Potomac River
River in Maryland, past Accokeek, Antietam, Big Pool, Brunswick, Bryans Road, Clear Spring, Colton's Point, Coltons Point, Dickerson, Ernstville, Four Locks and Hancock
Current status
No current status is assigned to this water outline. Check the water page for reports and any estimated downstream stretches. Why this status, and its source
This badge describes the water outline. Check the downstream stretches on the map and below for discharge statuses.
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch. Outlined boat markers are marinas and clubs: not public access.
Upstream and downstream
Potomac River is tracked as one record per state. Listed from north to south.
- Potomac River, DC No current status shown · 0 discharges setting a status now · latest report
- Potomac River, MD (this page) No current status shown · 0 discharges setting a status now · latest report
- Potomac River, VA No current status shown · 0 discharges setting a status now · latest report
Bookmark this water page and check it before each trip · Report a missing notice or error
About this status
No current status shown: no report we track sets a status on this water now; how statuses work
Sources checked: MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u) (last successful check 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC). Status by DirtyWaterWatch, updated 2026-11-03 02:43 UTC. · Updated
Estimated downstream stretches on Potomac River
No downstream stretch has a current status here as of Nov 2, 2026, 9:43 PM EST. Check the reports below.
The last 90 days
- Caution: to 1 report: WSSC 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 1 report: WSSC 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 1 report: Town of Hancock 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 1 report: Town of Hancock 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 2 reports: Mayor and City Council of Cumberland 1, WSSC 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 1 report: Mayor and City Council of Cumberland 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 1 report: WSSC 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 1 report: WSSC 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-03 02:43 UTC.
Reported discharges over time
Historical charts are not available here. See the reports and sources on this page.
Reports linked to Potomac River
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
| When | Report | Status |
|---|---|---|
| to 3:00 PM | Wssc · Not Sewage · SSO · 0 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 7:45 AM | Town of Hancock · 4 Fleming Court · SSO · 500 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 10:38 AM | Mayor and City Council of Cumberland · 9 CSO locations · CSO · 190,800 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 9:17 AM | Wssc · 522 W Tantallon Dr · SSO · 150,300 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 10:25 PM | DC Water · Clara Barton Parkway · SSO · 600,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 8:15 AM | Town of Hancock · Flaming Court · SSO · 600 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| DC Water · SSO · 280 million gallons report · notice · map | reported | |
| to 11:15 AM | Town of Hancock · 4 Fleming Ct · SSO · 200 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 4:15 PM | Town of Hancock · 280 Pennsylvania Avenue · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Nov 4 ’25, 11:30 AM | Allegany County DPW · Canal Place · SSO · 13,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 8:39 PM | City of Brunswick · Concord Drive · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jun 22 ’25, 11:05 PM | Wssc · 12200 River Rd · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jun 3 ’25, 2:00 PM | Town of Westernport · Main Street · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to May 15 ’25, 6:00 AM | Town of Hancock · East Main Street, Route #40 · SSO · 10,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to May 15 ’25, 8:00 AM | Town of Hancock · Route 40 · SSO · 15,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to May 31 ’25, 6:00 PM | Allegany County DPW · 701 Kelly Road · SSO · volume in each report map | ended |
| to May 31 ’25, 6:00 PM | Allegany County DPW · 701 Kelly Road · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jul 18 ’25, 3:00 PM | Allegany County DPW · Bypass · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to May 19 ’25, 8:00 AM | Maryland Water Service Utilities, Inc. · Route #220 South(McMullen Highway) · Bypass · 2.7 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Nov 21 ’24, 3:00 PM | Town of Westernport · Cosgrove Lane · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to 1:30 PM | Town of Hancock · Virginia Avenue · SSO · 3,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Apr 9 ’24, 8:00 AM | Maryland Water Service Utilities, Inc. · Route #220 East · Bypass · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to 10:00 AM | Town of Hancock · 53 East Main Street · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 4:00 PM | St. Mary's County Metropolitan Commission · 16384 Ball Point Road · SSO · 43,070 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 4:00 PM | Town of Hancock · Route 40 & Center Street · SSO · 50 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Aug 29 ’23, 5:00 PM | U.S. Navy · Intersection of Ward Rd and Tisdale Rd, Indian Head, MD 20640 · SSO · 3.5 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
Sources: MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.
