Little Econlockhatchee River
River in Florida, past Orlando, Oviedo and Union Park
Current status
Caution applies after a recent discharge, when a report leaves its status unclear, or during a rainfall advisory. The report explains which rule applies. This status since . Why this status, and its source
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
Get alerts from City of Orlando (Iron Bridge Regional WRF) · Bookmark this water page and check it before each trip · Report a missing notice or error
About this status
Caution: a discharge was reported; caution for 72 hours after the reported end (site rule)
Source: Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Public Notice of Pollution) via Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service), record 202611159-20…, reported Nov 3, 2026, 2:10 PM EST, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC · Original notice · Updated
Reports behind this status
Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
| When | Report | Status |
|---|---|---|
| to Nov 3 | Orlando · Whitehall · SSO · 5,000 gallons report · notice · map | to Nov 7, 12:00 AM |
Sources: Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service), retrieved 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.
The last 90 days
- Caution: to the latest update 1 report: Orlando 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 1 report: Orlando 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Caution: to 1 report: Orlando 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
- Discharge or advisory reported: to 1 report: Orlando 1
Show records
The records are also in the report table on this page.
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.
Reported discharges over time
- Discharges affecting the Little Econlockhatchee River in Florida, last 12 months33 affecting this stretch: 3 reported on the Little Econlockhatchee River; none arriving from upstreamDecember 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once. Arriving discharges are estimated from modeled downstream reaches.
- Days with a discharge affecting the Little Econlockhatchee River in Florida, last 12 months3Reported on the Little Econlockhatchee River in Florida: 3 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0 (counted apart; together they need not equal the total)December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
- Hours with a discharge or advisory status on the Little Econlockhatchee River in Florida, last 12 months72Reported on the Little Econlockhatchee River in Florida: 72 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
- 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status on the Little Econlockhatchee River in Florida0.5%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.
- Records behind the last-90-days strip for the Little Econlockhatchee River in Florida2Reported on the Little Econlockhatchee River in Florida: 2 · Arriving from outfalls upstream, estimated: 0last 90 daysEvery distinct record the strip lists for its red, yellow and unresolved hours, notices and unresolved reports included; counted as the strip counts them.
Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater. Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
Reported discharges per month
31 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.
- Combined sewer overflow
- Sanitary sewer overflow
- Treatment bypass, blended or other
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Combined sewer overflow | Sanitary sewer overflow | Treatment bypass, blended or other | Total | Counted from | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2022 | 0 | 18 | 0 | 18 | Source records | |
| October 2022 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| November 2022 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| December 2022 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| January 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2023 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| December 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2024 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| March 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2024 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 | Source records | |
| November 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| December 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2025 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| July 2025 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| August 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2025 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| November 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| December 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2026 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| April 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2026 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| November 2026 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records |
Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month
Hours when this water had a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.
- Discharge or advisory reported
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Hours with a discharge or advisory status | Hours from post-discharge periods | Hours in the month | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2022 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2022 | 72 | 72 | 720 | |
| October 2022 | 408 | 408 | 744 | |
| November 2022 | 336 | 336 | 720 | |
| December 2022 | 24 | 24 | 744 | |
| January 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2023 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2023 | 24 | 24 | 720 | |
| December 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2024 | 24 | 24 | 696 | |
| March 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2024 | 120 | 120 | 744 | |
| November 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| December 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2025 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2025 | 24 | 24 | 720 | |
| July 2025 | 24 | 24 | 744 | |
| August 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2025 | 24 | 24 | 744 | |
| November 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| December 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2026 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2026 | 24 | 24 | 744 | |
| April 2026 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2026 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2026 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2026 | 24 | 24 | 744 | |
| November 2026 | 24 | 24 | 94 |
Days with a reported discharge per month
A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Days with a reported discharge | Coverage |
|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | |
| February 2022 | 0 | |
| March 2022 | 0 | |
| April 2022 | 0 | |
| May 2022 | 0 | |
| June 2022 | 0 | |
| July 2022 | 0 | |
| August 2022 | 0 | |
| September 2022 | 3 | |
| October 2022 | 15 | |
| November 2022 | 13 | |
| December 2022 | 1 | |
| January 2023 | 0 | |
| February 2023 | 0 | |
| March 2023 | 0 | |
| April 2023 | 0 | |
| May 2023 | 0 | |
| June 2023 | 0 | |
| July 2023 | 0 | |
| August 2023 | 0 | |
| September 2023 | 0 | |
| October 2023 | 0 | |
| November 2023 | 1 | |
| December 2023 | 0 | |
| January 2024 | 0 | |
| February 2024 | 1 | |
| March 2024 | 0 | |
| April 2024 | 0 | |
| May 2024 | 0 | |
| June 2024 | 0 | |
| July 2024 | 0 | |
| August 2024 | 0 | |
| September 2024 | 0 | |
| October 2024 | 4 | |
| November 2024 | 0 | |
| December 2024 | 0 | |
| January 2025 | 0 | |
| February 2025 | 0 | |
| March 2025 | 0 | |
| April 2025 | 0 | |
| May 2025 | 0 | |
| June 2025 | 1 | |
| July 2025 | 1 | |
| August 2025 | 0 | |
| September 2025 | 0 | |
| October 2025 | 1 | |
| November 2025 | 0 | |
| December 2025 | 0 | |
| January 2026 | 0 | |
| February 2026 | 0 | |
| March 2026 | 1 | |
| April 2026 | 0 | |
| May 2026 | 0 | |
| June 2026 | 0 | |
| July 2026 | 0 | |
| August 2026 | 0 | |
| September 2026 | 0 | |
| October 2026 | 1 | |
| November 2026 | 1 |
Reported discharges per year, 2017 to 2026
45 reported discharges, 2017 to 2026.
