Maryland sewage discharges, September 2023
77 records of sewage discharges and water advisories in Maryland dated in September 2023, newest first. Each record keeps the source's own times and wording.
Source: the agencies, sewer operators and EPA records named on each row and on the Sources page. Updated 2026-11-03 02:43 UTC.
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system.
| When | Report | Status |
|---|---|---|
| to 12:47 PM | Baltimore City DPW · “Gwynns Falls” · 125 N. Hilton Street · SSO · 12 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 10:00 AM | Carroll County Bureau of Utilities · “Reached a stream that flows into Piney Run” · Conley Aly, off of Springfield Avenue · SSO · 5,000 gallons · notice | ended |
| to Nov 3 ’23 | Anne Arundel County Department of Health · “Marley Creek in Glen Burnie” · Beach closure (earlier version) · volume not reported · notice | lifted |
| to Nov 3 ’23 | Anne Arundel County Department of Health · “Marley Creek in Glen Burnie” · Beach closure (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice | listed |
| to Oct 26 ’23 | Anne Arundel County Department of Health · “Marley Creek in Glen Burnie” · Beach closure (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice | listed |
| to Oct 19 ’23 | Anne Arundel County Department of Health · “Marley Creek in Glen Burnie” · Beach closure (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice | listed |
| to Oct 5 ’23 | Anne Arundel County Department of Health · “Marley Creek in Glen Burnie” · Beach closure (earlier version) · volume not reported report · notice | listed |
| to 12:01 AM | Baltimore County DPW · “NA” · 9654 Belair Road · SSO · 5 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 7:10 PM | City of Hagerstown · Antietam Creek · 1 Clean Water Circle · SSO · 800 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 30 ’23, 9:00 AM | Gatewater Landing Apartments · “Marley Creek” · 7357 Ridgewater Court · SSO · 10,000 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 3:30 PM | Howard County DPW · “The overflow never reached a surface body of water. It ponded around the tank area.” · 7104 Chilton Court · SSO · 500 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 3:35 PM | Anne Arundel County DPW · “N/A” · 3498 Laurel Fort Meade Road · SSO · 250 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 29 ’23, 8:00 PM | Kent County DPW · Chester River · Deep Landing Apartments · SSO · 10,000 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 6:00 PM | U.S. Navy · “n/a” · 22027 Cuddihy Road · SSO · 400 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 2:30 PM | Baltimore County DPW · “n/a” · 736 Northrop Lane · SSO · 200 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 10:47 PM | Baltimore City DPW · “Jones Falls” · 2405 Francis Street · SSO · 236 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 26 ’23, 7:00 AM | City of Frostburg · “Sand Spring Run and George's Creek” · State Street and Grant Street · CSO · 21,000 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 9:27 PM | Baltimore County DPW · “n/a - was reported to be fully contained.” · 10320 York Road · SSO · 0 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 5:30 AM | Baltimore City DPW · “Patapsco River (Baltimore Harbor)” · 3925 Armstead Road · SSO · 0 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 24 ’23, 3:00 PM | Allegany County DPW · North Branch Potomac River · SSO · 48,000 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 24 ’23, 3:00 PM | Allegany County DPW · “Warrior Run” · Darrows Lane · SSO · 48,000 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 24 ’23, 8:00 AM | LaVale Sanitary Commission · “Braddock Run” · 12610 Labers Lane · CSO · 500,000 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 24 ’23, 6:00 AM | Allegany County DPW · “Georges Creek” · CSO · 72,000 gallons · notice | ended |
