DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Maryland / Reports / 2023 /

Maryland sewage discharges, August 2023

66 records of sewage discharges and water advisories in Maryland dated in August 2023, newest first. Each record keeps the source's own times and wording.

Source: the agencies, sewer operators and EPA records named on each row and on the Sources page. Updated 2026-11-03 02:43 UTC.

Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system.

Records in Maryland, August 2023, newest first
WhenReportStatus
to Sep 6 ’23, 2:00 AMCommissioners of Sharptown · Nanticoke River · 408 Little Water Street · Bypass · volume not reported · notice · mapended
to 12:20 PMWorcester County DPW · “none” · 9624 Stephen Decatur Hwy · SSO · 1,000 gallons · notice · mapended
to 9:30 PMMayor and City Council of Cumberland · “Wills Creek” · Valley Street and Franklin Street · CSO · 17,200 gallons · noticeended
to Aug 30 ’23, 7:00 AMCity of Frostburg · “George's Creek” · Grant Street & Green Street · CSO · 16,000 gallons · notice · mapended
to 6:56 AMMayor and City Council of Cumberland · “Wills Creek” · Franklin Street and Valley Street · CSO · 6,800 gallons · noticeended
to 7:30 PMBaltimore County DPW · “Unnamed tributary to Bill Branch Currently contained on grassy area” · 286 Bloomsbury Avenue · SSO · 60 gallons · notice · mapended
to 1:00 PMQueen Anne's County DPW · “N/A” · 238 Domion Road · SSO · 500 gallons · noticeended
to Aug 28 ’23, 7:00 AMCity of Frostburg · “George's Creek” · Grant Street & Green Street · CSO · 8,000 gallons · notice · mapended
to 4:00 PMBaltimore County DPW · “West Branch Herbert Run” · 50 University Avenue · SSO · 875 gallons · notice · mapended
to 2:45 PMTalbot County DPW · “none” · 9415 Unionville Rd. · SSO · 1,000 gallons · notice · mapended
to 7:46 PMBaltimore City DPW · “Tiffany Run” · 529 Beaumont Avenue · SSO · 672 gallons · notice · mapended
to Sep 4 ’23, 8:30 PMCity of Annapolis · Spa Creek · 1319 Hawkins Lane · SSO · 300,000 gallons · notice · mapended
to Aug 25 ’23, 7:00 AMCity of Frostburg · “Jennings Run, George's Creek” · N Water & Depot St., W/SW of Paul St., Grant & Green St · CSO · 33,000 gallons · noticeended
to Aug 25 ’23, 7:00 AMCity of Frostburg · “Jennings Run and George's Creek (see above)” · City of Frostburg CSOs · CSO · 33,000 gallons · noticeended
to 9:01 AMMount Saint Mary's University · “n/a” · 16300 Old Emmitsburg Road · SSO · 100 gallons · notice · mapended
to Aug 23 ’23, 3:15 PMWorcester County DPW · “none” · 9624 Stephen Decatur Hwy · Bypass · volume not reported · notice · mapended
to Aug 25 ’23, 12:30 PMBaltimore County DPW · Patapsco River · 8006 Penwood Ave · SSO · 3,500 gallons · notice · mapended
to 3:32 PMAnne Arundel County DPW · Patapsco River · Baltimore Annapolis Blvd. · SSO · 110 gallons · notice · mapended
to Aug 25 ’23, 4:09 PMWssc · “Forest Glen Creek” · 2799 Beechbank Road · SSO · 2,918 gallons · notice · mapended
to 7:45 AMCity of Annapolis · “None” · Forest Dr. and Hilltop Ln. · SSO · 1,000 gallons · notice · mapended
