Maryland sewage discharges, April 2024
131 records of sewage discharges and water advisories in Maryland dated in April 2024, newest first. Each record keeps the source's own times and wording.
Source: the agencies, sewer operators and EPA records named on each row and on the Sources page. Updated 2026-11-03 02:43 UTC.
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.
| When | Report | Status |
|---|---|---|
| to 12:30 PM | Anne Arundel County DPW · “None.” · 3680 1st Avenue · SSO · 100 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 6:00 PM | Baltimore City DPW · “No waterways or storm drains affected.” · 1504 Reisterstown Rd · SSO · 20 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 9:45 AM | Town of Grantsville · “None,,,overflow did not leave WWTP” · 10300 National Pike · SSO · 200 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 9:30 PM | Baltimore County DPW · “sewage entered inlet DIP029275; unknown body of water” · 9045 Naygall Road · SSO · 30 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 5:20 PM | City of Frederick DPW · “Grassy yard, only went 5 feet manhole.” · 101 Clarke Place · SSO · 30 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 11:28 AM | Mayor and City Council of Cumberland · North Branch Potomac River · Mill Race, Oldtown Road, Bedford Street, N. Mechanic Street, Franklin Street, Valley Street, Avirett Street · CSO · 116,700 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Apr 28 ’24, 7:00 AM | City of Frostburg · “Sand Spring Run and George's Creek” · State Street and Grant Street · CSO · 14,000 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 1:55 PM | Anne Arundel County DPW · “N/A” · 7845 Parke W Dr · SSO · 25 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 2:00 PM | Anne Arundel County DPW · “unnamed tributary to Broad Creek, Use Class I” · 1 Harry S. Truman Parkway · SSO · 120 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 1:00 PM | Baltimore City DPW · “Storm drain” · 2438 Harriet Avenue · SSO · 1,065 gallons · notice | ended |
| Baltimore City DPW · Patapsco River · 300 Pontiac Avenue · SSO · 4 gallons · notice · map | reported | |
| to 2:30 PM | Baltimore City DPW · “Moores Run” · 3501 Taylor Ave · SSO · 900 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 12:30 PM | Charles County DPW · “no impact to WUS” · 3040 Old Washington Rd. · SSO · 3,000 gallons · notice | ended |
| to Apr 23 ’24, 8:15 AM | Baltimore City DPW · “none” · 3501 Asiatic Ave · Bypass · 24.1 million gallons · notice | ended |
| to 7:14 PM | Baltimore City DPW · “The sewage discharge went back into a sanitary sewage manhole.” · 2391 Frederick Ave · SSO · 2 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 12:30 PM | Baltimore City DPW · “Storm drain into the Gwynn's Falls” · 432 North Hilton St · SSO · 375 gallons · notice | ended |
| to Apr 21 ’24, 9:57 AM | Baltimore City DPW · “No” · 3611 Callaway Ave · SSO · 71 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 7:00 PM | Cecil County Government · “none” · Seahawk Dr · SSO · 12,000 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 7:00 PM | Wssc · “Report indicated overflow into nearby grassy area, Beaver Dam Branch” · 3520 Brightseat Rd · SSO · 356 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 3:00 PM | Baltimore City DPW · “Gwynns Falls” · 432 North Hilton St · SSO · 900 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 1:45 AM | LaVale Sanitary Commission · “Braddock Run” · Old Mt. Savage Road · CSO · 11,557 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 11:43 PM | Mayor and City Council of Cumberland · “Wills Creek” · North Mechanic Street · CSO · 14,800 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 5:15 PM | Baltimore City DPW · “Storm drain into Gwynn's Falls” · 432 North Hilton St · SSO · 375 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 2:05 PM | Baltimore County DPW · “O'Brian's Run” · 7 Runway Court · SSO · 750 gallons · notice | ended |
