DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Florida / Sewer operators /

SOUTH CROSS BAYOU WRF

Sewer operator · Florida · Saint Petersburg

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Ringed dots mark treatment plant outfalls. Small hollow diamonds mark places named in its overflow reports (provisional). Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.

Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
FL0040436
Wastewater outlets
1 treatment plant outfall listed by EPA or state agencies; 25 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations) · List
Waters listed as receiving wastewater
Joes Creek Class III Marine WBID 1668E 1641 1618C
Tracked waters
The Narrows, FL, Clearwater Bay, FL, McKay Creek, FL, Gulf Intracoastal Waterway, FL, Saint Joseph Sound, FL, Long Bayou, FL, Clearwater Harbor, FL, Boca Ciega Bay, FL, Lake Seminole, FL
Discharge records counted
25 records · latest
Total reported volume in these records
1,118,183 gallons across the 20 records that give a volume (5 without one)

These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.

Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Public notices and alerts

Get alerts from SOUTH CROSS BAYOU WRF

Source: SOUTH CROSS BAYOU WRF's public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records.

Report a missing notice or error

Wastewater outlets

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

1 treatment plant outfall listed by EPA or state agencies; 25 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations).

Treatment plant outfalls

1 outfall
  • Outfall 001 · receiving water in the permit: Joes Creek Class III Marine WBID 1668E 1641 1618C · no water record yet · status not published

Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) permit records (ICIS-NPDES permitted features): where a treatment plant’s permitted discharge leaves. No national source says whether a plant outfall is open or closed.

Places named in overflow reports (provisional)

25 places

Provisional location from overflow reports. Where the operator's own reports put an overflow: a manhole, pump station or plant. Not an outfall listed in a permit.

  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Sep 11, 2017 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Dec 30, 2021 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Dec 8, 2021 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Nov 29, 2021 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Jan 13, 2019 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Feb 10, 2018 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Feb 9, 2018 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Dec 24, 2017 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Dec 5, 2017 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Sep 29, 2017 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Sep 14, 2017 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Sep 14, 2017 · confidence medium · no water record yet

Showing 12 of 25.

Source: the operator's own overflow reports to the state. DirtyWaterWatch groups reports within 50 metres into one place and finds the water below it with U.S. Geological Survey river maps (NLDI, NHDPlus). Not a permitted outfall; provisional until an official outfall record exists.

Reports and advisories

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.

Reports linked to SOUTH CROSS BAYOU WRF, newest first
WhenReportStatus
to Dec 30 ’21The Narrows · Pcu Ds-190a 12-30-21 · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Dec 8 ’21Clearwater Bay · Pcu Ds-090b 12-08-21 · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Nov 29 ’21Water not mapped · Pcu Ds-501a 11-29-21 · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
Water not mapped · SSO · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapongoing
to Feb 10 ’18McKay Creek · Pcu Ds-052 · SSO · 3,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Feb 9 ’18Gulf Intracoastal Waterway · Pcu Ds-095 2/9/2018 · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Dec 24 ’17Water not mapped · Pcu Ds-102 12/24/17 · SSO · 5,800 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Dec 5 ’17“South Cross Bayou” · Pcu Ds-501 12.5.17 · SSO · 10,500 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 30 ’17Water not mapped · Pcu Ds-500 9/29/17 · SSO · 100,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 16 ’17Water not mapped · Pcu Ds-123 9.14.17 · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 16 ’17“Joe's Creek” · Pcu Ps 126 9.14.17 · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 15 ’17Saint Joseph Sound · Pcu Ds-318 9/13/17 · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 12 ’17Long Bayou · Pcu Ps161 9.12.17 · SSO · 1,468 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 12 ’17The Narrows · Pcu Ps 068 9.12.17 · SSO · 16,136 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 13 ’17Clearwater Harbor · Pcu Ps 093 9.12.17 · SSO · 5,973 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 13 ’17Gulf Intracoastal Waterway · Pcu Ps 094 9.12.17 · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 16 ’17McKay Creek · Pcu Ds-170 9.11.17 · SSO · 125,268 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 12 ’17Water not mapped · Pcu Ds-061 9/11/17 · SSO · 11,779 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 12 ’17McKay Creek · Pcu Ps 052 9.11.17 · SSO · 457,585 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 13 ’17McKay Creek · Pcu Ds-171 9/11/17 · SSO · 38,605 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 12 ’17Boca Ciega Bay · Pcu Ds-156 9/11/17 · SSO · 11,668 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 11 ’17Water not mapped · Pcu Ds-001 9/11/17 · SSO · 34,921 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 12 ’17Water not mapped · Pcu Ds168 9.11.17 · SSO · 259,725 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 11 ’17Lake Seminole · Pcu Ds-021 9.11.17 · SSO · 29,755 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 12 ’17Boca Ciega Bay · Pcu Ds-168 9/11/17 · SSO (earlier version) · 259,725 gallons report · notice · mapended

Sources: Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service), retrieved 2026-11-04 09:03 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Download these reports as CSV

Showing the latest 25 records of 26 records.See them all with filters.

All reports in Florida by year: 2021 (3 from SOUTH CROSS BAYOU WRF) · 2019 (1 from SOUTH CROSS BAYOU WRF) · 2018 (2 from SOUTH CROSS BAYOU WRF) · 2017 (20 from SOUTH CROSS BAYOU WRF)

Other sewer operators on these waters

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Plum: algal bloom advisory. Red or amber with a light line inside: beach advisory or caution. Dotted: monthly report (days with discharge, dates not given). Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.

No discharge, advisory or caution periods are shown for the waters this sewer operator's reports were placed on in this time span. Check downstream stretches and source coverage.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges reported by SOUTH CROSS BAYOU WRF, last 12 months0December 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
  • Days with a discharge reported by SOUTH CROSS BAYOU WRF, last 12 months0December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status from SOUTH CROSS BAYOU WRF's reports, last 12 months0December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status (SOUTH CROSS BAYOU WRF)0.0%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater.

Reported discharges per month

0 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when a water had a discharge or advisory status from this sewer operator's reports, under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported

Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges per year, 2017 to 2026

25 reported discharges, 2017 to 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • Incomplete source coverage

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 20 reports that gave a volume as a number (5 did not).

  • Incomplete source coverage

5 of 25 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Incomplete source coverage

Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Season with incomplete source coverage

Seasons with incomplete source coverage: 2017. The share is of the hours a source covered. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 25, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • fl-dep-pnp: records from May 17, 2017 to the latest update