River Rouge
River in Michigan, past Melvindale
Current status
A discharge is reported as ongoing, a post-discharge period applies, or an official advisory is listed. Open the report for its source, dates and advice. This status since . Why this status, and its source
This status counts every report affecting this water, including discharges arriving from upstream.
This badge describes the water outline. Check the downstream stretches on the map and below for discharge statuses.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch. Dashed river stretches are estimates.
Check Acacia Park CSO Drainage District (OAKLAND CO-ACACIA PARK CSO RTB)'s notices · Bookmark this water page and check it before each trip · Report a missing notice or error
About this status
Discharge or advisory reported: discharge reported as ongoing; shown while reported ongoing, up to 7 days without an end (site rule). 6.3 in of rain fell in the 24 hours to Nov 4, 2026, 7:00 PM EST at City of Detroit Water and Sewerage Department and Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA WRRF)'s outfalls (NOAA radar estimate).
Source: NOAA National Weather Service, MRMS radar-only rainfall estimate, valid Nov 4, 2026, 7:00 PM EST, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:19 UTC; threshold: site default; rule: How it works, discharge likely or possible. · Updated
Reports behind this status
Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system.
| When | Report | Status |
|---|---|---|
| City of Dearborn · CSO · volume in each report map | to Nov 5, 4:22 PM | |
| City of Dearborn · CSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | to Nov 5, 4:22 PM | |
| City of Dearborn · CSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | to Nov 5, 4:22 PM | |
| City of Dearborn · CSO · 1.27 million gallons in all map | to Nov 15, 2:23 PM | |
| City of Dearborn · CSO · 1.17 million gallons report · notice · map | to Nov 15, 2:23 PM | |
| City of Dearborn · CSO · 100,000 gallons report · notice · map | to Nov 15, 2:23 PM |
Sources: EGLE MiEnviro CSO/SSO List, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:07 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.
Estimated downstream stretches on River Rouge
60 estimated stretches from 1 outlet
Estimated downstream stretch — not checked by water sampling. Estimated by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey river maps and flow measurements; not an official advisory area. This estimates water movement, not bacteria levels.
- Discharge or advisory reported 0 to 5.7 kilometres below the outlet
0 to 5.7 kilometres below the outlet · from City of Dearborn
Estimated travel time from outlet 001: about 6 hours, or as little as 3 hours. Estimate based on the river's average yearly flow; no current gauge reading was available.
- Discharge or advisory reported 0 to 5.7 kilometres below the outlet
0 to 5.7 kilometres below the outlet · from City of Dearborn
Estimated travel time from outlet 001: about 6 hours, or as little as 3 hours. Estimate based on the river's average yearly flow; no current gauge reading was available.
- End not confirmed 0 to 5.7 kilometres below the outlet
0 to 5.7 kilometres below the outlet · from City of Dearborn
Estimated travel time from outlet 001: about 6 hours, or as little as 3 hours. Estimate based on the river's average yearly flow; no current gauge reading was available.
- End not confirmed 0 to 5.7 kilometres below the outlet
0 to 5.7 kilometres below the outlet · from City of Dearborn
Estimated travel time from outlet 001: about 6 hours, or as little as 3 hours. Estimate based on the river's average yearly flow; no current gauge reading was available.
- Discharge or advisory reported 5.7 to 12.7 kilometres below the outlet
5.7 to 12.7 kilometres below the outlet · from City of Dearborn
Estimated travel time from outlet 001: about 11 hours, or as little as 6 hours. Estimate based on the river's average yearly flow; no current gauge reading was available.
- Discharge or advisory reported 5.7 to 12.7 kilometres below the outlet
5.7 to 12.7 kilometres below the outlet · from City of Dearborn
Estimated travel time from outlet 001: about 11 hours, or as little as 6 hours. Estimate based on the river's average yearly flow; no current gauge reading was available.
- End not confirmed 5.7 to 12.7 kilometres below the outlet
5.7 to 12.7 kilometres below the outlet · from City of Dearborn
Estimated travel time from outlet 001: about 11 hours, or as little as 6 hours. Estimate based on the river's average yearly flow; no current gauge reading was available.