| to Apr 22 ’24, 3:00 PM | Baltimore City DPW · “Biddison Run” · 5304 Nuth Ave · SSO · 876 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| Baltimore County DPW · “No” · 1051 Maiden Choice · SSO · 35 gallons · notice | reported | |
| to 11:00 PM | Anne Arundel County DPW · “no impact (closest stream is Cabin Branch)” · 5822 Redmond St. · SSO · 420 gallons · notice | ended |
| to Apr 16 ’24, 1:00 PM | Baltimore City DPW · “Herring Run” · 500 North Point Rd · SSO · 15,000 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Apr 17 ’24, 10:38 AM | Baltimore City DPW · “n/a” · 3301 Abell Ave · SSO · 55 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 9:00 AM | Calvert County DPW · “None received SSO” · 500 Sweetwater Road · SSO · 50,000 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 11:12 PM | Mayor and City Council of Cumberland · “Wills Creek” · N. Mechanic Street, Franklin Street, Valley Street · CSO · 132,300 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 3:00 PM | Town of Rock Hall · “none” · Rock Hall Ave & North Hawthorne Ave · SSO · 3,000 gallons · notice | ended |
| to Apr 13 ’24, 7:00 AM | City of Frostburg · “George's Creek” · Grant Street · CSO · 7,000 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 2:00 PM | City of Cambridge DPW · Choptank River · Water St · SSO · 40,000 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 11:30 AM | LaVale Sanitary Commission · “Braddock Run” · 12610 Labers Lane · CSO · 1 million gallons · notice | ended |
| to Apr 14 ’24, 8:34 AM | Mount Saint Mary's University · “Tom's Creek” · 16300 Old Emmitsburg Road · Bypass · 43,450 gallons · notice | ended |
| to Apr 15 ’24, 11:45 PM | LaVale Sanitary Commission · “Braddock Run” · Old Mt. Savage Road · CSO · 4.58 million gallons · notice | ended |
| to Apr 12 ’24, 2:01 AM | Mayor and City Council of Cumberland · North Branch Potomac River · N. Mechanic Street, Mill Race, Elizabeth Street, Oldtown Road, Bedford Street, Franklin Street, Valley Street, Avirett Street · CSO · 548,700 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Apr 12 ’24, 7:00 AM | City of Frostburg · “Sand Spring Run and George's Creek” · State Street and Grant Street · CSO · 28,000 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 3:30 PM | Baltimore City DPW · “Western Run” · 3600 Labyrinth Rd · SSO · 200 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 11:30 AM | Anne Arundel County DPW · Magothy River · 333 Magothy Beach Rd · SSO · volume not reported · notice · map | ended |
| to Apr 10 ’24, 8:00 AM | City of Annapolis · Severn River · River Dr/Bagley Path · SSO · volume not reported · notice · map | ended |
| to Apr 10 ’24, 2:30 PM | Cecil County Government · “Groundwater” · 5655 Telegraph Rd · SSO · volume not reported · notice | ended |
| to 4:14 PM | Baltimore City DPW · “Biddison Run” · 4401 Frankford Ave · SSO · 141 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 11:00 AM | BLS Realty, LLC · “none” · Ocean Gateway · SSO · 45 gallons · notice | ended |
| to Apr 10 ’24, 4:27 PM | Baltimore City DPW · “Biddison Run” · 4901 Frankford Avenue · SSO · 2,916 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Apr 12 ’24, 9:00 AM | Town of Snow Hill · “none” · 213 Cypress Lane · Bypass · 1.3 million gallons · notice | ended |
| to 6:45 AM | U.S. Navy · “no” · Hersey Road & Benson Rd · SSO (earlier version) · 500 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 6:45 AM | U.S. Navy · “Mattawoman Creek” · Hersey Road & Benson Rd · SSO · 100,000 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 6:00 AM | Gatewater Landing Apartments · “no” · 7357 Ridgewater Ct, · SSO · 30 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 6:00 PM | American Water Operations & Maintenance, Inc. · “Unknown at this time.” · 9794 Rose St · SSO · 300 gallons · notice | ended |
| to Apr 7 ’24, 1:00 AM | Wssc · “Muddy Branch via storm drain” · 11323 Amberlea Farm Drive · SSO · 60 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 8:00 AM | City of Fruitland · “none” · 200 Shady Lane · SSO · 5,000 gallons · notice | ended |
