DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Florida / Sewer operators /

City of Tampa Wastewater Department (Howard F. Curren Advanced Wastewater Treatment Plant)

Sewer utility · Florida · Tampa

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Ringed dots mark treatment plant outfalls. Small hollow diamonds mark places named in its overflow reports (provisional). Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.

Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
FL0020940
Wastewater outlets
3 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies; 171 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations) · List
Waters listed as receiving wastewater
Hillsborough Bay
Tracked waters
Hillsborough Bay, FL, Ybor Channel, FL, Hillsborough River, FL, Delaney Creek, FL, Old Tampa Bay, FL, Tampa Bay, FL, Egypt Lake, FL, Palm River, FL, Lake Thonotosassa, FL, Alafia River, FL, McKay Bay, FL
Discharge records counted
184 records · latest
Total reported volume in these records
20,602,494 gallons across the 167 records that give a volume (17 without one)

These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.

Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Public notices and alerts

Get alerts from City of Tampa Wastewater Department (Howard F. Curren Advanced Wastewater Treatment Plant)

Source: City of Tampa Wastewater Department (Howard F. Curren Advanced Wastewater Treatment Plant)'s public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records.

Report a missing notice or error

Wastewater outlets

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

3 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies; 171 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations).

Treatment plant outfalls

3 outfalls

Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) permit records (ICIS-NPDES permitted features): where a treatment plant’s permitted discharge leaves. No national source says whether a plant outfall is open or closed.

Places named in overflow reports (provisional)

171 places

Provisional location from overflow reports. Where the operator's own reports put an overflow: a manhole, pump station or plant. Not an outfall listed in a permit.

  • Reported place · 4 overflow reports, latest Oct 10, 2024 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 4 overflow reports, latest Jun 25, 2020 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Sep 29, 2026 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Feb 19, 2026 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Jul 17, 2025 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Oct 10, 2024 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Oct 9, 2024 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Sep 27, 2024 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Nov 14, 2020 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Nov 8, 2019 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Jul 11, 2018 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Jan 22, 2018 · confidence high · no water record yet

Showing 12 of 171.

Source: the operator's own overflow reports to the state. DirtyWaterWatch groups reports within 50 metres into one place and finds the water below it with U.S. Geological Survey river maps (NLDI, NHDPlus). Not a permitted outfall; provisional until an official outfall record exists.

Reports and advisories

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps.

Reports linked to City of Tampa Wastewater Department (Howard F. Curren Advanced Wastewater Treatment Plant), newest first
WhenReportStatus
to Nov 2Hillsborough River · Wastewater Overflow near 1700 W. Jean St. · SSO · 780 gallons report · notice · mapto Nov 6, 12:00 AM
to Sep 29Water not mapped · Wastewater Overflow near 4500 E. Fletcher Ave. · SSO · 2,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 29Hillsborough Bay · Wastewater Overflow near 6601 E. 14 Ave. · SSO · 1,500 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 23Hillsborough Bay · Wastewater Overflow near 122 S. Rome Ave. · SSO · 1,470 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 22Water not mapped · Wastewater Overflow near 6010 N. US Hwy. 301 · SSO · 3,180 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Jun 26Hillsborough Bay · Denitrification Filter Overflow June 25, 2026 · Bypass · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Apr 23Hillsborough Bay · Wastewater overflow near 275 Bayshore Blvd. · SSO · 1,275 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Apr 10Hillsborough Bay · Wastewater overflow near 6601 E. 14 Ave. · SSO · 1,500 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Mar 11Hillsborough River · Wastewater Overflow near 1302 W. Sligh Ave. · SSO · 3,795 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Feb 19Hillsborough Bay · Wastewater Overflow near 3105 Orient Rd. · SSO · 12,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Feb 18Hillsborough Bay · Wastewater Overflow near 3105 Orient Rd. · SSO · 5,250 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Dec 19 ’25Water not mapped · Wastewater Overflow Report · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Oct 13 ’25Water not mapped · Wastewater Overflow near 5874 Orient Rd. · SSO · 2,700 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 24 ’25Water not mapped · 3602 W. Waters Ave, lift station discharge · SSO · 500 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 1 ’25Delaney Creek · 2009 Tidewater Ct · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Sep 1 ’25Hillsborough Bay · wastewater overflow near 2900 N. Himes Ave. · SSO · 1,200 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Jul 18 ’25Water not mapped · Wastewater overflow near 6904 N. Orient Rd. · SSO · 25,625 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Jul 17 ’25Hillsborough River · Wastewater overflow near 302 W. Kennedy Blvd. · SSO · 568 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Jul 1 ’25Hillsborough River · Wastewater overflow near 6310 E. Sligh Ave. · SSO · 25,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Jun 10 ’25Water not mapped · wastewater overflow near 5804 Breckenridge Park Dr · SSO · 4,600 gallons report · notice · mapended
to May 26 ’25Hillsborough River · Wastewater overflow at Louisiana Pump Station · SSO · 3.5 million gallons report · notice · mapended
to Apr 17 ’25Hillsborough River · wastewater overflow near 1208 E. Park Circle · SSO · 150,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Apr 11 ’25Water not mapped · Town Park Villas at 5920 E. 127th Ave on 4/11/2025 · SSO · 3,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Apr 4 ’25Old Tampa Bay · Wastewater Overflow near 7650 [name removed] Campbell Causeway · SSO · 2,310 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Mar 9 ’25Hillsborough River · wastewater overflow near 1500 N. Morgan St. · SSO · 4,500 gallons report · notice · mapended

