DirtyWaterWatch Public waters. Public record.

Florida / Sewer operators /

Miami-Dade Water and Sewer Department

Sewer utility · Florida · Miami, Miami-Dade County

Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.

Ringed dots mark treatment plant outfalls. Small hollow diamonds mark places named in its overflow reports (provisional). Dashed river stretches are estimates of where a discharge travels. Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.

Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
FL0024805, FL0032182
Wastewater outlets
2 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies; 316 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations) · List
Waters listed as receiving wastewater
Biscayne Bay; Miami River
Tracked waters
Atlantic Ocean, FL, Cutler Drain Canal, FL, Biscayne Bay, FL, Snapper Creek Canal, FL, Atlantic Intracoastal Waterway, FL, Snake Creek Canal, FL, Miami Canal, FL, Oleta River, FL, C-111, FL, L-67 Extension, FL
Discharge records counted
353 records · latest
Total reported volume in these records
30,268,338 gallons across the 287 records that give a volume (66 without one)

These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.

Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Public notices and alerts

Get alerts from Miami-Dade Water and Sewer Department

Source: Miami-Dade Water and Sewer Department's public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records.

Report a missing notice or error

Wastewater outlets

Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.

2 treatment plant outfalls listed by EPA or state agencies; 316 places named in its own overflow reports (provisional locations).

Treatment plant outfalls

2 outfalls

Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) permit records (ICIS-NPDES permitted features): where a treatment plant’s permitted discharge leaves. No national source says whether a plant outfall is open or closed.

Places named in overflow reports (provisional)

316 places

Provisional location from overflow reports. Where the operator's own reports put an overflow: a manhole, pump station or plant. Not an outfall listed in a permit.

  • Reported place · 7 overflow reports, latest Jun 12, 2024 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 5 overflow reports, latest Sep 11, 2023 · confidence medium · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 4 overflow reports, latest Feb 7, 2026 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 4 overflow reports, latest Nov 19, 2020 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 3 overflow reports, latest Feb 4, 2026 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 3 overflow reports, latest Dec 24, 2024 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 3 overflow reports, latest Oct 23, 2020 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Nov 1, 2026 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Sep 20, 2026 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Oct 6, 2025 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Sep 8, 2025 · confidence high · no water record yet
  • Reported place · 2 overflow reports, latest Sep 4, 2025 · confidence high · no water record yet

Showing 12 of 316.

Source: the operator's own overflow reports to the state. DirtyWaterWatch groups reports within 50 metres into one place and finds the water below it with U.S. Geological Survey river maps (NLDI, NHDPlus). Not a permitted outfall; provisional until an official outfall record exists.

Reports and advisories

Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.

Reports linked to Miami-Dade Water and Sewer Department, newest first
WhenReportStatus
to Nov 1Water not mapped · 597393 · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Oct 12Water not mapped · 596185 · SSO · 8,450 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Oct 7Water not mapped · 595861 · SSO · 70,811 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 21Water not mapped · 594610 · SSO · 17,240 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 21Water not mapped · 594611 · SSO (earlier version) · 105,800 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 20Cutler Drain Canal · 594612 · SSO · 27,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 13Water not mapped · 594257 · SSO · 3,600 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 11Water not mapped · 594199 · SSO · 20,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Jul 14Water not mapped · 590920 · SSO · 1,300 gallons report · notice · mapended
to May 11Water not mapped · 587312 · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Feb 7Biscayne Bay · 582128 · SSO · 4,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Feb 4Water not mapped · 581937 · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapended
to Oct 20 ’25Water not mapped · 576335 · SSO · 2,890 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Oct 7 ’25Water not mapped · 575635 · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Oct 6 ’25Water not mapped · 575605 · SSO · 78,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Oct 6 ’25Cutler Drain Canal · 575528 · SSO · 1,538 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 11 ’25Water not mapped · 573970 · SSO · 40,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Sep 4 ’25Water not mapped · 573725 · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Aug 22 ’25Water not mapped · 573021 · SSO · 10,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Aug 15 ’25Water not mapped · 572690 · SSO · 23,417 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Jul 17 ’25Water not mapped · 571125 · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · mapended
Water not mapped · 569632 · SSO · 1,000 gallons report · notice · mapongoing
Water not mapped · 568148 · SSO · volume not reported report · notice · mapongoing
to Apr 17 ’25Water not mapped · 566437 · SSO · 1,280 gallons report · notice · mapended
to Feb 27 ’25Water not mapped · 563910 · SSO · 607,593 gallons report · notice · mapended