- End not confirmed 5.7 to 12.7 kilometres below the outlet
5.7 to 12.7 kilometres below the outlet · from City of Dearborn
Estimated travel time from outlet 001: about 11 hours, or as little as 6 hours. Estimate based on the river's average yearly flow; no current gauge reading was available.
- Discharge or advisory reported 12.7 to 13.7 kilometres below the outlet
12.7 to 13.7 kilometres below the outlet · from City of Dearborn
Estimated travel time from outlet 001: about 12 hours, or as little as 7 hours. Estimate based on the river's average yearly flow; no current gauge reading was available.
- Discharge or advisory reported 12.7 to 13.7 kilometres below the outlet
12.7 to 13.7 kilometres below the outlet · from City of Dearborn
Estimated travel time from outlet 001: about 12 hours, or as little as 7 hours. Estimate based on the river's average yearly flow; no current gauge reading was available.
- End not confirmed 12.7 to 13.7 kilometres below the outlet
12.7 to 13.7 kilometres below the outlet · from City of Dearborn
Estimated travel time from outlet 001: about 12 hours, or as little as 7 hours. Estimate based on the river's average yearly flow; no current gauge reading was available.
- End not confirmed 12.7 to 13.7 kilometres below the outlet
12.7 to 13.7 kilometres below the outlet · from City of Dearborn
Estimated travel time from outlet 001: about 12 hours, or as little as 7 hours. Estimate based on the river's average yearly flow; no current gauge reading was available.
Showing 12 of 60 estimated stretches, nearest the outlets first.
Estimated routes below wastewater outlets
8 routes below outlets
- Caution Permit MI0022802, outlet 101 · 34.229 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops here
- Caution Permit MI0022802, outlet 102 · 38.772 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops here
- Caution Permit MI0022802, outlet 103 · 40 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at the 40-kilometre limit
- Caution Permit MI0022802, outlet 107 · 28.083 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops here
- Caution Permit MI0025461, outlet 001 · 40 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at the 40-kilometre limit
- Caution Permit MI0025461, outlet 002 · 40 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at the 40-kilometre limit
- Caution Permit MI0025534, outlet 101 · 40 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at the 40-kilometre limit
- Discharge or advisory reported Permit MI0025542, outlet 001 · 40 kilometres estimated · Estimate stops at the 40-kilometre limit
Source: DirtyWaterWatch estimates using U.S. Geological Survey river maps and flow measurements. The estimate stops at tidal water, the first lake or the distance limit.
The last 90 days
- Discharge or advisory reported: to the latest update 2 reports: City of Dearborn 2
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 45 reports: Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA) 43, City of Dearborn 2
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 16, 2026, 3:23 PM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 16, 2026, 3:23 PM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 3:45 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 3:30 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 2:50 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 2:46 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 2:45 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 2:45 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 2:43 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 2:40 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 2:33 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 2:31 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 2:20 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 2:15 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 2:04 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 2:03 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 2:02 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 1:59 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 1:57 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 1:57 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 1:56 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 1:56 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 1:55 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 1:52 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 1:51 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 1:48 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 1:42 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 1:33 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 1:32 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 1:31 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 1:30 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 1:07 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 1:01 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 12:50 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 12:49 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 12:49 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 12:47 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 12:47 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 12:46 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 12:41 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 12:41 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 12:28 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 2, 2026, 12:22 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 1, 2026, 10:08 PM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), started Oct 1, 2026, 9:59 PM EDT
- Caution: to 4 reports: City of Dearborn 4
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 017, started Oct 2, 2026, 3:30 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 014, started Oct 1, 2026, 10:54 PM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 013, started Oct 1, 2026, 10:54 PM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 001, started Oct 1, 2026, 10:54 PM EDT
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 4 reports: City of Dearborn 4
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 017, started Oct 2, 2026, 3:30 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 014, started Oct 1, 2026, 10:54 PM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 013, started Oct 1, 2026, 10:54 PM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 001, started Oct 1, 2026, 10:54 PM EDT
- Caution: to 5 reports: City of Dearborn 5
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 014, started Sep 20, 2026, 10:43 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 013, started Sep 20, 2026, 10:43 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 001, started Sep 20, 2026, 10:43 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 001, started Sep 19, 2026, 12:17 PM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 001, started Sep 19, 2026, 12:17 PM EDT
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 3 reports: City of Dearborn 3
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 4 reports: City of Dearborn 4
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 001, started Sep 19, 2026, 12:17 PM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 001, started Sep 19, 2026, 12:17 PM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 013, started Sep 17, 2026, 8:52 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 001, started Sep 17, 2026, 8:52 AM EDT
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 2 reports: City of Dearborn 2
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 4 reports: City of Dearborn 4
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 013, started Sep 17, 2026, 8:52 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 001, started Sep 17, 2026, 8:52 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 013, started Sep 16, 2026, 12:19 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 001, started Sep 16, 2026, 12:19 AM EDT
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 2 reports: City of Dearborn 2
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
12 earlier periods appear as you scroll.
