Hillsborough Bay
Bay in Florida, near Tampa
Current status
No current status is assigned to this water outline. Check the water page for reports and any estimated downstream stretches. Why this status, and its source
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.
Get alerts from City of Tampa Wastewater Department (Howard F. Curren Advanced Wastewater Treatment Plant) · Bookmark this water page and check it before each trip · Report a missing notice or error
About this status
No current status shown: no report we track sets a status on this water now; how statuses work. No status does not mean the water is safe. Follow posted signs and local health advice.
Sources checked: a public source (last successful check 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC); a public source (last successful check 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC); Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service) (last successful check 2026-11-05 01:06 UTC). Status by DirtyWaterWatch, updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC. · Updated
The last 90 days
- Caution: to 1 report: Tampa 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 1 report: Tampa 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 1 report: Tampa 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 1 report: Tampa 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.
Reported discharges over time
- Discharges affecting the Hillsborough Bay in Florida, last 12 months77 affecting this water: 7 reported on the Hillsborough Bay; none arriving from upstreamDecember 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once. Arriving discharges are estimated from modeled downstream reaches.
- Days with a discharge affecting the Hillsborough Bay in Florida, last 12 months7Reported on the Hillsborough Bay in Florida: 7 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0 (counted apart; together they need not equal the total)December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
- Hours with a discharge or advisory status on the Hillsborough Bay in Florida, last 12 months192Reported on the Hillsborough Bay in Florida: 192 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
- 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status on the Hillsborough Bay in Florida2.2%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.
- Records behind the last-90-days strip for the Hillsborough Bay in Florida2Reported on the Hillsborough Bay in Florida: 2 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0last 90 daysEvery distinct record the strip lists for its red, yellow and unresolved hours, notices and unresolved reports included; counted as the strip counts them.
Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater. Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
Reported discharges per month
45 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.
- Combined sewer overflow
- Sanitary sewer overflow
- Treatment bypass, blended or other
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Combined sewer overflow | Sanitary sewer overflow | Treatment bypass, blended or other | Total | Counted from | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2022 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| March 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2022 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| May 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2022 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| September 2022 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 | Source records | |
| October 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| December 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2023 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| February 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2023 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| May 2023 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| June 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2023 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| August 2023 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| September 2023 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 | Source records | |
| October 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2023 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| December 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2024 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 4 | Source records | |
| September 2024 | 0 | 5 | 1 | 6 | Source records | |
| October 2024 | 0 | 8 | 1 | 9 | Source records | |
| November 2024 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| December 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2025 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 3 | Source records | |
| February 2025 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| March 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2025 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| October 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| December 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2026 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 | Source records | |
| March 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2026 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 | Source records | |
| May 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2026 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | Source records | |
| July 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2026 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 | Source records | |
| October 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month
Hours when this water had a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.
- Discharge or advisory reported
1 discharge report has no end time and is not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules it shows caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and adds no hours here.
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Hours with a discharge or advisory status | Hours from post-discharge periods | Hours in the month | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2022 | 24 | 24 | 672 | |
| March 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2022 | 24 | 24 | 720 | |
| May 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2022 | 24 | 24 | 744 | |
| September 2022 | 24 | 24 | 720 | |
| October 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| December 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2023 | 24 | 24 | 744 | |
| February 2023 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2023 | 24 | 24 | 720 | |
| May 2023 | 24 | 24 | 744 | |
| June 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2023 | 24 | 24 | 744 | |