| to Sep 24 ’23, 12:00 PM | LaVale Sanitary Commission · “Braddock Run” · Old Mt. Savage Road · CSO · 750,138 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 24 ’23, 12:13 AM | Mayor and City Council of Cumberland · North Branch Potomac River · Mill Race, Elizabeth Street, Oldtown Road, N. Mechanic Street, Franklin Street, Valley Street, Avirett Street, Walnut Place · CSO · 1.62 million gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 24 ’23, 7:00 AM | City of Frostburg · “Sand Spring Run and George's Creek” · State Street, outfall 009/P.1, Grant Street · CSO · 31,000 gallons · notice | ended |
| to Sep 23 ’23, 3:15 PM | Baltimore City DPW · “Gwynns Falls” · 38 Gwynns Falls Trail · SSO · 1,475 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 3:00 PM | Wssc · “N/A” · 14323 Kings Crossing Boulevard · SSO · 97 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 9:35 AM | Anne Arundel County DPW · “N/A” · 1245 Cherry Tree Lane · SSO · 50 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 7:35 AM | City of Frederick DPW · “Lake Linganore” · 6601 Boyers Mill Road · SSO · 10,620 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 11:55 AM | Mayor and City Council of Cumberland · North Branch Potomac River · Mill Race, Elizabeth Street, Oldtown Road, Franklin Street, Valley Street, Avirett Street · CSO · 149,500 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 2:15 PM | Wssc · “Northwest Branch” · 12501 White Drive · SSO · 267 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 12:00 PM | Frederick County Division of Utilities · “Lake Linganore and Lake Merle” · 6925 Meadow Lake Rd · SSO · 4,800 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 9:30 PM | Anne Arundel County DPW · “SSO was reported to not reach waters of the state” · 1000 Judge Court · SSO · 50 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 2:20 PM | Town of Rock Hall · “NA” · 6015 North Main Street · SSO · volume not reported · notice | ended |
| to 3:10 PM | Worcester County DPW · Isle of Wight Bay · 1202 Ocean Parkway · SSO · 1,000 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 3:45 AM | Washington County Department of Water Quality · “Did not reach water or stormdrain” · 18616 Amanda Ln · SSO · 750 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 15 ’23, 7:30 AM | City of Cambridge DPW · “Shoal Creek” · North Woods Rd · SSO · 110,000 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 7:15 PM | Anne Arundel County DPW · “None.” · 1629 Severn Run Ct · SSO · 2,100 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| Wssc · “Unknown” · 401 Biddle Road · SSO · volume not reported · notice | reported | |
| to 3:00 PM | Baltimore City DPW · “Jones Falls” · 422 East Federal Street · SSO · 425 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 3:10 PM | Baltimore City DPW · “Gwynn's Falls” · 1736 Popular Grove Street · SSO · 310 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 10:00 AM | Town of Rock Hall · “none” · 6015 North Main Street · SSO · 7,500 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 5:45 AM | Town of Greensboro · Choptank River · 13514 Greensboro Road · SSO · 10,000 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 13 ’23, 2:15 AM | Baltimore County DPW · “Herring Run” · 7829 Aiken Ave & Taylor Ave · SSO · 14,237 gallons · notice | ended |
| to Sep 13 ’23, 1:22 AM | Baltimore County DPW · “Gwynns Falls” · Southern Cross Dr & Parsons Ave · SSO · 1,346 gallons · notice | ended |
| to Sep 13 ’23, 1:36 AM | Baltimore County DPW · “Gwynns Falls” · 3909 Southern Cross Drive · SSO · 3,479 gallons · notice | ended |
| to Sep 13 ’23, 2:22 AM | Baltimore County DPW · “Herring Run” · Queen Anne Dr. & Hillcrest Ave. · SSO · 38,038 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 11:51 PM | Baltimore County DPW · “Maidens Choice Creek” · Overbrook Rd & Medwick Garth S. · SSO · 3,871 gallons · notice | ended |