- Caution: to 2 reports: City of Dearborn 2
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 2 reports: City of Dearborn 2
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 2 reports: City of Dearborn 2
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 2 reports: City of Dearborn 2
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 11 reports: City of Dearborn 7, Acacia Park CSO Drainage District 1, Bloomfield Village CSO Drainage District 1, Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA) 1, Oakland County Water Resources Commissioner's Office 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 014, started Sep 4, 2026, 9:05 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 013, started Sep 4, 2026, 9:05 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 001, started Sep 4, 2026, 9:05 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 117, started Sep 3, 2026, 5:25 PM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 014, started Sep 3, 2026, 4:10 PM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 013, started Sep 3, 2026, 4:10 PM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 001, started Sep 3, 2026, 4:10 PM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 101, started Sep 3, 2026, 4:05 PM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 102, started Sep 3, 2026, 3:45 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 101, started Sep 3, 2026, 1:55 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 103, started Sep 2, 2026, 11:40 PM EDT
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 11 reports: City of Dearborn 7, Acacia Park CSO Drainage District 1, Bloomfield Village CSO Drainage District 1, Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA) 1, Oakland County Water Resources Commissioner's Office 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 014, started Sep 4, 2026, 9:05 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 013, started Sep 4, 2026, 9:05 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 001, started Sep 4, 2026, 9:05 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 117, started Sep 3, 2026, 5:25 PM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 014, started Sep 3, 2026, 4:10 PM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 013, started Sep 3, 2026, 4:10 PM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 001, started Sep 3, 2026, 4:10 PM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 101, started Sep 3, 2026, 4:05 PM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 102, started Sep 3, 2026, 3:45 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 101, started Sep 3, 2026, 1:55 AM EDT
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO), outfall 103, started Sep 2, 2026, 11:40 PM EDT
- Caution: to 2 reports: City of Dearborn 2
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 2 reports: City of Dearborn 2
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 2 reports: City of Dearborn 2
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 2 reports: City of Dearborn 2
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 2 reports: City of Dearborn 2
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 2 reports: City of Dearborn 2
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.
Reported discharges over time
- Discharges affecting the River Rouge in Michigan, last 12 months169169 affecting this stretch: 125 reported on the River Rouge; 44 arriving from outfalls upstream on the Lower River Rouge, City of DearbornDecember 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once. Arriving discharges are estimated from modeled downstream reaches.
- Days with a discharge affecting the River Rouge in Michigan, last 12 months55Reported on the River Rouge: 53 · Arriving from outfalls upstream on the Lower River Rouge, City of Dearborn; outfalls further up the River Rouge (Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA)), estimated: 52 (counted apart; together they need not equal the total)December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
- Hours with a discharge or advisory status on the River Rouge in Michigan, last 12 months500Reported on the River Rouge: 494 · Arriving from outfalls upstream on the Lower River Rouge, City of Dearborn; outfalls further up the River Rouge (Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA)), estimated: 285 (counted apart; together they need not equal the total)December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
- 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status on the River Rouge in Michigan5.6%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.
