Clearwater Harbor
Bay in Florida, near Clearwater, Clearwater Beach, Dunedin, Indian Rocks Beach and Largo
Current status
No current status is assigned to this water outline. Check the water page for reports and any estimated downstream stretches. Why this status, and its source
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.
Get alerts from DUNEDIN CITY OF AWWTF · Bookmark this water page and check it before each trip · Report a missing notice or error
About this status
No current status shown: no report we track sets a status on this water now; how statuses work. No status does not mean the water is safe. Follow posted signs and local health advice.
Sources checked: a public source (last successful check 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC); a public source (last successful check 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC); Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service) (last successful check 2026-11-05 01:06 UTC). Status by DirtyWaterWatch, updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC. · Updated
The last 90 days
No discharge, advisory or caution periods are shown for this water in this time span. Check downstream stretches and source coverage.
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.
Reported discharges over time
- Discharges affecting the Clearwater Harbor in Florida, last 12 months11 affecting this water: 1 reported on the Clearwater Harbor; none arriving from upstreamDecember 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once. Arriving discharges are estimated from modeled downstream reaches.
- Days with a discharge affecting the Clearwater Harbor in Florida, last 12 months1Reported on the Clearwater Harbor in Florida: 1 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0 (counted apart; together they need not equal the total)December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
- Hours with a discharge or advisory status on the Clearwater Harbor in Florida, last 12 months24Reported on the Clearwater Harbor in Florida: 24 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
- 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status on the Clearwater Harbor in Florida0.5%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.
- Records behind the last-90-days strip for the Clearwater Harbor in Florida0last 90 daysEvery distinct record the strip lists for its red, yellow and unresolved hours, notices and unresolved reports included; counted as the strip counts them.
Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater. Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
Reported discharges per month
16 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.
- Combined sewer overflow
- Sanitary sewer overflow
- Treatment bypass, blended or other
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Combined sewer overflow | Sanitary sewer overflow | Treatment bypass, blended or other | Total | Counted from | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2022 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| December 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2023 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| February 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2023 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| June 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2023 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| September 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| December 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2024 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | Source records | |
| May 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2024 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 | Source records | |
| September 2024 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 | Source records | |
| October 2024 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 3 | Source records | |
| November 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| December 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2025 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| February 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2025 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| April 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2025 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| August 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| December 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2026 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| June 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month
Hours when this water had a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.
- Discharge or advisory reported
1 discharge report has no end time and is not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules it shows caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and adds no hours here.
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Hours with a discharge or advisory status | Hours from post-discharge periods | Hours in the month | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2022 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2022 | 24 | 24 | 720 | |
| December 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2023 | 24 | 24 | 744 | |
| February 2023 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2023 | 24 | 24 | 744 | |
| June 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2023 | 48 | 48 | 744 | |
| September 2023 | 120 | 120 | 720 | |
| October 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| December 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2024 | 0 | 0 | 696 | |
| March 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2024 | 48 | 48 | 744 | |
| September 2024 | 48 | 48 | 720 | |
| October 2024 | 144 | 144 | 744 | |
| November 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| December 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2025 | 24 | 24 | 744 | |
| February 2025 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2025 | 47 | 47 | 744 | |
| April 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2025 | 24 | 24 | 744 | |
| August 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| December 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2026 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2026 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2026 | 24 | 24 | 744 | |
| June 2026 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2026 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2026 | 0 | 0 | 94 |
Days with a reported discharge per month
A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Days with a reported discharge | Coverage |
|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | |
| February 2022 | 0 | |
| March 2022 | 0 | |
| April 2022 | 0 | |
| May 2022 | 0 | |
| June 2022 | 0 | |
| July 2022 | 0 | |
| August 2022 | 0 | |
| September 2022 | 0 | |
| October 2022 | 0 | |
| November 2022 | 1 | |
| December 2022 | 0 | |
| January 2023 | 1 | |
| February 2023 | 0 | |
| March 2023 | 0 | |
| April 2023 | 0 | |
| May 2023 | 1 | |
| June 2023 | 0 | |
| July 2023 | 0 | |
| August 2023 | 1 | |
| September 2023 | 0 | |
| October 2023 | 0 | |
| November 2023 | 0 | |
| December 2023 | 0 | |
| January 2024 | 0 | |
| February 2024 | 0 | |
| March 2024 | 0 | |
| April 2024 | 1 | |
| May 2024 | 0 | |
| June 2024 | 0 | |
| July 2024 | 0 | |
| August 2024 | 1 | |
| September 2024 | 2 | |
| October 2024 | 5 | |
| November 2024 | 0 | |
| December 2024 | 0 | |
| January 2025 | 1 | |
| February 2025 | 0 | |
| March 2025 | 1 | |
| April 2025 | 0 | |
| May 2025 | 0 | |
| June 2025 | 0 | |
| July 2025 | 1 | |
| August 2025 | 0 | |
| September 2025 | 0 | |
| October 2025 | 0 | |
| November 2025 | 0 | |
| December 2025 | 0 | |
| January 2026 | 0 | |
| February 2026 | 0 | |
| March 2026 | 0 | |
| April 2026 | 0 | |
| May 2026 | 1 | |
| June 2026 | 0 | |
| July 2026 | 0 | |
| August 2026 | 0 | |
| September 2026 | 0 | |
| October 2026 | 0 | |
| November 2026 | 0 |
Reported discharges per year, 2017 to 2026
22 reported discharges, 2017 to 2026.
