DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Maryland / Sewer operators /

Anne Arundel County Department of Public Works (Bureau of Utility Operations)

Sewer utility · Maryland · Annapolis, Glen Burnie, Pasadena, Severna Park, Linthicum Heights, Arnold, Odenton, Crofton

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

No outlet locations are in our records for this operator. Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.

Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
MD0021644, MD0021652, MD0021661, MD0021814, MD0024350
Wastewater outlets
None with locations in our records
Waters listed as receiving wastewater
Cox Creek; Patapsco River; Cypress Creek; Spa Creek; Boyds Cove; Marley Creek; Little Patuxent River
Tracked waters
Patapsco River, MD, Magothy River, MD, Severn River, MD, Spa Creek, MD, Curtis Creek, MD, Patuxent River, MD, Little Patuxent River, MD, Cox Creek, MD, Chesapeake Bay, MD, Glebe Creek, MD, Stony Creek, MD, Back Creek, MD, Marley Creek, MD, Hopkins Creek, MD, West River, MD, Weems Creek, MD, Stony Run, MD, Holly Creek, MD, Cabin Branch, MD, Towsers Branch, MD
Discharge records counted
174 records · latest
Total reported volume in these records
532,233 gallons across the 168 records that give a volume (6 without one)

These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.

Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-03 08:50 UTC.

Public notices and alerts

Pages where Anne Arundel County Department of Public Works (Bureau of Utility Operations) or the state publishes its notices (check them for an alert sign-up):

Source: Anne Arundel County Department of Public Works (Bureau of Utility Operations)'s public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records.

Report a missing notice or error

Wastewater outlets

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

Reports and advisories

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.

Reports linked to Anne Arundel County Department of Public Works (Bureau of Utility Operations), newest first
WhenReportStatus
to 1:50 PM“no” · 1015 Brandon Shores Road · SSO · volume not reported report · noticeended
to 12:27 PM“none” · 3348 Oak Drive · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · noticeended
to 9:00 AMLittle Patuxent River · 8791 Piney Orchard Parkway · SSO · 150 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 10:15 AMLittle Patuxent River · 8791 Piney Orchard Parkway · SSO · 1,500 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 11:30 AM“Resident's pond” · 3650 North Carolina Ave · SSO · 100 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 7:31 AMCox Creek · 8833 Wagner Station Rd · SSO · 50 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 5:27 PM“Did not enter anything.” · 415 Alameda Parkway · SSO · 175 gallons report · noticeended
to 11:30 PMLittle Patuxent River · 8791 Piney Orchard Parkway · SSO · 1,500 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Jul 21, 12:30 AM“none” · 303 Fairtree Drive · SSO · 200 gallons report · noticeended
to 8:47 PM“None.” · 600 West Court · SSO · 175 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 3:00 PMWater not mapped · 652 Laurel Place · SSO · 85 gallons report · noticeended
to 1:00 PM“none” · 952 Main Street · SSO · 300 gallons report · noticeended
to 3:10 PM“none” · 1640 Professional BLVD · SSO · 186 gallons report · noticeended
to 4:00 PM“No flow was reported to have escaped to the groundwater or any surface water” · 1190 Summerfield Rd · SSO · 200 gallons report · noticeended
to 3:39 PMChesapeake Bay · 1202 Triton Beach Rd. · SSO · 180 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 8:02 PM“No” · 1600 Homewood Landing Rd · SSO · 200 gallons report · noticeended
to 8:02 PM“None.” · 623 Lighthouse Landing Ln · SSO · 180 gallons report · noticeended
to 10:45 AM“none” · 8791 Piney Orchard Parkway · SSO · 3,700 gallons report · noticeended
to 7:30 PMMagothy River · 821 Richie Highway · SSO · 15,200 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 10:43 PMPatapsco River · 60322 Cherry Ave. · SSO · 0 gallons report · notice · mapended
to May 7, 2:00 PM“None” · 6032 Cherry Avenue · SSO · 480 gallons report · noticeended
to 1:30 PM“none” · 8172 Pinehurst Harbor Way · SSO · 50 gallons report · noticeended
“Citizen advised as of yesterday the 26th of April, the sewage looking liquid was running unlimitedly from the adjacent commercial property to his and neighbor's yard.” · 7445 East Furnace Branch Road · SSO · volume not reported report · noticereported
Water not mapped · 7445 E Furnace Branch Road · SSO · volume not reported report · noticereported
to 3:00 PMGlebe Creek · 1249 Central Ave · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · mapended

Sources: MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), retrieved 2026-11-03 08:17 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Download these reports as CSV

Showing the latest 25 records of 182 records.See them all with filters.

All reports in Maryland by year: 2026 (41 from Anne Arundel County Department of Public Works (Bureau of Utility Operations)) · 2025 (53 from Anne Arundel County Department of Public Works (Bureau of Utility Operations)) · 2024 (54 from Anne Arundel County Department of Public Works (Bureau of Utility Operations)) · 2023 (34 from Anne Arundel County Department of Public Works (Bureau of Utility Operations))

Other sewer operators on these waters

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.
  • Caution: to
    2 reports: Little Patuxent River 2
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Little Patuxent River 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: Little Patuxent River 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Little Patuxent River 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: Cox Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Cox Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-03 08:50 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges reported by Anne Arundel County Department of Public Works (Bureau of Utility Operations), last 12 months44December 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
  • Days with a discharge reported by Anne Arundel County Department of Public Works (Bureau of Utility Operations), last 12 months42December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it. Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status from Anne Arundel County Department of Public Works (Bureau of Utility Operations)'s reports, last 12 months103December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status (Anne Arundel County Department of Public Works (Bureau of Utility Operations))1.5%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater. Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

Reported discharges per month

174 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source

No tracked source covers January 2022 to December 2022.

Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when a water had a discharge or advisory status from this sewer operator's reports, under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source

No tracked source covers January 2022 to December 2022. 5 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source

No tracked source covers January 2022 to December 2022.

Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 168 reports that gave a volume as a number (6 did not).

  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

6 of 174 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.

Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

5 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported

5 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 131, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • md-mde-overflows: records from January 4, 2023 to the latest update