DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Michigan / Reports /

Combined sewer overflow (CSO) reported — City of Lansing WWTP, Aug 30, 2026

Ended (as reported) · Michigan EGLE (MiEnviro CSO/SSO List)

Source: Michigan EGLE (MiEnviro CSO/SSO List) via EGLE MiEnviro CSO/SSO List, record -5971414424239884130-11, reported Aug 31, 2026, 11:31 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-04 15:09 UTC · Read the original notice

Current status from this report

This report does not set a map status as of Nov 4, 2026, 8:25 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.

A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.

Read the original notice · Report an error

1. Reported wastewater outlet

Operator named in the record: City of Lansing WWTP (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, MI0023400). Outlet: 022 “Ottawa Street at Grand Street”. Location: 42.73944, -84.54806; location source: EPA wastewater outlet records (the report gives no location).

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

Source: EPA ECHO wastewater outlet records, permit MI0023400, outlet 022. Location linked by DirtyWaterWatch.

2. Waters named in the notice

The notice names: “Grand River”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Grand River, MI. Match basis: the outlet's permit and number in EPA and state records.

3. Estimated downstream stretch

No downstream estimate is available for this report.

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Open on the main map

When it happened and when it was reported

Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Started
Ended
Detail provided by the source
Times known to the minute
Reported to the source
Published
not given
Source last updated
not given
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch

What and how much

Type
Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system.
Status in the record
Ended (as reported)
Material
“Diluted Raw Sewage”
Volume
137,000 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
Volume as reported
“0.137 Million Gallons”

Advice from Michigan EGLE (MiEnviro CSO/SSO List)

This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.

Advice period
This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
Basis
not stated

Status history from this report

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Source and versions

Source
EGLE MiEnviro CSO/SSO List
Source record number
-5971414424239884130-11
Original notice
Read the original notice
Earlier version
None: this is the first record
Later versions
None

Record details

Record details
Record identifiermi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list:-5971414424239884130-11
Source identifiermi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list
Source record number-5971414424239884130-11
Earlier versionNot provided
TypeCombined sewer overflow (CSO)
Status in the reportEnded (as reported)
Sewer operator identifiermi-lansing-wwtp-mi0023400
Sewer operatorCity of Lansing WWTP
Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)MI0023400
Outlet number022
Outlet nameOttawa Street at Grand Street
Water named in the reportGrand River
Linked watersgrand-river-mi
How this report was linked to the waterthe outlet's permit and number in EPA and state records
LatitudeNot provided
LongitudeNot provided
Location sourceNot provided
Location accuracy, in metresNot provided
StartedAug 30, 2026, 8:30 AM EDT (2026-08-30T08:30:00-04:00)
EndedAug 30, 2026, 11:30 AM EDT (2026-08-30T11:30:00-04:00)
Detail provided by the sourceto the minute
Reported to the sourceAug 31, 2026, 11:31 AM EDT (2026-08-31T11:31:02-04:00)
PublishedNot provided
Source last updatedNot provided
Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatchNov 4, 2026, 10:09 AM EST (2026-11-04T15:09:15Z)
MaterialDiluted Raw Sewage
Volume, in gallons137,000
Volume as reported0.137 Million Gallons
How volume was determinednot stated whether estimated or measured
AuthorityMichigan EGLE (MiEnviro CSO/SSO List)
AdviceNot provided
Advice period, in hoursNot provided
Basis of the advice periodNot provided
Original noticehttps://mienviro.michigan.gov/ncore/ss/ssolist?queryParams=%7B%22filter%22%3A%5B%7B%22submissionId%22%3A%22-5971414424239884130%22%7D%5D%2C%22top%22%3A50%7D

Original source data

{
  "submissionId": "-5971414424239884130",
  "submissionReferenceNumber": "HQR-7DZA-RW5F5",
  "sectionNumber": 11,
  "submissionReceivedDate": "2026-08-31T11:31:02.9000000-04:00",
  "responsiblePartyName": "City of Lansing WWTP",
  "siteName": "Lansing WWTP",
  "permitNumber": "MI0023400",
  "countyDescription": "Ingham",
  "countyId": "33",
  "reportStatusId": "COMPLETE",
  "reportStatusDescription": "Completed",
  "dischargeType": "CSO Discharge,CSO Discharge",
  "dischargeQuality": "Diluted Raw Sewage,Diluted Raw Sewage",
  "dischargeVolume": "0.13700 Million Gallons",
  "dischargeVolumeNumeric": 137000,
  "eventStartDate": "2026-08-30T08:30:00.0000000-04:00",
  "eventEndDate": "2026-08-30T11:30:00.0000000-04:00",
  "featureNumber": "022",
  "featureDescription": "Ottawa Street at Grand Street",
  "receivingWater": "Grand River",
  "landImpacted": null,
  "precipitationAmount": "0.44",
  "precipitationType": "Rain,Rain",
  "reached_water": true
}

Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.