- Combined sewer overflow
- Sanitary sewer overflow
- Treatment bypass, blended or other
- Incomplete source coverage
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Combined sewer overflow | Sanitary sewer overflow | Treatment bypass, blended or other | Total | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2017 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 3 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2018 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | |
| 2019 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 | |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2022 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | |
| 2023 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 3 | |
| 2024 | 0 | 7 | 1 | 8 | |
| 2025 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 3 | |
| 2026 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
Reported volume per year
Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 14 reports that gave a volume as a number (8 did not).
- Incomplete source coverage
8 of 22 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Reported volume, gallons | Reports with a volume | Reports without a volume | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2017 | 8,473 | 2 | 1 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2018 | 84,500 | 1 | 0 | |
| 2019 | 4,250 | 2 | 0 | |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 | 1 | |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 | 3 | |
| 2024 | 113,750 | 7 | 1 | |
| 2025 | 60,015 | 2 | 1 | |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year
Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.
- Discharge or advisory reported
- Incomplete source coverage
1 discharge report has no end time and is not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules it shows caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and adds no hours here.
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Hours with a discharge or advisory status | Share of the year | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2017 | 48 | 0.5% | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2018 | 24 | 0.3% | |
| 2019 | 72 | 0.8% | |
| 2020 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2021 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2022 | 24 | 0.3% | |
| 2023 | 216 | 2.5% | |
| 2024 | 240 | 2.7% | |
| 2025 | 95 | 1.1% | |
| 2026 | 24 | 0.3% |
Reported discharges by calendar month, all years
Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.
Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Reported discharges | Years of records |
|---|---|---|
| January | 2 | 9 |
| February | 0 | 9 |
| March | 1 | 9 |
| April | 1 | 9 |
| May | 2 | 10 |
| June | 1 | 10 |
| July | 1 | 10 |
| August | 5 | 10 |
| September | 5 | 10 |
| October | 3 | 10 |
| November | 1 | 10 |
| December | 0 | 9 |
Reported discharges by wastewater outlet
Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 20, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Wastewater outlet | Sewer operator | Reported discharges |
|---|---|---|
| SSO PCU DS-095 | South Cross Bayou AWRF | 2 |
| SSO - TS Debby - PCU | South Cross Bayou AWRF | 2 |
| PCU SSO DS-095 | South Cross Bayou AWRF | 1 |
| 205 Jeffords St (2) | Clearwater City of Marshall Street WRF | 1 |
| 211 Pierce St (LS16) | Clearwater City of Marshall Street WRF | 1 |
| SSO PCU DS-194 | South Cross Bayou AWRF | 1 |
| SSO PCU DS-057 Hurricane Milton | South Cross Bayou AWRF | 1 |
| Seton Ln SSO 101024 | Largo, City of | 1 |
| SSO DS-096 PCU | South Cross Bayou AWRF | 1 |
| Lift Station 20 Spill | Clearwater City of Marshall Street WRF | 1 |
| Other outlets (10) | 10 |
How these charts are counted
We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.