to 2:45 PMPocomoke City · “SSO was captured in the storm water drainage swale and did not flow to any waters of the state.” · 1239 Ocean Hwy · SSO · 1,000 gallons · notice · mapended
to 9:00 AMSt. Mary's County Metropolitan Commission · Saint George Creek · 18550 Peninsulas Court & Springer Rd. · SSO · 1,870 gallons · notice · mapended
to 2:59 AMMayor and City Council of Cumberland · North Branch Potomac River · Franklin Street, Valley Street, Avirett Street · CSO · 2,300 gallons · notice · mapended
to 11:00 PMBaltimore City DPW · “N/A. Stayed on property.” · 5105 Roland Ave · SSO · 7 gallons · notice · mapended
to 10:55 AMAnne Arundel County DPW · “Flow made it to PD-2-1 but did not leave the device. PD-2-1 was pumped out.” · 8833 Wagner Station Rd. · SSO · 205 gallons · notice · mapended
to 4:30 PMWssc · “tributary of Western Branch” · 9710 Canary Court · SSO · 1,941 gallons · notice · mapended
to Aug 19 ’23, 8:30 AMBaltimore County DPW · “Dead Run” · 1631 Ingleside Avenue · SSO · 120 gallons · notice · mapended
to 2:00 PMU.S. Department of Agriculture · “N/A - No Waterway” · Bldg. 015, 3rd St & South Drive · SSO · 1,000 gallons · notice · mapended
to Aug 16 ’23, 3:10 PMBaltimore County DPW · “none” · 601 Avondale Rd · SSO · 4 gallons · noticeended
to 2:05 AMHoward County DPW · “N/A Did not reach any storm drain and/or waterway.” · 8900 Greenwood Place · SSO · 300 gallons · noticeended
to Aug 14 ’23, 12:00 AMWssc · “N/A” · 534 Coral Reef Dr · SSO · 894 gallons · notice · mapended
to 12:30 PMHoward County DPW · Patapsco River · Hollifield Sewage Pumping, 2250 River Terrace Ct · SSO · 5 gallons · notice · mapended
to 10:57 PMMayor and City Council of Cumberland · “Wills Creek” · N. Mechanic Street and Franklin Street · CSO · 4,100 gallons · noticeended
to 1:00 PMSun TRS Fort Whaley LLC · “NA” · 11224 Dale Rd · SSO · 200 gallons · noticeended
to 12:30 PMLaVale Sanitary Commission · “Braddock Run” · Old Mt. Savage Rd · CSO · 153,079 gallons · notice · mapended
to 10:51 AMMayor and City Council of Cumberland · North Branch Potomac River · Mill Race, Oldtown Road, N. Mechanic Street, Franklin Street, Valley Street, Avirett Street · CSO · 312,400 gallons · notice · mapended
to 1:00 PMCity of Frostburg · “manhole and outfall” · State Street, outfall 009/P.2, Grant Street & Green Street · CSO · 15,000 gallons · noticeended
to 1:00 PMCity of Frostburg · “Jennings Run” · N Water Street and Depot Street · CSO · 2,000 gallons · notice · mapended
to 11:00 AMTown of Elkton · “Grass area.” · 400 Pintail Circle · SSO · 100 gallons · notice · mapended
to 10:00 AMHoward County DPW · “Seeped into ground.” · Route 40 to 8900 Greenwood Place · SSO · 1,000 gallons · notice · mapended
to 7:00 AMCity of Frostburg · “Sand Spring Run and George's Creek” · State Street, outfall 009/P.1, Grant Street & Green Street · CSO · 12,000 gallons · noticeended
to 7:00 AMCity of Frostburg · “Jennings Run” · North Water and Depot Street · CSO · 1,000 gallons · notice · mapended
to Aug 8 ’23, 10:00 AMCity of Cambridge DPW · “Little Maple Dam Branch” · Maple Dam Rd. · SSO · 10,000 gallons · notice · mapended
