATAPSCO WWTP",
    "npdes_no": "MD0021601",
    "start_date": "07/18/2026",
    "start_time": "19:25:00",
    "duration_day": "0",
    "duration_hour": "2",
    "duration_minute": "50",
    "overflow_address": "3501 Asiatic Ave",
    "zip": "21226",
    "owner_name": "Baltimore City DPW",
    "discharge_volume": "5000000",
    "overflow_cause": "Power failure caused for the SCADA to have to be reset, the denite filters got clogged and were needed to be reset",
    "receiving_water": "Patapsco River",
    "county": "Baltimore",
    "penalty_id": "",
    "overflow_latitude": "39.2322",
    "overflow_longitude": "-76.5667",
    "id": "225"
  },
  "_ended_at_basis": "start + duration_day/hour/minute",
  "_coords": "as given",
  "_water": {
    "via": "receiving water name within Maryland (checked against the point) and county Baltimore"
  },
  "_discharger_basis": "permit/system id MD0021601",
  "_first_seen_at": "2026-11-03T02:28:49Z"
}

Source: Baltimore City DPW via MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), record md0021601-20260718T1925-3501-asiatic-ave, updated by the source Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC · Read the original notice

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.