| August 2023 | 48 | 48 | 744 | |
| September 2023 | 48 | 48 | 720 | |
| October 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2023 | 25 | 25 | 720 | |
| December 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2024 | 0 | 0 | 696 | |
| March 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2024 | 48 | 48 | 744 | |
| September 2024 | 168 | 168 | 720 | |
| October 2024 | 192 | 192 | 744 | |
| November 2024 | 24 | 24 | 720 | |
| December 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2025 | 72 | 72 | 744 | |
| February 2025 | 72 | 72 | 672 | |
| March 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2025 | 24 | 24 | 720 | |
| October 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| December 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2026 | 48 | 48 | 672 | |
| March 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2026 | 48 | 48 | 720 | |
| May 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2026 | 48 | 48 | 720 | |
| July 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2026 | 48 | 48 | 720 | |
| October 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2026 | 0 | 0 | 94 |
Days with a reported discharge per month
A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Days with a reported discharge | Coverage |
|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | |
| February 2022 | 1 | |
| March 2022 | 0 | |
| April 2022 | 1 | |
| May 2022 | 0 | |
| June 2022 | 0 | |
| July 2022 | 0 | |
| August 2022 | 1 | |
| September 2022 | 1 | |
| October 2022 | 0 | |
| November 2022 | 0 | |
| December 2022 | 0 | |
| January 2023 | 1 | |
| February 2023 | 0 | |
| March 2023 | 0 | |
| April 2023 | 1 | |
| May 2023 | 1 | |
| June 2023 | 0 | |
| July 2023 | 1 | |
| August 2023 | 1 | |
| September 2023 | 2 | |
| October 2023 | 0 | |
| November 2023 | 1 | |
| December 2023 | 0 | |
| January 2024 | 0 | |
| February 2024 | 0 | |
| March 2024 | 0 | |
| April 2024 | 0 | |
| May 2024 | 0 | |
| June 2024 | 0 | |
| July 2024 | 0 | |
| August 2024 | 1 | |
| September 2024 | 4 | |
| October 2024 | 6 | |
| November 2024 | 1 | |
| December 2024 | 0 | |
| January 2025 | 3 | |
| February 2025 | 2 | |
| March 2025 | 0 | |
| April 2025 | 0 | |
| May 2025 | 0 | |
| June 2025 | 0 | |
| July 2025 | 0 | |
| August 2025 | 0 | |
| September 2025 | 1 | |
| October 2025 | 0 | |
| November 2025 | 0 | |
| December 2025 | 0 | |
| January 2026 | 0 | |
| February 2026 | 2 | |
| March 2026 | 0 | |
| April 2026 | 2 | |
| May 2026 | 0 | |
| June 2026 | 1 | |
| July 2026 | 0 | |
| August 2026 | 0 | |
| September 2026 | 2 | |
| October 2026 | 0 | |
| November 2026 | 0 |
Reported discharges per year, 2017 to 2026
80 reported discharges, 2017 to 2026.
- Combined sewer overflow
- Sanitary sewer overflow
- Treatment bypass, blended or other
- Incomplete source coverage
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Combined sewer overflow | Sanitary sewer overflow | Treatment bypass, blended or other | Total | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2017 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 3 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2018 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 8 | |
| 2019 | 0 | 15 | 0 | 15 | |
| 2020 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | |
| 2021 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 8 | |
| 2022 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 5 | |
| 2023 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 8 | |
| 2024 | 0 | 18 | 2 | 20 | |
| 2025 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 5 | |
| 2026 | 0 | 6 | 1 | 7 |
Reported volume per year
Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 67 reports that gave a volume as a number (13 did not).
- Incomplete source coverage
13 of 80 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Reported volume, gallons | Reports with a volume | Reports without a volume | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2017 | 7,500 | 1 | 2 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2018 | 59,455 | 8 | 0 | |
| 2019 | 136,280 | 14 | 1 | |
| 2020 | 6,500 | 1 | 0 | |
| 2021 | 199,180 | 7 | 1 | |
| 2022 | 44,178 | 5 | 0 | |
| 2023 | 81,100 | 6 | 2 | |
| 2024 | 9,839,578 | 14 | 6 | |
| 2025 | 6,533 | 5 | 0 | |
| 2026 | 22,995 | 6 | 1 |
Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year
Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.
- Discharge or advisory reported
- Incomplete source coverage
1 discharge report has no end time and is not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules it shows caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and adds no hours here.
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Hours with a discharge or advisory status | Share of the year | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2017 | 216 | 2.5% | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2018 | 216 | 2.5% | |
| 2019 | 720 | 8.2% | |
| 2020 | 24 | 0.3% | |
| 2021 | 192 | 2.2% | |
| 2022 | 96 | 1.1% | |
| 2023 | 217 | 2.5% | |
| 2024 | 432 | 4.9% | |
| 2025 | 168 | 1.9% | |
| 2026 | 192 | 2.6% |
Reported discharges by calendar month, all years
Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.
Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Reported discharges | Years of records |
|---|---|---|
| January | 8 | 9 |
| February | 8 | 9 |
| March | 0 | 9 |
| April | 7 | 9 |
| May | 2 | 10 |
| June | 4 | 10 |
| July | 5 | 10 |
| August | 11 | 10 |
| September | 15 | 10 |
| October | 12 | 10 |
| November | 3 | 10 |
| December | 5 | 9 |
Reported discharges by wastewater outlet
Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 76, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Wastewater outlet | Sewer operator | Reported discharges |
|---|---|---|
| Wastewater Overflow near 6601 E. 14 Ave. | City of Tampa Wastewater Department | 2 |
| Wastewater Overflow near 3105 Orient Rd. | City of Tampa Wastewater Department | 2 |
| TECO Easement - Apollo Beach, 6861 N US Hwy 41 | Falkenburg AWWTP - FL0040614 | 2 |
| Wastewater Overflow near 85 Columbia Dr., Tampa, FL | City of Tampa Wastewater Department | 2 |
| Wastewater Overflow near 122 S. Rome Ave. | City of Tampa Wastewater Department | 1 |
| Denitrification Filter Overflow June 25, 2026 | Howard F. Curren Advanced Wastewater Treatment Plant | 1 |
| Wastewater overflow near 275 Bayshore Blvd. | City of Tampa Wastewater Department | 1 |
| wastewater overflow near 2900 N. Himes Ave. | City of Tampa Wastewater Department | 1 |
| Waste Water overage in Man hole | Pediatric Health Care Alliance | 1 |
| wastewater overflow near 1606 E. 24th Ave. | City of Tampa Wastewater Department | 1 |
| Other outlets (66) | 66 |
How these charts are counted
We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.
