DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Maryland / Reports / 2023 /

Maryland sewage discharges, July 2023

67 records of sewage discharges and water advisories in Maryland dated in July 2023, newest first. Each record keeps the source's own times and wording.

Source: the agencies, sewer operators and EPA records named on each row and on the Sources page. Updated 2026-11-03 02:43 UTC.

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system.

Records in Maryland, July 2023, newest first
WhenReportStatus
to 3:20 PMWashington County Department of Water Quality · “N/A” · 14640-14644 Citicorp · SSO · 400 gallons · notice · mapended
to 8:30 PMWssc · “NA - sewage was contained and removed” · 10110 Sunset View · SSO · 386 gallons · notice · mapended
to 1:50 PMBaltimore County DPW · “NA (Lower Gunpowder Falls)” · 9136 Covered Bridge Road · SSO · 30 gallons · noticeended
to 10:50 AMBaltimore County DPW · Patapsco River · 675 Avondale Rd · SSO · 4 gallons · notice · mapended
to Jul 31 ’23, 1:30 PMWorcester County DPW · “None.” · 9624 Stephen Decatur Hwy · Bypass · volume not reported · notice · mapended
to 1:30 AMCharles County DPW · Mattawoman Creek · 6201 Livingston Rd. · Bypass · 60,000 gallons · notice · mapended
to 3:00 AMCharles County DPW · Mattawoman Creek · 6201 Livingston Road · SSO · 1.51 million gallons · notice · mapended
to Aug 29 ’23, 5:00 PMU.S. Navy · Potomac River · Intersection of Ward Rd and Tisdale Rd, Indian Head, MD 20640 · SSO · 3.5 million gallons · notice · mapended
to 6:20 PMBaltimore City DPW · “Gwynns Run” · 3300 Sequoia Ave · SSO · 110 gallons · notice · mapended
to 2:35 PMCity of Annapolis · “N/A” · 25 Silopanna Road · SSO · 150 gallons · noticeended
to 2:30 PMBaltimore City DPW · “Biddison Run” · 4410 Frankford Ave · SSO · 62 gallons · notice · mapended
to Jul 26 ’23, 12:15 AMWssc · “Northeast Branch” · 3311 Toledo Road · SSO · 410 gallons · notice · mapended
to 4:30 PMBaltimore County DPW · Chesapeake Bay · 2628 Brannan Ave · SSO · 240 gallons · notice · mapended
to 9:40 AMBaltimore City DPW · “Herring Run” · 3900 Belair Road · SSO · 25,000 gallons · notice · mapended
to Jul 23 ’23, 6:00 PMState of Maryland/MES · Greenbrier Lake · 21843 National Pike · Bypass · 28,000 gallons · notice · mapended
to 11:30 AMTown of La Plata · “N/A” · 6505 Curley Hall Rd. · SSO · 4,000 gallons · notice · mapended
to Jul 22 ’23, 4:00 AMTown of Federalsburg · SSO · 50,000 gallons · noticeended
to 5:00 PMCity of Frostburg · “Sand Spring Run & George's Creek” · Broadway · CSO · 15,000 gallons · notice · mapended
to 11:00 AMU.S. Navy · “N/A” · 3972 Ward Road · SSO · 1,000 gallons · noticeended
to 5:25 AMBaltimore City DPW · “HERRING RUN” · 3900 Belair Road · SSO · 82,000 gallons · notice · mapended
to 3:07 AMMayor and City Council of Cumberland · North Branch Potomac River · N. Mechanic St, Valley Street, Elizabeth Street, Oldtown Road, Franklin Street · CSO · 163,800 gallons · notice · mapended
to Jul 21 ’23, 6:20 AMTown of Chesapeake Beach · “WEST CHESAPEAKE BAY” · 8550 Bayside Road · Bypass · 279,000 gallons · noticeended
to 7:40 PMWssc · “Little Falls Branch” · 5617 Warwick Place · SSO (earlier version) · 624 gallons · noticeended
to 7:40 PMWssc · “Little Falls Branch” · 5617 Warwick Place · SSO · 624 gallons · notice · mapended
to Jul 24 ’23, 9:00 AMHoward County DPW · Patapsco River · 9684 Gudel Drive · SSO · 9,000 gallons · notice · mapended
to 11:00 AMCity of Cambridge DPW · Choptank River · Water Street · SSO · 1,000 gallons · notice · mapended
to Jul 20 ’23, 1:00 PMTown of Elkton · 1400 Elkton Rd · SSO · volume not reported · noticeended
to 9:00 AMHarford County DPW · “LAKESIDE POND” · 1012 Magnolia Road · SSO · 4,000 gallons · notice · mapended
to Jul 20 ’23, 12:00 AMCity of Frederick DPW · 91 Hill Street · SSO · volume not reported · noticeended
to 3:00 PMCollege of Southern Maryland · “none” · 8730 Mitchell Road · SSO · 100 gallons · notice · mapended
to 5:20 AMTown of Federalsburg · Marshyhope Creek · 125 Kerney St · SSO · 5,000 gallons · notice · mapended
to 7:30 AMTown of La Plata · “UNNAMED PORT TOBBACCO STREAM” · 100 Buckeye Circle · SSO · 2,000 gallons · notice · mapended
to Jul 17 ’23, 6:00 PMTalbot County DPW · Miles River · 229 Madison Ave · SSO · 9,000 gallons · notice · mapended
to 11:00 PMLaVale Sanitary Commission · “Braddock Run” · 12610 Labees Lane · CSO · 150,000 gallons · notice · mapended
to 10:30 PMLaVale Sanitary Commission · “Braddock Run” · Old Mt. Savage Road · CSO · 143,929 gallons · notice · mapended
