DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Michigan / Sewer operators /

City of Detroit Water and Sewerage Department and Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA WRRF)

Sewer utility with combined sewers · Michigan · Detroit

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Solid dots mark combined sewer outfalls. Ringed dots mark treatment plant outfalls. Dashed river stretches are estimates of where a discharge travels. Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.

Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
MI0022802
Wastewater outlets
9 combined sewer outfalls and 3 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies · List
Waters listed as receiving wastewater
Conner Creek; Detroit River; Rouge River
Tracked waters
Detroit River, MI, River Rouge, MI, River Rouge, MI
Discharge records counted
9,374 records · latest
Total reported volume in these records
688,934,818,587 gallons across the 9,121 records that give a volume (253 without one)

These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.

Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-05 06:27 UTC.

Public notices and alerts

Pages where City of Detroit Water and Sewerage Department and Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA WRRF) or the state publishes its notices (check them for an alert sign-up):

Its public-notice channels

Source: City of Detroit Water and Sewerage Department and Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA WRRF)'s public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records; DirtyWaterWatch register of public-notice channels and its page monitor.

Report a missing notice or error

Rain and discharges

The NOAA MRMS radar-only rainfall estimate for the 24 hours to the latest hour, read every hour at each outfall from the radar grid. We show a caution when the rain reaches the amount below and no discharge report has arrived.

Threshold
0.1 in of rain in 24 hours (site default: This site's default: 0.1 inch of rain in 24 hours at a combined sewer outfall, applied where the state publishes no rain trigger of its own)
Radar now
6.4 in in the 24 hours to Nov 5, 2026, 1:00 AM EST
Forecast
0.01 in forecast in the next 24 hours (NWS forecast issued Nov 4, 2026, 3:49 PM EST)
Status
Discharge possible: heavy rain, no report received

Source: NOAA National Weather Service, MRMS radar-only rainfall estimate, valid Nov 5, 2026, 1:00 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-05 06:22 UTC; threshold: site default; rule: How it works, discharge likely or possible.

Wastewater outlets

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

9 combined sewer outfalls and 3 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies.

Combined sewer outfalls

9 outfalls

Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) national combined sewer outfall inventory (ECHO) and state outfall layers. Open or closed as EPA's inventory lists it. DirtyWaterWatch links outlets to waters using permit numbers, locations and names.

Treatment plant outfalls

3 outfalls

Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) permit records (ICIS-NPDES permitted features): where a treatment plant’s permitted discharge leaves. No national source says whether a plant outfall is open or closed.

Reports and advisories

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system.

Reports linked to City of Detroit Water and Sewerage Department and Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA WRRF), newest first
WhenReportStatus
Detroit River, River Rouge · CSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapto Nov 5, 4:32 PM
Detroit River, River Rouge · CSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapto Nov 5, 4:31 PM
Detroit River, River Rouge · CSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapto Nov 5, 4:21 PM
Detroit River, River Rouge · CSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapto Nov 14, 10:50 PM
River Rouge, Detroit River, River Rouge · CSO · 64.2 million gallons report · notice · mapended
River Rouge, Detroit River, River Rouge · CSO · 9.5 million gallons report · notice · mapended
River Rouge, Detroit River, River Rouge · CSO · 28.35 million gallons report · notice · mapended
River Rouge, Detroit River, River Rouge · CSO · 110,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
River Rouge, Detroit River, River Rouge · CSO · 130.2 million gallons in all mapended
River Rouge, Detroit River, River Rouge · CSO · 440,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
River Rouge, Detroit River, River Rouge · CSO · 87 million gallons report · notice · mapended
River Rouge, Detroit River, River Rouge · CSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
River Rouge, Detroit River, River Rouge · CSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
River Rouge, Detroit River, River Rouge · CSO · 220,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
River Rouge, Detroit River, River Rouge · CSO · 3.9 million gallons report · notice · mapended
River Rouge, Detroit River, River Rouge · CSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
River Rouge, Detroit River, River Rouge · CSO · 258.2 million gallons report · notice · mapended
River Rouge, Detroit River, River Rouge · CSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
River Rouge, Detroit River, River Rouge · CSO · 3.33 million gallons report · notice · mapended
River Rouge, Detroit River, River Rouge · CSO · 90.68 million gallons in all mapended
River Rouge, Detroit River, River Rouge · CSO · 1.53 million gallons in all mapended
River Rouge, Detroit River, River Rouge · CSO · 11.38 million gallons report · notice · mapended

Sources: EGLE MiEnviro CSO/SSO List, retrieved 2026-11-05 06:11 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Download these reports as CSV

Showing the latest 25 records of 9,393 records.See them all with filters.