- U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records: records from May 3, 2022 to the latest update (limited records)
- fl-dep-pnp: records from May 17, 2017 to the latest update
Reports linked to Hillsborough Bay
| When | Report | Status |
|---|---|---|
| to Sep 29 | Tampa · Wastewater Overflow near 6601 E. 14 Ave. · SSO · 1,500 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 23 | Tampa · Wastewater Overflow near 122 S. Rome Ave. · SSO · 1,470 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jun 26 | Tampa · Denitrification Filter Overflow June 25, 2026 · Bypass · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Apr 23 | Tampa · Wastewater overflow near 275 Bayshore Blvd. · SSO · 1,275 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Apr 10 | Tampa · Wastewater overflow near 6601 E. 14 Ave. · SSO · 1,500 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Feb 19 | Tampa · Wastewater Overflow near 3105 Orient Rd. · SSO · 12,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Feb 18 | Tampa · Wastewater Overflow near 3105 Orient Rd. · SSO · 5,250 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 1 ’25 | Tampa · wastewater overflow near 2900 N. Himes Ave. · SSO · 1,200 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Feb 13 ’25 | Tampa · Waste Water overage in Man hole · SSO · 1 gallon report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jan 27 ’25 | Tampa · wastewater overflow near 1606 E. 24th Ave. · SSO · 1,182 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jan 22 ’25 | Tampa · wastewater overflow near 5205 E. Adamo Dr. · SSO · 2,200 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jan 1 ’25 | Tampa · wastewater overflow near 1211 N. Marion St. · SSO · 1,950 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Nov 12 ’24 | Tampa · Wastewater Overflow near 1501 N. Morgan St. · SSO · 4,368 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Oct 16 ’24 | Tampa · wastewater overflow at 3232 W. Fielder Street · SSO · 7,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Oct 13 ’24 | Tampa · Wastewater overflow near 5608 Terra Ceia Dr. · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Oct 12 ’24 | Tampa · Wastewater overflow near 3741 Bellewater Blvd · SSO · 2,750 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Oct 14 ’24 | Grande Oasis at Carrollwood · 10.11.24-10.14.24 · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Oct 12 ’24 | Tampa · Wastewater overflow near 40th Street and Curtis Street · SSO · 55,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| Tampa · wastewater overflow at 3300 Bayshore Blvd · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ongoing | |
| to Oct 11 ’24 | Tampa · wastewater overflow near 2922 Alline Ave · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Oct 11 ’24 | Tampa · wastewater overflow at 2922 Coachman Ave · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Oct 10 ’24 | Tampa · wastewater overflow at 2700 Maritime Blvd · Bypass · 2.93 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 27 ’24 | Tampa · wastewater overflow near 2922 W. Alline Ave. · SSO · 41,250 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 28 ’24 | Tampa · wastewater overflow near 2510W. Conley Ave. · SSO · 4,400 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 27 ’24 | Tampa · Helene Storm Surge Krause PS · SSO · 6.5 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
Sources: Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service), retrieved 2026-11-04 09:03 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.
Showing the latest 25 records of 82 records.See them all with filters.
All reports in Florida by year: 2026 (7 here) · 2025 (5 here) · 2024 (20 here) · 2023 (8 here) · 2022 (5 here) · 2021 (8 here) · 2020 (2 here) · 2019 (15 here) · 2018 (8 here) · 2017 (4 here)
Wastewater outlets on this water
No wastewater outlet in our records is linked to this water.
Sewer operators listed for this water: City of Tampa Wastewater Department (Howard F. Curren Advanced Wastewater Treatment Plant), FALKENBURG ROAD AWTP.
Boat launches
- Ballast Point Park Public Boat Ramp, Tampa · Boat ramp
- Davis Island Public Boat Ramp, Tampa · Boat ramp
- Rivercrest Park Paddlecraft Launch Dock, Tampa · Carry-in launch (canoe and kayak)
Source: OpenBoatLaunch launch records (public agency data and OpenStreetMap, Open Database License). · Hillsborough Bay on OpenBoatLaunch
Nearby waters
- McKay Bay, FL No current status shown about 8 km away
- Ybor Channel, FL No current status shown about 9 km away
- Delaney Creek, FL No current status shown about 10 km away
- Palm River, FL No current status shown about 10 km away
- Rice Creek, FL No current status shown about 13 km away
Sources covering this water
- a public source · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC
- a public source · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC
- Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service) · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-05 01:06 UTC
80 records linked to this water, besides 2 earlier versions or duplicates. Updated .