| to Apr 5 ’24, 10:48 AM | Baltimore City DPW · “Gwynns Falls” · 903 Ellicott Drive · SSO · 13,980 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Apr 8 ’24, 12:06 PM | Burgess & Commissioners of Middletown · Catoctin Creek · 600 Knollside Pl · Bypass · 3.81 million gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 2:00 PM | Wssc · “Storm Drain” · 7212 Cedar Avenue · SSO · 561 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 1:45 PM | Town of Chesapeake City · “none” · 90 Boatyard Rd · Bypass · 110,000 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 9:00 AM | Howard County DPW · “N/a” · 7146 Moorland Drive · SSO · 200 gallons · notice | ended |
| to Apr 4 ’24, 7:30 AM | Baltimore County DPW · “West Branch Herbert Run” · 11 Glencoe Ave · SSO · 1,330 gallons · notice | ended |
| to Apr 4 ’24, 9:00 AM | Highland View Academy · 10335 Academy Drive · Bypass · 77,000 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 5:30 PM | U.S. Navy · “no” · Hersey Road · SSO · 500 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 10:20 PM | Commissioners of Thurmont · Hunting Creek · 96 E Moser Rd · SSO · 110 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 1:58 PM | City of Cambridge DPW · “Choptank watershed” · 903 Woods Road · SSO · 20 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 1:05 PM | Talbot County DPW · “No detectable presence of sewage into the drainage network in the vicinity of the discharge.” · 25730 Royal Oak Road · SSO · 4,000 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 5:36 PM | Baltimore County DPW · Patapsco River · 407 Seminole Ave · SSO · 71,498 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 11:10 PM | Baltimore City DPW · “Jones Falls” · 428 E Preston St · SSO · 3.31 million gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 8:40 PM | Baltimore City DPW · “Jones Falls” · 1901 Falls Rd · SSO · 4.62 million gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 2:28 PM | Baltimore County DPW · “Maidens Choice Creek” · Overbrook Rd & Medwick Garth S. · SSO · 140,083 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 11:50 AM | Baltimore City DPW · “Maiden Choice Creek” · Charing Cross Rd & Greenwich Ave · SSO · 11,970 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 4:32 PM | Baltimore County DPW · “Gwynns Falls” · Southern Cross Dr & Parsons Ave · SSO · 50,471 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 4:48 PM | Baltimore County DPW · “Gwynns Falls” · 3909 Southern Cross Drive · SSO · 40,735 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 10:30 AM | U.S. Navy · “N/A” · 5111 Foxville Gardens · SSO · 30 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Apr 4 ’24, 12:27 AM | Burgess & Commissioners of Middletown · “Cone Branch Creek” · 7317B Old Middletown Road · SSO · 48,660 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 5:40 PM | Frederick County Division of Utilities · “Monocacy River” · Pine Cliff Park at Manhole 10 · SSO · 20,300 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 6:05 PM | Baltimore City DPW · “Herring Run” · 3900 Belair Rd · SSO · 1.34 million gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 12:06 PM | Mayor and City Council of Cumberland · North Branch Potomac River · 400 East Offutt St, Mill Race, Elizabeth St, Oldtown Rd, Bedford St, N Mechanic St, Franklin St, Valley St, Avirett St, Walnut Place, Evitts Creek · CSO · 2.44 million gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Apr 4 ’24, 3:00 AM | Town of Hancock · “Little Tonoway” · West Main St. · SSO · 1,400 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 8:30 AM | Baltimore City DPW · “Gwynns Falls” · N Longwood St & Gwynns Falls Pkwy (DUPLICATE) · SSO (earlier version) · 7 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 8:15 AM | Baltimore City DPW · “Gwynns Falls” · N Longwood St & Gwynns Falls Pkwy (DUPLICATE) · SSO (earlier version) · 7 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 8:30 AM | Baltimore City DPW · “Gwynns Falls” · N Longwood St & Gwynns Falls Pkwy · SSO · 7 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Apr 4 ’24, 8:00 AM | LaVale Sanitary Commission · “unknown” · C Street, 2 manholes on Winchester Road, Allendale Avenue · CSO · 50,000 gallons · notice | ended |