- U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records: records from May 3, 2022 to the latest update (limited records)
- fl-dep-pnp: records from May 17, 2017 to the latest update
Reports linked to Clearwater Harbor
| When | Report | Status |
|---|---|---|
| to May 26 | South Cross Bayou AWRF · Pcu SSO Ds-095 · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jul 21 ’25 | Clearwater City of Marshall Street WRF · 205 Jeffords St (2) · SSO · 4,500 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Mar 10 ’25 | Clearwater City of Marshall Street WRF · 211 Pierce St (LS16) · SSO · 55,515 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jan 27 ’25 | South Cross Bayou AWRF · SSO Pcu Ds-194 · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Oct 15 ’24 | South Cross Bayou AWRF · SSO Pcu Ds-095 · SSO · 21,600 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Oct 14 ’24 | South Cross Bayou AWRF · SSO PCU DS-057 Hurricane Milton · SSO · 11,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Oct 12 ’24 | Largo, City of · Seton Ln SSO 101024 · SSO · 57,750 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 28 ’24 | South Cross Bayou AWRF · SSO Pcu Ds-095 · SSO · 200 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 27 ’24 | South Cross Bayou AWRF · SSO Ds-096 Pcu · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Aug 6 ’24 | South Cross Bayou AWRF · SSO - TS Debby - PCU · SSO · 19,500 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Aug 5 ’24 | South Cross Bayou AWRF · SSO - TS Debby - PCU · SSO · 700 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Apr 18 ’24 | Clearwater City of Marshall Street WRF · Lift Station 20 Spill · Bypass · 3,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| Clearwater City of Marshall Street WRF · 230830ls 9 (Fl0021857) · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ongoing | |
| to May 18 ’23 | South Cross Bayou AWRF · SSO Ds-087 · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jan 20 ’23 | South Cross Bayou AWRF · SSO - Ds-500 · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Nov 16 ’22 | South Cross Bayou AWRF · SSO - Ds-082 · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Aug 17 ’19 | City of Clearwater · 2030 Edgewater Dr. storm event · SSO · 2,750 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Aug 17 ’19 | City of Clearwater · 2030 Edgewater Dr. storm event · SSO (earlier version) · 2,750 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jun 23 ’19 | Lift Station #16 area · LS #16 Clearwater FL · SSO · 1,500 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Aug 13 ’18 | City of Largo · City of Largo Manhole Overflow - Seton Lane and Edgewater Ln · SSO · 84,500 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 12 ’17 | Lift station #20 · Lift Station #20 SSO Clearwater · SSO · 2,500 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 13 ’17 | SOUTH CROSS BAYOU WRF · Pcu Ps 093 9.12.17 · SSO · 5,973 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 12 ’17 | LARGO, CITY OF · Manhole Overflow - 2326 Seton Lane · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
Sources: Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service), retrieved 2026-11-04 09:03 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.
All reports in Florida by year: 2026 (1 here) · 2025 (3 here) · 2024 (8 here) · 2023 (3 here) · 2022 (1 here) · 2019 (3 here) · 2018 (1 here) · 2017 (3 here)
Wastewater outlets on this water
No wastewater outlet in our records is linked to this water.
Sewer operators listed for this water: DUNEDIN CITY OF AWWTF, SOUTH CROSS BAYOU WRF, LARGO, CITY OF.
Boat launches
- Belleair Causeway Public Boat Ramp, Largo · Boat ramp
- Clearwater Beach Public Boat Ramp · Boat ramp
- Dunedin Municipal Marina Boat Ramp · Boat ramp
- Indian Rocks 15th Avenue Boat Ramp - Use by Permit Only, Indian Rocks Beach · Boat ramp · permit or residents only
- Sand Key Park - Paddlecraft Launch Beach, Clearwater Beach · Carry-in launch (canoe and kayak)
- Sand Key Park - Sail Craft Launch Beach, Clearwater Beach · Boat ramp
- Seminole Street Boat Launch - Clearwater · Boat ramp
Source: OpenBoatLaunch launch records (public agency data and OpenStreetMap, Open Database License). · Clearwater Harbor on OpenBoatLaunch
Nearby waters
- Clearwater Bay, FL No current status shown about 1 km away
- Stevenson Creek, FL No current status shown about 4 km away
- Taylor Lake, FL No current status shown about 6 km away
- Allen Creek, FL No current status shown about 7 km away
- Church Creek, FL No current status shown about 7 km away
Sources covering this water
- a public source · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC
- a public source · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC
- Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service) · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-05 01:06 UTC
22 records linked to this water, besides 1 earlier version or duplicate. Updated .