Sources: Florida DEP Public Notice of Pollution, sewage and wastewater notices (PNP feature service), retrieved 2026-11-05 01:05 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.

Download these reports as CSV

Showing the latest 25 records of 375 records.See them all with filters.

All reports in Florida by year: 2026 (12 from Miami-Dade Water and Sewer Department) · 2025 (16 from Miami-Dade Water and Sewer Department) · 2024 (36 from Miami-Dade Water and Sewer Department) · 2023 (30 from Miami-Dade Water and Sewer Department) · 2022 (40 from Miami-Dade Water and Sewer Department) · 2021 (27 from Miami-Dade Water and Sewer Department) · 2020 (73 from Miami-Dade Water and Sewer Department) · 2019 (57 from Miami-Dade Water and Sewer Department) · 2018 (43 from Miami-Dade Water and Sewer Department) · 2017 (41 from Miami-Dade Water and Sewer Department)

Other sewer operators on these waters

The last 90 days

Last 90 days, hour by hour. Red: discharge or advisory reported. Amber: caution. Hatched amber: end not confirmed. Plum: algal bloom advisory. Red or amber with a light line inside: beach advisory or caution. Dotted: monthly report (days with discharge, dates not given). Grey: no current status on the water outline. Purple hatching: source update overdue.
  • Caution: to
    1 report: Cutler Drain Canal 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

  • Discharge or advisory reported: to
    1 report: Cutler Drain Canal 1
    Show records

    The records are also in the report table on this page.

Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-05 01:25 UTC.

Reported discharges over time

  • Discharges reported by Miami-Dade Water and Sewer Department, last 12 months11December 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
  • Days with a discharge reported by Miami-Dade Water and Sewer Department, last 12 months11December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it.
  • Hours with a discharge or advisory status from Miami-Dade Water and Sewer Department's reports, last 12 months313December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
  • 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status (Miami-Dade Water and Sewer Department)5.4%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.

Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater.

Reported discharges per month

126 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month

Hours when a water had a discharge or advisory status from this sewer operator's reports, under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported

1 discharge reported to last more than 31 days is counted as 31 days. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Days with a reported discharge per month

A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover January 1, 2022 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges per year, 2017 to 2026

353 reported discharges, 2017 to 2026.

  • Combined sewer overflow
  • Sanitary sewer overflow
  • Treatment bypass, blended or other
  • Incomplete source coverage

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported volume per year

Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 287 reports that gave a volume as a number (66 did not).

  • Incomplete source coverage

66 of 353 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year

Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Incomplete source coverage

1 discharge reported to last more than 31 days is counted as 31 days. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Share of the May to October season with a discharge or advisory status

Share of the hours from May 1 to October 31 with a discharge or advisory status under DirtyWaterWatch rules.

  • Discharge or advisory reported
  • Season with incomplete source coverage

Seasons with incomplete source coverage: 2017. The share is of the hours a source covered. 1 discharge reported to last more than 31 days is counted as 31 days. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by calendar month, all years

Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.

Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table

Reported discharges by wastewater outlet

Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 10 of 346, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.

Source: fl-dep-pnp. Records cover May 17, 2017 to November 4, 2026.

Show table
How these charts are counted

We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.

  • fl-dep-pnp: records from May 17, 2017 to the latest update