North New River Canal
Canal in Florida, past Fort Lauderdale
Current status
No current status is assigned to this water outline. Check the water page for reports and any estimated downstream stretches. Why this status, and its source
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.
Get alerts from BROWARD CO NORTH REGIONAL WWTP · Bookmark this water page and check it before each trip · Report a missing notice or error
About this status
No current status shown: no report we track sets a status on this water now; how statuses work. No status does not mean the water is safe. Follow posted signs and local health advice.
Sources checked: Florida DEP Algal Bloom Sampling, blooms and toxins by site (last successful check 2026-11-05 06:08 UTC); Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service) (last successful check 2026-11-05 06:09 UTC). Status by DirtyWaterWatch, updated 2026-11-05 06:27 UTC. · Updated
The last 90 days
No discharge, advisory or caution periods are shown for this water in this time span. Check downstream stretches and source coverage.
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 06:27 UTC.
Reported discharges over time
- Discharges affecting the North New River Canal in Florida, last 12 months22 affecting this stretch: 2 reported on the North New River Canal; none arriving from upstreamDecember 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once. Arriving discharges are estimated from modeled downstream reaches.
- Days with a discharge affecting the North New River Canal in Florida, last 12 months2Reported on the North New River Canal in Florida: 2 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0 (counted apart; together they need not equal the total)December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
- Hours with a discharge or advisory status on the North New River Canal in Florida, last 12 months48Reported on the North New River Canal in Florida: 48 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
- 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status on the North New River Canal in Florida0.5%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.
- Records behind the last-90-days strip for the North New River Canal in Florida0last 90 daysEvery distinct record the strip lists for its red, yellow and unresolved hours, notices and unresolved reports included; counted as the strip counts them.
Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater. Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
Reported discharges per month
6 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.
- Combined sewer overflow
- Sanitary sewer overflow
- Treatment bypass, blended or other
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Combined sewer overflow | Sanitary sewer overflow | Treatment bypass, blended or other | Total | Counted from | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| February 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| December 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2023 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| July 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| December 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2024 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| December 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2025 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| December 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2026 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| April 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2026 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| August 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month
Hours when this water had a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.
- Discharge or advisory reported
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Hours with a discharge or advisory status | Hours from post-discharge periods | Hours in the month | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 24 | 24 | 744 | |
| February 2022 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| December 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2023 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2023 | 24 | 24 | 720 | |
| July 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| December 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2024 | 0 | 0 | 696 | |
| March 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2024 | 24 | 24 | 720 | |
| December 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2025 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2025 | 24 | 24 | 720 | |
| December 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2026 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2026 | 24 | 24 | 744 | |
| April 2026 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2026 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2026 | 24 | 24 | 744 | |
| August 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2026 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2026 | 0 | 0 | 99 |
Days with a reported discharge per month
A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 5, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Days with a reported discharge | Coverage |
|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 1 | |
| February 2022 | 0 | |
| March 2022 | 0 | |
| April 2022 | 0 | |
| May 2022 | 0 | |
| June 2022 | 0 | |
| July 2022 | 0 | |
| August 2022 | 0 | |
| September 2022 | 0 | |
| October 2022 | 0 | |
| November 2022 | 0 | |
| December 2022 | 0 | |
| January 2023 | 0 | |
| February 2023 | 0 | |
| March 2023 | 0 | |
| April 2023 | 0 | |
| May 2023 | 0 | |
| June 2023 | 1 | |
| July 2023 | 0 | |
| August 2023 | 0 | |
| September 2023 | 0 | |
| October 2023 | 0 | |
| November 2023 | 0 | |
| December 2023 | 0 | |
| January 2024 | 0 | |
| February 2024 | 0 | |
| March 2024 | 0 | |
| April 2024 | 0 | |
| May 2024 | 0 | |
| June 2024 | 0 | |
| July 2024 | 0 | |
| August 2024 | 0 | |
| September 2024 | 0 | |
| October 2024 | 0 | |
| November 2024 | 1 | |
| December 2024 | 0 | |
| January 2025 | 0 | |
| February 2025 | 0 | |
| March 2025 | 0 | |
| April 2025 | 0 | |
| May 2025 | 0 | |
| June 2025 | 0 | |
| July 2025 | 0 | |
| August 2025 | 0 | |
| September 2025 | 0 | |
| October 2025 | 0 | |
| November 2025 | 1 | |
| December 2025 | 0 | |
| January 2026 | 0 | |
| February 2026 | 0 | |
| March 2026 | 1 | |
| April 2026 | 0 | |
| May 2026 | 0 | |
| June 2026 | 0 | |
| July 2026 | 1 | |
| August 2026 | 0 | |
| September 2026 | 0 | |
| October 2026 | 0 | |
| November 2026 | 0 |
Reported discharges per year, 2017 to 2026
15 reported discharges, 2017 to 2026.