- Records behind the last-90-days strip for the River Rouge in Michigan79Reported on the River Rouge: 67 · Arriving from outfalls upstream on the Lower River Rouge, City of Dearborn; outfalls further up the River Rouge (Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA)), estimated: 12last 90 daysEvery distinct record the strip lists for its red, yellow and unresolved hours, notices and unresolved reports included; counted as the strip counts them.
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater. Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
Reported discharges per month
701 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.
- Combined sewer overflow
- Sanitary sewer overflow
- Treatment bypass, blended or other
Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Combined sewer overflow | Sanitary sewer overflow | Treatment bypass, blended or other | Total | Counted from | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2022 | 10 | 0 | 0 | 10 | Source records | |
| March 2022 | 10 | 0 | 0 | 10 | Source records | |
| April 2022 | 11 | 0 | 0 | 11 | Source records | |
| May 2022 | 19 | 0 | 0 | 19 | Source records | |
| June 2022 | 13 | 0 | 0 | 13 | Source records | |
| July 2022 | 18 | 0 | 0 | 18 | Source records | |
| August 2022 | 17 | 0 | 0 | 17 | Source records | |
| September 2022 | 7 | 0 | 0 | 7 | Source records | |
| October 2022 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 5 | Source records | |
| November 2022 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 5 | Source records | |
| December 2022 | 8 | 0 | 0 | 8 | Source records | |
| January 2023 | 8 | 0 | 0 | 8 | Source records | |
| February 2023 | 12 | 0 | 0 | 12 | Source records | |
| March 2023 | 11 | 0 | 0 | 11 | Source records | |
| April 2023 | 16 | 0 | 0 | 16 | Source records | |
| May 2023 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 5 | Source records | |
| June 2023 | 8 | 0 | 0 | 8 | Source records | |
| July 2023 | 25 | 0 | 0 | 25 | Source records | |
| August 2023 | 25 | 0 | 0 | 25 | Source records | |
| September 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2023 | 13 | 0 | 0 | 13 | Source records | |
| November 2023 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 4 | Source records | |
| December 2023 | 15 | 0 | 0 | 15 | Source records | |
| January 2024 | 22 | 0 | 0 | 22 | Source records | |
| February 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2024 | 11 | 0 | 0 | 11 | Source records | |
| April 2024 | 20 | 0 | 0 | 20 | Source records | |
| May 2024 | 13 | 0 | 0 | 13 | Source records | |
| June 2024 | 23 | 0 | 0 | 23 | Source records | |
| July 2024 | 18 | 0 | 0 | 18 | Source records | |
| August 2024 | 23 | 0 | 0 | 23 | Source records | |
| September 2024 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 6 | Source records | |
| October 2024 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 5 | Source records | |
| November 2024 | 8 | 0 | 0 | 8 | Source records | |
| December 2024 | 12 | 0 | 0 | 12 | Source records | |
| January 2025 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 5 | Source records | |
| February 2025 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 4 | Source records | |
| March 2025 | 11 | 0 | 0 | 11 | Source records | |
| April 2025 | 7 | 0 | 0 | 7 | Source records | |
| May 2025 | 17 | 0 | 0 | 17 | Source records | |
| June 2025 | 14 | 0 | 0 | 14 | Source records | |
| July 2025 | 21 | 0 | 0 | 21 | Source records | |
| August 2025 | 8 | 0 | 0 | 8 | Source records | |
| September 2025 | 9 | 0 | 0 | 9 | Source records | |
| October 2025 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 4 | Source records | |
| November 2025 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 6 | Source records | |
| December 2025 | 9 | 0 | 0 | 9 | Source records | |
| January 2026 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| February 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2026 | 14 | 0 | 0 | 14 | Source records | |
| April 2026 | 21 | 0 | 0 | 21 | Source records | |
| May 2026 | 10 | 0 | 0 | 10 | Source records | |
| June 2026 | 22 | 0 | 0 | 22 | Source records | |
| July 2026 | 10 | 0 | 0 | 10 | Source records | |
| August 2026 | 9 | 0 | 0 | 9 | Source records | |
| September 2026 | 22 | 0 | 0 | 22 | Source records | |
| October 2026 | 51 | 0 | 0 | 51 | Source records | |
| November 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month
Hours when this water had a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.