- Combined sewer overflow
- Sanitary sewer overflow
- Treatment bypass, blended or other
- Incomplete source coverage
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Combined sewer overflow | Sanitary sewer overflow | Treatment bypass, blended or other | Total | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2017 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 4 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2018 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2019 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | |
| 2020 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 3 | |
| 2021 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 6 | |
| 2022 | 0 | 21 | 0 | 21 | |
| 2023 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | |
| 2024 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 3 | |
| 2025 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 3 | |
| 2026 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 3 |
Reported volume per year
Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 20 reports that gave a volume as a number (25 did not).
- Incomplete source coverage
25 of 45 discharge reports gave no volume as a number (1 gave a range); only numbers are summed.
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Reported volume, gallons | Reports with a volume | Reports without a volume | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2017 | 492,000 | 3 | 1 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2018 | 0 | 0 | 0 | |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 | 1 | |
| 2020 | 24,750 | 3 | 0 | |
| 2021 | 3,129,200 | 5 | 1 | |
| 2022 | 73,920,000 | 2 | 19 | |
| 2023 | 100 | 1 | 0 | |
| 2024 | 585,200 | 2 | 1 | |
| 2025 | 600 | 1 | 2 | |
| 2026 | 18,300 | 3 | 0 |
Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year
Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.
- Discharge or advisory reported
- Incomplete source coverage
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Hours with a discharge or advisory status | Share of the year | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2017 | 72 | 0.8% | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2018 | 0 | 0.0% | |
| 2019 | 48 | 0.5% | |
| 2020 | 72 | 0.8% | |
| 2021 | 312 | 3.6% | |
| 2022 | 840 | 9.6% | |
| 2023 | 24 | 0.3% | |
| 2024 | 144 | 1.6% | |
| 2025 | 72 | 0.8% | |
| 2026 | 72 | 1.0% |
Reported discharges by calendar month, all years
Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.
Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Reported discharges | Years of records |
|---|---|---|
| January | 1 | 9 |
| February | 1 | 9 |
| March | 2 | 9 |
| April | 4 | 9 |
| May | 1 | 10 |
| June | 1 | 10 |
| July | 1 | 10 |
| August | 1 | 10 |
| September | 22 | 10 |
| October | 6 | 10 |
| November | 4 | 10 |
| December | 1 | 9 |
Reported discharges by wastewater outlet
Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 29, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.
Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.
Show table
| Wastewater outlet | Sewer operator | Reported discharges |
|---|---|---|
| Sanitary Sewer Overflow | Iron Bridge | 16 |
| Sanitary Sewer Overflow - City of Orlando | Lift Station 249 - City of Orlando | 2 |
| Whitehall | Orlando/Iron Bridge Regional WRF | 1 |
| 440 West New England Avenue | Orlando/Iron Bridge Regional WRF | 1 |
| Force Main Hit at Judge Rd and Shadowridge Dr | Conserv I (FLA010816) | 1 |
| Iron Bridge - Clarifier 3 Sludge Spill - Contractor Incident | Iron Bridge WRF | 1 |
| Lake Underhill Rd & S Econlockhatchee Trl, 7-28-25 | OCUD/Eastern Subregional WRF | 1 |
| 7000 University Blvd | Iron Bridge | 1 |
| City of Orlando - Iron Bridge Spill - BARDENPHO | Iron Bridge WRF, City of Orlando | 1 |
| Eastham Road | orlando iron bridge wwtp | 1 |
| Other outlets (19) | 19 |
How these charts are counted
We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.