Sources: Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service), retrieved 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Download these reports as CSV

Showing the latest 25 records of 189 records.See them all with filters.

All reports in Florida by year: 2026 (11 from City of Tampa Wastewater Department (Howard F. Curren Advanced Wastewater Treatment Plant)) · 2025 (21 from City of Tampa Wastewater Department (Howard F. Curren Advanced Wastewater Treatment Plant)) · 2024 (53 from City of Tampa Wastewater Department (Howard F. Curren Advanced Wastewater Treatment Plant)) · 2023 (6 from City of Tampa Wastewater Department (Howard F. Curren Advanced Wastewater Treatment Plant)) · 2022 (24 from City of Tampa Wastewater Department (Howard F. Curren Advanced Wastewater Treatment Plant)) · 2021 (14 from City of Tampa Wastewater Department (Howard F. Curren Advanced Wastewater Treatment Plant)) · 2020 (14 from City of Tampa Wastewater Department (Howard F. Curren Advanced Wastewater Treatment Plant)) · 2019 (16 from City of Tampa Wastewater Department (Howard F. Curren Advanced Wastewater Treatment Plant)) · 2018 (18 from City of Tampa Wastewater Department (Howard F. Curren Advanced Wastewater Treatment Plant)) · 2017 (12 from City of Tampa Wastewater Department (Howard F. Curren Advanced Wastewater Treatment Plant))

Other sewer operators on these waters

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Plum: algal bloom advisory. Red or amber with a light line inside: beach advisory or caution. Dotted: monthly report (days with discharge, dates not given). Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.
  • Caution: to the latest update
    1 report: Hillsborough River 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Hillsborough River 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: Hillsborough Bay 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Hillsborough Bay 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Caution: to
    1 report: Hillsborough Bay 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Hillsborough Bay 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges reported by City of Tampa Wastewater Department (Howard F. Curren Advanced Wastewater Treatment Plant), last 12 months12December 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
  • Days with a discharge reported by City of Tampa Wastewater Department (Howard F. Curren Advanced Wastewater Treatment Plant), last 12 months11December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status from City of Tampa Wastewater Department (Howard F. Curren Advanced Wastewater Treatment Plant)'s reports, last 12 months312December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status (City of Tampa Wastewater Department (Howard F. Curren Advanced Wastewater Treatment Plant))2.7%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater.

Reported discharges per month

113 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when a water had a discharge or advisory status from this sewer operator's reports, under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported

1 discharge report has no end time and is not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules it shows caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and adds no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges per year, 2017 to 2026

184 reported discharges, 2017 to 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • Incomplete source coverage

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 167 reports that gave a volume as a number (17 did not).

  • Incomplete source coverage

17 of 184 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Incomplete source coverage

1 discharge report has no end time and is not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules it shows caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and adds no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Season with incomplete source coverage

Seasons with incomplete source coverage: 2017. The share is of the hours a source covered. 1 discharge report has no end time and is not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules it shows caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and adds no hours here. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 176, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • fl-dep-pnp: records from May 17, 2017 to the latest update