Combined sewer overflow (CSO) reported — City of Lansing WWTP, Sep 15, 2026
Ended (as reported) · Michigan EGLE (MiEnviro CSO/SSO List)
Source: Michigan EGLE (MiEnviro CSO/SSO List) via EGLE MiEnviro CSO/SSO List, record 3477514178993175135-12, reported Sep 16, 2026, 10:41 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:07 UTC · Read the original notice
Current status from this report
This report does not set a map status as of Nov 4, 2026, 8:25 PM EST. Check its dates and the status rules.
A report is not a test of the water. See how we assign statuses.
Read the original notice · Report an error
1. Reported wastewater outlet
Operator named in the record: City of Lansing WWTP (federal wastewater discharge permit, NPDES, MI0023400). Outlet: 024 “Lenawee Street East of Grand Avenue”. Location: 42.73889, -84.54500; location source: EPA wastewater outlet records (the report gives no location).
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
Source: EPA ECHO wastewater outlet records, permit MI0023400, outlet 024. Location linked by DirtyWaterWatch.
2. Waters named in the notice
The notice names: “Grand River”. DirtyWaterWatch links this report to Grand River, MI. Match basis: the outlet's permit and number in EPA and state records.
3. Estimated downstream stretch
No downstream estimate is available for this report.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
When it happened and when it was reported
Event and notice times use Eastern Time (EST or EDT). Retrieval times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- Started
- Ended
- Detail provided by the source
- Times known to the minute
- Reported to the source
- Published
- not given
- Source last updated
- not given
- Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch
What and how much
- Type
- Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system.
- Status in the record
- Ended (as reported)
- Material
- “Diluted Raw Sewage”
- Volume
- 260,000 gallons (not stated whether estimated or measured)
- Volume as reported
- “0.26 Million Gallons”
Advice from Michigan EGLE (MiEnviro CSO/SSO List)
This report includes no advice. Check current local health notices.
- Advice period
- This report does not state a period. See the rule DirtyWaterWatch applies and its source.
- Basis
- not stated
Status history from this report
- Discharge or advisory reported Grand River: Discharge reported ongoing, Sep 15, 2026, 10:30 AM EDT to Sep 15, 2026, 1:30 PM EDT
- Caution Grand River: Within the caution period after the reported end, Sep 15, 2026, 1:30 PM EDT to Sep 18, 2026, 1:30 PM EDT
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using this report and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.
Source and versions
- Source
- EGLE MiEnviro CSO/SSO List
- Source record number
- 3477514178993175135-12
- Original notice
- Read the original notice
- Earlier version
- None: this is the first record
- Later versions
- None
Record details
| Record identifier | mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list:3477514178993175135-12 |
|---|---|
| Source identifier | mi-egle-mienviro-cso-sso-list |
| Source record number | 3477514178993175135-12 |
| Earlier version | Not provided |
| Type | Combined sewer overflow (CSO) |
| Status in the report | Ended (as reported) |
| Sewer operator identifier | mi-lansing-wwtp-mi0023400 |
| Sewer operator | City of Lansing WWTP |
| Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES) | MI0023400 |
| Outlet number | 024 |
| Outlet name | Lenawee Street East of Grand Avenue |
| Water named in the report | Grand River |
| Linked waters | grand-river-mi |
| How this report was linked to the water | the outlet's permit and number in EPA and state records |
| Latitude | Not provided |
| Longitude | Not provided |
| Location source | Not provided |
| Location accuracy, in metres | Not provided |
| Started | Sep 15, 2026, 10:30 AM EDT (2026-09-15T10:30:00-04:00) |
| Ended | Sep 15, 2026, 1:30 PM EDT (2026-09-15T13:30:00-04:00) |
| Detail provided by the source | to the minute |
| Reported to the source | Sep 16, 2026, 10:41 AM EDT (2026-09-16T10:41:47-04:00) |
| Published | Not provided |
| Source last updated | Not provided |
| Last retrieved by DirtyWaterWatch | Nov 4, 2026, 8:07 PM EST (2026-11-05T01:07:31Z) |
| Material | Diluted Raw Sewage |
| Volume, in gallons | 260,000 |
| Volume as reported | 0.26 Million Gallons |
| How volume was determined | not stated whether estimated or measured |
| Authority | Michigan EGLE (MiEnviro CSO/SSO List) |
| Advice | Not provided |
| Advice period, in hours | Not provided |
| Basis of the advice period | Not provided |
| Original notice | https://mienviro.michigan.gov/ncore/ss/ssolist?queryParams=%7B%22filter%22%3A%5B%7B%22submissionId%22%3A%223477514178993175135%22%7D%5D%2C%22top%22%3A50%7D |
Original source data
{
"submissionId": "3477514178993175135",
"submissionReferenceNumber": "HQR-KZE7-8M2EZ",
"sectionNumber": 12,
"submissionReceivedDate": "2026-09-16T10:41:47.5270000-04:00",
"responsiblePartyName": "City of Lansing WWTP",
"siteName": "Lansing WWTP",
"permitNumber": "MI0023400",
"countyDescription": "Ingham",
"countyId": "33",
"reportStatusId": "COMPLETE",
"reportStatusDescription": "Completed",
"dischargeType": "CSO Discharge,CSO Discharge",
"dischargeQuality": "Diluted Raw Sewage,Diluted Raw Sewage",
"dischargeVolume": "0.26000 Million Gallons",
"dischargeVolumeNumeric": 260000,
"eventStartDate": "2026-09-15T10:30:00.0000000-04:00",
"eventEndDate": "2026-09-15T13:30:00.0000000-04:00",
"featureNumber": "024",
"featureDescription": "Lenawee Street East of Grand Avenue",
"receivingWater": "Grand River",
"landImpacted": null,
"precipitationAmount": "0.44",
"precipitationType": "Rain,Rain",
"reached_water": true
} Staff names, email addresses and phone numbers are removed from source data before it is stored.