| to Apr 4 ’24, 8:00 AM | LaVale Sanitary Commission · “unknown” · Arlington Avenue · CSO · 1 million gallons · notice | ended |
| to Apr 4 ’24, 7:00 AM | City of Frostburg · “George's Creek” · outfall 009/P.2 and Grant Street · CSO · 16,000 gallons · notice | ended |
| to Apr 4 ’24, 7:00 AM | City of Frostburg · “Jennings Run” · Beall's Lane and Water Street · CSO · 11,000 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 5:00 PM | Garrett County Sanitary District, Inc. · “Casselman River @ Grantsville, Maryland” · 7593 National Pike · SSO · 500,000 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 1:55 PM | Baltimore City DPW · “Gwynns Falls” · 1200 N Franklintown Rd (DUPLICATE) · SSO (earlier version) · 59,000 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 1:55 PM | Baltimore City DPW · “Gwynns Falls” · 1200 N Franklintown RD · SSO · 59,000 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 2:00 AM | Town of Cecilton · “none” · 258 N Bohemia Ave · SSO · 500 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 5:30 PM | U.S. Navy · “n/a” · 3838 Strauss Ave · SSO · 100,500 gallons · notice | ended |
| to Apr 5 ’24, 7:40 PM | Mount Saint Mary's University · “Tom's Creek” · 16300 Old Emmitsburg Road · Bypass · 219,136 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 4:00 PM | Cecil County Government · “unknown drainage area” · Rt 40 and Cecil Woods Rd · SSO · 3,000 gallons · notice | ended |
| to Apr 5 ’24, 8:00 PM | Allegany County DPW · “Wills Creek” · Locust Grove Pump Station · SSO · 231,000 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 12:45 PM | Baltimore County DPW · “N/A” · 301 Frederick Rd (DUPLICATE) · SSO (earlier version) · 40 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 12:45 PM | Baltimore County DPW · “NA” · 301 Frederick Road · SSO · 40 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 1:30 PM | Town of Rock Hall · “none” · Rock Hall Ave & North Hawthorne Ave · SSO · 2,000 gallons · notice | ended |
| to Apr 5 ’24, 3:15 PM | Mayor and Council of Myersville · “Grindstone Run” · 2868 Milt Summers Road · Bypass · 1.1 million gallons · notice | ended |
| to Apr 9 ’24, 8:00 AM | Maryland Water Service Utilities, Inc. · Potomac River · Route #220 East · Bypass · volume not reported · notice · map | ended |
| to 12:30 PM | City of Havre de Grace · Chesapeake Bay · 105 Lafayette Street · SSO · 9,500 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Apr 4 ’24, 10:00 AM | Baltimore City DPW · “Gwynns Falls” · 5007 W Forest Park Ave (DUPLICATE) · SSO (earlier version) · 14,405 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Apr 4 ’24, 10:00 AM | Baltimore City DPW · “Gwynns Falls” · 5007 W Forest Park Ave (DUPLICATE) · SSO (earlier version) · 14,405 gallons · notice | ended |
| to Apr 4 ’24, 10:00 AM | Baltimore City DPW · “Gwynns Falls” · 5007 W Forest Park Ave · SSO · 14,405 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 11:51 AM | Baltimore County DPW · Patapsco River · 407 Seminole Ave · SSO · 20,697 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 9:41 AM | Baltimore County DPW · “Gwynn Falls / Patapsco” · Southern Cross Dr. & Parson Ave. · SSO · 4,422 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 9:46 AM | Baltimore County DPW · “Gwynn Falls / Patapsco” · 3909 Southern Cross Drive · SSO · 7,099 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 12:10 PM | Baltimore County DPW · “Maidens Choice Creek” · Overbrook Rd & Medwick Garth S. · SSO · 164,845 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 8:30 AM | Baltimore City DPW · “Curtis Bay” · 1700 E Patapsco Ave (DUPLICATE) · SSO (earlier version) · 20 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 8:30 AM | Baltimore City DPW · Patapsco River · 1700 E Patapsco Ave · SSO · 20 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 8:30 AM | Baltimore City DPW · “N/A” · 1500 N Charles St (DUPLICATE) · SSO (earlier version) · 15 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 8:30 AM | Baltimore City DPW · “N /A” · 1500 N Charles St · SSO · 15 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Apr 4 ’24, 9:30 PM | Allegany County DPW · “Elk Lick Run” · Mill Run Pump Station · SSO · 187,500 gallons · notice | ended |