All reports in Michigan by year: 2026 (310 from City of Detroit Water and Sewerage Department and Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA WRRF)) · 2025 (356 from City of Detroit Water and Sewerage Department and Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA WRRF)) · 2024 (460 from City of Detroit Water and Sewerage Department and Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA WRRF)) · 2023 (393 from City of Detroit Water and Sewerage Department and Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA WRRF)) · 2022 (282 from City of Detroit Water and Sewerage Department and Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA WRRF)) · 2021 (534 from City of Detroit Water and Sewerage Department and Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA WRRF)) · 2020 (435 from City of Detroit Water and Sewerage Department and Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA WRRF)) · 2019 (396 from City of Detroit Water and Sewerage Department and Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA WRRF)) · 2018 (429 from City of Detroit Water and Sewerage Department and Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA WRRF)) · 2017 (274 from City of Detroit Water and Sewerage Department and Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA WRRF)) · 2016 (314 from City of Detroit Water and Sewerage Department and Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA WRRF)) · 2015 (230 from City of Detroit Water and Sewerage Department and Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA WRRF)) · 2014 (254 from City of Detroit Water and Sewerage Department and Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA WRRF)) · 2013 (227 from City of Detroit Water and Sewerage Department and Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA WRRF)) · 2012 (180 from City of Detroit Water and Sewerage Department and Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA WRRF)) · 2011 (339 from City of Detroit Water and Sewerage Department and Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA WRRF)) · 2010 (249 from City of Detroit Water and Sewerage Department and Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA WRRF)) · 2009 (368 from City of Detroit Water and Sewerage Department and Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA WRRF)) · 2008 (310 from City of Detroit Water and Sewerage Department and Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA WRRF)) · 2007 (363 from City of Detroit Water and Sewerage Department and Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA WRRF)) · 2006 (900 from City of Detroit Water and Sewerage Department and Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA WRRF)) · 2005 (269 from City of Detroit Water and Sewerage Department and Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA WRRF)) · 2004 (889 from City of Detroit Water and Sewerage Department and Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA WRRF)) · 2003 (139 from City of Detroit Water and Sewerage Department and Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA WRRF)) · 2002 (145 from City of Detroit Water and Sewerage Department and Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA WRRF)) · 2001 (348 from City of Detroit Water and Sewerage Department and Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA WRRF))

Other sewer operators on these waters

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Plum: algal bloom advisory. Red or amber with a light line inside: beach advisory or caution. Dotted: monthly report (days with discharge, dates not given). Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.
  • Discharge or advisory reported: to the latest update
    3 reports: Detroit River 3
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Detroit River 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    43 reports: River Rouge 43
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: River Rouge 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: River Rouge 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    23 reports: Detroit River 18, River Rouge 5
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    23 reports: Detroit River 18, River Rouge 5
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    23 reports: Detroit River 18, River Rouge 5
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    4 reports: River Rouge 3, Detroit River 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    4 reports: River Rouge 3, Detroit River 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

15 earlier periods appear as you scroll.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 06:27 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges reported by City of Detroit Water and Sewerage Department and Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA WRRF), last 12 months341December 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
  • Days with a discharge reported by City of Detroit Water and Sewerage Department and Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA WRRF), last 12 months75December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status from City of Detroit Water and Sewerage Department and Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA WRRF)'s reports, last 12 months971December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status (City of Detroit Water and Sewerage Department and Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA WRRF))12%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater.

Reported discharges per month

1,801 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other

Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when a water had a discharge or advisory status from this sewer operator's reports, under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported

372 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. 19 discharges reported to last more than 31 days are counted as 31 days. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2001 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges per year, 2001 to 2026

9,374 reported discharges, 2001 to 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other

Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2001 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 9,118 reports that gave a volume as a number (256 did not).

256 of 9,374 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed. 3 reports give more than 5 billion gallons for a single discharge, which looks like an entry error; they are not summed.

Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2001 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported

372 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. 19 discharges reported to last more than 31 days are counted as 31 days. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2001 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported

372 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. 19 discharges reported to last more than 31 days are counted as 31 days. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2001 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2001 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 147, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2001 to November 5, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list: records from January 1, 2001 to the latest update