DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Florida / Sewer operators /

BCUD/SOUTH CENTRAL REGIONAL

Sewer operator · Florida · Melbourne

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Ringed dots mark treatment plant outfalls. Small hollow diamonds mark places named in its overflow reports (provisional).

Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
FL0102679
Wastewater outlets
1 treatment plant outfall listed by EPA or state agencies; 32 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations) · List
Waters listed as receiving wastewater
4-Mile Canal Class III Fresh WBID 2893N
Tracked waters
none
Discharge records counted
36 records · latest
Total reported volume in these records
20,403,823 gallons across the 32 records that give a volume (4 without one)

These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.

Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Public notices and alerts

Get alerts from BCUD/SOUTH CENTRAL REGIONAL

Source: BCUD/SOUTH CENTRAL REGIONAL's public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records.

Report a missing notice or error

Wastewater outlets

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

1 treatment plant outfall listed by EPA or state agencies; 32 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations).

Treatment plant outfalls

1 outfall
  • Outfall 001 · receiving water in the permit: 4-Mile Canal Class III Fresh WBID 2893N · no water record yet · status not published

Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) permit records (ICIS-NPDES permitted features): where a treatment plant’s permitted discharge leaves. No national source says whether a plant outfall is open or closed.

Places named in overflow reports (provisional)

32 places

Provisional location from overflow reports. Where the operator's own reports put an overflow: a manhole, pump station or plant. Not an outfall listed in a permit.

  • Reported place · 3 overflow reports, latest May 21, 2021 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Jun 3, 2022 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Jan 29, 2022 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Aug 12, 2019 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Nov 2, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Aug 31, 2026 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Sep 24, 2022 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Aug 23, 2022 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Jul 21, 2022 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest May 26, 2022 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest May 21, 2022 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 1 overflow report, latest Apr 11, 2022 · confidence medium · no water record yet

Showing 12 of 32.

Source: the operator's own overflow reports to the state. DirtyWaterWatch groups reports within 50 metres into one place and finds the water below it with U.S. Geological Survey river maps (NLDI, NHDPlus). Not a permitted outfall; provisional until an official outfall record exists.

Reports and advisories

Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.

Reports linked to BCUD/SOUTH CENTRAL REGIONAL, newest first
WhenReportStatus
to Nov 2Water not mapped · Abnormal Event South Central WWTP in Viera, FL · Bypass · 20 million gallons report · notice · mapended
to Aug 31Water not mapped · SSO in Viera, South Central WWTF · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Sep 24 ’22Water not mapped · South Central WWTP (FL0102679) SSO · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Aug 24 ’22Water not mapped · South Central WWTP (FL0102679) SSO · SSO · 37,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Jul 21 ’22Water not mapped · South Central WWTP (FL0102679) SSO · SSO · 500 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Jun 3 ’22Water not mapped · South Central WWTP (FL0102679) SSO · SSO · 5,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to May 26 ’22Water not mapped · South Central WWTP (FL0102679) SSO · SSO · 3,600 gallons report · notice · mapended
to May 21 ’22Water not mapped · South Central WWTP (FL0102679) SSO · SSO · 8,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Apr 11 ’22Water not mapped · South Central WWTP (FL0102679) SSO · SSO · 300 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Jan 29 ’22Water not mapped · South Central WWTP (FL0102679) SSO · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Dec 16 ’21Water not mapped · South Central WWTP (FL0102679) SSO · SSO · 60,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Dec 6 ’21Water not mapped · South Central WWTP (FL0102679) SSO · SSO · 10,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Aug 20 ’21Water not mapped · South Central WWTP (FL0102679) SSO · SSO · 3,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Jun 29 ’21Water not mapped · South Central WWTP (FL0102679) SSO · SSO · 2,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Jun 28 ’21Water not mapped · South Central WWTP (FL0102679) SSO · SSO · 30,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to May 21 ’21Water not mapped · South Central WWTP (FL0102679) Headworks SSO · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Mar 8 ’21Water not mapped · South Central WWTP (FL0102679) SSO · SSO · 5,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 20 ’20Water not mapped · South Central WWTP (FL0102679) SSO · SSO · 20,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Jul 15 ’20Water not mapped · Wastewater Malfunction South Central WWTF, FL0102679 · SSO · 900 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Dec 18 ’19Water not mapped · Cypress Trace Drive · SSO · 2,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Nov 30 ’19Water not mapped · Wickham Rd & I-95 · SSO · 180,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Aug 12 ’19Water not mapped · 700 Tucker Lane, Cocoa (Lift Station W-15) · SSO · 7,600 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Apr 5 ’19Water not mapped · FL0102679 South Central_Plant Overflow · SSO · 8,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Feb 22 ’19Water not mapped · FL0102679 South Central NWickham FM Break · SSO · 200 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Jan 31 ’19Water not mapped · FL0102679 South Central W05 Main Break · SSO · 50 gallons report · notice · mapended

Sources: Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service), retrieved 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Download these reports as CSV

Showing the latest 25 records of 37 records.See them all with filters.

All reports in Florida by year: 2026 (2 from BCUD/SOUTH CENTRAL REGIONAL) · 2022 (8 from BCUD/SOUTH CENTRAL REGIONAL) · 2021 (7 from BCUD/SOUTH CENTRAL REGIONAL) · 2020 (2 from BCUD/SOUTH CENTRAL REGIONAL) · 2019 (7 from BCUD/SOUTH CENTRAL REGIONAL) · 2018 (3 from BCUD/SOUTH CENTRAL REGIONAL) · 2017 (8 from BCUD/SOUTH CENTRAL REGIONAL)

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges reported by BCUD/SOUTH CENTRAL REGIONAL, last 12 months2December 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
  • Days with a discharge reported by BCUD/SOUTH CENTRAL REGIONAL, last 12 months2December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status from BCUD/SOUTH CENTRAL REGIONAL's reports, last 12 months48December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status (BCUD/SOUTH CENTRAL REGIONAL)0.5%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater.

Reported discharges per month

10 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when a water had a discharge or advisory status from this sewer operator's reports, under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported

Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges per year, 2017 to 2026

36 reported discharges, 2017 to 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • Incomplete source coverage

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 32 reports that gave a volume as a number (4 did not).

  • Incomplete source coverage

4 of 36 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Incomplete source coverage

Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Season with incomplete source coverage

Seasons with incomplete source coverage: 2017. The share is of the hours a source covered. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 22, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • fl-dep-pnp: records from May 17, 2017 to the latest update