- U.S. Environmental Protection Agency sewer overflow records: records from May 3, 2022 to the latest update (limited records)
- fl-dep-pnp: records from May 17, 2017 to the latest update
Reports linked to Little Econlockhatchee River
45 sewage reports · 3 algal bloom advisories
Cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) can make water unfit for contact; the issuing authority decides when its advisory ends.
| When | Report | Status |
|---|---|---|
| to Nov 3 | Orlando · Whitehall · SSO · 5,000 gallons report · notice · map | to Nov 7, 12:00 AM |
| to Oct 19 | Orlando · 440 West New England Avenue · SSO · 300 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Mar 25 | Orlando · Force Main Hit at Judge Rd and Shadowridge Dr · SSO · 13,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Oct 14 ’25 | Orlando · Iron Bridge - Clarifier 3 Sludge Spill - Contractor Incident · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jul 28 ’25 | OCUD/Eastern Subregional WRF · Lake Underhill Rd & S Econlockhatchee Trl, 7-28-25 · SSO · 600 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Jun 24 ’25 | Orlando · 7000 University Blvd · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Algal Bloom Sampling) · Little Econ River - Riverside Park · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | reported | |
| to Oct 14 ’24 | Orlando · Eastham Road · SSO · 585,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Oct 10 ’24 | Orlando · City of Orlando - Iron Bridge Spill - BARDENPHO · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Algal Bloom Sampling) · Little Big Econ River - Jay Blanchard Park · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | reported | |
| Florida Department of Environmental Protection (Algal Bloom Sampling) · Little Econ River - Riverside Park (LER-LBB) · Algae advisory · volume not reported report · notice · map | reported | |
| to Feb 21 ’24 | Orlando · 4270 Aloma Ave - Manhole · SSO · 200 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Nov 1 ’23 | Orlando · Via Loma @ SR426 · SSO · 100 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Dec 5 ’22 | Orlando · Orlando Iron Bridge - Clarifier SSO 12/5/2022 · SSO · 20,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Nov 23 ’22 | Orlando · Orlando Iron Bridge - Hurricane Nicole/TS Nicole Impacts · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Oct 31 ’22 | Orlando · Orlando Iron Bridge - Clarifier SSO 10/28/2022 · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Oct 2 ’22 | OCUD/Eastern Subregional WRF · F3146 Rouse Road N. - Hurricane Ian · SSO · “Over 10,000 Gallons,” report · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 29 ’22 | OCUD/Eastern Subregional WRF · PS3365 Rouse and University - Hurricane Ian · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 29 ’22 | Orlando · Sanitary Sewer Overflow · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 29 ’22 | Orlando · Sanitary Sewer Overflow · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 29 ’22 | Orlando · Sanitary Sewer Overflow · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 29 ’22 | Orlando · Sanitary Sewer Overflow · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 29 ’22 | Orlando · Sanitary Sewer Overflow · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 29 ’22 | Orlando · Sanitary Sewer Overflow · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to Sep 29 ’22 | Orlando · Sanitary Sewer Overflow · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
Sources: Florida DEP Algal Bloom Sampling, blooms and toxins by site, retrieved 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC.
Showing the latest 25 records of 49 records.See them all with filters.
All reports in Florida by year: 2026 (3 here) · 2025 (4 here) · 2024 (5 here) · 2023 (1 here) · 2022 (21 here) · 2021 (7 here) · 2020 (3 here) · 2019 (1 here) · 2017 (4 here)
Wastewater outlets on this water
No wastewater outlet in our records is linked to this water.
Sewer operators listed for this water: City of Orlando (Iron Bridge Regional WRF).
Boat launches
No public boat launch is listed in our records for this water.
Nearby waters
- Lake Baldwin, FL No current status shown about 11 km away
- Econlockhatchee River, FL No current status shown about 11 km away
- Lake Mills, FL No current status shown about 12 km away
- Lake Virginia, FL No current status shown about 13 km away
- Lake Maitland, FL No current status shown about 15 km away
Sources covering this water
- a public source · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC
- a public source · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC
- Florida DEP Algal Bloom Sampling, blooms and toxins by site · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC
- Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service) · Latest check succeeded · Last successful check: 2026-11-05 01:06 UTC
48 records linked to this water: 45 sewage reports, 3 algal bloom advisories, besides 1 earlier version or duplicate. Updated .