DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Georgia / Waters /

Butler Creek

Canal in Georgia, past Augusta-Richmond County consolidated government (balance) and Grovetown

Current status

Caution

Caution applies after a recent discharge, when a report leaves its status unclear, or during a rainfall advisory. The report explains which rule applies. This status since . Why this status, and its source

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Check Augusta Utilities Department (J.B. Messerly WPCP)'s notices · Bookmark this water page and check it before each trip · Report a missing notice or error

About this status

Caution: a discharge was reported, dated to the day only with no end; caution for 72 hours from the start of that day (site rule)

Source: Georgia Environmental Protection Division (Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD) via Georgia EPD Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD, record ga0037621-20…, published Nov 3, 2026, 12:00 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:06 UTC · Original notice · Updated

Reports behind this status

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.

Reports behind the status of Butler Creek, newest first
WhenReportStatus
Augusta Utilities · 1161 5th Street Augusta, Georgia 30901 · SSO · “not yet determined (EPD: a zero or blank quantity means the amount has not been determined)” report · notice · mapto Nov 5, 12:00 AM
Augusta Utilities · 2307 Prescott Place Hephzibah, Georgia 30815 · SSO · 212,150 gallons report · notice · mapto Nov 27, 11:00 PM

Sources: Georgia EPD Municipal Sewage Spills Reported to EPD, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:06 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Plum: algal bloom advisory. Red or amber with a light line inside: beach advisory or caution. Dotted: monthly report (days with discharge, dates not given). Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.
  • Caution: to the latest update
    1 report: Augusta Utilities 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • End not confirmed: to
    1 report: Augusta Utilities 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: Augusta Utilities 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • End not confirmed: to
    2 reports: Augusta Utilities 2
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    2 reports: Augusta Utilities 2
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges affecting the Butler Creek in Georgia, last 12 months1919 affecting this stretch: 19 reported on the Butler Creek; none arriving from upstreamDecember 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once. Arriving discharges are estimated from modeled downstream reaches.
  • Days with a discharge affecting the Butler Creek in Georgia, last 12 months16Reported on the Butler Creek in Georgia: 16 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0 (counted apart; together they need not equal the total)December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status on the Butler Creek in Georgia, last 12 months168Reported on the Butler Creek in Georgia: 168 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status on the Butler Creek in Georgia1.1%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.
  • Records behind the last-90-days strip for the Butler Creek in Georgia4Reported on the Butler Creek in Georgia: 4 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0last 90 daysEvery distinct record the strip lists for its red, yellow and unresolved hours, notices and unresolved reports included; counted as the strip counts them.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater. Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

Reported discharges per month

22 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

No tracked source covers January 2022 to April 2022.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when this water had a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

No tracked source covers January 2022 to April 2022. 13 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

  • No tracked source for this period
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

No tracked source covers January 2022 to April 2022.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 19 reports that gave a volume as a number (3 did not).

  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

3 of 22 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Incomplete source coverage
Limited records

13 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Season with incomplete source coverage

Seasons with incomplete source coverage: 2025. The share is of the hours a source covered. 13 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 16, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

Source: ga-epd-spills. Records cover September 9, 2025 to November 4, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records: records from May 3, 2022 to the latest update (limited records)
  • ga-epd-spills: records from September 9, 2025 to the latest update

Reports linked to Butler Creek

Reports linked to Butler Creek, newest first
WhenReportStatus
Augusta Utilities · 1161 5th Street Augusta, Georgia 30901 · SSO · “not yet determined (EPD: a zero or blank quantity means the amount has not been determined)” report · notice · mapto Nov 5, 12:00 AM
Augusta Utilities · 2307 Prescott Place Hephzibah, Georgia 30815 · SSO · 212,150 gallons report · notice · mapto Nov 27, 11:00 PM
to 4:23 PMAugusta Utilities · SSO (earlier version) · volume in each report mapended
to 11:55 AMAugusta Utilities · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
Augusta Utilities · 3624 Elliott Boulevard Augusta, Georgia 30906 · SSO · 609 gallons report · notice · mapreported
Augusta Utilities · 3624 Elliott Boulevard Augusta, Georgia 30906 · SSO · 609 gallons report · notice · mapreported
to 3:00 PMAugusta Utilities · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Jul 31Augusta Utilities · 2936 Meadowbrook Drive Augusta, Georgia 30906 · SSO · 380 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 5:00 PMAugusta Utilities · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to May 26Augusta Utilities · 2914 Crosscreek Road Hephzibah, Georgia 30815 · SSO · 5,100 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 5:10 PMAugusta Utilities · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Apr 4Augusta Utilities · 3533 Windermere Drive Hephzibah, Georgia 30815 · SSO · 400 gallons report · notice · mapended
Augusta Utilities · 3502 Tarneywood Road Hephzibah, Georgia 30815 · SSO · 600 gallons report · notice · mapreported
to 11:30 AMAugusta Utilities · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Mar 3Augusta Utilities · 2914 Crosscreek Road Hephzibah, Georgia 30815 · SSO · 600 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 3:15 PMAugusta Utilities · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Feb 24Augusta Utilities · 2329 Barton Chapel Road Augusta, Georgia 30906 · SSO · 945 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 12:51 AMAugusta Utilities · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Feb 23Augusta Utilities · 3200 Deans Bridge Rd Augusta, Georgia 30906 · SSO · 210 gallons report · notice · mapended
to 9:00 AMAugusta Utilities · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
Augusta Utilities · 3637 Elliott Boulevard Augusta, Georgia 30906 · SSO · 850 gallons report · notice · mapreported
Augusta Utilities · 3637 Elliott Boulevard Augusta, Georgia 30906 · SSO · 850 gallons report · notice · mapreported
Augusta Utilities · 2614 Crosscreek Road Augusta, Georgia 30815 · SSO · 1,350 gallons report · notice · mapreported
to 4:30 PMAugusta Utilities · SSO (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · mapended

Sources: EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators), retrieved 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC.

Download these reports as CSV

Showing the latest 25 records of 38 records.See them all with filters.

All reports in Georgia by year: 2026 (24 here) · 2025 (14 here)

Wastewater outlets on this water

No wastewater outlet in our records is linked to this water.

Sewer operators listed for this water: Augusta Utilities Department (J.B. Messerly WPCP), GROVETOWN, CITY OF (GROVETOWN WPCP).

Boat launches

No public boat launch is listed in our records for this water.

Nearby waters

Sources covering this water

22 records linked to this water, besides 16 earlier versions or duplicates. Updated .