| to Apr 7 ’24, 6:30 AM | Allegany County DPW · “Jennings Run” · Manhole 47 between Barrelville and Corriganville · SSO · 286,500 gallons · notice | ended |
| to Apr 4 ’24, 9:30 PM | Allegany County DPW · “Elk Lick Run” · Manhole 127 (Pharmacare) · SSO · 187,500 gallons · notice | ended |
| to Apr 7 ’24, 6:30 AM | Allegany County DPW · “Wills Creek” · Corriganville Pump Station · SSO · 286,500 gallons · notice | ended |
| to Apr 3 ’24, 7:00 AM | City of Frostburg · “Sand Spring Run and George's Creek” · State Street, running track near FSU, outfall 009/P.2, Grant Street · CSO · 58,000 gallons · notice | ended |
| to Apr 3 ’24, 7:00 AM | City of Frostburg · “Jennings Run” · Beall's Lane and Water Street · CSO · 21,000 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 9:00 AM | Town of Hancock · “Little Tonoloway Creek” · West Main Street · SSO · 500 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Apr 7 ’24, 5:16 AM | Mayor and City Council of Cumberland · North Branch Potomac River · Valley Street, WWTP, Mill Race, Elizabeth Street, Oldtown Road, Bedford Street, N. Mechanic Street, Franklin Street, Avirett Street, Walnut Place · CSO · 52.15 million gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Apr 3 ’24, 9:00 AM | City of Annapolis · “no” · 1103 Lake Heron Drive · SSO · 2,000 gallons · notice | ended |
| to Apr 8 ’24, 1:30 AM | Allegany County DPW · “Warrior Run” · Manhole 20 on Darrows Lane · SSO · 400,500 gallons · notice | ended |
| to Apr 8 ’24, 1:30 AM | Allegany County DPW · North Branch Potomac River · Creaptown Pump Station · SSO · 400,500 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 12:00 PM | Baltimore City DPW · “Western Run” · 3605 Clarinth Rd (DUPLICATE) · SSO (earlier version) · 540 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 12:00 PM | Baltimore City DPW · “Western Run” · 3605 Clarinth Rd (DUPLICATE) · SSO (earlier version) · 540 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 12:00 PM | Baltimore City DPW · “Western Run” · 3605 Clarinth Road · SSO · 540 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Apr 6 ’24, 1:00 PM | LaVale Sanitary Commission · “Braddock Run” · 12610 Labers Lane · CSO · 14 million gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Apr 2 ’24, 7:00 AM | City of Frostburg · “Sand Spring Run and George's Creek” · State Street, Running track FSU, Grant Street · CSO · 44,000 gallons · notice | ended |
| to Apr 2 ’24, 7:00 AM | City of Frostburg · “Jennings Run” · 100 feet west of intersection of Water Street and Depot Street · CSO · 14,000 gallons · notice | ended |
| to Apr 5 ’24, 1:00 PM | Allegany County DPW · “Georges Creek” · Wrights Crossing Pump Station · CSO · 1.29 million gallons · notice | ended |
| to Apr 8 ’24, 11:30 PM | LaVale Sanitary Commission · “Braddock Run” · Old Mt. Savage Road · CSO · 15.15 million gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 11:14 AM | Mayor and City Council of Cumberland · “Wills Creek & Potomac River” · Valley Street, Mill Street, Elizabeth Street, Oldtown Road, Bedford Street, N. Mechanic Street, Franklin Street · CSO · 905,600 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Apr 10 ’24 | Anne Arundel County Department of Health · Severn River · Beach advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | listed |
| to Apr 8 ’24 | Anne Arundel County Department of Health · Severn River · Beach advisory (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice · map | listed |
Sources: MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC; Anne Arundel County Department of Health Recreational Water Closings and Advisories, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:27 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.