- Discharge or advisory reported
80 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. 1 discharge reported to last more than 31 days is counted as 31 days.
Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2001 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Hours with a discharge or advisory status | Hours from post-discharge periods | Hours in the month | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2022 | 23 | 23 | 672 | |
| March 2022 | 58 | 58 | 744 | |
| April 2022 | 22 | 22 | 720 | |
| May 2022 | 49 | 49 | 744 | |
| June 2022 | 25 | 25 | 720 | |
| July 2022 | 20 | 20 | 744 | |
| August 2022 | 76 | 76 | 744 | |
| September 2022 | 18 | 18 | 720 | |
| October 2022 | 19 | 19 | 744 | |
| November 2022 | 20 | 20 | 720 | |
| December 2022 | 26 | 26 | 744 | |
| January 2023 | 42 | 42 | 744 | |
| February 2023 | 41 | 41 | 672 | |
| March 2023 | 83 | 83 | 744 | |
| April 2023 | 82 | 82 | 720 | |
| May 2023 | 28 | 28 | 744 | |
| June 2023 | 46 | 46 | 720 | |
| July 2023 | 61 | 61 | 744 | |
| August 2023 | 60 | 60 | 744 | |
| September 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2023 | 50 | 50 | 744 | |
| November 2023 | 16 | 16 | 720 | |
| December 2023 | 53 | 53 | 744 | |
| January 2024 | 89 | 89 | 744 | |
| February 2024 | 0 | 0 | 696 | |
| March 2024 | 22 | 22 | 744 | |
| April 2024 | 113 | 113 | 720 | |
| May 2024 | 40 | 40 | 744 | |
| June 2024 | 34 | 34 | 720 | |
| July 2024 | 57 | 57 | 744 | |
| August 2024 | 60 | 60 | 744 | |
| September 2024 | 13 | 13 | 720 | |
| October 2024 | 37 | 37 | 744 | |
| November 2024 | 20 | 20 | 720 | |
| December 2024 | 64 | 64 | 744 | |
| January 2025 | 12 | 12 | 744 | |
| February 2025 | 3 | 3 | 672 | |
| March 2025 | 49 | 49 | 744 | |
| April 2025 | 34 | 34 | 720 | |
| May 2025 | 68 | 68 | 744 | |
| June 2025 | 54 | 54 | 720 | |
| July 2025 | 35 | 35 | 744 | |
| August 2025 | 17 | 17 | 744 | |
| September 2025 | 12 | 12 | 720 | |
| October 2025 | 21 | 21 | 744 | |
| November 2025 | 23 | 23 | 720 | |
| December 2025 | 30 | 30 | 744 | |
| January 2026 | 1 | 1 | 744 | |
| February 2026 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2026 | 53 | 53 | 744 | |
| April 2026 | 74 | 74 | 720 | |
| May 2026 | 29 | 29 | 744 | |
| June 2026 | 45 | 45 | 720 | |
| July 2026 | 32 | 32 | 744 | |
| August 2026 | 17 | 17 | 744 | |
| September 2026 | 62 | 62 | 720 | |
| October 2026 | 63 | 63 | 744 | |
| November 2026 | 94 | 94 | 94 |
Days with a reported discharge per month
A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.
Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Days with a reported discharge | Coverage |
|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | |
| February 2022 | 2 | |
| March 2022 | 6 | |
| April 2022 | 5 | |
| May 2022 | 7 | |
| June 2022 | 6 | |
| July 2022 | 7 | |
| August 2022 | 6 | |
| September 2022 | 5 | |
| October 2022 | 2 | |
| November 2022 | 3 | |
| December 2022 | 3 | |
| January 2023 | 5 | |
| February 2023 | 4 | |
| March 2023 | 8 | |
| April 2023 | 7 | |
| May 2023 | 4 | |
| June 2023 | 5 | |
| July 2023 | 10 | |
| August 2023 | 9 | |
| September 2023 | 0 | |
| October 2023 | 8 | |
| November 2023 | 3 | |
| December 2023 | 9 | |
| January 2024 | 10 | |
| February 2024 | 0 | |
| March 2024 | 6 | |
| April 2024 | 11 | |
| May 2024 | 6 | |
| June 2024 | 6 | |
| July 2024 | 6 | |
| August 2024 | 8 | |
| September 2024 | 4 | |
| October 2024 | 4 | |
| November 2024 | 3 | |
| December 2024 | 7 | |
| January 2025 | 2 | |
| February 2025 | 3 | |
| March 2025 | 5 | |
| April 2025 | 2 | |
| May 2025 | 8 | |
| June 2025 | 7 | |
| July 2025 | 9 | |
| August 2025 | 4 | |
| September 2025 | 3 | |
| October 2025 | 3 | |
| November 2025 | 5 | |
| December 2025 | 3 | |
| January 2026 | 1 | |
| February 2026 | 0 | |
| March 2026 | 6 | |
| April 2026 | 10 | |
| May 2026 | 4 | |
| June 2026 | 8 | |
| July 2026 | 6 | |
| August 2026 | 5 | |
| September 2026 | 8 | |
| October 2026 | 4 | |
| November 2026 | 0 |
Reported discharges per year, 2001 to 2026
3,449 reported discharges, 2001 to 2026.
- Combined sewer overflow
- Sanitary sewer overflow
- Treatment bypass, blended or other
Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2001 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Combined sewer overflow | Sanitary sewer overflow | Treatment bypass, blended or other | Total | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | 9 | 0 | 0 | 9 | |
| 2002 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 | |
| 2003 | 76 | 0 | 0 | 76 | |
| 2004 | 97 | 0 | 0 | 97 | |
| 2005 | 135 | 0 | 0 | 135 | |
| 2006 | 170 | 0 | 0 | 170 | |
| 2007 | 138 | 0 | 0 | 138 | |
| 2008 | 144 | 0 | 0 | 144 | |
| 2009 | 173 | 0 | 3 | 176 | |
| 2010 | 176 | 0 | 0 | 176 | |
| 2011 | 190 | 0 | 0 | 190 | |
| 2012 | 114 | 0 | 0 | 114 | |
| 2013 | 164 | 0 | 0 | 164 | |
| 2014 | 137 | 0 | 0 | 137 | |
| 2015 | 113 | 0 | 0 | 113 | |
| 2016 | 148 | 0 | 0 | 148 | |
| 2017 | 150 | 0 | 0 | 150 | |
| 2018 | 161 | 0 | 0 | 161 | |
| 2019 | 148 | 0 | 0 | 148 | |
| 2020 | 150 | 0 | 0 | 150 | |
| 2021 | 151 | 0 | 0 | 151 | |
| 2022 | 123 | 0 | 0 | 123 | |
| 2023 | 142 | 0 | 0 | 142 | |
| 2024 | 161 | 0 | 0 | 161 | |
| 2025 | 115 | 0 | 0 | 115 | |
| 2026 | 160 | 0 | 0 | 160 |
Reported volume per year
Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 3,419 reports that gave a volume as a number (30 did not).
30 of 3,449 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.
Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2001 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Reported volume, gallons | Reports with a volume | Reports without a volume | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | 36,850,000 | 7 | 2 | |
| 2002 | 240,000 | 1 | 0 | |
| 2003 | 125,220,000 | 66 | 10 | |
| 2004 | 553,320,000 | 95 | 2 | |
| 2005 | 269,060,000 | 134 | 1 | |
| 2006 | 544,650,000 | 168 | 2 | |
| 2007 | 307,410,000 | 135 | 3 | |
| 2008 | 393,260,000 | 144 | 0 | |
| 2009 | 685,160,000 | 168 | 8 | |
| 2010 | 365,490,000 | 176 | 0 | |
| 2011 | 1,089,590,000 | 190 | 0 | |
| 2012 | 184,150,000 | 114 | 0 | |
| 2013 | 718,024,000 | 164 | 0 | |
| 2014 | 814,199,000 | 137 | 0 | |
| 2015 | 408,230,000 | 113 | 0 | |
| 2016 | 719,385,400 | 148 | 0 | |
| 2017 | 569,780,000 | 150 | 0 | |
| 2018 | 1,418,080,000 | 161 | 0 | |
| 2019 | 807,372,000 | 148 | 0 | |
| 2020 | 1,130,983,000 | 150 | 0 | |
| 2021 | 2,139,922,100 | 151 | 0 | |
| 2022 | 1,004,195,000 | 123 | 0 | |
| 2023 | 481,610,000 | 142 | 0 | |
| 2024 | 877,830,000 | 161 | 0 | |
| 2025 | 388,853,000 | 115 | 0 | |
| 2026 | 1,159,964,100 | 158 | 2 |
Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year
Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.
- Discharge or advisory reported
80 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. 1 discharge reported to last more than 31 days is counted as 31 days.
Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2001 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Hours with a discharge or advisory status | Share of the year | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | 95 | 1.1% | |
| 2002 | 3 | 0.0% | |
| 2003 | 1,016 | 11.6% | |
| 2004 | 922 | 10.5% | |
| 2005 | 1,153 | 13.2% | |
| 2006 | 733 | 8.4% | |
| 2007 | 588 | 6.7% | |
| 2008 | 715 | 8.1% | |
| 2009 | 645 | 7.4% | |
| 2010 | 330 | 3.8% | |
| 2011 | 649 | 7.4% | |
| 2012 | 340 | 3.9% | |
| 2013 | 585 | 6.7% | |
| 2014 | 364 | 4.1% | |
| 2015 | 1,095 | 12.5% | |
| 2016 | 440 | 5.0% | |
| 2017 | 537 | 6.1% | |
| 2018 | 684 | 7.8% | |
| 2019 | 579 | 6.6% | |
| 2020 | 523 | 6.0% | |
| 2021 | 555 | 6.3% | |
| 2022 | 355 | 4.1% | |
| 2023 | 563 | 6.4% | |
| 2024 | 549 | 6.2% | |
| 2025 | 358 | 4.1% | |
| 2026 | 470 | 6.4% |
Reported discharges by calendar month, all years
Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.
Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.
Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2001 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Reported discharges | Years of records |
|---|---|---|
| January | 176 | 26 |
| February | 146 | 26 |
| March | 251 | 26 |
| April | 329 | 26 |
| May | 399 | 26 |
| June | 343 | 26 |
| July | 411 | 26 |
| August | 345 | 26 |
| September | 302 | 26 |
| October | 297 | 26 |
| November | 228 | 26 |
| December | 222 | 25 |
Reported discharges by wastewater outlet
Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 12, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.
Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2001 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Wastewater outlet | Sewer operator | Reported discharges |
|---|---|---|
| 001 west of Telegraph Road/Silvery Lane intersection, north bank | City of Dearborn | 1,092 |
| 013 Greenfield Village, west bank | City of Dearborn | 1,081 |
| 014 1625' north of Rotunda, west bank | City of Dearborn | 564 |
| 009 | Dearborn | 228 |
| 117 | City of Dearborn | 140 |
| 103 Outfall 103 discharges treated combined sewage to the Rouge River from Monitoring Point 103A | Acacia Park CSO Drainage District | 102 |
| 101 Outfall 101 discharges treated combined sewage to the Rouge River from Monitoring Point 101A | Oakland County Water Resources Commissioner's Office | 62 |
| 017 Rouge Manufacturing Complex Turning Basin | City of Dearborn | 53 |
| 102 | Bloomfield Village CSO Drainage District | 25 |
| 101 Hubbell-Southfield CSO Retention/Treatment Basin | GLWA | 23 |
| Other outlets (2) | 29 | |
| Outlet not stated | 50 |
How these charts are counted
We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.
