DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Michigan / Reports /

Combined sewer overflow (CSO) reported — GLWA, Sep 3, 2026

Ended (as reported) · Michigan EGLE (MiEnviro CSO/SSO List)

Source: Michigan EGLE (MiEnviro CSO/SSO List) via EGLE MiEnviro CSO/SSO List, record -4251755700237901643-22, reported Sep 11, 2026, 4:11 PM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-04 15:09 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 5, 2026, 1:27 AM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: GLWA (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, MI0022802). Outlet: 040 “Morrell (B38); Morrell & Detroit River”. Location: not given in the report or in the outlet records.

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Detroit River”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Detroit River, MI. Match basis: the water named in the report.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

No downstream estimate is available for this report.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
not given
Source last updated
not given
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“Diluted Raw Sewage”
Volume
7.1 million gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
Volume as reported
“7.1 Million Gallons”

Advice from Michigan EGLE (MiEnviro CSO/SSO List)

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Status history from this report

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 06:27 UTC.

Source and versions

Source
EGLE MiEnviro CSO/SSO List
Source record number
-4251755700237901643-22
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifiermi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list:-4251755700237901643-22
Source identifiermi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list
Source record number-4251755700237901643-22
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeCombined sewer overflow (CSO)
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifiermi-glwa-wrrf-mi0022802
Sewer operatorGLWA
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)MI0022802
Outlet number040
Outlet nameMorrell (B38); Morrell & Detroit River
Water named in the reportDetroit River
Linked watersdetroit-river-mi
How this report was linked to the waterthe water named in the report
LatitudeNot provided
LongitudeNot provided
Location sourceNot provided
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedSep 3, 2026, 12:44 AM EDT (2026-09-03T00:44:00-04:00)
EndedSep 3, 2026, 1:02 AM EDT (2026-09-03T01:02:00-04:00)
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceSep 11, 2026, 4:11 PM EDT (2026-09-11T16:11:48-04:00)
PublishedNot provided
Source last updatedNot provided
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 4, 2026, 10:09 AM EST (2026-11-04T15:09:15Z)
MaterialDiluted Raw Sewage
Volume, in gallons7,100,000
Volume as reported7.1 Million Gallons
How volume was determinednot stated whether estimated or measured
AuthorityMichigan EGLE (MiEnviro CSO/SSO List)
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://mienviro.michigan.gov/ncore/ss/ssolist?queryParams=%7B%22filter%22%3A%5B%7B%22submissionId%22%3A%22-4251755700237901643%22%7D%5D%2C%22top%22%3A50%7D

Original source data

{
  "submissionId": "-4251755700237901643",
  "submissionReferenceNumber": "HQR-G63R-H4KYH",
  "sectionNumber": 22,
  "submissionReceivedDate": "2026-09-11T16:11:48.7570000-04:00",
  "responsiblePartyName": "GLWA",
  "siteName": "GLWA WRRF",
  "permitNumber": "MI0022802",
  "countyDescription": "Wayne",
  "countyId": "82",
  "reportStatusId": "COMPLETE",
  "reportStatusDescription": "Completed",
  "dischargeType": "CSO Discharge,CSO Discharge",
  "dischargeQuality": "Diluted Raw Sewage,Diluted Raw Sewage",
  "dischargeVolume": "7.10000 Million Gallons",
  "dischargeVolumeNumeric": 7100000,
  "eventStartDate": "2026-09-03T00:44:00.0000000-04:00",
  "eventEndDate": "2026-09-03T01:02:00.0000000-04:00",
  "featureNumber": "040",
  "featureDescription": "Morrell (B38); Morrell & Detroit River",
  "receivingWater": "Detroit River",
  "landImpacted": null,
  "precipitationAmount": "1.68",
  "precipitationType": "Rain,Rain",
  "reached_water": true
}

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.