Treatment bypass reported — Baltimore City DPW, May 23, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Baltimore City DPW
Source: Baltimore City DPW via MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), record md0021601-20260523T0500-3501-asiatic-ave, updated by the source Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: Baltimore City DPW (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, MD0021601). Outlet: “3501 Asiatic Avenue”. Location: not given in the report or in the outlet records.
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Partial bypass to the Patapsco River”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Patapsco River, MD. Match basis: the water named in the report.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
No downstream estimate is available for this report.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- not given
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- not stated
- Volume
- 18.23 million gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- “18230000 gallons”
Advice from Baltimore City DPW
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Source and versions
- Source
- MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u)
- Source record number
- md0021601-20260523T0500-3501-asiatic-ave
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | md-mde-overflows:md0021601-20260523T0500-3501-asiatic-ave |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | md-mde-overflows |
| Source record number | md0021601-20260523T0500-3501-asiatic-ave |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Treatment bypass |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | md-baltimore-city-dpw |
| Sewer operator | Baltimore City DPW |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | MD0021601 |
| Outlet number | Not provided |
| Outlet name | 3501 Asiatic Avenue |
| Water named in the report | Partial bypass to the Patapsco River |
| Linked waters | patapsco-river-md |
| How this report was linked to the water | the water named in the report |
| Latitude | Not provided |
| Longitude | Not provided |
| Location source | Not provided |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | May 23, 2026, 5:00 AM EDT (2026-05-23T05:00:00-04:00) |
| Ended | May 24, 2026, 4:00 AM EDT (2026-05-24T04:00:00-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Not provided |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST (2026-11-02T10:55:53-05:00) |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 2, 2026, 9:31 PM EST (2026-11-03T02:31:29Z) |
| Material | Not provided |
| Volume, in gallons | 18,230,000 |
| Volume as reported | 18230000 gallons |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | Baltimore City DPW |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://opendata.maryland.gov/dataset/Reported-Sewer-Overflows-New-for-2023-/stgj-u72u |
Original source data
{
"row": {
"overflow_type": "Bypass",
"facility_collection_system": "PATAPSCO WWTP",
"npdes_no": "MD0021601",
"start_date": "05/23/2026",
"start_time": "05:00:00",
"duration_day": "0",
"duration_hour": "23",
"duration_minute": "0",
"overflow_address": "3501 Asiatic Avenue",
"zip": "21226",
"owner_name": "Baltimore City DPW",
"discharge_volume": "18230000",
"overflow_cause": "When flow increased because of rain, head losses within the BAF facility began rising. To prevent the BAF filters from blinding, the flow to the ENR system was limited to 75 MGD.",
"receiving_water": "Partial bypass to the Patapsco River",
"county": "Baltimore",
"penalty_id": "",
"overflow_latitude": "",
"overflow_longitude": "",
"id": "373"
},
"_ended_at_basis": "start + duration_day/hour/minute",
"_coords": "no coordinates",
"_water": {
"via": "receiving water name within Maryland and county Baltimore"
},
"_discharger_basis": "permit/system id MD0021601",
"_first_seen_at": "2026-11-03T02:28:49Z"
} Source: Baltimore City DPW via MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), record md0021601-20260523T0500-3501-asiatic-ave, updated by the source Nov 2, 2026, 10:55 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC · Read the original notice
Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.