- U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records: records from May 3, 2022 to the latest update (limited records)
- mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list: records from January 1, 2001 to the latest update
Reports linked to River Rouge
| When | Report | Status |
|---|---|---|
| City of Dearborn · CSO · volume in each report map | to Nov 5, 4:22 PM | |
| City of Dearborn · CSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | to Nov 5, 4:22 PM | |
| City of Dearborn · CSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | to Nov 5, 4:22 PM | |
| City of Dearborn · CSO · 1.27 million gallons in all map | to Nov 15, 2:23 PM | |
| City of Dearborn · CSO · 1.17 million gallons report · notice · map | to Nov 15, 2:23 PM | |
| City of Dearborn · CSO · 100,000 gallons report · notice · map | to Nov 15, 2:23 PM | |
| Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA) · CSO · 64.2 million gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| to 6:40 AM | City of Dearborn · 017 Rouge Manufacturing Complex Turning Basin · CSO · 6.44 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA) · CSO · 9.5 million gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA) · CSO · 28.35 million gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA) · CSO · 110,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA) · CSO · 130.2 million gallons in all map | ended | |
| Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA) · CSO · 130.2 million gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA) · CSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA) · CSO · 440,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA) · CSO · 87 million gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA) · CSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA) · CSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA) · CSO · 220,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA) · CSO · 3.9 million gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA) · CSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA) · CSO · 258.2 million gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA) · CSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA) · CSO · 3.33 million gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA) · CSO · 90.68 million gallons in all map | ended | |
| Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA) · CSO · 90.68 million gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA) · CSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA) · CSO · 1.53 million gallons in all map | ended | |
| Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA) · CSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended | |
| Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA) · CSO · 1.53 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
Showing the latest 25 records of 2,358 records.See them all with filters.
All reports in Michigan by year: 2026 (119 here) · 2025 (71 here) · 2024 (111 here) · 2023 (93 here) · 2022 (84 here) · 2021 (103 here) · 2020 (101 here) · 2019 (99 here) · 2018 (106 here) · 2017 (97 here) · 2016 (96 here) · 2015 (75 here) · 2014 (89 here) · 2013 (110 here) · 2012 (72 here) · 2011 (134 here) · 2010 (120 here) · 2009 (129 here) · 2008 (104 here) · 2007 (100 here) · 2006 (121 here) · 2005 (90 here) · 2004 (71 here) · 2003 (53 here) · 2002 (1 here) · 2001 (9 here)
Wastewater outlets on this water
No wastewater outlet in our records is linked to this water.
Sewer operators listed for this water: Acacia Park CSO Drainage District (OAKLAND CO-ACACIA PARK CSO RTB), Bloomfield Village CSO Drainage District (BLOOMFIELD VILLAGE CSO RTB), CITY OF BLOOMFIELD HILLS, City of Dearborn (DEARBORN CSO), City of Detroit Water and Sewerage Department and Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA WRRF), DEARBORN CSO DEWATERING, OAKLAND CO DPW-FARM EVERGR CSO, Oakland County Water Resources Commissioner's Office (BIRMINGHAM CSO RTB).
Boat launches
- Kessey Fieldhouse Boat Launch, Melvindale · Boat ramp
Source: OpenBoatLaunch launch records (public agency data and OpenStreetMap, Open Database License). · River Rouge on OpenBoatLaunch
Nearby waters
- River Rouge, MI Discharge or advisory reported about 7 km away
- Upper River Rouge, MI Discharge possible: heavy rain, no report received about 9 km away
- Ashcroft-Sherwood Drain, MI Discharge possible: heavy rain, no report received about 11 km away
- Bell Branch, MI Discharge possible: heavy rain, no report received about 13 km away
- Tarabusi Creek, MI No current status shown about 13 km away
Sources covering this water
- a public source · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC
- a public source · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC
- EGLE MiEnviro CSO/SSO List · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-05 01:08 UTC
- a public source · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-05 01:19 UTC
2,355 records linked to this water, besides 3 earlier versions or duplicates. Updated .