- Combined sewer overflow
- Sanitary sewer overflow
- Treatment bypass, blended or other
- Incomplete source coverage
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Combined sewer overflow | Sanitary sewer overflow | Treatment bypass, blended or other | Total | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2017 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 3 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2018 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2019 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 3 | |
| 2020 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | |
| 2021 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 | |
| 2022 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | |
| 2023 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | |
| 2024 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | |
| 2025 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | |
| 2026 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 |
Reported volume per year
Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 10 reports that gave a volume as a number (5 did not).
- Incomplete source coverage
5 of 15 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Reported volume, gallons | Reports with a volume | Reports without a volume | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2017 | 230 | 1 | 2 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2018 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2019 | 15,444 | 3 | 0 | |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 | 1 | |
| 2021 | 2,580 | 2 | 0 | |
| 2022 | 7,978 | 1 | 0 | |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 | 1 | |
| 2024 | 50 | 1 | 0 | |
| 2025 | 5,500 | 1 | 0 | |
| 2026 | 100 | 1 | 1 |
Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year
Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.
- Discharge or advisory reported
- Incomplete source coverage
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Hours with a discharge or advisory status | Share of the year | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2017 | 72 | 0.8% | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2018 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2019 | 96 | 1.1% | |
| 2020 | 48 | 0.5% | |
| 2021 | 48 | 0.5% | |
| 2022 | 24 | 0.3% | |
| 2023 | 24 | 0.3% | |
| 2024 | 24 | 0.3% | |
| 2025 | 24 | 0.3% | |
| 2026 | 48 | 0.6% |
Reported discharges by calendar month, all years
Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.
Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Reported discharges | Years of records |
|---|---|---|
| January | 1 | 9 |
| February | 0 | 9 |
| March | 1 | 9 |
| April | 0 | 9 |
| May | 2 | 10 |
| June | 2 | 10 |
| July | 2 | 10 |
| August | 2 | 10 |
| September | 2 | 10 |
| October | 1 | 10 |
| November | 2 | 10 |
| December | 0 | 9 |
Reported discharges by wastewater outlet
Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 13, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 5, 2026.
Show table
| Wastewater outlet | Sewer operator | Reported discharges |
|---|---|---|
| Force Main Break | Regional Wastewater Treatment Plant | 2 |
| Sanitary Discharge | PBCWUD ls 8301 | 2 |
| Wastewater Spill 4101 SW 24 Ct. Fort Lauderdale | NRWWTP FL0031771-Water and Wastewater Services | 1 |
| 2618 Key Largo Lane - discharge from clean-out | Cleanout at 2618 Key Largo Lane | 1 |
| Repump Station 8310 | Palm Beach County Repump Station 8310 | 1 |
| 1 AVE/LIFT STATION 8310 | LS8310 | 1 |
| LS8308 /Manhole | LS8308 | 1 |
| CITY OF SOUTH BAY WW PLANT | LIFT STATION 8310 | 1 |
| Emergency Discharge Tindall Hammock Wastewater Treatment | Tindall Hammock Wastewater Treatment Facility | 1 |
| SANITARY SEWAGE DISCHARGE | LIFT STATION 8308 | 1 |
| Other outlets (3) | 3 |
How these charts are counted
We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.