to Aug 8 ’23, 12:00 AMCity of Cambridge DPW · Choptank River · Water, Oakley and High St · SSO · 25,000 gallons · notice · mapended
to 8:30 PMBaltimore County DPW · “Gwynn's Falls” · 3902 Patterson Ave · SSO · 20,479 gallons · noticeended
to 7:27 PMBaltimore County DPW · “Herring Run” · 7829 Aiken Ave & Taylor Ave · SSO · 24,257 gallons · noticeended
to 6:31 PMBaltimore County DPW · “Maidens Choice Creek” · Alter St. & Southern Cross Dr. · SSO · 92 gallons · noticeended
to 7:36 PMBaltimore County DPW · “Herring Run” · Queen Anne Drive & Hillcrest Ave · SSO · 15,637 gallons · notice · mapended
to 6:59 PMBaltimore County DPW · “Gwynns Falls” · Southern Cross Drive & Parson's Ave · SSO · 4,247 gallons · noticeended
to 7:07 PMBaltimore County DPW · “Gwynns Falls” · 3909 Southern Cross Drive · SSO · 8,378 gallons · noticeended
to Aug 8 ’23, 1:30 PMWorcester County DPW · “None.” · 9624 Stephen Decatur Hwy · Bypass · volume not reported · notice · mapended
to 5:30 PMLaVale Sanitary Commission · “Braddock Run” · Old Mt. Savage Road · CSO · 46,458 gallons · notice · mapended
to Sep 20 ’23, 12:00 PMBaltimore City DPW · “Jones Falls” · 5928 Falls Rd · SSO · 13,695 gallons · notice · mapended
to Oct 18 ’23, 4:00 PMBaltimore City DPW · “Moores Run” · 4008 Glenmore Avenue · SSO · 25,935 gallons · notice · mapended
to 2:59 PMMayor and City Council of Cumberland · North Branch Potomac River · Cumberland CSOs · CSO · 180,700 gallons · notice · mapended
to Oct 9 ’23, 8:00 PMBaltimore City DPW · “Jones Falls” · 224 E 39th St · SSO · 9,111 gallons · notice · mapended
to Aug 22 ’23, 3:00 PMBaltimore City DPW · “Jones Falls” · 3812 Juniper Rd · SSO · 2,178 gallons · notice · mapended
to 10:30 AMPerdue AgriBusiness, LLC · “none” · 6906 Zion Church Rd · SSO · 3,300 gallons · notice · mapended
to 8:35 PMMayor and City Council of Cumberland · “Wills Creek” · Oldtown Road, N. Mechanic Street, Franklin Street, Valley Street · CSO · 28,500 gallons · notice · mapended
to 11:16 PMMayor and City Council of Cumberland · North Branch Potomac River · Oldtown Road, Franklin Street, Valley Street, Avirett Street, Walnut Place · CSO · 24,700 gallons · notice · mapended
to 3:18 PMMayor and City Council of Cumberland · “Wills Creek” · Franklin Street (011) · CSO · 5,000 gallons · noticeended
to 1:01 PMBaltimore City DPW · “Gwynn's Fall” · 3300 Sequoia Ave and Dolfield Ave · SSO · 101 gallons · notice · mapended
to 4:15 PMTown of Hancock · “Little Tonoloway Creek” · 229 West Main Street · SSO · 100 gallons · notice · mapended
to Nov 20 ’23, 5:00 PMBaltimore City DPW · “Biddison Run” · 5307 Nuth Avenue · SSO · 39,695 gallons · notice · mapended
to 11:30 AMWssc · “Storm Drain closest to Manhole #007M @ 6525 Belcrest Rd, Hyattsville, MD 20782” · 3311 Toledo Road · SSO · 120 gallons · notice · mapended
to Sep 2 ’23, 4:30 PMCity of Hagerstown · “Groundwater. Nearest surface water is Marsh Run West approximately 3/4 mile away” · 14014 Marsh Pike Hagerstown 21742-0000 · SSO · 315,000 gallons · notice · mapended

Sources: MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.