Rhode Island / Reports /
Rhode Island sewage discharges in 2025
42 records of sewage discharges and water advisories in Rhode Island dated in 2025, newest first, 4 earlier versions or duplicates included and marked. Each record keeps the source's own times and wording; a record from the last six months, or one still in effect, also has a page of its own.
By type: Beach closure19 · Treatment bypass13 · Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO)8 · Combined sewer overflow (CSO)2
By source: Rhode Island Department of Health (RIDOH) Beach Monitoring Program19 · EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators)13 · EPA ECHO (reported to regulators)10
2025 in other states: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Vermont.
Source: the agencies, sewer operators and EPA records named on each row and on the Sources page. Updated 2026-11-02 21:26 UTC.
| Start | Type | Water | Sewer operator | Outlet | Volume | Status and end | Source and record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Treatment bypass | Greenwich Cove | East Greenwich Wastewater Treatment Facility | not provided | 32,623 gallons | Ended (as reported); Oct 7, 2025, 3:00 AM EDT | EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators) via ECHO NPDES Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event Dataset, record RI0100030:3:1, reported Oct 8, 2025, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:19 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Treatment bypassDuplicate | Greenwich Cove | East Greenwich Wastewater Treatment Facility | not provided | volume not reported | Ended (as reported); Oct 6, 2025 | EPA ECHO (reported to regulators), record 3684278064, published Oct 30, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:20 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Treatment bypass | Narragansett Bay | City of Newport Utilities - Water Pollution Control (WPCF and two CSO treatment facilities) | not provided | volume not reported | Ended (as reported); end time not reported | EPA ECHO (reported to regulators), record 3684032454, published Oct 30, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:20 UTC · Original notice · Read report | |
| Beach closure | Sakonnet River | not stated | not provided | volume not reported | Advisory lifted; Aug 28, 2025 | Rhode Island Department of Health (RIDOH) Beach Monitoring Program, record third-beach:middletown:2025-08-26, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 10:57 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Beach closure | Sakonnet River | not stated | not provided | volume not reported | Advisory lifted; Aug 28, 2025 | Rhode Island Department of Health (RIDOH) Beach Monitoring Program, record peabodys-beach:middletown:2025-08-26, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 10:57 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Beach closure | East Passage | not stated | not provided | volume not reported | Advisory lifted; Aug 24, 2025 | Rhode Island Department of Health (RIDOH) Beach Monitoring Program, record king-park-beach:newport:2025-08-22, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 10:57 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Beach closure | Narragansett Bay | not stated | not provided | volume not reported | Advisory lifted; Aug 24, 2025 | Rhode Island Department of Health (RIDOH) Beach Monitoring Program, record fort-adams-state-park-beach:newport:2025-08-22, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 10:57 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Beach closure | Rhode Island Sound | not stated | not provided | volume not reported | Advisory lifted; Aug 25, 2025 | Rhode Island Department of Health (RIDOH) Beach Monitoring Program, record spouting-rock-beach-association:newport:2025-08-20, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 10:57 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Beach closure | Rhode Island Sound | not stated | not provided | volume not reported | Advisory lifted; Aug 19, 2025 | Rhode Island Department of Health (RIDOH) Beach Monitoring Program, record eastons-beach:newport:2025-08-15, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 10:57 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Beach closure | Narragansett Bay | not stated | not provided | volume not reported | Advisory lifted; Aug 19, 2025 | Rhode Island Department of Health (RIDOH) Beach Monitoring Program, record conimicut-point-beach:warwick:2025-08-15, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 10:57 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Beach closure | Rhode Island Sound | not stated | not provided | volume not reported | Advisory lifted; Aug 16, 2025 | Rhode Island Department of Health (RIDOH) Beach Monitoring Program, record spouting-rock-beach-association:newport:2025-08-14, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 10:57 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Beach closure | Rhode Island Sound | not stated | not provided | volume not reported | Advisory lifted; Aug 16, 2025 | Rhode Island Department of Health (RIDOH) Beach Monitoring Program, record gooseberry-beach:newport:2025-08-14, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 10:57 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Beach closure | Chipuxet River | not stated | not provided | volume not reported | Advisory lifted; Aug 13, 2025 | Rhode Island Department of Health (RIDOH) Beach Monitoring Program, record camp-hoffman:south-kingstown:2025-08-07, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 10:57 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Beach closure | Chipuxet