Showing the latest 25 records of 31 records.See them all with filters.
All reports in Maryland by year: 2026 (9 here) · 2025 (9 here) · 2024 (6 here) · 2023 (7 here)
Wastewater outlets on this water
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
No wastewater outlet in our records is linked to this water.
Boat launches
- Accokeek Foundation Boat Dock · Carry-in launch (canoe and kayak)
- Accokeek Foundation soft access · Carry-in launch (canoe and kayak)
- Anglers Inn - River, Potomac · Boat ramp
- Antietam Creek Campground, Sharpsburg · Carry-in launch (canoe and kayak)
- Aqueduct Lock 20 - River, Potomac · Carry-in launch (canoe and kayak)
- Bond's Landing - Green Ridge State Forest, Oldtown · Boat ramp
- Brunswick Family Campground · Boat ramp
- Brunswick boat ramp · Boat ramp
- Cohill Station, Hancock · Carry-in launch (canoe and kayak)
- Dam 3 Boat Launch, Harpers Ferry · Boat ramp
- Dargan Bend, Knoxville · Boat ramp
- Dickerson Conservation Park · Carry-in launch (canoe and kayak)
- Edwards Ferry, Poolesville · Boat ramp
- Fifteen Mile Creek, Little Orleans · Boat ramp
- Fort Frederick State Park Soft Launch, Big Pool · Carry-in launch (canoe and kayak)
- Four Locks · Boat ramp
- Lime Kiln, Sharpsburg · Carry-in launch (canoe and kayak)
- Little Tonoloway / Hancock · Boat ramp
- Lock 29 / Lander, Jefferson · Boat ramp
- Lock 33 - East, Knoxville · Carry-in launch (canoe and kayak)
- Lock 33 - West, Knoxville · Carry-in launch (canoe and kayak)
- Lock 34, Knoxville · Carry-in launch (canoe and kayak)
- Lock 38, Sharpsburg · Boat ramp
- Marshall Hall, Bryans Road · Boat ramp
- McCoys Ferry, Clear Spring · Boat ramp
- McMahons Mill, Williamsport · Carry-in launch (canoe and kayak)
- Noland's Ferry, Tuscarora · Boat ramp
- Point of Rocks · Boat ramp
- Potomac River Boat Launch near Antietam · Boat ramp
- Potomac River Boat Launch near Potomac Woodlands · Boat ramp
- Potomac River Boat Launch near Sandy Hook · Boat ramp
- Potomac River Boat Launch near Sharpsburg · Boat ramp
- Snyders Landing, Sharpsburg · Boat ramp
- St. Clement's Island Museum, Colton's Point · Carry-in launch (canoe and kayak)
- St. Clement's Island State Park, Coltons Point · Carry-in launch (canoe and kayak)
- Swains Lock - River, Potomac · Carry-in launch (canoe and kayak)
- Sycamore Landing, Poolesville · Carry-in launch (canoe and kayak)
- Taylors Landing - East, Sharpsburg · Boat ramp
- Taylors Landing - West, Sharpsburg · Boat ramp
- Whites Ferry, Poolesville · Boat ramp
Source: OpenBoatLaunch launch records (public agency data and OpenStreetMap, Open Database License). · Potomac River on OpenBoatLaunch
Marinas and clubs on this water
Marina or club: not public access.
- Potomac River Boat Launch near Poolesville · Boat ramp
Nearby waters
- Occoquan River, VA No current status shown about 14 km away
- Neabsco Creek, VA No current status shown about 17 km away
- Powells Creek, VA No current status shown about 21 km away
- Gunston Cove, VA No current status shown about 23 km away
- Four Mile Run, VA No current status shown about 25 km away
Sources covering this water
- MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u) · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC
31 records linked to this water. Updated .