| to Sep 13 ’23, 4:20 AM | Baltimore City DPW · “Jones Falls” · 428 E Preston St · SSO · 1.09 million gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 13 ’23, 2:30 AM | Baltimore City DPW · “Herring Run” · 3900 Belair Rd · SSO · 647,130 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 13 ’23, 2:15 AM | Baltimore City DPW · “Gwynn's Falls” · 2121 Wicomico St · SSO · 75,020 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 13 ’23, 12:45 AM | Baltimore City DPW · “Jones Falls” · E 32nd St & St Paul St · SSO · 57,060 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 11:45 PM | Baltimore City DPW · “Maiden Choice Run” · Charing Cross Rd & Greenwich Ave · SSO · 4,025 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 13 ’23, 12:10 AM | Baltimore City DPW · “Jones Falls” · N. Charles St & W Lanvale St · SSO · 32,045 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 13 ’23, 12:35 AM | Baltimore City DPW · “Jones Falls” · N Charles St & Lafayette Ave · SSO · 13,050 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 13 ’23, 2:25 AM | Baltimore City DPW · “Jones Falls” · 1901 Falls Rd · SSO · 1.74 million gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 13 ’23, 12:44 AM | Baltimore County DPW · “Gwynns Falls” · 3902 Patterson Ave · SSO · 7,023 gallons · notice | ended |
| to Sep 11 ’23, 9:00 AM | Maryland Environmental Service · “n/a” · 24994 Charlotte Hall Road · SSO · 500 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 11 ’23, 7:00 AM | City of Frostburg · “George's Creek” · Grant Street · CSO · 8,000 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 11:30 PM | LaVale Sanitary Commission · “Braddock Run” · Old Mt. Savage Road · CSO · 192,188 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 9:56 PM | Mayor and City Council of Cumberland · North Branch Potomac River · Walnut Place, Mill Race, Elizabeth Street, N. Mechanic Street, Franklin Street, Valley Street, Avirett Street · CSO · 2.63 million gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 10 ’23, 7:00 AM | City of Frostburg · “Sand Spring Run and George's Creek” · State Street, outfall 009/P.2, Grant Street · CSO · 31,000 gallons · notice | ended |
| to Sep 10 ’23, 6:00 PM | Baltimore County DPW · “none” · Loveton Farms Rd and Windmill Chase Court · SSO · 40 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 7:32 PM | Mayor and City Council of Cumberland · North Branch Potomac River · Walnut Place, Mill Race, Oldtown Road, N. Mechanic Street, Franklin Street, Valley Street, Avirett Street · CSO · 79,300 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 9 ’23, 12:00 PM | City of Frostburg · “George's Creek” · outfall 009/P.2 and Grant Street · CSO · 11,000 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 12:06 PM | Mayor and City Council of Cumberland · North Branch Potomac River · N. Mechanic Street, Franklin Street, Valley Street, Avirett Street, Walnut Place · CSO · 28,100 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 11:00 AM | Anne Arundel County DPW · “N/A” · 619 Lighthouse Landing Lane · SSO · 100 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 8:50 PM | Wssc · “N/A” · 6236 Oxon Hill Rd · SSO · 43 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 5:00 PM | University of Maryland · “Unnamed tributary of Paint Branch” · 7814 Regents Drive · SSO · 120 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 7 ’23, 2:00 PM | Baltimore City DPW · Patapsco River · 1052 Bethune Rd (DUPLICATE) · SSO (earlier version) · 1,498 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 7 ’23, 12:58 PM | Baltimore City DPW · “N/A” · 1052 Bethune Rd · SSO · 1,498 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 9:00 PM | Wssc · “Tributary of Oxon Run” · 5801 Spokane Dr · SSO · 421 gallons · notice | ended |
| to 12:30 PM | Gatewater Landing · “Marley Creek” · 351 Gatewater Court · SSO · volume not reported · notice | ended |
| to 10:45 PM | Wssc · “Storm drain that discharges into Seneca Creek.” · 8220 Castlebury Terrace · SSO · 194 gallons · notice · map | ended |
| to 4:25 PM | Town of Rock Hall · “no” · Hawthorne & Rock Hall Blvd · SSO · 5,000 gallons · notice | ended |
| to Sep 26 ’23, 4:02 PM | Baltimore City DPW · “Gwynns Falls” · 2218 North Forest Park Ave · SSO · 180,560 gallons · notice · map | ended |
Sources: MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), retrieved 2026-11-03 02:31 UTC; Anne Arundel County Department of Health Recreational Water Closings and Advisories, retrieved 2026-11-03 02:27 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.