River | not stated | not provided | volume not reported | Advisory lifted; Aug 5, 2025 | Rhode Island Department of Health (RIDOH) Beach Monitoring Program, record camp-hoffman:south-kingstown:2025-07-31, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 10:57 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Beach closure | Hope Pond | not stated | not provided | volume not reported | Advisory lifted; Aug 1, 2025 | Rhode Island Department of Health (RIDOH) Beach Monitoring Program, record hope-community-service-pond:scituate:2025-07-29, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 10:57 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) | Moshassuck River | NBC-Field's Point Combined Sewer System | not provided | 6,033 gallons | Ended (as reported); Jul 29, 2025, 2:00 PM EDT | EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators) via ECHO NPDES Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event Dataset, record RISS00032:2:1, reported Jul 30, 2025, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:19 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) | not linked to a mapped water | Narragansett Bay Commission - Field's Point WWTF and associated CSOs | not provided | volume not reported | Ended (as reported); Jul 29, 2025 | EPA ECHO (reported to regulators), record 3683586323, published Oct 30, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:20 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Beach closure | Hope Pond | not stated | not provided | volume not reported | Advisory lifted; Jul 22, 2025 | Rhode Island Department of Health (RIDOH) Beach Monitoring Program, record hope-community-service-pond:scituate:2025-07-15, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 10:57 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Beach closure | Lake Tiogue | not stated | not provided | volume not reported | Advisory lifted; Jul 30, 2025 | Rhode Island Department of Health (RIDOH) Beach Monitoring Program, record briar-point-beach:coventry:2025-07-15, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 10:57 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Beach closure | Narragansett Bay | not stated | not provided | volume not reported | Advisory lifted; Jul 15, 2025 | Rhode Island Department of Health (RIDOH) Beach Monitoring Program, record conimicut-point-beach:warwick:2025-07-10, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 10:57 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Beach closure | Narragansett Bay | not stated | not provided | volume not reported | Advisory lifted; Jul 15, 2025 | Rhode Island Department of Health (RIDOH) Beach Monitoring Program, record city-park-beach:warwick:2025-07-10, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 10:57 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Beach closure | Lake Washington | not stated | not provided | volume not reported | Advisory lifted; Jul 11, 2025 | Rhode Island Department of Health (RIDOH) Beach Monitoring Program, record george-washington-campground:glocester:2025-07-03, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 10:57 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Beach closure | Chipuxet River | not stated | not provided | volume not reported | Advisory lifted; Jul 8, 2025 | Rhode Island Department of Health (RIDOH) Beach Monitoring Program, record camp-hoffman:south-kingstown:2025-07-03, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 10:57 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Treatment bypass | Blackstone River | Woonsocket Regional Wastewater Treatment Facility | not provided | volume not reported | Ended (as reported); end time not reported | EPA ECHO (reported to regulators), record 3683348818, published Oct 30, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:20 UTC · Original notice · Read report | |
| Beach closure | Narragansett Bay | not stated | not provided | volume not reported | Advisory lifted; Jun 26, 2025 | Rhode Island Department of Health (RIDOH) Beach Monitoring Program, record oakland-beach:warwick:2025-06-24, the source gives no report time, retrieved 2026-11-02 10:57 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) | Rhode Island Sound | TOWN OF MIDDLETOWN WWCS | not provided | 10,136 gallons | Ended (as reported); May 23, 2025, 3:30 AM EDT | EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators) via ECHO NPDES Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event Dataset, record RISS00007:5:1, reported May 27, 2025, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:19 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) | Rhode Island Sound | TOWN OF MIDDLETOWN WWCS | not provided | 106 gallons | Ended (as reported); May 15, 2025, 4:45 PM EDT | EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators) via ECHO NPDES Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event Dataset, record RISS00007:4:1, reported May 16, 2025, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:19 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Treatment bypass | Warren River | Warren Wastewater Treatment Facility (Town of Warren) | not provided | 66,000 gallons | Ended (as reported); May 8, 2025, 5:40 PM EDT | EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators) via ECHO NPDES Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event Dataset, record RI0100056:1:1, reported May 12, 2025, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:19 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Treatment bypassDuplicate | Warren River | Warren Wastewater Treatment Facility (Town of Warren) | not provided | volume not reported | Ended (as reported); end