to Jul 16 ’23, 8:00 AMCity of Frostburg · “Sand Spring Run and Georges Creek” · State Street, outfall 009/P.1, Grant Street · CSO · 31,000 gallons · noticeended
to Jul 16 ’23, 8:00 AMCity of Frostburg · “Jennings Run” · intersection of Water Street and Depot Street · CSO · 10,000 gallons · notice · mapended
to 2:38 AMAnne Arundel County DPW · “N/A” · 2501 Walden Drive · SSO · 240 gallons · notice · mapended
to 2:38 AMAnne Arundel County DPW · “Did not go to any waterways, just the ground” · 250 Walden Drive · SSO · 240 gallons · notice · mapended
to Jul 17 ’23, 2:00 PMMayor and City Council of Cumberland · North Branch Potomac River · Elizabeth Street, Mill Race, Oldtown Road, Bedford Street, N. Mechanic Street, Franklin Street, Valley Street, Avirett Street, Walnut Place · CSO · 5.54 million gallons · notice · mapended
to 1:30 AMSt. Mary's County Metropolitan Commission · Saint George Creek · 18550 Peninsulas Court & Springer Rd. · SSO · 12,000 gallons · notice · mapended
to Jul 12 ’23, 11:20 AMBaltimore City DPW · “Tiffany Run” · 631 Mccabe Ave · SSO · 128,000 gallons · notice · mapended
to 7:30 PMBaltimore County DPW · “N/A” · 7241 Sawmill Ranch Road · SSO · 5 gallons · notice · mapended
to 1:30 PMHoward County DPW · “Storm Drain” · Martin Rd. north of Half Crown Court · SSO · 100 gallons · notice · mapended
to 6:15 PMBaltimore City DPW · “HERRING RUN” · 3900 Belair Road · SSO · 111,000 gallons · notice · mapended
to 5:10 PMBaltimore City DPW · “JONES FALLS” · N. Charles St & W. Lanvale St · SSO · 9,010 gallons · notice · mapended
to 5:00 PMBaltimore City DPW · “JONES FALL” · E. 32nd Street/ St. Paul Street · SSO · 0 gallons · noticeended
to 2:23 PMMayor and City Council of Cumberland · North Branch Potomac River · N. Mechanic St, Mill Race, Franklin Street, Valley Street, Avirett Street · CSO · 242,300 gallons · notice · mapended
to 2:00 PMLaVale Sanitary Commission · “Braddock Run” · 12610 Labers Lane · CSO · 100,000 gallons · notice · mapended
to 4:00 PMLaVale Sanitary Commission · “Braddock Run” · Old Mt. Savage Road · CSO · 173,358 gallons · notice · mapended
to Jul 9 ’23, 9:00 AMBaltimore County DPW · “Gunpowder River” · 9301 Dundawn Road · SSO · 50,000 gallons · notice · mapended
to 6:10 PMHoward County DPW · “Hammond Branch, The SSO entered a nearby stormdrain and stormwater basin.” · 7124 Chardon Court · SSO · 1,500 gallons · notice · mapended
to Jul 9 ’23, 7:00 AMCity of Frostburg · “Sand Spring Run and George's Creek” · Grant Street and State Street · CSO · 21,000 gallons · noticeended
to 3:15 AMBaltimore City DPW · “N/A. Sludge did not reach any storm drains or manholes; the event was isolated to the immediate area.” · 8201 Eastern Blvd · SSO · 50 gallons · noticeended
to 4:00 PMBaltimore County DPW · “N/A” · 2200 Monumental Road · SSO · 5 gallons · notice · mapended
to 1:00 PMBaltimore County DPW · “N/A” · 7501 Lexham Court · SSO (earlier version) · 60 gallons · notice · mapended
to 1:15 PMBaltimore County DPW · “N/A” · 7501 Lexham Court · SSO · 80 gallons · notice · mapended
to 1:00 PMBaltimore County DPW · “Big GUNPOWDER FALLS” · 9502 Dundawan Road · SSO · 60 gallons · notice · mapended
to Jul 4 ’23, 12:15 AMBaltimore City DPW · “HERRING RUN” · 3900 Belair Rd · SSO · 162,000 gallons · notice · mapended
to 11:48 PMBaltimore County DPW · “HERRING RUN” · 7829 AIKEN AVE & Taylor Ave · SSO · 21,975 gallons · notice · mapended
to 1:30 PMBaltimore City DPW · Northwest Harbor · 147 N Streeper St · SSO · 1 gallons · notice · mapended
to Jul 4 ’23, 7:00 AMCity of Frostburg · “George's Creek” · Grant Street · CSO · 16,000 gallons · notice · mapended
to 11:00 PMState of Maryland/MES · “Unnamed tributary of Little Beaver Creek” · 21843 National Pike · Bypass · 19,800 gallons · notice · mapended
to 8:30 PMLaVale Sanitary Commission · “Braddock Run” · Old Mt. Savage Road · CSO · 171,045 gallons · notice · mapended
to 6:15 PMMayor and City Council of Cumberland · North Branch Potomac River · N. Mechanic Street, Mill Race, Elizabeth Street, Oldtown Road, Franklin Street, Valley Street, Avirett Street, Walnut Place · CSO · 930,300 gallons · notice · mapended
to Jul 2 ’23, 10:00 AMCity of Frostburg · “Sand Spring Run and George's Creek” · State Street, manhole near FSU running track, Paul Street, outfall 009/P.1, Grant Street · CSO · 43,000 gallons · noticeended
to Jul 2 ’23, 10:00 AMCity of Frostburg · “Jennings Run” · Beall's Lane and Water Street/Depot Street · CSO · 20,000 gallons · noticeended

Sources: MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.