DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Georgia / Sewer operators /

Augusta Utilities Department (J.B. Messerly WPCP)

Sewer utility · Georgia · Augusta

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Ringed dots mark treatment plant outfalls. Small hollow diamonds mark places named in its overflow reports (provisional).

Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
GA0037621
Wastewater outlets
2 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies; 50 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations) · List
Waters listed as receiving wastewater
Savannah River; Butler Creek
Tracked waters
Butler Creek, GA, Rocky Creek, GA, Raes Creek, GA, Phinizy Ditch, GA, Phinizy Swamp, GA, Spirit Creek, GA, Rock Creek, GA
Discharge records counted
67 records · latest
Total reported volume in these records
62,416,402 gallons across the 61 records that give a volume (6 without one)

These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.

Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Public notices and alerts

Pages where Augusta Utilities Department (J.B. Messerly WPCP) or the state publishes its notices (check them for an alert sign-up):

Its public-notice channels

Source: Augusta Utilities Department (J.B. Messerly WPCP)'s public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records; DirtyWaterWatch register of public-notice channels and its page monitor.

Report a missing notice or error

Wastewater outlets

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies; 50 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations).

Treatment plant outfalls

2 outfalls

Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) permit records (ICIS-NPDES permitted features): where a treatment plant’s permitted discharge leaves. No national source says whether a plant outfall is open or closed.

Places named in overflow reports (provisional)

50 places · 10 not on the map (reports say the sewage reached no water)

Provisional location from overflow reports. Where the operator's own reports put an overflow: a manhole, pump station or plant. Not an outfall listed in a permit.

  • Reported place · 3 overflow reports, latest Apr 19, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 3 overflow reports, latest Dec 15, 2025 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Oct 26, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Sep 7, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Feb 23, 2026 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Feb 3, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Dec 17, 2025 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Dec 8, 2025 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Nov 2, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Oct 29, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Oct 13, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Oct 11, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet

Showing 12 of 50.

Source: the operator's own overflow reports to the state. DirtyWaterWatch groups reports within 50 metres into one place and finds the water below it with U.S. Geological Survey river maps (NLDI, NHDPlus). Not a permitted outfall; provisional until an official outfall record exists.

Reports and advisories

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.

Reports linked to Augusta Utilities Department (J.B. Messerly WPCP), newest first
WhenReportStatus
Butler Creek · 1161 5th Street Augusta, Georgia 30901 · SSO · “not yet determined (EPD: a zero or blank quantity means the amount has not been determined)” report · notice · mapto Nov 5, 12:00 AM
Butler Creek · 2307 Prescott Place Hephzibah, Georgia 30815 · SSO · 212,150 gallons report · notice · mapto Nov 27, 11:00 PM
to 5:15 PMRocky Creek · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Oct 26Rocky Creek · 2045 Gordon Highway Augusta, Georgia 30909 · SSO · 175 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 11:30 AMRocky Creek · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Oct 13Rocky Creek · 2983 Shelby Drive Augusta, Georgia 30906 · SSO · 150 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 8:00 PMRaes Creek · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Oct 11Raes Creek · 415 Brookside Drive Augusta, Georgia 30904 · SSO · 4,560 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 11:20 PMPhinizy Ditch · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Oct 10Phinizy Ditch · 1820 Doug Barnard Parkway Augusta, Georgia 30906 · SSO · 128,250 gallons report · notice · mapended
Rocky Creek · 524 Richmond Hill Road West Augusta, Georgia 30906 · SSO · 600 gallons report · notice · mapto Nov 6, 11:00 PM
to 5:36 PMRocky Creek · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Sep 9Rocky Creek · 3299 Peach Orchard Road Augusta, Georgia 30906 · SSO · 1,260 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 4:23 PMButler Creek · SSO (earlier version) · volume in each report mapended
to 12:15 PMRaes Creek · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to 11:55 AMButler Creek · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
Butler Creek · 3624 Elliott Boulevard Augusta, Georgia 30906 · SSO · 609 gallons report · notice · mapreported
Butler Creek · 3624 Elliott Boulevard Augusta, Georgia 30906 · SSO · 609 gallons report · notice · mapreported
to Sep 7Raes Creek · 3219 Ramsgate Road Augusta, Georgia 30909 · SSO · 60 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 4:50 PMRocky Creek · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Aug 7Rocky Creek · 2612 Coleman Avenue Augusta, Georgia 30906 · SSO · 600 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 5:25 PMRaes Creek · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Aug 4Raes Creek · 1341 Jackson Road Augusta, Georgia 30909 · SSO · 300 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 3:00 PMButler Creek · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended

Sources: Georgia EPD Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:06 UTC; EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators), retrieved 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Download these reports as CSV

Showing the latest 25 records of 105 records.See them all with filters.

All reports in Georgia by year: 2026 (75 from Augusta Utilities Department (J.B. Messerly WPCP)) · 2025 (30 from Augusta Utilities Department (J.B. Messerly WPCP))

Other sewer operators on these waters

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Plum: algal bloom advisory. Red or amber with a light line inside: beach advisory or caution. Dotted: monthly report (days with discharge, dates not given). Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.
  • Caution: to the latest update
    1 report: Butler Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • End not confirmed: to
    2 reports: Butler Creek 1, Rocky Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    2 reports: Butler Creek 1, Rocky Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Rocky Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • End not confirmed: to
    1 report: Rocky Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    2 reports: Raes Creek 1, Rocky Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Rocky Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    2 reports: Phinizy Ditch 1, Raes Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    2 reports: Phinizy Ditch 1, Raes Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: Rocky Creek 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

8 earlier periods appear as you scroll.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges reported by Augusta Utilities Department (J.B. Messerly WPCP), last 12 months63December 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
  • Days with a discharge reported by Augusta Utilities Department (J.B. Messerly WPCP), last 12 months52December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status from Augusta Utilities Department (J.B. Messerly WPCP)'s reports, last 12 months696December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status (Augusta Utilities Department (J.B. Messerly WPCP))7.6%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater.

Reported discharges per month

67 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source

No tracked source covers January 2022 to August 2025.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when a water had a discharge or advisory status from this sewer operator's reports, under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source

No tracked source covers January 2022 to August 2025. 35 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source

No tracked source covers January 2022 to August 2025.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 61 reports that gave a volume as a number (6 did not).

  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

6 of 67 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

35 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Season with incomplete source coverage

Seasons with incomplete source coverage: 2025. The share is of the hours a source covered. 35 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 56, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • ga-epd-spills: records from September 9, 2025 to the latest update