time not reported | EPA ECHO (reported to regulators), record 3682632064, published Oct 30, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:20 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) | Blackstone River | Woonsocket Sanitary Sewer System | not provided | 1,426 gallons | Ended (as reported); May 6, 2025, 5:05 PM EDT | EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators) via ECHO NPDES Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event Dataset, record RISS00025:1:2, reported May 8, 2025, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:19 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Treatment bypass | Pawtuxet River | West Warwick Regional Wastewater Treatment Facility | not provided | 1.35 million gallons | Ended (as reported); May 2, 2025, 5:22 PM EDT | EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators) via ECHO NPDES Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event Dataset, record RI0100153:1:1, reported May 15, 2025, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:19 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Treatment bypassDuplicate | Pawtuxet River | West Warwick Regional Wastewater Treatment Facility | not provided | volume not reported | Ended (as reported); end time not reported | EPA ECHO (reported to regulators), record 3682638001, published Oct 30, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:20 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) | Woonasquatucket River | Smithfield Sanitary Sewer System | not provided | 3,750 gallons | Ended (as reported); Apr 29, 2025, 3:30 PM EDT | EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators) via ECHO NPDES Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event Dataset, record RISS00030:1:1, reported May 1, 2025, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:19 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Treatment bypass | Seekonk River | Narragansett Bay Commission - Bucklin Point WWTF and associated CSOs | not provided | 0 gallons | Ended (as reported); Apr 28, 2025, 11:30 AM EDT | EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators) via ECHO NPDES Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event Dataset, record RI0100072:4:1, reported Apr 29, 2025, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:19 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Treatment bypassDuplicate | Seekonk River | Narragansett Bay Commission - Bucklin Point WWTF and associated CSOs | not provided | volume not reported | Ended (as reported); end time not reported | EPA ECHO (reported to regulators), record 3682532754, published Oct 30, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:20 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) | Pawtuxet River | West Warwick Sanitary Sewer System | not provided | 5 gallons | Ended (as reported); Mar 14, 2025, 7:00 PM EDT | EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators) via ECHO NPDES Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event Dataset, record RISS00026:4:1, reported Mar 19, 2025, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:19 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) | not linked to a mapped water | Bristol Wastewater Treatment Facility (Town of Bristol) | not provided | volume not reported | Ended (as reported); end time not reported | EPA ECHO (reported to regulators), record 3682106280, published Oct 30, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:20 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Combined sewer overflow (CSO) | Pawtucket River | NBC Bucklin Combined Sewer System | not provided | 4,258 gallons | Ended (as reported); Feb 9, 2025, 12:10 AM EST | EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators) via ECHO NPDES Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event Dataset, record RISS00024:1:1, reported Mar 4, 2026, 12:00 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:19 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Combined sewer overflow (CSO) | not linked to a mapped water | Narragansett Bay Commission - Bucklin Point WWTF and associated CSOs | not provided | volume not reported | Ended (as reported); end time not reported | EPA ECHO (reported to regulators), record 3680520061, published Oct 30, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:20 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Treatment bypass | Greenwich Cove | East Greenwich Wastewater Treatment Facility | not provided | 0 gallons | Ended (as reported); Feb 2, 2025, 6:32 AM EST | EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators) via ECHO NPDES Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event Dataset, record RI0100030:2:1, reported Feb 3, 2025, 12:00 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:19 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Treatment bypass | Blackstone River | Woonsocket Regional Wastewater Treatment Facility | not provided | 1.88 million gallons | Ended (as reported); Jan 23, 2025, 7:00 PM EST | EPA ECHO Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event report (reported to regulators) via ECHO NPDES Sewer Overflow and Bypass Event Dataset, record RI0100111:2:1, reported Jan 27, 2025, 12:00 AM EST, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:19 UTC · Original notice · Full record | |
| Treatment bypass | Blackstone River | Woonsocket Regional Wastewater Treatment Facility | not provided | volume not reported | Ended (as reported); end time not reported | EPA ECHO (reported to regulators), record 3680273162, published Oct 30, 2026, 12:00 AM EDT, retrieved 2026-11-02 21:20 UTC · Original notice · Read report |