Town of Myersville (WWTP)
Wastewater treatment plant · Maryland · Myersville
Map sources: water outlines and launches from OpenBoatLaunch and OpenStreetMap contributors (Open Database License); wastewater outlets from EPA and state records; downstream estimates by DirtyWaterWatch using U.S. Geological Survey maps and flow data. Base map: OpenFreeMap and OpenMapTiles.
No outlet locations are in our records for this operator. Square boat markers mark boat launches listed by OpenBoatLaunch.
- Federal wastewater discharge permit (NPDES)
- MD0020699
- Wastewater outlets
- None with locations in our records
- Waters listed as receiving wastewater
- Grindstone Run; Catoctin Creek
- Tracked waters
- Catoctin Creek, MD, Grindstone Run, MD
- Discharge records counted
- 13 records · latest
- Total reported volume in these records
- 12,161,360 gallons across the 11 records that give a volume (2 without one)
These totals reflect the records we track. Missing volumes and gaps in reporting limit comparisons between operators.
Sources: EPA ECHO and the operator and state sources linked below. Counts use the discharge records on this page. Updated 2026-11-03 08:50 UTC.
Public notices and alerts
Pages where Town of Myersville (WWTP) or the state publishes its notices (check them for an alert sign-up):
Source: Town of Myersville (WWTP)'s public notice and alert pages and the state's notification records.
Report a missing notice or error
Wastewater outlets
Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
Reports and advisories
Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater.
| When | Report | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Water not mapped · 2868 Milt Summers Road · Bypass · 560,000 gallons report · notice | reported | |
| to 7:40 PM | Water not mapped · service road behind 9629 Myersville Road · SSO · 300 gallons report · notice | ended |
| to Jun 2, 6:25 AM | Grindstone Run · 2868 Milt Summers Road · Bypass · 2.85 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Mar 24, 8:00 AM | Grindstone Run · 2868 Milt Summers Road · Bypass · 6.84 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Nov 6 ’25, 3:25 PM | “No streams around on side of hill. Goes into ground Unsure exactly what time it occurred, the town notified MES today 11/6/2025” · 9629 Myersville Road · SSO · 300 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| Catoctin Creek · 2868 milt summers road · Bypass · volume in each report map | reported | |
| Catoctin Creek · 2868 milt summers road · Bypass · volume not reported report · notice · map | reported | |
| to Oct 10 ’25, 8:40 AM | Grindstone Run · 2868 Milt Summer Rd · Bypass · volume not reported report · notice · map | ended |
| to May 9 ’25, 9:00 AM | Grindstone Run · Milt Summers Road · Bypass · 188,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Apr 22 ’25, 1:45 PM | Grindstone Run · 2868 Milt Summer Road · Bypass · 310,260 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 2:40 PM | “All wastewater was absorbed back into the ground.” · 9629 Myersville Road · SSO · 102,600 gallons report · notice | ended |
| to Apr 5 ’24, 3:15 PM | Grindstone Run · 2868 Milt Summers Road · Bypass · 1.1 million gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to Mar 12 ’24, 2:40 PM | Grindstone Run · 2868 Milt Summers Road · Bypass · 213,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
| to 1:30 PM | “N/A” · behind 9629 Myersville Road · SSO · 2,000 gallons report · notice · map | ended |
Sources: MDE Reported Sewer Overflows (New for 2023), Maryland Open Data Portal (Socrata stgj-u72u), retrieved 2026-11-03 08:17 UTC. A report's record id and times show when you hover or focus its "report" link.
All reports in Maryland by year: 2026 (4 from Town of Myersville (WWTP)) · 2025 (6 from Town of Myersville (WWTP)) · 2024 (2 from Town of Myersville (WWTP)) · 2023 (1 from Town of Myersville (WWTP))
Other sewer operators on these waters
The last 90 days
No discharge, advisory or caution periods are shown for the waters this sewer operator's reports were placed on in this time span. Check downstream stretches and source coverage.
Source: DirtyWaterWatch calculations using the reports named above and the published status rules. Updated 2026-11-03 08:50 UTC.
Reported discharges over time
- Discharges reported by Town of Myersville (WWTP), last 12 months4December 2025 to November 2026Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
- Days with a discharge reported by Town of Myersville (WWTP), last 12 months48December 2025 to November 2026A day counts once however many discharges were under way on it. Verified reports where available, else notices; revisions and duplicates counted once.
