DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Michigan / Sewer operators /

City of Lansing

Sewer utility with combined sewers · Michigan · Lansing

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Solid dots mark combined sewer outfalls. Ringed dots mark treatment plant outfalls. Small hollow diamonds mark places named in its overflow reports (provisional). Grey dots are closed outfalls. Dashed river stretches are estimates of where a discharge travels. Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.

Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
MI0023400
Wastewater outlets
39 combined sewer outfalls and 2 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies; 4 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations) · List
Waters listed as receiving wastewater
Grand River; Red Cedar River
Tracked waters
Grand River, MI, Red Cedar River, MI, Sycamore Creek, MI, Herron Creek, MI
Discharge records counted
21,071 records · latest
Total reported volume in these records
11,758,190,410 gallons across the 18,447 records that give a volume (2624 without one)

These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.

Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-05 06:27 UTC.

Public notices and alerts

Pages where City of Lansing or the state publishes its notices (check them for an alert sign-up):

Its public-notice channels

Source: City of Lansing's public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records; DirtyWaterWatch register of public-notice channels and its page monitor.

Report a missing notice or error

Rain and discharges

The NOAA MRMS radar-only rainfall estimate for the 24 hours to the latest hour, read every hour at each outfall from the radar grid. We show a caution when the rain reaches the amount below and no discharge report has arrived.

Threshold
0.1 in of rain in 24 hours (site default: This site's default: 0.1 inch of rain in 24 hours at a combined sewer outfall, applied where the state publishes no rain trigger of its own)
Radar now
2.9 in in the 24 hours to Nov 5, 2026, 1:00 AM EST
Forecast
0.02 in forecast in the next 24 hours (NWS forecast issued Nov 4, 2026, 8:03 PM EST)
Status
Discharge possible: heavy rain, no report received

Source: NOAA National Weather Service, MRMS radar-only rainfall estimate, valid Nov 5, 2026, 1:00 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-05 06:22 UTC; threshold: site default; rule: How it works, discharge likely or possible.

Wastewater outlets

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

39 combined sewer outfalls and 2 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies; 4 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations).

Combined sewer outfalls

39 outfalls · 19 closed

Showing 12 of 39.

Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) national combined sewer outfall inventory (ECHO) and state outfall layers. Open or closed as EPA's inventory lists it. DirtyWaterWatch links outlets to waters using permit numbers, locations and names.

Treatment plant outfalls

2 outfalls

Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) permit records (ICIS-NPDES permitted features): where a treatment plant’s permitted discharge leaves. No national source says whether a plant outfall is open or closed.

Places named in overflow reports (provisional)

4 places

Provisional location from overflow reports. Where the operator's own reports put an overflow: a manhole, pump station or plant. Not an outfall listed in a permit.

  • Reported place · 4 overflow reports, latest Aug 10, 2015 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 3 overflow reports, latest Jun 13, 2013 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Mar 16, 2023 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Dec 26, 2013 · confidence medium · no water record yet

Source: the operator's own overflow reports to the state. DirtyWaterWatch groups reports within 50 metres into one place and finds the water below it with U.S. Geological Survey river maps (NLDI, NHDPlus). Not a permitted outfall; provisional until an official outfall record exists.

Reports and advisories

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system.

Reports linked to City of Lansing, newest first
WhenReportStatus
Grand River, Red Cedar River · CSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapto Nov 14, 10:30 PM
Grand River, Red Cedar River · CSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapto Nov 14, 10:15 PM
Grand River, Red Cedar River · CSO · volume in each report mapto Nov 14, 10:00 PM
Grand River, Red Cedar River · CSO · volume in each report mapto Nov 14, 7:00 PM
Grand River, Red Cedar River · CSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapto Nov 14, 9:00 AM
to Oct 2, 5:00 AMGrand River · NW Wastewater Treatment Plant · CSO · 12.64 million gallons report · notice · mapended
to 5:30 PMGrand River · 019 Oakland Avenue at Grand Avenue · CSO · 553,000 gallons in all mapended
to 5:30 PMGrand River · 024 Lenawee Street East of Grand Avenue · CSO · 293,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 9:00 PMGrand River · 017 Turner Street at Beaver Street · CSO · 134,000 gallons in all mapended

Sources: EGLE MiEnviro CSO/SSO List, retrieved 2026-11-05 06:11 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Download these reports as CSV

Showing the latest 27 records of 22,734 records.See them all with filters.

All reports in Michigan by year: 2026 (527 from City of Lansing) · 2025 (440 from City of Lansing) · 2024 (612 from City of Lansing) · 2023 (607 from City of Lansing) · 2022 (574 from City of Lansing) · 2021 (491 from City of Lansing) · 2020 (593 from City of Lansing) · 2019 (694 from City of Lansing) · 2018 (535 from City of Lansing) · 2017 (612 from City of Lansing) · 2016 (757 from City of Lansing) · 2015 (621 from City of Lansing) · 2014 (713 from City of Lansing) · 2013 (746 from City of Lansing) · 2012 (655 from City of Lansing) · 2011 (726 from City of Lansing) · 2010 (589 from City of Lansing) · 2009 (755 from City of Lansing) · 2008 (715 from City of Lansing) · 2007 (890 from City of Lansing) · 2006 (2706 from City of Lansing) · 2005 (2275 from City of Lansing) · 2004 (1202 from City of Lansing) · 2003 (1185 from City of Lansing) · 2002 (912 from City of Lansing) · 2001 (1602 from City of Lansing)

Other sewer operators on these waters

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Plum: algal bloom advisory. Red or amber with a light line inside: beach advisory or caution. Dotted: monthly report (days with discharge, dates not given). Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.
  • End not confirmed: to
    16 reports: Grand River 16
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    16 reports: Grand River 16
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: Grand River 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Grand River 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    10 reports: Grand River 8, Red Cedar River 2
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    10 reports: Grand River 8, Red Cedar River 2
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    14 reports: Grand River 12, Red Cedar River 2
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    14 reports: Grand River 12, Red Cedar River 2
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    9 reports: Grand River 8, Red Cedar River 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    9 reports: Grand River 8, Red Cedar River 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

13 earlier periods appear as you scroll.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 06:27 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges reported by City of Lansing, last 12 months557December 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
  • Days with a discharge reported by City of Lansing, last 12 months56December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status from City of Lansing's reports, last 12 months676December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status (City of Lansing)10%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater.

Reported discharges per month

2,760 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other

Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when a water had a discharge or advisory status from this sewer operator's reports, under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported

2,656 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. 9 discharges reported to last more than 31 days are counted as 31 days. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2001 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges per year, 2001 to 2026

21,071 reported discharges, 2001 to 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other

Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2001 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 18,447 reports that gave a volume as a number (2,624 did not).

2,624 of 21,071 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.

Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2001 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported

2,656 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. 9 discharges reported to last more than 31 days are counted as 31 days. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2001 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported

2,656 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. 9 discharges reported to last more than 31 days are counted as 31 days. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2001 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2001 to November 5, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 216, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

Source: mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list. Records cover January 1, 2001 to November 5, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list: records from January 1, 2001 to the latest update