- fl-dep-pnp: records from May 17, 2017 to the latest update
Reports linked to North New River Canal
15 sewage reports · 1 algal bloom advisory
Cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) can make water unfit for contact; the issuing authority decides when its advisory ends.
| When | Report | Status |
|---|---|---|
| to Jul 1 | BROWARD CO NORTH REGIONAL WWTP · Wastewater Spill 4101 SW 24 Ct. Fort Lauderdale · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Mar 21 | Regional Wastewater Treatment Plant · Force Main Break · SSO · 100 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Nov 25 ’25 | Regional Wastewater Treatment Plant · Force Main Break · SSO · 5,500 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Nov 1 ’24 | Cleanout at 2618 Key Largo Lane · 2618 Key Largo Lane - discharge from clean-out · SSO · 50 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Algal Bloom Sampling) · New River - at Riverland Woods Boat Ramp · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | reported | |
| to Jun 15 ’23 | Palm Beach County Repump Station 8310 · Repump Station 8310 · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jan 19 ’22 | Ls8310 · 1 Ave/Lift Station 8310 · SSO · 7,978 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 24 ’21 | Ls8308 · LS8308 /Manhole · SSO · 80 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jun 29 ’21 | Lift Station 8310 · City of South Bay Ww Plant · SSO · 2,500 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Oct 27 ’20 | Tindall Hammock Wastewater Treatment Facility · Emergency Discharge Tindall Hammock Wastewater Treatment · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Aug 1 ’19 | Lift Station 8308 · Sanitary Sewage Discharge · SSO · 5,400 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to May 12 ’19 | PBCWUD ls 8301 · Sanitary Discharge · SSO (earlier version) · 5,022 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to May 12 ’19 | PBCWUD ls 8301 · Sanitary Discharge · SSO · 5,022 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to May 12 ’19 | PBCWUD ls 8301 · Sanitary Discharge · SSO · 5,022 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to May 12 ’19 | PBCWUD ls 8301 · Sanitary Discharge · SSO (earlier version) · 5,022 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 16 ’17 | South Florida Water Management District /… · Lube oil spill / Pump Station S-7 · SSO · 230 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Aug 30 ’17 | BROWARD CO NORTH REGIONAL WWTP · Air Relief Valve leak · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jul 23 ’17 | South Florida Water Management District · Diesel Spill / L-18 Canal · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
Sources: Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service), retrieved 2026-11-04 09:03 UTC; Florida DEP Algal Bloom Sampling, blooms and toxins by site, retrieved 2026-11-05 06:08 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.
All reports in Florida by year: 2026 (2 here) · 2025 (1 here) · 2024 (1 here) · 2023 (2 here) · 2022 (1 here) · 2021 (2 here) · 2020 (1 here) · 2019 (5 here) · 2017 (3 here)
Wastewater outlets on this water
No wastewater outlet in our records is linked to this water.
Sewer operators listed for this water: BROWARD CO NORTH REGIONAL WWTP.
Boat launches
- Everglades WMA - Highway 27 (Mile 35.2) - aka. Bergeron's, Fort Lauderdale · Boat ramp
- Everglades WMA - Highway 27 (Mile 38.8) - Stubb Canal, Fort Lauderdale · Boat ramp
- Markham Park - New River Canal Boat Ramp, Fort Lauderdale · Boat ramp
- Riverland Woods Park Boat Ramp, Fort Lauderdale · Boat ramp
Source: OpenBoatLaunch launch records (public agency data and OpenStreetMap, Open Database License). · North New River Canal on OpenBoatLaunch
Nearby waters
- Hillsboro Canal, FL No current status shown about 14 km away
- Miami Canal, FL No current status shown about 19 km away
- L-40, FL No current status shown about 21 km away
- Hillsboro Canal, FL No current status shown about 26 km away
- Cypress Creek Canal, FL No current status shown about 32 km away
Sources covering this water
- Florida DEP Algal Bloom Sampling, blooms and toxins by site · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-05 06:08 UTC
- Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service) · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-05 06:09 UTC
16 records linked to this water: 15 sewage reports, 1 algal bloom advisory, besides 2 earlier versions or duplicates. Updated .