- Hours with a discharge or advisory status from Town of Myersville (WWTP)'s reports, last 12 months1,035December 2025 to November 2026Red hours by the map's rules: each discharge to its reported end plus the state's post-discharge period; overlapping hours count once.
- 2026 season with a discharge or advisory status (Town of Myersville (WWTP))6.4%May to October 2026Share of May 1 to October 31 hours with red status by the map's rules, of the hours a source covered.
Combined sewer overflow (CSO): sewage mixed with rainwater spills from a shared sewer system. Sanitary sewer overflow (SSO): sewage spills from a sewer meant to carry sewage separately from rainwater. Treatment bypass: wastewater skips one or more treatment steps. Blended discharge: wastewater that skipped some treatment is mixed with treated wastewater. Outfall: a pipe or outlet where wastewater enters a water body.
Reported discharges per month
13 reported discharges, January 2022 to November 2026.
- Combined sewer overflow
- Sanitary sewer overflow
- Treatment bypass, blended or other
- No tracked source for this period
- Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source covers January 2022 to December 2022.
Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Combined sewer overflow | Sanitary sewer overflow | Treatment bypass, blended or other | Total | Counted from | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| February 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| March 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| April 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| May 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| June 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| July 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| August 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| September 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| October 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| November 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| December 2022 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | No tracked source for this period | |
| January 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage | |
| February 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2023 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| November 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| December 2023 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2024 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | Source records | |
| April 2024 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | Source records | |
| May 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| June 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| December 2024 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| March 2025 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| April 2025 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | Source records | |
| May 2025 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 3 | Source records | |
| June 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| September 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| November 2025 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| December 2025 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| January 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| February 2026 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | Source records | |
| March 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| April 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| May 2026 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | Source records | |
| June 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| July 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| August 2026 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | Source records | |
| September 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
| October 2026 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | Source records | |
| November 2026 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Hours with a discharge or advisory status per month
Hours when a water had a discharge or advisory status from this sewer operator's reports, under DirtyWaterWatch rules.
- Discharge or advisory reported
- No tracked source for this period
- Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source covers January 2022 to December 2022. 2 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. 1 discharge reported to last more than 31 days is counted as 31 days. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.
Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Hours with a discharge or advisory status | Hours from post-discharge periods | Hours in the month | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | No tracked source for this period |
| February 2022 | 0 | 0 | 672 | No tracked source for this period |
| March 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | No tracked source for this period |
| April 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | No tracked source for this period |
| May 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | No tracked source for this period |
| June 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | No tracked source for this period |
| July 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | No tracked source for this period |
| August 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | No tracked source for this period |
| September 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | No tracked source for this period |
| October 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | No tracked source for this period |
| November 2022 | 0 | 0 | 720 | No tracked source for this period |
| December 2022 | 0 | 0 | 744 | No tracked source for this period |
| January 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | Incomplete source coverage |
| February 2023 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| April 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2023 | 3 | 3 | 744 | |
| November 2023 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| December 2023 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2024 | 0 | 0 | 696 | |
| March 2024 | 48 | 48 | 744 | |
| April 2024 | 76 | 76 | 720 | |
| May 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| June 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| July 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2024 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| December 2024 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2025 | 0 | 0 | 672 | |
| March 2025 | 5 | 5 | 744 | |
| April 2025 | 306 | 306 | 720 | |
| May 2025 | 635 | 635 | 744 | |
| June 2025 | 225 | 225 | 720 | |
| July 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| September 2025 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2025 | 30 | 30 | 720 | |
| December 2025 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| January 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| February 2026 | 195 | 195 | 672 | |
| March 2026 | 559 | 559 | 744 | |
| April 2026 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| May 2026 | 243 | 243 | 744 | |
| June 2026 | 30 | 30 | 720 | |
| July 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| August 2026 | 8 | 8 | 744 | |
| September 2026 | 0 | 0 | 720 | |
| October 2026 | 0 | 0 | 744 | |
| November 2026 | 0 | 0 | 53 |
Days with a reported discharge per month
A day counts when any counted discharge was under way on it, from its start to its reported end in Eastern Time; a report with no end counts its start day.
- No tracked source for this period
- Incomplete source coverage
No tracked source covers January 2022 to December 2022.
Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Days with a reported discharge | Coverage |
|---|---|---|
| January 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| February 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| March 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| April 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| May 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| June 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| July 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| August 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| September 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| October 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| November 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| December 2022 | 0 | No tracked source for this period |
| January 2023 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| February 2023 | 0 | |
| March 2023 | 0 | |
| April 2023 | 0 | |
| May 2023 | 0 | |
| June 2023 | 0 | |
| July 2023 | 0 | |
| August 2023 | 0 | |
| September 2023 | 0 | |
| October 2023 | 1 | |
| November 2023 | 0 | |
| December 2023 | 0 | |
| January 2024 | 0 | |
| February 2024 | 0 | |
| March 2024 | 3 | |
| April 2024 | 4 | |
| May 2024 | 0 | |
| June 2024 | 0 | |
| July 2024 | 0 | |
| August 2024 | 0 | |
| September 2024 | 0 | |
| October 2024 | 0 | |
| November 2024 | 0 | |
| December 2024 | 0 | |
| January 2025 | 0 | |
| February 2025 | 0 | |
| March 2025 | 1 | |
| April 2025 | 14 | |
| May 2025 | 7 | |
| June 2025 | 0 | |
| July 2025 | 0 | |
| August 2025 | 0 | |
| September 2025 | 0 | |
| October 2025 | 0 | |
| November 2025 | 2 | |
| December 2025 | 0 | |
| January 2026 | 0 | |
| February 2026 | 9 | |
| March 2026 | 24 | |
| April 2026 | 0 | |
| May 2026 | 11 | |
| June 2026 | 2 | |
| July 2026 | 0 | |
| August 2026 | 1 | |
| September 2026 | 0 | |
| October 2026 | 1 | |
| November 2026 | 0 |
Reported volume per year
Gallons (axis: K thousand, M million), summed from the 11 reports that gave a volume as a number (2 did not).
- Incomplete source coverage
2 of 13 discharge reports gave no volume as a number; only numbers are summed.
Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Reported volume, gallons | Reports with a volume | Reports without a volume | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 2,000 | 1 | 0 | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2024 | 1,308,100 | 2 | 0 | |
| 2025 | 601,160 | 4 | 2 | |
| 2026 | 10,250,100 | 4 | 0 |
Hours with a discharge or advisory status per year
Hours with a discharge or advisory status each year under DirtyWaterWatch rules; 2026 to date.
- Discharge or advisory reported
- Incomplete source coverage
2 discharge reports have no end time and are not marked ongoing; under DirtyWaterWatch rules they show caution, not a discharge or advisory status, and add no hours here. 1 discharge reported to last more than 31 days is counted as 31 days. Official beach and cyanobacteria (harmful blue-green algae) advisories are counted on water pages only.
Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.
Show table
| Year | Hours with a discharge or advisory status | Share of the year | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 3 | 0.0% | Incomplete source coverage |
| 2024 | 124 | 1.4% | |
| 2025 | 1,201 | 13.7% | |
| 2026 | 1,035 | 14.1% |
Reported discharges by calendar month, all years
Every counted discharge report, by the calendar month it began.
Months are summed over every year a tracked source covers; the table gives the number of years behind each month.
Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.
Show table
| Month | Reported discharges | Years of records |
|---|---|---|
| January | 0 | 4 |
| February | 1 | 4 |
| March | 2 | 4 |
| April | 2 | 4 |
| May | 4 | 4 |
| June | 0 | 4 |
| July | 0 | 4 |
| August | 1 | 4 |
| September | 0 | 4 |
| October | 2 | 4 |
| November | 1 | 4 |
| December | 0 | 3 |
Reported discharges by wastewater outlet
Wastewater outlets with the most tracked discharge records: 7 of 7, all years. Counts depend on reporting coverage and do not measure legal compliance or harm.
Source: md-mde-overflows. Records cover January 4, 2023 to November 3, 2026.
Show table
| Wastewater outlet | Reported discharges |
|---|---|
| 2868 Milt Summers Road | 6 |
| 9629 Myersville Road | 2 |
| service road behind 9629 Myersville Road | 1 |
| 2868 Milt Summer Rd | 1 |
| Milt Summers Road | 1 |
| 2868 Milt Summer Road | 1 |
| behind 9629 Myersville Road | 1 |
How these charts are counted
We count each discharge once. Where a source publishes notices and confirmed reports, we use confirmed reports for an operator's month when available; otherwise we use notices. We combine revisions and exclude duplicate state reports copied by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Monthly and yearly totals appear separately. Status hours follow this site's rules. Shaded gaps mean missing coverage, not zero discharges.
- md-mde-overflows: records from January 4, 2023 to the latest update